Lowyat Net - Proton Persona 2016 - Official Thread, Its New, Its Refined, Its Safe ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

burning
post Sep 9 2016, 03:02 PM

23 posts

Received the car 2nd Sept. Book 1st 1K service on 11th Sept. at COSE
Bought premium edition except the optional sport skirting which affected the order duration.
Come wiith umbrella, steering lock , TNG and full tank fuel and YES for 1 year 2gb permonth. And free service 60K or 3 years. Warranty come 5.

Each feature are working.
1.HA, doest throw the car back while on slope.
2. Keyless. No issue. even if you go to the back of the car. It beep since unable to detect the transponder key.
3. Follow me home light. If you UNLOCK the car. Break light and front light will bright. While locking the car. the follow me dont work except press lock for second time.
4. Side mirror wind in. Park car and it auto windup.
5. ESC. ( try on sandy road at the parking lock. The backed tyre kick start breaking and the steering adjust itself to compensate the swing. ) still scary. So good luck making it drift.
6. ABS. working but bit noisy. like hammering the break pad. tested it this morning while raining and going down the hill. At bukit permai. and it is controllable .
7.Touch screen. GPS working but not as details as Garmin Nuvi. Radio OK. internet is working.
8. engine. Car still running in ( wait after 1K service this coming Sunday) Max speed is 80kmj.
9. Reverse camera. Clear day or night. Able to park car with 2 inche clearance at the back. Front sensor parking is working. But not those able to budget the clerance. Wont used this much. You know when it's near.
10. Power windows safety worked for accidently put your finger at the glass .tested last night after the tinted is not allowing winding up power window for 4 days.
11. Centrelize locking button at below the touch screen panel. Suitable for those with kids.
12. key less. 2 setting. suitable for women driver. Setting it with pressing both lock and unlock keyless. So 1st unlock for driver door and second unlock for the rest of the door.
13. Leather seats in comfortable for long driving. Longest drive are from Pandan to KLIA 2. Even driving less 80km/j. (car running in)
14. Get the floor carpet change. used the water resistant and sand contain. Carpet just dont fir when you keep stepping on grass or gravel.
15. Autolight is good. it adjust based on the light. And front light can tilt up or down as long you dont cause other driver angry

Personal view of the car. Front and back look good. Even looked better after removing the emblem Persona and VVT. It look more slick and bold.(everyone know it's Persona and the emblem does not fit the purpose)(for me)
Quiteness..driving 80kmj is good enough. waiting until finnish the running in. will try 110 to 120kmj.
CVT.- wait till the running in is over

overall. The car weight feel solid. Probably heavy. Since i'm living at Bukit permai, experience hill climbing everyday. Doesn't feel underpower. Price wise.. it's does provide necessary safety feature with 6 airbag and ESC., brake assist and ABS. Not sure got EBD.
Migrated from Myvi 1.3 (A) 2014 does feel different especially making cornering. Persona more stable even the high clearance.
Petrol. Well my company provide Shell card so i'm pumping RON 97 without calculate the milage. Metering are showing 8.4L per 100km. not sure economy.

I do test drive Bezza. Not doing comparison but I wont regret, as Persona is a clear cut . For city (sister driving 2016 Jan) of course feel much better than Persona. But 30K different will justified me to spend on other thing like home electrical and etc.

Well said, I have to conclude this. Do test drive and feel the comfort. depends on your budget and practically of the car. I needed bigger bonnet so i could fit in 2 folding bike without any issue. Having 2 kids is sufficient on persona but more Ertiga might do better. If you need fast car. Persona are not meant for race but safety taken in place when you have children which prefer comfort.

I will end this personal view. And thank you for reading.

burning
post Sep 9 2016, 08:05 PM

23 posts

One my opinion. Getting the car from Proton HQ such at COSE and Shamelin are faster then the branch. Even the SA admit it. Just be more consistence when insist the date of delivery. Sooner or later you will get the car. Just matter of time.
burning
post Sep 11 2016, 12:40 PM

23 posts

Done Service 1K
Engine is much smooth. Since labour and engine oil are free. Upgraded to fully synthetic engine oil for RM85.

Pump RON97 and felt the engine power kick in.
Blast at 183kmj at Bukit Jalil to Putrajaya highway.Before, do survey no police from Bukit Jallil to putrajaya then Uturn and blast the car.

My experience.
1. 0 to 40. Steering feel light
2. 55 to 90. the steering different from light
3. 110kmj to 183kmj bit heavy. Believe the car setting. can anyone comfirm this

If you blast from 110 to 160. Engine felt kick in slow.
But when you stomp aggressive from 50 to 183kmj it does move on. I dont dare to exceed 183kmj but i'm sure Persona can reach more. (not racer or wanabe)

Noise engine
1. below 90kmj quite.
2. about 110kmj (rpm about 2800rpm at 110kmj) engine can hear roar a bit.
3. about 183kmj about 5K rpm. Unfortunate Leg shaken. but cornering at 160kmj is stable.

I know the car can push more. Migrated from MyVi 1.3 (A) 2014. Cornering are stable at 160kmj. It does not wobbling side to side due to car heavy.
Pick up.. traction control does help. rpm gone up to down but tyre grip to move on.
Engine roar loud when you reach 4.5K rpm. So dont expect much there.

To end this. for driving below 110kmj rpm reach almost 3K rpm. Probably proton should rexduce it to 2.7 or 2.6K rpm. CVT ratio needed to change.
Stability. I have no issue. It beat Myvi clear cut.
Brake. it grip. But when the ABS kick in... you can hear the brake hammering. Not sure other car do the same.
Log record - Proton do download the car performance record. I guess i'm the guinea pig for their next action plan.
Body and engine rattling. I dont hear any. But cant expect much at 1K km car.
I'm not going to blast 180kmj anymore. Leg shaken, eyes open widely. Early 4 series age. youngster will able to beat that records anytime.

Enclosed the persona dashboard fuel economy record.

burning
post Sep 11 2016, 01:01 PM

23 posts

Sorry.. I dont understand NVH at which stand point. I meant based my personal view. 120kmj starting noise from outside. but the vibration hardly notice.
Later on going to Bukit tinggi after zhohor ( about 1 hour drive from Bukit permai)
going to test climbing hill with full load ( 2 kids 2 adult)

Car under warranty. get fully utilised. Myvi stay at home (my car benchmark-- No other car to compare) tongue.gif
burning
post Sep 11 2016, 01:13 PM

23 posts

QUOTE(Boss262 @ Sep 11 2016, 01:07 PM)
Bro, for FC counting I suggest you do manual calculating instead of using proton's tacho. Sometimes they're are not accurate. BUT if the 6.1L/100KM is really true, then it's improve much from iriz. Did you drive eco (eco mode on) or mixed with heavy footing and light.
Now understand. Can you advise how do I calculate.

my option i have is to pump fuel full then used it for 200km and pump fuel full again.
Assuming 200km / total fuel price. get cents per litter.

How about to calc litter per km? Anyone.
burning
post Sep 15 2016, 12:37 AM

23 posts

Ok Guys...
Here are the results for fuel economy Persona 1.6 CVT premium

Total Distance:293.4 km
Fuel : RON 97 (rm2.05 per litter)
Total fuel : RM 49.43 (24.112 km per litter)
Passenger : Driver with spouse and 2 Kids (Healthy one) tongue.gif biggrin.gif

Range: From
Pandan Indah to Bukit tinggi. (Climbing hill )
Then back to Pandan. (Genting sempah)
Go to work through Cheras Traffic jam
Coming back from work
Then go to work in KL again (traffic)
then come back home.
Then pump fuel at Cheras Shell. (Mcdonald)

It's 0.168 per km

So.... Since the test were tested on Highway, climbing hill and downhill and going to work through traffic. Does it economy?
Well nope ... But surely I felt comfort and enjoy driving it.
Compare with my MyVi 1.3 (A) 2014. Perodua is more economy. But I felt safe while driving persona, probably due to stability and less fatique for long distance.
Nothing wrong with my Myvi, just different practical used for each car.

Encloed the persona dashboard mileage and Bukit Tinggi Mosque as prove. Tak Percaya?

burning
post Sep 15 2016, 08:16 AM

23 posts

QUOTE(Zoxoque @ Sep 15 2016, 06:32 AM)
wonder how long it take to get to 183 km/h ?
Did not calculate that Sir. I was concentrate on the road.
I wont get that speed from idle 110kmj. I have to ramp it up from 50kmj to 183kmj.
Probably while on high rpm, you can get that speed.

Not sure though someone have done it at 202kmj. To me, reaching 183kmj is like flying already. And engine is crying out loud. Just to show whois the boss.
BTW- 183kmj I was alone. Fuel tank is quater RON97.

@sgshuhu
Free service are come with Semi Synthetic oil. If you upgrade to fully synthetic. Just add RM85 only.

burning
post Sep 21 2016, 08:24 AM

23 posts

My car also get scratch front driver side bumper. luckily i choose the common proton Silver Sterling Code A0128 (rm26). Easy to find touch up paint.
I used to park my MyVi near to the wall. Persona body is different and slightly bigger than i expect.
My Persona sleeping a lot at garage. While I riding back my bike Yamaha LC135 to beat the traffic.

burning
post Sep 22 2016, 02:50 PM

23 posts

QUOTE(pakku_azrie @ Sep 21 2016, 09:21 PM)
Hello guys... I've just received my car yesterday.. standard variant with manual tranny... so far everything is great... the gear shifting is a breeze.. tho somehow there is kinda shy shy hesitant at some point with the engine "prolly because the car is eco minded?" fuel consumption is great....

pros
1. silent engine
2 punchy tranny
3 fit n finish improved much more better than iriz
4 good absorber... felt soft n good handling too
5 body roll is there but minimal

cons
1 the rat is still there... can be solved..positive..hehe
2 seat cantbbe folded down...whyyyyyy
3 standard tire is too slim... not good for high speed drive..good for fuel

all in all? i love..yeah bits n bats there... but I'm satisfied
[attachmentid=7582142]
[attachmentid=7582145]
Nice selection of rim. Look sporty too. thumbup.gif
burning
post Oct 5 2016, 10:18 PM

23 posts

QUOTE(freedom2k @ Oct 5 2016, 06:18 PM)
Honestly, i also not really sure if the info provided by proton is true. Better go to tint shop and ask the shop staff to use their tools to check for actual reading.
And my brother's myvi also comes with security tint, but he added another layer of solar tinting. But i think better ask the tint shop to check if can add another layer of tint or not.
I removed ori Tint by Proton. Get own better tint and felt different. Burned about rm500.
burning
post Oct 6 2016, 12:05 PM

23 posts

QUOTE(rayz85 @ Oct 6 2016, 09:37 AM)
I did another layer of 6mil tint on top of it, no issue with power window, still very smooth.

I've got my car for 3 weeks now clocking 750km, some of the issues that im facing
- rattling sound from dashboard (It's actually the car meter panel and headunit pannel, once u push it then it will be quiet.)
- incorrect petrol remaining meter. 1st time i pump full tank after getting my car it state 400km, acceptable but 2nd time i pump it state 600km and yesterday i pump was 700km.. wtf
- knocking sound @ back / boot area. although it could be things i put behind but almost impossible as it's just bags and it sounds like metal knocking
- Loud aircon noise, when driving do you notice the fan intake sound every 3/5 seconds? it's so annoying even on idle
- can hear radiator fan spinning down clearly in the car after i turn off my engine
- Periodic inspection sign come out after 500km mileage

anyone having similar issue? going to glenmarie SC to have it checked next week
I get the Rattling sound on dashboard panel. But after rpm above 2K. It went off.
For meter millage remaining are based on the driver driving profile. For more economy more millage could archive.

Last night my persona had issue to eject the fuel door. Unable to pump up the fuel, called proton emergency. Waited at the Cheras Shell petrol station for about 20min. Found issue with the cable connector to fuel door. Broke the connector and able to pump the fuel.
Asking me to send to any proton branch for replacemnt.

Went to SC at Cose this morning. complain about the fuel door, replaced with new one. And also complaint had annoying knock sound at the back. Suspect the bonnet or something hanging knocking and making sound. They found the seat belt not tide up properly.

Now the car are fixed and didnt hear any annoying sound. even the rattling. Everything was free and I even got free proton keyless rubber cover which suppose to cost about rm10.

burning
post Oct 6 2016, 12:46 PM

23 posts

Not sure. I had no issue haering the air cond compressor. Quite acceptable. My opinion try to compare similar with different persona. biggrin.gif
burning
post Oct 7 2016, 11:04 AM

23 posts

QUOTE(lightonokira @ Oct 6 2016, 11:35 PM)
Is it normal during harsh braking that it makes a harsh grinding sound grrekkk grrekk?
same sound like hammering the brake. It's the ABS. But when you brake smoothly, the sound does not heard.
So at least my I know the ABS is working overtime...

I did one time make hard corner at roundabout until tire screeching, hear the hammering sound...
burning
post Oct 11 2016, 02:53 PM

23 posts

Sorry about the car. Can't bare the feeling having fault due diligent.

burning
post Oct 12 2016, 07:52 AM

23 posts

QUOTE(Chinifity @ Oct 12 2016, 07:37 AM)
hmmm, tat fluid under my car was jus "aircond water"  doh.gif  doh.gif
so... my car is in gud condition, no worries guys, the mechanic ask for towing the car to their SC jus incase tat is engine leak(serious problem may caused alotof problems) , so far im okok wit tis SC( Proton Service Centre Sin Siang Hin at ss14) but the engine sounds i mentioned earlier jus gone  hmm.gif  hmm.gif dunno what is the problem
Better monitor closely. Should not have that sound over sudden unless Claifairy stuck inside.
burning
post Oct 14 2016, 08:41 AM

23 posts

QUOTE(Eilrach @ Oct 13 2016, 11:43 PM)
First time i test drove the Persona which was just 1 week after launch, the fuel lid couldnt open in the test car. There was someone posted on the FB group also having the same issue.
happen to me. Call the emergency response to help open the petrol lid. went to SC and they dont jave the part. End up taking from some other new car. Probably the demo car. blush.gif

burning
post Oct 14 2016, 02:50 PM

23 posts

QUOTE(everdomdom @ Oct 14 2016, 01:30 PM)
Who is the emergency response? Proton one?
I noticed my petrol lid is not tightly close. Is that normal?
Just read my previous post. 1 800 888 398. Only for emergency. My issue is the petrol lid cannot open so cannot pump fuel. They break the part and for replacement you have to go to SC.
Adjustment for lid, I dont think that's emergency. Any SC will assist you fixing it.

*edited- Same time complaint about knocking sound. Found the back seat belt were not properly fit. Now everything work charm

This post has been edited by burning: Oct 14 2016, 02:52 PM
burning
post Oct 20 2016, 12:32 AM

23 posts

QUOTE(Jane's @ Oct 19 2016, 11:49 PM)
This puts the customers and SA in difficult position as well. Just ask any Proton SA and they will tell you this as well.
Imagine how the production staff (Car maker) pushing their best to get your future car ready on time. I pity the workers more.
What to do, they have to fulfill the customer request. Customer always right.

p.s Me order 23rd August and received car on 2nd September at Cose. I'm expecting high volume order from customer.

This post has been edited by burning: Oct 20 2016, 12:35 AM
burning
post Oct 20 2016, 03:21 PM

23 posts

QUOTE(alanyuppie @ Oct 20 2016, 02:30 PM)
Don't forget, Proton didn't just produce new Personas but other cars as well.  There might be a few thousands Exoras,Preves and a handful of Suprimas need to churn out from their assembly line each month too.
I know. My wife was the one program their Faro robotic calibration. They usually assemble production in batch and able to produce XXX(secret) number cars in a day. Set target based on BOM item from 3rd party supplier.
They work in a supply chain environment. One part in BOM had issue, affected the rest.
Outside world simply pointed the whole product as failed process.

burning
post Oct 28 2016, 05:27 PM

23 posts

QUOTE(Chinifity @ Oct 28 2016, 04:49 PM)
wow, this is a gud price, mind sharing the shop name and contact?
Bought Floor mats from Brother's. They have 3 type. 1st about rm68, 2nd about rm158 and the best one which I choose about rm240.
The best one have sticky zap on which stick to the carpet floor and much thicker.
Only regret is letting them to cut the custom made floor mats ,instead doing it myself.

BTW. There's a level step at the back seat. That was covered as well since my kids like to step in anywhere he likes.

0.0264sec    0.47    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 03:48 PM