LYN Runners Version.11

nivlanauk
post Jun 30 2020, 11:33 PM

307 posts

QUOTE(james.6831 @ Jun 30 2020, 05:59 PM)
If I have high cholesterol, will it make it harder for me to run?

Just took up running last month. Can barely even run 2km non stop. Trying out couchto5k program.

Any budget friendly GPS HR watch to recommend?
In my opinion, having a high cholesterol level would predispose you to high blood pressure, which would be the issue.

Since you just started running 1 month ago, the reason you could barely last 2km is due to a poor aerobic base. Just keep running & you'll improve.
As always, a combination of aerobic & resistance training would be beneficial.
nivlanauk
post Jul 1 2020, 10:11 PM

307 posts

QUOTE(james.6831 @ Jul 1 2020, 11:17 AM)
hmmm so high blood pressure is why my heart rate spikes up quickly even tho just running for a while eh... fml...
eh.. blood pressure & heart rate is different yea.

High cholesterol may lead to high blood pressure which leads to other risk such as atherosclerosis or heart attack.
Regular exercise may help improve your cholesterol level.

Your heart rate spiking with an increase in physical activity could be due to various factors, for example a poor fitness level/cardiovascular system.
Think of it as your heart needing to pump more (thus higher heart rate) for the blood to flow through your whole body.
The more you exercise, the stronger your heart will grow, thus able to pump more blood -> so your heart rate would spike less (for the same intensity that you're comparing to).

nivlanauk
post Jan 2 2021, 10:54 AM

307 posts

QUOTE(Patt_Hup @ Dec 29 2020, 05:06 PM)
Hi Sifus, just wondering if you have any tips on how to increase stride length without sacrificing too much energy for long run. Do you:
i. Kick harder with your legs to the back after each stride
ii. lift your legs higher for the next stride.
iii. Overstride by abit
iv. All of the above
Are your legs strong? As in do you undergo strength training or even tempo runs?
But why stride length specifically?

As mentioned above, overstriding leads to braking forces therefore waste of energy.
nivlanauk
post May 18 2021, 12:10 PM

307 posts

QUOTE(Vrese @ Apr 25 2021, 11:22 PM)
Do you guys did massage after running. What is the benefits of getting a massage

Feel syok. No real benefits.
There are better ways to "improve blood circulation", like the good ol' walking.

nivlanauk
post Jan 31 2022, 09:01 PM

307 posts

QUOTE(SupermanLick @ Jan 15 2022, 10:49 AM)
Running wasted my daily energy ,it doesn't forming bigger muscles & strength improvement
Don't be like an ancestors
If you're running to build bigger muscles & strength, then you're barking up the wrong tree my friend biggrin.gif
Strength training with progressive loading is what you need to build bigger muscles & strength!

Steady-state jogging/running is for your cardiovascular system!

nivlanauk
post Jan 31 2022, 11:42 PM

307 posts

QUOTE(SupermanLick @ Jan 31 2022, 10:01 PM)
Strength training cardiovascular system very good ,when I deadlift my heart rate hit 185± with dizziness ,5times dizziness
Running build up Body energy systems ,lose very fast it u stop running
Strength training number one, jogging 2nd
Training different properties dude.
Endurance athletes undergoes volume overload induced cardiac hypertrophy, whereas strength athletes undergoes pressure overload induced cardiac hypertrophy
Endurance athletes have larger left ventricular volume, whereas strength athletes have thicker left ventricular walls.

The dizziness you feel after an all-out effort is because of a lack of oxygen to your brain, nothing more.
Your heart rate will hit 185+ for a brief moment and drops immediately as you sit.

Yes, 1 will lose the endurance built from running after you stop running. Just like how 1 would lose strength after 3 weeks of not lifting.

For building strength, strength training is definitely number 1 but
in terms of cardiovascular health, strength training is probably not number 1. smile.gif

0.1113sec    0.56    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 12:06 PM