[OFFICIAL] Ubiquiti Networks, Home/SOHO/Enterprise Networking

TSpandera999
post Feb 25 2021, 08:34 PM

모든 것​에는 정해진 때​가 있으니
6,214 posts

QUOTE(YH820 @ Feb 25 2021, 05:08 PM)
Hi, am new to networking, but somehow come across ubiquiti network device, wanted to ask if any user of dream machine pro here?

Also, am planning my house network, can I juz ask here or outside (main network forum)??? choice of devices includes ubiquiti product la.... on putting AP or router....  sweat.gif

hmm.gif  hmm.gif
can ask here... not necessary u get dream machine pro.. non pro will do.. uap ac lite will be just right. unless want spend more for more devices connecting to the AP.

QUOTE(Moogle Stiltzkin @ Feb 25 2021, 05:49 PM)
any tips for unifi ap lite wifi settings?

i know the basics like for 2.4ghz use 1, 6 or 11 only.

then power transmit on low. i also tried medium.

But when tranmiting through 1-2 walls, feels like the wireless signal is not good enuff, to the point that when streaming videos the signal is loss and it losses track of my NAS on the same network.

Any ideas what i can do to fix this? i understand if i use another ap lite in another room this may solve the issue, but i want to try to just work with 1 ap for now  hmm.gif
considering interference from other wifi signal / radio from microwave device. even it able to penetrate the wall, but with high noise level, even with full wifi bar, u still get some packet losses. that is the problem with 2.4Ghz.
normally, after penetrate any object (include wall / shelf) need consider some losses of the packet + noise level.
TSpandera999
post Feb 28 2021, 10:15 AM

모든 것​에는 정해진 때​가 있으니
6,214 posts

QUOTE(Moogle Stiltzkin @ Feb 26 2021, 10:15 AM)
but it's bad to the point that when watching a video stream it cuts off, then says lost connection to NAS. basically unusable  sad.gif

it's only 1-2 walls, not that far, not sure how to fix  wink.gif
1-2 walls, anything after the wall? shelf with solid stuff blocking? laugh.gif but anyway... video streaming delivers lots of data logs, if it says lost connection to NAS, guess, it could be due to some interference around. if your browsing over your phone is still ok, but streaming not ok, perhaps packet loss for streaming is kinda poor. so, was thinking, if it is fine for you to either use cable or placing AP closer for better video streaming.
TSpandera999
post Feb 28 2021, 10:25 AM

모든 것​에는 정해진 때​가 있으니
6,214 posts

QUOTE(YH820 @ Feb 26 2021, 12:18 PM)
Thanks TS.

So, the house is 2.5 storey, each floor height 11ft (3.3m), the store room at ground floor have enuff space for server rack, that's y planning UDM pro (plus difference not much like double of UDM).

So at 1st, the plan was to use mesh wifi router link wif LAN port (since renovating) on the red dot position so to cover whole house wifi......

But came across Ubiquiti devices, and think mayb can use UDM pro in store room to manage. Also, instead using router, can use AP for wifi. So the blue dot is the place planning to put AP.

This rise questions:
1) how far can wireless AP go? I mean the coverage.

2) If can go far, is 1 or 2 AP on 2nd floor ceiling enuff?

3) since ceiling AP can onli beam down n onli hav little coverage on the back of AP, 1st floor ceiling is not recommended right?

4) or shud i use a router on 1st floor red dot and 2nd floor ceiling use AP instead?

hmm.gif  rclxub.gif
Pic is ground floor, 1st floor, 2nd floor and side view from top to bottom.
Sorry if the pic is too messy....  sweat.gif
1) How far AP can go, i can ans in terms of theory only. the distance may different due to blockage. so, in non interference area, you have good signal up to 120m with decent video streaming. this is for UAP AC LR (verified and tested by myself)
2) Max 2 AP on floor ceiling if you want to eliminate wifi dead zone / weak signal on some area
3) yes, not recommended. do take note, the ceiling and the floor for 2nd floor have different material builds, so dont expect AP on 2nd floor able cover 1st floor. generally, people think it able to it in that way, but result shows inconsistent signal issue. sometimes good sometimes bad. to justified if its good or bad, it is not a good practice. unless you mount it at the staircase between 1st floor and 2nd floor. still unreasonable place to place the AP as you are not sitting and stay around nearby the staircase all the time.. laugh.gif
4) Router is a router. AP is an AP. two different device.
Router you can keep in server room / store / at place where the incoming connection. AP however, can place anyplace you want where signal is priority in some area.
TSpandera999
post Mar 1 2021, 02:17 PM

모든 것​에는 정해진 때​가 있으니
6,214 posts

QUOTE(YH820 @ Mar 1 2021, 12:28 PM)
Thank you for ur reply.

From ur reply to my Ques 1, 2 & 3:
1) Can I understand it as it is recommended to put 2 AP on top floor ceiling but it may or may not cover 1st floor, ended up 1st floor might experience signal inconsistency (i mean the wifi signal). Not perfect but workable?

2) or, If as the picture below, 1 wall AP at 1st floor will it be a better option to provide coverage for 1st floor?

For ur reply on 4, I was saying using wireless router as wireless point (from most brand's marketing material, the wifi coverage of wireless router is a sphere but understood tat it will be reduced over walls n any obstructions)... and using tm unifi service, we anyhow still nid to use the provided modem (not tat can straight use UDM SFP port), so mayb from modem will connect to a network switch, then lan connect to the router on 1st floor for wifi coverage and oso some extra lan port in 1st floor? n 2nd floor AP will remain using 1 ceiling AP..... A combination of both.... do u think this is workable?

or ori plan, forget about using AP, instead, use 2 mesh wifi router wif LAN port for ethernet backhaul will do?

Sorry if my 1st post's questions were not clear enuff.... sweat.gif
Just trying to get a better picture on the possible settings... sweat.gif

hmm.gif  hmm.gif

image of setup are almost similar as you seen above..

for setup point number 1 is ok.. still workable.
as for point number 2, im afraid, you still have poor signal on some area. no harm to try or expand in the future as the wifi system is scalable and expand.
If you can do by cable, use cable.. mesh solution normally when there is no other way to lay cables for the AP. also even mesh is a great solution that without much backbone for its infra, it comes with a cost where, each hop meshing reduce bandwidth up to 50%. ok for small packet transfer, but problem when it involve voice call / video streaming. - you might need read additional materials if want to understand why mesh need to be avoided at all cost. laugh.gif but hey, there always be people said, im meshing around my wifi network, no issue... laugh.gif yeah, less device no problem. problem comes in when capacity increase. laugh.gif

its ok.. if anything not clear, just ask... no harm to share smile.gif if i am wrong, maybe someone can point it out.. laugh.gif
TSpandera999
post Mar 1 2021, 02:21 PM

모든 것​에는 정해진 때​가 있으니
6,214 posts

QUOTE(Moogle Stiltzkin @ Mar 1 2021, 12:39 PM)
yes i keep an ikea shelf that stores my NAS equipment  hmm.gif

the connectivity issue is as follows

- wifi drops then have to reconnect
- when streaming video, it plays at first, but then will get stuck and then say nas not found
- slow wifi
- speed test is 5-15 mbps when connecting to a samsung S3 i9300 Galaxy
When i am in the unifi ap lite room, no issues.

the issue is just it can't quite reach the other room nearby with 1 maybe 2 walls, and perhaps a ikea shelf in between  hmm.gif
I guess it's possible to buy a 2nd ap lite, and install in the other room, and enable the mode where it seemlessly switches to the ap with the better signal, but i'm trying to avoid having to do that if possible  sad.gif
i tried a few things alrdy
wifi 2.4ghz set to either 1, 6 or 11. i ran the wifi analyzer tool on both the ubiquiti and also direct from my client device the S3

I needed the one with e.g. -80 -90db lower better ya? also least used channel.

Then the power i tried both low and medium

I turned off ubiquiti optimization. Turn off the auto and smart features since youtubers say they only cause more problems. Turn off air fairness.

also tried 5ghz also same issue  sad.gif
i position the ap lite on a table top, since putting it on the ceiling wasn't really an option  hmm.gif
no problem position the AP on the table.. its fine... anything near 0 is good signal...
that is the problem when rely on 2.4Ghz.. is there any interference that u detect ? hmm.gif
are you staying in apartment condo / landed housing area (bungalow)? as for apartment condo i do face some weird issue.. not sure if its due to building materials or what.. its kinda headache to think bout it...
this apartment condo is ok... but another apartment condo not ok.. its kinda frustrating.. sweat.gif keep beating the bush... laugh.gif how much signal do u get anyway from AP and the NAS, TV and AP?
TSpandera999
post Mar 1 2021, 02:26 PM

모든 것​에는 정해진 때​가 있으니
6,214 posts

QUOTE(jacktiew @ Mar 1 2021, 01:27 PM)
Any info on ETA for the Unifi-6-lite coming into Malaysia? Or should I just wait for Wi-Fi 6E?
laugh.gif ubiquiti ah.... 6E is kinda long way to go.. for UniFi 6 lite now can be pre-order as i know... able check with local distributor? hmm.gif
TSpandera999
post Mar 1 2021, 06:55 PM

모든 것​에는 정해진 때​가 있으니
6,214 posts

QUOTE(YH820 @ Mar 1 2021, 04:40 PM)
Thanks for ur reply.. smile.gif

1) If, UAP AC LR, for setting 1 (pic A), shud be enuff to cover whole area of 1st & 2nd floor?

2) As for setting 2 (Pic C), the reason behind wall AP in 1st floor is that if AP on 2nd floor ceiling, 1st floor might not having good coverage, but if wall AP on 1st floor side, like in pic below, without walls can go 120m, so front to back onli 17m shud not be a prob right?  hmm.gif  (there is this corridor to kitchen....) also... i assume the coverage will oso able to reach 2nd floor to cover some of the front area of 2nd floor? (back area got a ceiling AP to take care of)

3) yes, sure using cable as now in renovation stage n planning to lay LAN cable.... that's is y the planning of the AP location...  sweat.gif  I see.... yea... planning on using some smart home device as well.... ok noted.... will throw away mesh router options for now.....

4)  hmm.gif Juz wondering, is wireless AP really unable to penetrate/go thru juz 1 floor? is it necessary to use 3 AP to cover every area in my case?

Thanks for sharing....  sweat.gif
for point 1 and 2, yes, it is workable..

For point no 4.. they can penetrate.. but definitely have reduce significant of signal and have some connectivity drop due. speed for sure drop since it will rely on 2.4Ghz as 5Ghz have poor penetration power. So, you might need to consider possible interferences too.. then, remaining, reliable connectivity not sure if it will be accepted for you or not. else, it only give you frustration laugh.gif
hope everything goes well
TSpandera999
post Mar 2 2021, 02:03 PM

모든 것​에는 정해진 때​가 있으니
6,214 posts

QUOTE(YH820 @ Mar 2 2021, 11:38 AM)
Thanks for ur reply again.... biggrin.gif

Had better picture of where to set up AP..... hmm.gif

Most likely will opt for pic C but will c how it goes.... sweat.gif

Thanks again for the info.... smile.gif
haha.. np.. if you paranoid and want monitor your network all time, either you get cloud key or sacrifice pc that always turn all all the time. laugh.gif
TSpandera999
post Mar 2 2021, 05:39 PM

모든 것​에는 정해진 때​가 있으니
6,214 posts

QUOTE(YH820 @ Mar 2 2021, 05:25 PM)
Haha.... Just wanted to make sure wifi coverage is ok so that family members wont bising on no wifi.... wifi putus n etc.... doh.gif
wifi lagging and buffering on youtube enuf make people rage laugh.gif so this make u in dilemma for sure. haha
TSpandera999
post Mar 12 2021, 11:42 AM

모든 것​에는 정해진 때​가 있으니
6,214 posts

QUOTE(YH820 @ Mar 12 2021, 10:31 AM)
Accidentally saw unifi 6 lite available on sg web.... but no news in msia anywhere yet... hmm.gif
can pre-order... whistling.gif
TSpandera999
post Apr 22 2021, 04:13 PM

모든 것​에는 정해진 때​가 있으니
6,214 posts

QUOTE(lalakiki @ Apr 22 2021, 03:07 PM)
guys wanna ask, can i make directly setting like tis.

BTU(TM isp) --> Unifi LR ?

without need to go another wireless router to connect then only go UNIFI LR?

Kindly adivce
no.. cant...
TSpandera999
post Apr 23 2021, 12:16 PM

모든 것​에는 정해진 때​가 있으니
6,214 posts

QUOTE(lalakiki @ Apr 23 2021, 10:56 AM)
Olrite. thanks guys.

cause i saw this article, not sure workable that why i asking this question...

https://pakitong.blogspot.com/2014/02/how-t...wei-hg655a.html
Oh this is totally a different thing, this is setup for TM UniFi (not Ubiquiti - US based unifi).
Also, Ubiquiti wifi AP is just broadcasting WiFi.. no specific routing was configured on it.
UniFi AP also known as UAP...
TSpandera999
post Apr 23 2021, 03:32 PM

모든 것​에는 정해진 때​가 있으니
6,214 posts

QUOTE(lalakiki @ Apr 23 2021, 12:46 PM)
Ya.. i means directly set ppoe  in TM BTU then only connect it to UniFi AP...

issit possible set it like tat?
not possible.. as ubiquiti AP does not have anything to do for routing..

This post has been edited by pandera999: Apr 23 2021, 03:32 PM
TSpandera999
post Apr 23 2021, 03:39 PM

모든 것​에는 정해진 때​가 있으니
6,214 posts

QUOTE(Gaara92 @ Apr 23 2021, 08:13 AM)
I dont know about ubiquiti AP, if the device has pppoe configuration in the unifi SDN, then you can go with that setup. Else you will need a router to dial the pppoe
the SDN does have the configuration, but its already fixed to WAN port on router. by means, you need have router (USG, USG Pro, UDM) without it, it does not work.. was tot it able to do that earlier laugh.gif
TSpandera999
post Apr 25 2021, 10:35 AM

모든 것​에는 정해진 때​가 있으니
6,214 posts

QUOTE(Gaara92 @ Apr 25 2021, 01:49 AM)
I see.. Then you will need a router to get connect to the internet. I am not much an ubiquiti user, most of my toys are mikrotik haha  laugh.gif
even better... laugh.gif some pros and cons.. but if talk bout interface.... miktrotik have some nostalgia look laugh.gif
TSpandera999
post May 5 2021, 01:28 PM

모든 것​에는 정해진 때​가 있으니
6,214 posts

QUOTE(Gaara92 @ May 5 2021, 06:18 AM)
Yeah laugh.gif

For the routing part I prefer MikroTik as they offer a lot of functionalities. Currently I am using Unifi Access Point to broadcast my wireless network.
also good for guest control... i find that miktrotik + ubnt setup very common.. even among ubnt forumer. ubnt alone pretty hopeless if at enterprise level that prefer more control.
TSpandera999
post Jun 20 2021, 11:43 PM

모든 것​에는 정해진 때​가 있으니
6,214 posts

QUOTE(jsontextbox @ Jun 19 2021, 11:09 PM)
Any idea where I can get an EdgeRouter X?
This ERX is getting difficult to get it.. either you get it for second hand (no warranty) or purchase other router if unable wait for lead time.
TSpandera999
post Jul 31 2021, 05:39 PM

모든 것​에는 정해진 때​가 있으니
6,214 posts

QUOTE(QuantumEdge @ Jul 31 2021, 04:56 PM)
Hi guys, is it possible to use Ubiquiti Fiber Nano G UF-Nano to replace unifi's ONU?
Since Unifi's authentication is via the serial number of the ONU, if Nano G's serial is changeable then I supposed it will work?
I think someone did purchase it before.. but then, not sure if someone did give feedback on it or not... theoritically it looks like it can work, but need some credential that need fill in by getting it from the ISP.... too bad.. no toy to play with to verify this claim.. sweat.gif
TSpandera999
post Jul 31 2021, 06:04 PM

모든 것​에는 정해진 때​가 있으니
6,214 posts

QUOTE(QuantumEdge @ Jul 31 2021, 05:51 PM)
Ahhh I'm blind, someone did comment on the product page, it'll work for Unifi
Checked my onu, toss that serial number in the Nano G and it should work.

thumbup.gif
TSpandera999
post Sep 8 2021, 11:54 AM

모든 것​에는 정해진 때​가 있으니
6,214 posts

QUOTE(adamjohari @ Sep 7 2021, 11:38 AM)
Hey everyone, got a Unifi Dream Machine Pro (still in shipping), Switch Lite 8 POE and 2 U6-LR. This is my first time using Ubiquiti. Had a mesh wifi Deco M9 Plus setup before. Can anyone direct/guide me on how to setup the connection? I'm using TM Unifi 500mb/s. I believe it'll be PPPOE and VLAN. Many thanks in advance.

You might want refer to my first post.. its on Edgerouter.. but the the concept is still the same for Ubiquiti UniFi setup. more or less the same of PPPoE with its vlan tagging.
Very simple. You browse a bit, getting familiar with the system. u sure can figure it out. not as complex as miktrotik.

19 Pages « < 15 16 17 18 19 >Top

0.0657sec    0.71    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 11:19 AM