4,455 posts

bruce.gif

This post has been edited by Moogle Stiltzkin: Jun 13 2021, 07:53 AM
Moogle Stiltzkin
post Aug 30 2023, 06:17 PM

4,455 posts

is it just me or is there an issue trying to download the unifi ubiquiti app for android from googleplay?

https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?...=en&gl=US&pli=1

https://community.ui.com/releases/UniFi-And...e8-d3b1608538cc

is this by chance anything to do with the isp unifi dispute in regards to the name?

https://community.ui.com/questions/No-way-t...77-b4cd09d08e83

https://community.ui.com/questions/Unifi-Ne...62-148a2c9afa50

Anyway a work around is to get the app from a third party

https://www.apkmirror.com/apk/ubiquiti-networks-inc/unifi/

and if you are wondering if it's safe
https://www.reddit.com/r/AndroidQuestions/c...apkmirror_safe/

anyway the unifi ubiquiti app is for basically setting up the ubiquiti device via android basically

also fyi there were reported issues with UniFi 10.7.1, so you may want to try the previous android apk version to see if that worked or not instead hmm.gif

This post has been edited by Moogle Stiltzkin: Aug 30 2023, 06:20 PM
Moogle Stiltzkin
post Sep 6 2023, 02:28 PM

4,455 posts

QUOTE(sadlyfalways @ Aug 30 2023, 09:52 PM)
I couldn’t download using my Malaysia Apple ID. Said not available in my region

Used my uk Apple ID to download it
so it does seem to be a geoblock issue for Malaysia. i guess not only android but also apple as well. thx for the info notworthy.gif

anyway just surprised we got a malaysia ubiquiti thread here but nobody has mentioned this before. maybe they didn't realize this? there is an important app called unifi (by ubiquiti). This is to help detect your ubiquiti device and manage it on either your apple or android smartphone device. but due to geoblock, you won't see it at the store or at least won't be able to download it normally.

unless doing the method you mentioned (login to a foreign country account for appleid that is not under this geoblock restriction) or download via a trusted third party site like i mentioned earlier, basically wink.gif

this is a demo for what the app does

alternatively if you don't use this mobile app, you can use a web browser to detect the unifi device on network and set it up that way. i have my unifi controller self hosted on a QNAP NAS using docker container nod.gif

QUOTE(simmarjit @ Sep 3 2023, 12:47 AM)
My experience no, i bought NanoHD and UDM Pro, i didnt kena.
what? so you order say amazon and it got delivered to your home without getting stopped at customs requesting sirim permit? if so that's good icon_rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by Moogle Stiltzkin: Sep 6 2023, 02:38 PM
Moogle Stiltzkin
post Apr 4 2024, 08:37 PM

4,455 posts

QUOTE(corad @ Mar 5 2024, 07:45 PM)
Downside is no official app support in MY.
just some correction. You can download the unifi android app, UNOFFICIALLY. If you try to do it via playstore you can't get it. Instead, you have to use the third party apk website https://www.apkmirror.com/apk/ubiquiti-networks-inc/unifi/

This site host legit files with no virus. But of course you can do your research on that.

So anyway, you download the apk onto your smartphone then install it. It will work.

That is the workaround. It's annoying but you can blame the legal issues with the Unifi name.

another method that may work is using a VPN when trying to access googeplay store, though i didn't test this method. But i don't see why that wouldn't get around the geo restriction.

This is the reason if anyone else is wondering

From: "" <info@uwave.com.my> Date: 13 April 2018 at 10:15:31 MYT To: <168.raymond@gmail.com> Cc: "Hunt \(Uwave\)" <sales@uwave.com.my> Subject: RE: Ubiquiti Hello , Thank for your reaching us. I'm XXX, sales from Uwave Sdn Bhd. Regarding your enquiry on Ubiquiti Unifi Access Point. We have temporary suspended the selling of Ubiquiti brands under Unifi family (APs, switches and routers). Please do allow me to explain why we suspended the selling of Ubiquiti Unifi. Currently, Ubiquiti Unifi is having issue with Telekom Malaysia. Due to the Trademark of "UNIFI". Telekom Malaysia claimed on the rights for the wording "UNIFI" in Malaysia. There are some legal issues on going, this is the reason why we suspended all importation and selling of Ubiquiti Unifi. However, I would like to recommend the AP from Engenius, better than the UBNT UAP AC LITE and UAP AC LR. As for their switch, it comes with the controller feature. Which means the POE switch can be use as hardware controller without any additional charges.

https://community.ui.com/questions/Ubiquiti...4c-ea801c6ab754

I use a Unifi AP wifi5 it works fine till now. Their unifi controller hosted on homelabs server works fine and can easily manage the unifi ap device.

This post has been edited by Moogle Stiltzkin: Apr 4 2024, 08:40 PM
Moogle Stiltzkin
post Apr 10 2024, 06:19 PM

4,455 posts

QUOTE(yenchenje @ Apr 5 2024, 07:42 AM)
Camera equipment so far is my fav aspect due to how much more better the interface is for Protect

Network is rough, but I’m sure that’s just my stupidity preventing it from working tho as I’m diving into VLANs and L3 management

But I’m initially going to move to EAP783 from EAP670, but I’ve gotten a U7 Pro and I’m getting the same ish performance but with WiFi 7, so I’m gonna be getting one more U7 Pro to replace my Omada system fully and going Ubiquiti smile.gif

But I will look back once the EAP783 gets cheaper or I have the budget to change to that, still would like to have 10G on my AP, tho I will need a Flex-XG-6PoE to run those, which will cost around 3.4K from lion city second hand market sweat.gif

Current equipment list
Don’t think changing region with VPN works, I just side load on android, I change my region on iOS to SG to download the Unifi apps.

just wondering, how did you order the U7 pro? hmm.gif shopee does not have it listed. also ubiquiti website doesn't have malaysia in shipping destination i believe. and did you perhaps have to do the customs permit to order from overseas? or did you somehow manage to find a local seller for this?

did you see the review? it's missing some feature

@9:30

if not mistaken it's a feature added in a unifi app controller update, not a hardware revision hmm.gif

also this. 2024 might not be the best time to get wifi 7, but 2025 might be though.

also on amazon i saw a few reviews saying this about the u7 pro hmm.gif

Worst AP I've Ever Owned

Forget speeds, this thing wont even stay connected to clients. It's honestly the worst AP I've ever owned. 3 weeks of fighting it, changing mounting locations and orientations, and working with Ubiquity's support and no improvement. If you're not standing under it, just forget about it.
Good speeds, Terrible range

The speeds you get from this are pretty incredible if you're right next to it. However the range is incredibly poor. The 6ghz band is never going to be a winner in the range competition but going up a set of stairs and around the corner is enough to drop the 5ghz band to 10mbps. Staying on the same elevation and at about 2 rooms away it performs the same as my ISP access point does across my whole house on the same band. This is also after I turned the power to max, disabled other bands, manually set it to an open channel, and forced 40mhz channel width. No dice. Unfortunately I will be returning this.

For some reason this ap created so many tx retries on my network that my blueiris setup was no longer working correctly using tplink tapos c100s. I have the u6+ and dream router and don't have these issues yes I disabled 6ghz and did a bunch of manual stuff didn't fix it. This POS will be going back
the other wifi 7 options

based on the comments, seems like the ubiquiti is similar to the eero where they have some sort of odd connectivity issue.

but something like the tplink deco seems to just work, but has a privacy issue rolleyes.gif

anyway curious what is your personal experience with the u7 pro? any connectivity issue? and what speeds are you getting hmm.gif

This post has been edited by Moogle Stiltzkin: Apr 10 2024, 06:30 PM
Moogle Stiltzkin
post Apr 11 2024, 07:40 AM

4,455 posts

QUOTE(yenchenje @ Apr 10 2024, 09:02 PM)
Hopefully, they legit need to roll put better firmware cuz this is not it  doh.gif
I live in Johor but work in SG, so I did not smuggle them in my bag to cross customs.  whistling.gif

For review, so far I've not dived into any particular reviews, just kinda went in blind, currently my experience is basically on par with EAP670, 6GHz short range but thats expected

Main thing is really just the cohesiveness of the whole ecosystem with other Ubiquiti stuff, instead of being in two diff ecosystems.

Another thing I've noticed is PPSK with VLAN is really REALLY shotty, some devices works fine but some don't, they would connect to eg. Secure VLAN and get an IP address just fine but internet just wouldnt work, how much of it is just me being dumb with my setup or really just early adopter shit (Pro Max 24 PoE with U7 Pro) idk, but that is the main annoying thing and my fam has been pestering me over it as I want to segregate devices on my network  rclxub.gif , and their devices sometimes just freaks out and doesnt work

Otherwise I really like it so far, but not the heat but cant avoid that really  sweat.gif
no wonder then. yes they do ship to singapore i saw that. no luck here sweat.gif

i saw mention that some devices will have issue connecting to the u7 pro. so some commenters mentioned setting up the different wifi (using the same ssid?) so that the device will be able to connect. I think the issue was, for compatibility, some devices wouldn't be able to connect to wpa3, so you need one for wpa2? or some such.

Well in all likelihood, your fam or guests may not have as sanitized devices as you do. so you may want to segregrate them by setting up a guest wifi vlan so they can connect to that for internet to keep them isolated away from your trusted private network.

With something like tplink deco mesh, setting up a guest network vlan is easy, but with youtube shouldn't be hard for ubiquiti unifi, just extra steps xd.

yes you are correct. this particular u7 pro, they added a fan for it due to heat. the previous wifi6 and wifi 5 aps did not have a fan.

someone posted a teardown

This post has been edited by Moogle Stiltzkin: Apr 11 2024, 07:41 AM
Moogle Stiltzkin
post Apr 13 2024, 07:30 AM

4,455 posts

QUOTE(simmarjit @ Apr 12 2024, 07:56 PM)
Just buy from US and use a shipping forwarder
found this
https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/5170154/all

which one do you recommend? hmm.gif

also found this
https://luwjistik.com/ultimate-guide-to-shi...re-to-malaysia/

QUOTE(yenchenje @ Apr 12 2024, 08:22 PM)
No local distributor that I know distribute Unifi servers officially, I can help you buy from SG and ship out to you but extra charges applies, RM700 converted before shipping and other charges, DM if you're interested, might only be collectable from next week onwards as it's already weekends
notworthy.gif

This post has been edited by Moogle Stiltzkin: Apr 13 2024, 07:35 AM
Moogle Stiltzkin
post Apr 13 2024, 07:44 AM

4,455 posts

QUOTE(yenchenje @ Apr 11 2024, 07:26 PM)
I already do have a fallback SSID without management if the one with PPSK fails. And PPSK inherently doesn't work with WPA3 so I just have default WPA2 on the SSID with PPSK.

And that's my intent, I don't want any random device just gaining access to my main network by doing a bruteforce attack on my WiFi lol.

Speaking is easy but there's no indication on what the issue with since it works but sometimes it don't, which is the frustrating part. I have 5 VLANs for stuff and some devices work and some don't  rclxub.gif
yeah that is hard to troubleshoot.

but from what i read it could be a few things

1. maybe the device only works on 2.4ghz example i have a yeelight with this specific requirement

2. might not support wpa3. so have to do wpa2 for some devices. some people suggested creating a 2nd ssid that uses WPA2 specifically. not sure what other configurations would work, but it's something to investigated further.

3. for vlan this add another extra layer of complexity. my own is setup so that private network can talk to iot, but the iot cannot talk to my private network. I use avahi and firewall rules to achieve this ontop of vlan.

Moogle Stiltzkin
post Apr 16 2024, 01:16 PM

4,455 posts

detailed review for u7 pro

hmm.gif

half throughput for vlan..... 6hz not stable sweat.gif

This post has been edited by Moogle Stiltzkin: Apr 16 2024, 01:17 PM
Moogle Stiltzkin
post May 9 2024, 09:43 AM

4,455 posts

QUOTE(yenchenje @ May 5 2024, 02:44 PM)
Carousell SG Seller
Recommend buying from this guy as they have cheaper prices and there's no GST so the prices you see is what you get, but due to that reason their stock are quickly ran out, so if it's in stock, I suggest acting fast to snatch up whatever you want  tongue.gif
Hm the u7 pro is roughly RM 1,305 after conversion sgd. also it doesn't mention any shipping from sg hmm.gif

In comparison you can get a tp link BE 65 wifi mesh for the 2 pack model for RM 1,809.80 on shopee (RM969 for single pack). Their higher tier models are the BE 75 and the BE85 if you want more performance including the 10g ports, but you have to pay an extra premium on top of that.

also on shopee for the deco if you look carefully there some nice discount vouchers

RM100 off
Min. Spend RM1k

u7 pro review

based on what i saw, the U7 at 6ghz was not great.

be65 (aka be63) review
https://dongknows.com/tp-link-deco-be63-wi-...-system-review/

Deco BE63 vs. Deco BE65: The latter is made for the E.U. and Asia, where the 6GHz band is regulated differently and has the best-case-scenario theoretical bandwidth of 5760 Mbps (as opposed to 5188 Mbps of the BE63), yielding the hardware’s total marketing bandwidth of 11000Mbps (rounded up). The rest of the two are the same.

tplink deco works well for usage and performance. they market ai roaming, but whether it's really ai or not, their roaming is pretty effective according to the reviews. but if you are privacy concerned that might be a dealbreaker. Like only way to manage it is to sign into a tplinkg account on mobile app. Compare this to ubiquiti can locally manage using a locally hosted unifi controller app without having to sign in online.

other wifi7 options like Eero, doesn't seem reliable.

Wouldn't have minded going for another ubiquiti (they have a nice UI for managing their devices) but considering availability, pricing compared to say a tplink deco mesh, it's a harder pick sweat.gif

also later in the year tplink are also offering a poe version of the Deco BE65-PoE hmm.gif so that will be another advantage ubiquiti loses over the deco then (assuming you use a poe switch like i do)

This post has been edited by Moogle Stiltzkin: May 9 2024, 09:59 AM
Moogle Stiltzkin
post May 10 2024, 04:50 AM

4,455 posts

QUOTE(yenchenje @ May 9 2024, 12:12 PM)
That’s cuz they don’t do delivery out of SG, at most they will only deliver within SG and the order is over $1K

Considering I’ve already bought into the Ubiquiti system, no point just mix and matching. Tho I have to say PPSK has been giving me hella issues sweat.gif

Still waiting for the software update to kinda rectify these issues
i was also hoping the issues were resolved by a firmware update cry.gif

also ty for the feedback.

The other day i saw a U7 listed on shopee or lazada. but i think it got pulled.

0.0180sec    0.34    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 08:56 AM