LYN Runners Version.11
Patt_Hup
Sep 17 2020, 01:56 PM

*Asking for opinion Recently i did a 10K run and I found that my heart rate is consistently at Zone 5 w/ avg HR of 180. I dont feel particularly 'too tired' throughout the run but I'm wondering if it's bad if i keep train like this 2/3 times a wekk.
Patt_Hup
Sep 17 2020, 03:52 PM

QUOTE(Kidicarus @ Sep 17 2020, 03:36 PM) How old are you? How are your zones calculated? Is your Heart Rate monitor chest strap or wrist based? What's your mileage per week? Whenever I hear about people running at 180bpm, my first reaction is that HRM is cadence locked - that means your HRM is confusing the number of steps you're taking a minute with your heart rate. If your data can't be relied on there's nothing wrong with running by feel - and most running should be done at an easy pace. I'm 33, using Garmin watch to track my HR. I guess my HR zones are calculated based on 220-age. I'm doing about 20-25km/week but not really consistent throughout the month. Based on the data, my avg cadence is 172, somewhat closed to my avg HR. Do you mean that HRM from watch is not really accurate? This post has been edited by Patt_Hup: Sep 17 2020, 03:55 PM
Patt_Hup
Sep 17 2020, 04:36 PM

QUOTE(Kidicarus @ Sep 17 2020, 04:21 PM) I seriously doubt your HR is averaging 180 on a 10k run especially at 33yrs (I'm not trying to make assumptions about your ability). IF I was 33 and I'm not - that would be higher than my LTHR and i would expect that HR for VO2max intervals. 95% of my max HR is damn tough... My suspicion is that the HRM from your watch is not accurate - maybe the solution is that its not tight enough. Got it. Will try to tighten up the next time i run and monitor. Thanks
Patt_Hup
Sep 24 2020, 03:28 PM

QUOTE(Vrese @ Sep 22 2020, 10:13 PM) Do update us the outcome. What garmin model you are using? My heart rate is high too even measured using chest strap hrm. So, there is a chance you are the same Still the same even i strap it tighter. I'm using model FR45. My avg HR is 181 for 5k run (hard effort) This post has been edited by Patt_Hup: Sep 24 2020, 03:29 PM
Patt_Hup
Sep 24 2020, 06:35 PM

QUOTE(Vrese @ Sep 24 2020, 06:19 PM) If that the case. Yes, its bad for you. Don't always run too hard. Your watch is new model. The new sensor should be able to give almost accurate hr reading provided you strap it fairly tight. Haha.. Thanks for the advice. I'll try to limit the hard effort run of 1/2 per week.
Patt_Hup
Dec 29 2020, 05:06 PM

Hi Sifus, just wondering if you have any tips on how to increase stride length without sacrificing too much energy for long run. Do you: i. Kick harder with your legs to the back after each stride ii. lift your legs higher for the next stride. iii. Overstride by abit iv. All of the above
This post has been edited by Patt_Hup: Dec 29 2020, 05:06 PM
Patt_Hup
Jan 4 2021, 02:13 PM

QUOTE(Kidicarus @ Jan 1 2021, 10:14 PM) I'm not a running sifu but i and ii are part of the same motion of getting some sort of forward knee drive going and engaging your rear posterior chain. Over striding is bad because it results in braking force. From what I understand proper running form is about having your foot make contact with the ground right below the centre of gravity. Having your core engaged to maintain a slight forward lean should move your centre of gravity forward and give you increased stride length without over striding. Thanks for the well summarized info
Patt_Hup
Jan 4 2021, 02:18 PM

QUOTE(nivlanauk @ Jan 2 2021, 10:54 AM) Are your legs strong? As in do you undergo strength training or even tempo runs? But why stride length specifically? As mentioned above, overstriding leads to braking forces therefore waste of energy. Not in particular. I usually do tempo run most of the time. Recently i pumped my running cadence up to 175, but this however sacrificed my stride length to below 1m. I'm just wondering how can I increase my stride length efficiently without exhausting myself for long run while maintaining cadence of around 175. I used to run with 160 cadence. This post has been edited by Patt_Hup: Jan 4 2021, 02:19 PM
Patt_Hup
Jan 4 2021, 08:13 PM

QUOTE(Kidicarus @ Jan 4 2021, 03:03 PM) Do Strides.. they’re good for that. 6-8 sets of 20 secs sprint with 1 min walking recovery. Great as a cool down exercise at the end of an easy run or before a hard workout. Purpose is to increase leg turnover as well as your kick. Easiest way to do that is to count 30 steps on one foot which works out to roughly 20s if you’re taking 180 steps a minute. Alright will try that out. Thanks for the tips
Patt_Hup
Jan 7 2021, 02:03 PM

QUOTE(Spitzer @ Jan 5 2021, 05:08 PM) whats the weight of you runners here in this thread? Is 80kg too heavy to run? ie. more damaging to bones etc? most of the people that i personally know who's into running is not reaching 70, or barely above 70... I'm quite short and use to weight close to 80kg before i pickup running.
Patt_Hup
Apr 13 2021, 10:35 AM

QUOTE(clement7621 @ Mar 29 2021, 08:04 PM) Hi, I would like to buy a daily trainer or cushioned shoes for running, would like to ask for recommendation that is around RM350. Could any sifu recommend me ? thank you! Ngam Ngam ur budget. But this one not really cushion and more suitable to distance HM and below. Asics Hyper Speed
Patt_Hup
Jun 2 2021, 04:33 PM

QUOTE(merajey @ Jun 1 2021, 11:23 PM) Have anyone come across this website before?Is it legit? https://www.hokashoesmalaysia.com/RM390 for Carbon X  like too good to be true
Patt_Hup
Dec 1 2021, 10:20 AM

QUOTE(Leto @ Dec 1 2021, 09:18 AM) putrajaya less car + flat road + long distance Yeap, a good place for PB but too far for me
Patt_Hup
Dec 8 2021, 02:26 PM

QUOTE(Leto @ Dec 1 2021, 01:25 PM) 1-2 hour drive from PutraJaya. Did my HM nearby my Taman instead This post has been edited by Patt_Hup: Dec 8 2021, 02:27 PM
Patt_Hup
Aug 8 2022, 10:43 PM

QUOTE(nampaknyahebat @ Jul 31 2022, 12:40 PM) Hello, I have just signed up for a 10K race and this is my first race ever, so I think I need a pair of race shoes that doesn’t cost much. I have been running for quite some times already. My budget is around RM500. Any recommendations to it? Thanks! Puma Liberate Nitro This post has been edited by Patt_Hup: Aug 8 2022, 10:44 PM