LYN Runners Version.11

steevan1000
post Jan 4 2022, 11:08 AM

4,539 posts

wanna buy new running shoes as the old ones are worn out
any suggestions?

prefer budget around RM100 ~ RM200 (250 max)

Leto
post Jan 4 2022, 01:27 PM

214 posts

QUOTE(steevan1000 @ Jan 4 2022, 11:08 AM)
any suggestions?

nike free run 5.0
biastee
post Jan 4 2022, 02:16 PM

89 posts

QUOTE(steevan1000 @ Jan 4 2022, 11:08 AM)
any suggestions?

U didn't say Men or Women, weekly mileage, racing / training and preferred thickness offset, etc.

In the RM119 range, maybe Mizuno Spark 3 or Maximixer 21?

steevan1000
post Jan 5 2022, 09:45 AM

4,539 posts

QUOTE(biastee @ Jan 4 2022, 02:16 PM)
U didn't say Men or Women, weekly mileage, racing / training and preferred thickness offset, etc.

In the RM119 range, maybe Mizuno Spark 3 or Maximixer 21?

for men indoor training
preferred light colour
standard thickness is fine
good air ventilation / breathable
light weight
smile.gif smile.gif smile.gif

Nike & Adidas not in list of consideration

This post has been edited by steevan1000: Jan 5 2022, 09:46 AM
biastee
post Jan 5 2022, 02:22 PM

89 posts

QUOTE(steevan1000 @ Jan 5 2022, 09:45 AM)
for men indoor training
preferred light colour
light weight
smile.gif  smile.gif  smile.gif

This is the most ventilated, breathable, & lightest running shoe ever!
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Huarache_(running_shoe)
https://youtu.be/7NAtmx2grxs
steevan1000
post Jan 10 2022, 09:41 AM

4,539 posts

CNY 30% Discounts

found out SportsDirect having 30% promotion for CNY
Leto
post Jan 10 2022, 05:32 PM

214 posts

QUOTE(steevan1000 @ Jan 5 2022, 09:45 AM)
for men indoor training
preferred light colour
light weight
smile.gif  smile.gif  smile.gif

laymank
post Jan 11 2022, 10:20 PM

4,232 posts

Has anyone heard of VSure app?

They are co-organizing virtual running/riding events with the ability to bundle in micro insurance at a minimal fee to cover you during the event.

We can also claim a free PA insurance upon signup and update profile.

Leto
post Jan 14 2022, 10:38 AM

214 posts

nope.. never heard of it
are u promoting it
SupermanLick
post Jan 15 2022, 10:49 AM

👊PUNCH SOHAI🗣️
1,460 posts

Running wasted my daily energy ,it doesn't forming bigger muscles & strength improvement
Don't be like an ancestors

Leto
post Jan 19 2022, 08:52 AM

214 posts

QUOTE(SupermanLick @ Jan 15 2022, 10:49 AM)
Running wasted my daily energy ,it doesn't forming bigger muscles & strength improvement
to each of his own
nivlanauk
post Jan 31 2022, 09:01 PM

307 posts

If you're running to build bigger muscles & strength, then you're barking up the wrong tree my friend biggrin.gif
Strength training with progressive loading is what you need to build bigger muscles & strength!

Steady-state jogging/running is for your cardiovascular system!

SupermanLick
post Jan 31 2022, 10:01 PM

👊PUNCH SOHAI🗣️
1,460 posts

QUOTE(nivlanauk @ Jan 31 2022, 09:01 PM)
If you're running to build bigger muscles & strength, then you're barking up the wrong tree my friend  biggrin.gif
Strength training with progressive loading is what you need to build bigger muscles & strength!

Steady-state jogging/running is for your cardiovascular system!
Strength training cardiovascular system very good ,when I deadlift my heart rate hit 185± with dizziness ,5times dizziness
Running build up Body energy systems ,lose very fast it u stop running
Strength training number one, jogging 2nd
nivlanauk
post Jan 31 2022, 11:42 PM

307 posts

QUOTE(SupermanLick @ Jan 31 2022, 10:01 PM)
Strength training cardiovascular system very good ,when I deadlift my heart rate hit 185± with dizziness ,5times dizziness
Running build up Body energy systems ,lose very fast it u stop running
Strength training number one, jogging 2nd
Training different properties dude.
Endurance athletes undergoes volume overload induced cardiac hypertrophy, whereas strength athletes undergoes pressure overload induced cardiac hypertrophy
Endurance athletes have larger left ventricular volume, whereas strength athletes have thicker left ventricular walls.

The dizziness you feel after an all-out effort is because of a lack of oxygen to your brain, nothing more.
Your heart rate will hit 185+ for a brief moment and drops immediately as you sit.

Yes, 1 will lose the endurance built from running after you stop running. Just like how 1 would lose strength after 3 weeks of not lifting.

For building strength, strength training is definitely number 1 but
in terms of cardiovascular health, strength training is probably not number 1. smile.gif

Wh0cares2
post Jan 31 2022, 11:46 PM

25 posts

Agreed. Younger days I ran full marathon with sub 3:30, but weight like a stick. Nowadays, I only run 2 to 3 kms daily to maintain my health.
Better do strength training to improve my overall body figure.

Roadwarrior1337
post Jan 31 2022, 11:48 PM

979 posts

Running for 5k allows my heart rate to be around 140 to 150 bpm. If carry weight...it's lower...but the duration of you running is far longer than carrying weights..so it's like a stress for your cardiovascular

However when I cycle..I abg around 160 and all out sprinting can hit 190 bpm ( and I'm approaching 40 )

So a strong heart is important ....to process O² quickly
SupermanLick
post Feb 1 2022, 12:34 AM

👊PUNCH SOHAI🗣️
1,460 posts

When I get older ,I have muscles & strength to lose
If u are skinny runner losing muscles u need wheelchair
miyakochan89
post Apr 14 2022, 06:56 PM

Wut?
6,724 posts

hello all, recently i tried putting jogging into my exercise regime. Previously i don't dare to run cause scared knee pain. After 1 year of other exercises, and seeing that my knee no longer hurts thanks to muscles building probably from squatting and all, i tried running.

I am wearing a nike running shoes, im not planning to run marathon but i want to know how to make it less impact on my feet. Like the back of my feet really hurt after a short 30 minutes slow jog. Of course i feel like my knees have a lot of impact, while they don't hurt but if i want to do it constantly, how do i protect them?
biastee
post Apr 16 2022, 01:55 PM

89 posts

QUOTE(miyakochan89 @ Apr 14 2022, 06:56 PM)
I am wearing a nike running shoes, im not planning to run marathon but i want to know how to make it less impact on my feet. Like the back of my feet really hurt after a short 30 minutes slow jog. Of course i feel like my knees have a lot of impact, while they don't hurt but if i want to do it constantly, how do i protect them?
U did not provide enough details to allow identification of the cause of your "back of feet" pain. However, I'll go out on a limb and recklessly assume it's achilles tendonitis.

To lessen impact, do one or more of the following:

1. lose weight because landing forces are 2-3 times the bodyweight.

2. switch to a softer surface, such as grass or synthetic track. Kenyans don't train on hard surfaces like asphalt [1 -2], so why should u?

3. Increase the incline on the treadmill [3].

4. Take smaller steps [4]

5. Wear Nike Vaporfly 4% [5]

6. Replace some miles with the elliptical

References.
[1] T. Tanser, "More fire"
[2] A. Finn, "The Way of the runner", pp. 485
[3] J. S. Gottschall & R. Kram, "Ground reaction forces during downhill and uphill running", J. Biomechanics, vol. 38 (2005) 445–452
[4] "Running Injuries from Over-Striding", https://www.drmirkin.com/fitness/running-in...erstriding.html
[5] B. S. Kirby, et al, "Influence of performance running footwear on muscle soreness and damage", Footwear Science, 11:sup1, S188-S189.

This post has been edited by biastee: Apr 16 2022, 02:03 PM
skyze.quek
post Apr 20 2022, 08:36 PM

48 posts

I've made a considerable run for the past 4-5months and short simple hiking during the period...

During the past 4-5 months from my running, i manage to lose 18kg and i've completed a low to high intensity run without any major problem or pain...

however after 2 months break and i start to get back to the regime of running, i feel pain in the leg muscle and i couldn't run as far (ie 10km,15km or 21km) as i could...anybody can advise what should I do?

140 Pages « < 127 128 129 130 131 > » Top

0.0232sec    0.28    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 05:04 AM