I will go straight to the point.
(1) What is your purpose of running? Love of Sport? Get Fit? Or Lose weight?
(2) What is your BMI? What is your body fat?
Some do it for cardio, some do it for weight loss/maintenance, some just love running, some are hooked on endorphin.
If you need to go for stress test, just go. The doctor will let you know your health.
It depends on your health & fitness, hard to answer (1) to (3). You can be at BMI 25, and low body fat %, but still will hit zone 5 very fast, but run at higher pace for middle distance (ie 1k to 10k). Or you can be at BMI 19 and low body fat but run long duration at higher pace but majority at zone 5 (although doctors will strongly discourage you).
Dun compare to the elite or even athletic type recreational runners, some have years of running, so they can run pace 8 min/km at heart rate zone 3 or 2 or even 1, even with BMI > 21 and body fat > 20%. Generally, long distance runners have both lower BMI and lower body fat.
Important for you -> see a doctor for your question (3), do you have high BP? do you have high cholesterol? do you have a underlying heart issue?
If you want to lose weight, it is fine to stay in heart rate zone 3 for most of your runs, aerobic zone. Some runs/jogs, you may want to do 1 min or even 3 min at higher pace, pushing your heart to zone 4 or zone 5... then a similar 1 min or 3 min slower pace, so your heart rate drops to zone 2, even walking. It depends on your health and fitness level, HIIT or interval, you can once a week or twice a week. But if you want to do HIIT daily, ok too just keep it short as long as you are injury free.
So for 9 months till now, you lose weight from 154kg to 135kg, and your pace moved from 13-15 min/km to 10 min/km. Well Done! Important to do your upperbody workout, to ensure you maintain muscles strength and mass while burning body fat.
I presume you dun have a GSP watch, and use treadmill HR monitor, go get a GPS watch, it will give you a peace of mind in your journey of fitness. With a GPS HR watch, just stay in the avg HR in zone 3; most people will have a HR drift, longer you run at constance pace constance cadence, avg HR per km will drift higher. As long as 70% stay in zone 3, it will be fine.
If you want to know, i was at 66kg, and my first attempt at pace 8 min/km, i can barely lasted 1 km, and was panting badly after running only 1km, i think the treadmill HR showed me hitting zone 5 few times. Fast forward 11 months later, i ran 10km race in sub 60 mins but at weight 56kg where HR 60% in zone 3 (rest in zone 4/5) with GPS HR watch. 3 years later, at 66kg, i run 10km, at pace 8 min/km, my HR is in zone 2, and i can talk freely; however, when i am in a "de-trained", my 10km run in 80 mins is at totally zone 5 at weight 66kg.
Question: Do you want to bear with the higher risk? Running in zone 5 for 60 mins, or even 120 mins? I have seen recreational marathoner runner complete in 3, 4, 5 or 6 hours in totally zone 5. They look fine after the run.
No point right? Putting so much effort, to change your life style and die from taking so much risk at this early stage.
The fitter you are, heart is so much stronger on top of a stronger muscular-skeletal, so at constant pace and fixed distance, avg HR will drop. But some people just can push more at HR zone 5.
Just stay safe, if your objective is at this moment is to lose weight, stay in zone 3, over time, you will be fitter and still run faster in zone 3. And you will also be able to run in zone 5.
Thank you so much for taking the time for providing the guidance, it shows in your passion to help others and may you be blessed always for your kind deed. I bet i wouldnt be able to write at length but would try to share as per your input above. My actual intention is to lose weight and be fit before i end up triggering the time bomb that i am currently. In other words, with my BMI of 44 and body fat of 35.7 (based on my Omron Connect Scale), I am highly candidate for major health issues like BP and Diabetes.
Thankfully as of my last medical check up done 9 months ago, my BP, sugar and cholesterol are in order but the doc has indicated that if i dont reduce, the numbers could turn the other way round and it was sort of a wake-up call, i know it could take me so long to wake up, but at least i got up from the slumber.
As for the devices, I am currently using Garmin watch with heart strap and rarely do treadmill runs as i prefer the outdoors, i have also hooked my Garmin Connect to Strava and that has helped me in a sense where it shows my comparison from the time i started to where i am currently. You are right, I am able to do 5km today in 56 mins with average HR of 145bpm in comparison to when i started 2.75km at 42.55min (15.36 pace) with average HR of 153bpm.
Probably i am getting slightly more edgy as i get more active to try to make my pace better but a good friend of mine who does regular 5.5min/km pace did indicate that i have to be realistic with my body right now, one of the good motivating statement he gave was that, if with his current weight, he is asked to lug around additional weight to reflect my current body weight, in no way would he be able to finish 5km at my pace (or even finish at all!).
That gave me the comfort and likewise for cycling, today i have all the road bikes buzzing past me but there will come a day when all these weight will go and my training at this weight limit would come in handy to propel me much further... it has not been an easy journey but i am a different person than i was 6 months ago. i will be going for my medical check up in Nov and i am certain the numbers would be much better overall and my stress test would also reflect the same.
i cant thank you enough for your response and this avenue also did make me dare approach people like my friend whom otherwise i would not have asked for opinions and funny enough that for every 1 person at the park who nudges his wife/gf to say "hei check that fat dude out trying to run", there are other 9 who would look at you and say "go on dude, everyday is a step towards progress"