[OFFICIAL] Ubiquiti Networks, Home/SOHO/Enterprise Networking

Gaara92
post Jan 2 2018, 03:49 PM

Herald
612 posts

QUOTE(pandera999 @ Dec 12 2017, 03:12 PM)
wanttotree

just asking your opinion on this matter where

1. Line A (TM Unifi)– All staff pc IP range 192.168.x.x
2. Line B (Maxis Fiber) – All Guest devices IP range 10.110.x.x

is this possible to be made? hmm.gif
yes u could. try create vlan with each subnet on 192 and also 10. i havent try ubiquiti, but if mikrotik u can set a bridge with ip masquerade
Gaara92
post May 19 2018, 04:31 PM

Herald
612 posts

anyone know how to configure USG so it can become an inline device to see the dpi packet from modem to the router? i have been googling this but can find the thread till now
Gaara92
post Feb 4 2019, 04:08 PM

Herald
612 posts

QUOTE(cyberic @ Jan 30 2019, 10:36 PM)
Is cloud key gen 2 available in Malaysia already?
no malaysia dont have CK Gen2, most of distri only imported Gen2 Plus since it is integrated with NVR.
Gaara92
post Feb 8 2019, 11:45 PM

Herald
612 posts

QUOTE(wanttotree @ Feb 7 2019, 11:43 AM)
That schematic is spot on! And yes multiple pppoe connections are allowed, as long as its the same exact account. It will be capped to yr subbed speed if ur wondering(lol). Good luck. Cheers.
I didnt know that you can dial same pppoe account at the same time. Well I did use my friend streamyx pppoe few years back, he got billed way too much lol. so bad of me. sweat.gif
Gaara92
post Feb 12 2019, 11:27 AM

Herald
612 posts

QUOTE(wanttotree @ Feb 9 2019, 02:46 PM)
It would be nice and interesting to hear your setup recommendation instead. =)
basically what he is saying is since the voip need both vlans to work why not put a layer2 switch let all the vlan go thru, just need to assign vlan in the voip router and the usg only.
Gaara92
post Feb 19 2019, 12:38 PM

Herald
612 posts

QUOTE(MX510 @ Feb 19 2019, 11:38 AM)
This week project

[attachmentid=10185473]

[attachmentid=10185474]
I see subtel hehe
Gaara92
post Mar 25 2019, 06:50 PM

Herald
612 posts

QUOTE(wanttotree @ Mar 25 2019, 02:19 PM)
Thats hex s, which comes with sfp port if u need one. Theres one called hex(also known as rb750gr3) and it has the same exact internal without sfp port. And also its a boring white. Ultimately its the same thing but cheaper without the sfp port. Hex is arnd rm30-rm40 cheaper than hex s. So basically its your call. Cheers
hex s is quite good. I am using hex s for connecting site to site ipsec vpn connection from my home to my office. not to say it has 256mb ram quite good for caching.

QUOTE(FollowMeRogerThat @ Mar 25 2019, 04:00 PM)
Hi Sifu,

I'm interested to buy Ubiquiti NanoHD and have someone install it for me.

This will be for home usage and I will ask the technician to pull some wire.

Question is where and what does the technician need to pull? Is it from the port that Unifi installed for the Fibre optics?

Also, do I need to buy any POE Switch in advance to power up the POE line?

Sorry for noobie question as I've been reading up but still have these few questions before purchasing one.
have that technician install the NanoHD for you also. if you around cyberjaya I can come help configure your nanoHD but I think you also can configure it using guides from youtube. nod.gif
Gaara92
post Apr 15 2019, 12:22 PM

Herald
612 posts

QUOTE(bryanyz @ Apr 15 2019, 01:09 AM)
Finally I got the erx and uap ac pro. smile.gif
The outcome is quite satisfied, although the furthest bedroom is still unable to get the 5g connection, but the stability and ping of my game really made me think that this is a good spent.

wah bro @bryanyz where did you get the holder? i am finding one to put my UAP-AC-PRO since I cant put it on the ceiling
Gaara92
post Apr 18 2019, 04:00 PM

Herald
612 posts

QUOTE(suns8630 @ Apr 17 2019, 01:27 PM)
hello All ,,

Finally ,, My products arrive today ....

after investing more then 5K ringgit ... lets see ...how good it can be.. !!!
wow have have haha

btw i dont really like ubiquiti router because they doesnt have POE port unlike mikrotik where their router mostly will have 1 port for POE in and POE out passthrough. Mostly I connect the router from POE switch more convenient.
Gaara92
post Apr 18 2019, 04:16 PM

Herald
612 posts

QUOTE(pandera999 @ Apr 18 2019, 04:11 PM)
same price range?
i tot ERx have PoE pass tru and ErPoe5 is 5 port poe..  hmm.gif
I mean ubiquiti Unifi product, not edgeOS sweat.gif

Too bad though I really like their Unifi SDN
Gaara92
post Sep 20 2019, 01:06 PM

Herald
612 posts

QUOTE(ntc3freak @ Sep 20 2019, 09:43 AM)
For the network cable management and routing? I'm not sure what's the going price for that is haha I think my current equipments should be good enough to sufficiently cover a 1,500 square foot apartment, so will just need to lay down the ethernet cable properly from the main router (which will probably be in the living room beside the TV area) to the Unifi AP (which will probably be stuck on the ceiling in the hallway to cover the bedrooms). My guess would be about 20 meters of Ethernet cable (even that is probably too much).

Any ideas or estimates on how much would that cost to get done? Or maybe some ideas on how to DIY it and where to get the required parts.
you want to setup on your rented house? if u want nice cable management, get a rack. plus it is more safer and secure if any rented people wanted to steal the device lol.
Gaara92
post Sep 20 2019, 08:09 PM

Herald
612 posts

QUOTE(ntc3freak @ Sep 20 2019, 03:03 PM)
Nice cable management will only help inside the rack itself haha my question was how to manage and hide the ethernet cable running from the living room to the ceiling in the hallway as nicely as possible lol
lol i misunderstood. you can hide it in the celing. and also u can buy pvc conduit and have it glued to the wall
Gaara92
post Apr 23 2021, 08:13 AM

Herald
612 posts

QUOTE(wanttotree @ Apr 22 2021, 07:17 PM)
U need fibre modem, router, and Wifi.
Btu = fibre modem
Wifi = unifi lr

Ur missing router part. So that wont work. Maybe ur more interested in amplifi cz it has both router and wifi in one device.
I dont know about ubiquiti AP, if the device has pppoe configuration in the unifi SDN, then you can go with that setup. Else you will need a router to dial the pppoe
Gaara92
post Apr 25 2021, 01:49 AM

Herald
612 posts

QUOTE(pandera999 @ Apr 23 2021, 03:39 PM)
the SDN does have the configuration, but its already fixed to WAN port on router. by means, you need have router (USG, USG Pro, UDM) without it, it does not work.. was tot it able to do that earlier  laugh.gif
I see.. Then you will need a router to get connect to the internet. I am not much an ubiquiti user, most of my toys are mikrotik haha laugh.gif
Gaara92
post May 5 2021, 06:18 AM

Herald
612 posts

QUOTE(pandera999 @ Apr 25 2021, 10:35 AM)
even better... laugh.gif some pros and cons..  but if talk bout interface.... miktrotik have some nostalgia look  laugh.gif
Yeah laugh.gif

For the routing part I prefer MikroTik as they offer a lot of functionalities. Currently I am using Unifi Access Point to broadcast my wireless network.
Gaara92
post May 24 2021, 10:02 PM

Herald
612 posts

QUOTE(I_buntu @ May 24 2021, 12:02 PM)
Hi all, interested to get edgerouter 4 for office use.

Just want to know whether have someone has use ubiquiti router with TM + 5 public IP

tq
You can put the ports in bridge and have it assign with a public ip address, if you one other public ip simply add other port into the bridge
Gaara92
post Sep 29 2021, 03:28 PM

Herald
612 posts

QUOTE(kelvin4578 @ Sep 28 2021, 12:08 PM)
where u get U6-LR ?
i am curious also where did you get your U6-LR version?
Gaara92
post Sep 30 2021, 02:58 PM

Herald
612 posts

QUOTE(pandera999 @ Sep 30 2021, 09:45 AM)
got Pro version.. only for Eu currently... no idea what uBiquiti think... but feel sakit hati also... WiFi 6 supply is low.... even their storage warehouse chain in HK / Shanghai / TW have low stock for it.. hence hard to have lead time
this was like old news.. for 3 yrs ago... as main distributor said, UniFo word cause confusion, so in the end, they are not allowed to market the product using UniFi words. even gov agency now purchasing a lot of Ubiquiti AP... lazada and shopee seller, idk where they get their supply.. but what info they receive could be not accurate. scratch off UniFi word. Not affecting end user.. if use.. only selling for commercial usage.
AFAIK you can get the U6-LR from subtel singapore, they have bunch of it. But idk if the do postage to Malaysia or not.
Gaara92
post Oct 1 2021, 03:57 PM

Herald
612 posts

QUOTE(tj01 @ Sep 30 2021, 08:45 PM)
Subtel said U6 LR and Lite restocking these few weeks.
Sweet I might gonna borong all of them haha. Better get yours fast icon_idea.gif
Gaara92
post Oct 1 2021, 04:07 PM

Herald
612 posts

QUOTE(corad @ Oct 1 2021, 04:00 PM)
sorry if this is OT, but I'm trying to source for UniFi Video NVR which has been discontinued.

any chance of members having a new or used unit to let go ? fine with 512GB or 2TB.
Why not just use UniFi Protect? The old one is using UniFi Video AFAIK

0.0589sec    0.42    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 06:11 PM