Can you challenge VP?, No electricity and water meters

TSsojurn
post Jul 26 2016, 09:41 PM, updated 10y ago

286 posts

Sifus, need your help to clarify since I do not know enough about this topic.

I have a condo that was completed early this month. VP letters were issued and I took the keys. When we entered the property, we learned that the water and electricity meters were yet to be installed. They said it will take another 1-2 weeks (from last week).

My aunt who is a lawyer but not really specialising in construction said that from what she recalls, you're not supposed to VP without electricity and water meters.

However, I have checked the CCC requirements and it does not require electrical and water meters to be installed. So can the property be VP'd without these?

Just to clarify, the internal piping itself is ready. They connected water through the common facilities and the supply works. My only issue is on the meters themselves which means I cannot actually apply for water from Syabas or electricity from TNB.

Can the property be VP'd in this state? Is this considered normal or is it an issue? Thanks for any help.
Richard
post Jul 27 2016, 09:17 PM

1,083 posts

what is VP?

dannychen
post Jul 28 2016, 09:37 PM

1,263 posts

QUOTE(Richard @ Jul 27 2016, 09:17 PM)
what is VP?
vacant possession.
Richard
post Jul 29 2016, 02:43 AM

1,083 posts

Actually here in Sabah, you need to sign an agreement with SESB (Sabah Electricity Sdn bhd) complete with copies of your ic and proof of ownership of the unit before they install the meter, ditto for JA Neg. Sabah.

So as long as there is the infrastructure completed and final internal connections ready the unit gets its OC (occupancy certificate)..

But maybe its different over your place..
shaniandras2787
post Aug 4 2016, 12:10 PM

drugged coordinator
2,309 posts

QUOTE(metalgearash1987 @ Aug 3 2016, 12:20 AM)
Hi guys,

As per title, can we still sell a service apartment unit to a willing buyer without MOT in possession?
If you go through the agreement carefully, you should come to a clause which states that the developer's obligations in respect of the construction is to ensure that the trucking, piping etc is ready for connection. if the wiring/trunking/piping leading to your parcel is completed then the developer's obligation is fulfilled.

Obviously without the water meter installed at the main pipes, there will be no water supply.

Have you signed the letter in which states that you have inspected everything and has duly taken vacant possession of the parcel? If so then you may have a bit of problem trying to dispute now. What you should do is to NOT sign that letter and write a formal complaint to the developer and put in record then it is a straight forward claim for late delivery interest.

Then again, you can try writing to the developer stating your claims and see what they reply.

Threaten them that you will escalate the matter to the housing development ministry if they decided to pull your leg.

Keep us updated.
TSsojurn
post Aug 4 2016, 12:13 PM

286 posts

QUOTE(shaniandras2787 @ Aug 4 2016, 12:10 PM)
If you go through the agreement carefully, you should come to a clause which states that the developer's obligations in respect of the construction is to ensure that the trucking, piping etc is ready for connection. if the wiring/trunking/piping leading to your parcel is completed then the developer's obligation is fulfilled.

Obviously without the water meter installed at the main pipes, there will be no water supply.

Have you signed the letter in which states that you have inspected everything and has duly taken vacant possession of the parcel? If so then you may have a bit of problem trying to dispute now. What you should do is to NOT sign that letter and write a formal complaint to the developer and put in record then it is a straight forward claim for late delivery interest.

Then again, you can try writing to the developer stating your claims and see what they reply.

Threaten them that you will escalate the matter to the housing development ministry if they decided to pull your leg.

Keep us updated.
What they have done at that time was to install a shunt so that water can still flow but without the meter. So basically the water is from common facilities. They have since last week installed the water meter but the electrical meter is still not installed.

Same as for water, they have bypassed the connection so my unit gets electricity from common facility. Electricity meter is still not installed to my knowledge.
shaniandras2787
post Aug 4 2016, 12:27 PM

drugged coordinator
2,309 posts

QUOTE(sojurn @ Aug 4 2016, 12:13 PM)
What they have done at that time was to install a shunt so that water can still flow but without the meter. So basically the water is from common facilities. They have since last week installed the water meter but the electrical meter is still not installed.

Same as for water, they have bypassed the connection so my unit gets electricity from common facility. Electricity meter is still not installed to my knowledge.
Normal practices by developers/contractors.

When I took vacant possession of my parcel few years back, the management tapped the electricity from the main board so that my renovation contractors can start renovating my parcel. There was no individual electricity meter installed too but I confirmed with TNB at that time that they were short of supplies but I couldn't be bothered since I not staying in yet and I need not pay for the electricity used by the renovation contractors XD

Water supply though, it was running fine.

Depending on how dire your situation is. If you are already staying in and you do not have electricity or water supply then it is bad but if you do have such supplies but you are just bothered because you do not have individual meters then I would suggest you enjoy while you can.
WahBiang
post Aug 4 2016, 07:32 PM

3,718 posts

QUOTE(shaniandras2787 @ Aug 4 2016, 12:27 PM)
Normal practices by developers/contractors.

When I took vacant possession of my parcel few years back, the management tapped the electricity from the main board so that my renovation contractors can start renovating my parcel. There was no individual electricity meter installed too but I confirmed with TNB at that time that they were short of supplies but I couldn't be bothered since I not staying in yet and I need not pay for the electricity used by the renovation contractors XD

Water supply though, it was running fine.

Depending on how dire your situation is. If you are already staying in and you do not have electricity or water supply then it is bad but if you do have such supplies but you are just bothered because you do not have individual meters then I would suggest you enjoy while you can.
For condo, cn we check the meter and how??
shaniandras2787
post Aug 4 2016, 10:24 PM

drugged coordinator
2,309 posts

QUOTE(WahBiang @ Aug 4 2016, 07:32 PM)
For condo, cn we check the meter and how??
Usually for stratafied properties, the meters are located in a locked compartment on each floor. Only the management has access to them. TNB meter readers will get the master key from the management.

Go and request from your management if you seek to gain access into these compartments.
peri peri
post Aug 8 2016, 03:34 PM

10k nonsense talkative club
11,943 posts

cannot challenge lah. availability of water meter or tnb meter is beyond developer control.

developer scope is just provide you the services which are ready for connection
peri peri
post Aug 8 2016, 03:35 PM

10k nonsense talkative club
11,943 posts

btw, ur aunt as lawyer is noob, maybe is a LA

0.0195sec    0.41    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 02:12 AM