The watch thread v13!

hjh87
post Apr 14 2017, 07:37 PM

794 posts

Hi guy,

Will getting a watch at duty free either KLIA or KLIA2 any cheaper after the deduction of the duty.

sometimes I did a 2 days trip to nearboughring country for work. Is it still able to get that duty free??

The reason I'm asking this, is that when I'm back to Malaysia and bought some liquor which the staff mentioned that if custom checked my luggage I'm might need to pay for the tax as I'm not traveling for the require period. Is this apply to watches as well?
hjh87
post Apr 15 2017, 09:27 AM

794 posts

QUOTE(Everdying @ Apr 14 2017, 09:07 PM)
afaik u need to fly in and stay a min of 48hrs to get the gst rebate.

I think still possible to buy the duty free item, only if the custom did not stop that person for checking or declaring.

hjh87
post Apr 15 2017, 10:59 AM

794 posts

QUOTE(Everdying @ Apr 15 2017, 09:48 AM)
arent they all duty free?
but u will still get hit by GST right? and only 1 way to claim it back...
Not sure about, thought the previous sales tax is substitute by GST. Meaning now all stuff in airport which is duty free is exempted from GST right?

Haha, might need someone who clear about the Malaysia duty taxes explain further.

hjh87
post Apr 18 2017, 08:20 PM

794 posts

QUOTE(deity01 @ Apr 18 2017, 01:55 PM)
erm, they will scan ur passport 1st at the shop before letting you buy duty free item in the 1st place...they wont tell you if you are not qualified for duty free?
I think all item already is duty free. And if any individual not qualified to purchase the duty free item due to insufficient travel period, that will only happen if the custom officer caught that individual at the exit. (Correct me if I'm wrong)

Cause there is one scenario, where my colleague bought a liquor which cost thousand of ringgit with travel period less than 48 hours. The cashier did inform him that he is not qualified, and if get caught my colleague might need to pay for the duty taxes.

0.1456sec    0.44    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 05:32 PM