Ultimate Discussion of ASNB (47457-V) VI, Wholly owned subsidary of PNB (38218-X)

Kerry1136
post Sep 22 2016, 11:33 AM

One Decade Old
1,925 posts

First time doing this....I have an old ASWawasan2020...is this difficult to apply now?

I also asked about whether can top up...the bank said can...ask me how much maximum so I said like err 10k...wait awhile in the end she said she bought 3k...so I paid and left...

Question is...if the interest is so lucrative and its so easy to buy the units whats the catch?
Kerry1136
post Sep 22 2016, 11:52 AM

One Decade Old
1,925 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Sep 22 2016, 11:46 AM)
You think is easy to buy?  bangwall.gif  ranting.gif
Interest is lucrative? It's fixed at 6.x% for non bumi  and 7.x% for bumis. I think just beat your everyday inflation rates.
Catch = waste petrol, come to the bank/post office and not guaranteed units, need to wait few hours to catch few units, give money to govt to invest. whistling.gif
Sorry bro doesn't mean to offend because this is first time buying and yeah pretty easy I didn't queue nor wait long.

My petrol is claimable and the bank is just downstairs of my office so I guess not much issue there though.

You mean to say that its difficult to purchase these units?
Kerry1136
post Sep 24 2016, 10:07 AM

One Decade Old
1,925 posts

QUOTE(wil-i-am @ Sep 22 2016, 10:38 PM)
Lady luck is besides u when u bot
Reading the previous posts I do know now it is difficult to buy so yea kinda lucky first try I guess.

Now my question is besides ASW2020 what other type are typically fixed rates and possible to open an account?
Kerry1136
post Sep 25 2016, 06:54 PM

One Decade Old
1,925 posts

Wanna ask if I have somebody who let go off their funds what would be the method for me to take over? I know it's not transferable and I don't wanna miss this opportunity. A friend of mine wants to let go his asw.
Kerry1136
post Sep 26 2016, 11:05 AM

One Decade Old
1,925 posts

QUOTE(nexona88 @ Sep 25 2016, 07:14 PM)
The best is do at two counter at the same time..
Withdraw & top up..
And do on Sunday (the state working day)..

The best tips I can give u..
Thanks buddy, Sunday? Or your referring to Saturday?
I don't have a preferred banking, basically I will go to banks whichever is nearby my vicinity.

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Sep 25 2016, 07:55 PM)
If I am not mistaken ASNB can do transfer. But have to find a branch. Both parties must be present. Best is find a ASNB branch, ask the staff. *50-50 chance*
QUOTE(wil-i-am @ Sep 25 2016, 08:05 PM)
The best method is to perform sell n buy transaction concurrently
Having said tat, it doesn't guarantee 100% success
Thanks for the input.
I'll try to get him to release bit by bit rather than one lump.

Based on the previous advice in this thread I think I will also try my luck in opening other fixed price funds like ASM and AS1M.
Kerry1136
post Sep 27 2016, 10:42 AM

One Decade Old
1,925 posts

QUOTE(nexona88 @ Sep 26 2016, 02:56 PM)
Not Saturday, but Sunday..
Those state working on that day..
Basically if u do transactions on that day, the risk of your units captured by others is smaller because most state is off day..
So withdraw & top up with ease rclxms.gif
Thanks I didn't know banks in states are opened on Sundays laugh.gif

Any idea when Selangor or KL area opens on Sunday?
Kerry1136
post Sep 27 2016, 01:45 PM

One Decade Old
1,925 posts

QUOTE(nexona88 @ Sep 27 2016, 11:43 AM)
don't think have Selangor / KL area.

The Sunday thingy is those state like Terengganu, Kelantan, Kedah & Johor. Their working day starts on Sunday instead of Monday like rest of the country. 

hope this clear up your doubt.
QUOTE(wil-i-am @ Sep 27 2016, 12:42 PM)
Even Banks in KV open on weekend, they dun allow ASNB transactions
Yeah that is why I'm wondering why got banks open during Sundays.

I'm actually based in KL though.

Anyways got some good news I manage to open ASM and top up ASW.
Kerry1136
post Sep 27 2016, 02:16 PM

One Decade Old
1,925 posts

QUOTE(nexona88 @ Sep 27 2016, 01:55 PM)
where u managed to open?

and how much u top up?

hmm.gif
Asked 5k they gimme 5k...I opened in bangsar maybank.
Kerry1136
post Sep 28 2016, 06:00 PM

One Decade Old
1,925 posts

Manage to top up 4 digit for ASM ....should i try opening AS1M too?

Or just focus on asw n asm?
Kerry1136
post Sep 28 2016, 06:50 PM

One Decade Old
1,925 posts

QUOTE(nexona88 @ Sep 28 2016, 06:13 PM)
if have chance to open, why not since u already going to top up at the branch..  icon_rolleyes.gif

as I said previously 4/10 is the date  smile.gif
Sorry as I may not be following but what's 4/10

And reason I'm asking is by opening multiple funds wouldn't the interest yield much lower than consolidation all to one?
Kerry1136
post Sep 30 2016, 02:10 PM

One Decade Old
1,925 posts

Manage to grab 4digit for ASM today...not sure why it sounds that difficult to buy though.

I usually pass my book in to my advisor and when I go collect it about 3pm and she said it's done.
Kerry1136
post Sep 30 2016, 03:39 PM

One Decade Old
1,925 posts

QUOTE(tonytyk @ Sep 30 2016, 02:19 PM)
Wah, another person with PB privilege
What's PB?

I usually just pass it to the person I know and take it back during late afternoons if I decided to leave early from office.
Kerry1136
post Sep 30 2016, 03:44 PM

One Decade Old
1,925 posts

QUOTE(honkkydorry @ Sep 30 2016, 03:32 PM)
The Pos Office is super packed today, no chance to go scouting for those un-used number...I had to wait from outside  biggrin.gif . Decided to leave...no top up for this month.
Normally you guys top up every month averagely how much?
Kerry1136
post Sep 30 2016, 03:45 PM

One Decade Old
1,925 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Sep 30 2016, 03:42 PM)

PB = Priority/Private Banking
Ah okay, not PB for RHB where I usually top up...I guess she's quite nice to me and I also buy her Starbucks every morning if I decided to drop by for top up.
Kerry1136
post Oct 4 2016, 04:35 PM

One Decade Old
1,925 posts

Top up 4digit on ASM instead of AS1M...wanted to open AS1M but forgot to bring my child's birth certificate oh well guess tomorrow try and open for her.

Funny thing was I asked is she busy she said alot of people came to update their book...hardly anyone sell their AS1M
Kerry1136
post Oct 13 2016, 01:45 PM

One Decade Old
1,925 posts

Today manage to put 5k in ASW...I realize my luck running out as not so easy to top up ASW already.

Kerry1136
post Oct 13 2016, 06:13 PM

One Decade Old
1,925 posts

QUOTE(nexona88 @ Oct 13 2016, 03:36 PM)
Well asw is always in demand..
U good enough to get 5k in non dividend payment month..
Sorry what's non dividend payment month? I know their payout was few months back though..
Kerry1136
post Oct 14 2016, 08:45 AM

One Decade Old
1,925 posts

QUOTE(nexona88 @ Oct 13 2016, 06:46 PM)
Sorry what I mean was now is not the dividend payout month..  (Sept 1 is the date). Now off peak time. Limited units because those want to withdraw already done that..
Ah yes of course 😊

0.1013sec    0.48    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 06:20 AM