The watch thread v13!

Everdying
post Nov 16 2016, 12:45 PM

Two is One and One is None.
30,735 posts

QUOTE(spoon2272 @ Nov 16 2016, 12:39 PM)
Guy's im eyeing on this Omega Seamaster.I checked the price is around RM20K but i am wondering how is Omega resell value?Is it worth to buy or save it more for Rolex,IWC
buying a watch and thinking of resell value, better dont buy anything.

all watches lose value, its just the swiss constantly increase prices every yr or so which gives the impression that they hold value.
but reality is as retail price increase, so too does the used prices.

anyway, that omega rm20k...quite expensive already due to currency.
used to be rm18k retail.
find the older one with 2500 movement in used market should be around rm10k...newer model probably rm14k used.

Everdying
post Nov 18 2016, 10:10 AM

30,735 posts

i was half expecting a bronze pelagos to be launched tongue.gif
but looks like tudor now jumping further into the faux aged treatment with the markers...
Everdying
post Nov 18 2016, 11:30 AM

30,735 posts

QUOTE(fuzzy @ Nov 17 2016, 09:43 PM)
A good option for long ignored lefties like me tongue.gif

4.4k, which translates into "why is our currency so shitty"  zone for me though..
imo technically its a watch made for righties / ppl who wear on left hand.
back when wrist watches were made, traditionally men all wore on left wrist...
then i think someone whos watch had a cancer growth masquerading as a crown guard, had idea why not put crown on opposite side so wont poke into wrist...
seiko smarter just move it to 4oclock position tongue.gif

anyway, im lefty also and every time want to wind those i do it upside down cos too used to right side crown.
so i dont buy any left side crown ones tongue.gif

true its probably easier to wind on the wrist if the crown facing away from u...but most usually say never wind on the wrist cos u may bend the crown stem etc.

This post has been edited by Everdying: Nov 18 2016, 11:42 AM
Everdying
post Nov 18 2016, 11:33 PM

30,735 posts

Ball jumps belatedly into the Bronzo market...looking like a Zenith.

limited to 3000 pcs... nice price of usd1275...
too bad it uses eta2836.
Everdying
post Nov 19 2016, 08:25 AM

30,735 posts

QUOTE(ck77 @ Nov 19 2016, 07:19 AM)
What's wrong with 2836?
don't like day / date.

Everdying
post Nov 21 2016, 06:07 PM

30,735 posts

QUOTE(bakry @ Nov 21 2016, 06:05 PM)
Thanks.  i have zero knowledge on watches. So no idea whats the best i can get for rm2k. Definately i wont get
some armani fashion watch la. ahhahaha
rm2k...seiko or steinhart.
Everdying
post Nov 24 2016, 05:50 PM

30,735 posts

strangely i dont miss my steinhart ovm...tho i still got gas for the ocean 1 bronze...zzz.
Everdying
post Nov 24 2016, 06:54 PM

30,735 posts

QUOTE(fuzzy @ Nov 24 2016, 06:26 PM)
How do you find bronze watches? I still have that itch to own one but can't seem to find one that hits all the spot.
the only one recently that hits the spot is the oris.
the tudor like the steinhart both use aluminum bronze... which to my eyes doesn't patina naturally as much as brass.
but the steinhart is much cheaper... so i dont mind it.
Everdying
post Nov 24 2016, 07:19 PM

30,735 posts

QUOTE(fuzzy @ Nov 24 2016, 07:13 PM)
Yea, I'm not looking at the big brands because I know it will be something is probably fleeting for me.

I saw pictures of the Halios and Margratte, stunning.. Though as microbrands usually are, all sold out long and doesn't seem likely to be coming back.

I'll keep an eye of out for the Steinhart.
halios also uses alu bronze...margrette too expensive already.
another one of cos is the makara...but they seem to be having quite a few issues.
then theres helson and armida both made by the same HK factory...
anyway others that i like are helberg and archimedes....but value wise its still steinhart.

Everdying
post Nov 25 2016, 06:39 PM

30,735 posts

but this thing with lolex non-transferable warranty has been going on for awhile...
why suddenly again?

u can find threads on this going back 5yrs or more on both watchuseek and rolexforums.
Everdying
post Nov 26 2016, 03:12 PM

30,735 posts

QUOTE(khelben @ Nov 26 2016, 02:55 PM)
I believe Sevenfriday's watches have Miyota movements. Usually watches around RM300-500 have that movement. And it doesn't have Sapphire crystal glass.

No idea why it's so expensive.
cos ppl are willing to pay for design and the illusion of luxury.
Everdying
post Nov 26 2016, 05:04 PM

30,735 posts

QUOTE(Kerry1136 @ Nov 26 2016, 04:55 PM)
I got mine today thumbup.gif
You have a BB black?
Thanks buddy but I opt for ETA this time around mainly because of personal taste. The Pelagos is too big on my wrist so I went for BB instead. However my sales actually let me try out the bronze BB and I drooled perhaps next year. Apparently the demand is more than supply for now.
[attachmentid=8143551][attachmentid=8143553]
if demand is more than supply, then why still got stock?
Everdying
post Nov 26 2016, 07:22 PM

30,735 posts

QUOTE(Kerry1136 @ Nov 26 2016, 07:09 PM)
That piece I was trying belongs to some guy who have paid in full but have yet to collect it.

I was close to the sales so she did a favor for me by allowing me to take a look at that piece face2face.

I've seen it in websites but have not actually seen one before. Most of the time I ask other stores its always 'not available'.
ah, tho i find it quite overpriced considering its aluminum bronze.

Everdying
post Nov 28 2016, 01:24 PM

30,735 posts

gmail
G-04 preorder paid...waiting delivery now tongue.gif
Everdying
post Nov 28 2016, 02:39 PM

30,735 posts

QUOTE(gmail @ Nov 28 2016, 02:21 PM)
I have not even receive their email asking for payment  yawn.gif
not sure how they doing the batches.
could be by first come first serve, or strap color.
i ordered with the green strap... tho i guess I'm also one of the early ones to preorder.
Everdying
post Nov 29 2016, 12:53 PM

30,735 posts

QUOTE(teongpeng @ Nov 29 2016, 12:51 PM)
Eh how u instantly tell its the sapphire and not hesalite version?
edge of crystal different tongue.gif
Everdying
post Nov 29 2016, 05:39 PM

30,735 posts

plus the sapphire has incorrect wording on the caseback.
Everdying
post Nov 29 2016, 07:13 PM

30,735 posts

QUOTE(friedricetheman @ Nov 29 2016, 06:59 PM)
Technically not incorrect. Officially, it is the first and only watch on the moon. I confirmed that with the employees there during my trip to their NASA space center.

There were astronauts whom wore their own watches to space but officially there is only one that is certified.

Also, the hesalite version has an incorrect movement. The Moonwatch that was worn by Buzz Aldrin and Neil Armstrong had the caliber 321. Modern versions have the caliber 1861 with Delrin brake.
but its been well documented already that its not the only one...regardless if it's certified or not.
im pretty sure u already know lots of others also don't like the 'only', even on the omegaforums.
i previously had a 3572, flipped it but still keeping 3570.
anyway the moon thing gets stupid... 1st chrono in space... 1st dog in space... waiting for 1st clown in space...

Everdying
post Nov 29 2016, 07:22 PM

30,735 posts

QUOTE(friedricetheman @ Nov 29 2016, 07:17 PM)
1st Malaysian in space? When will they make an Omega in Malaysian colors on the dial for that? I have been waiting ever since Dr. What'sHisName became the first angkasawan.

Agree. All this marketing is sickening. Hence I only buy watch I like.
the only 'space' watch that i been wanting is a sturmanskie.

or more popularly known as the one gagarin wore into space... aka 1st watch in space tongue.gif
i missed out on a pretty accurate reissue couple yrs ago... recent ones kinda going their own way...so kinda meh.
pretty decent value that time around rm1.2k.
Everdying
post Nov 29 2016, 07:27 PM

30,735 posts

QUOTE(Naka7a @ Nov 29 2016, 07:24 PM)
First teh Tarik in space  edition. Lol.

Time for dinner. Pardon the pun
dont say u let the chrono hand run all the time?

24 Pages « < 9 10 11 12 13 > » Top

0.1357sec    0.23    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 10:55 PM