[Offcial] Perodua Alza MPV Club V4, Car One Moment, MPV The Next

therain01
post Aug 25 2016, 06:48 PM

256 posts

Has anyone encountered petrol fume issue with their alza.

I pumped full tank on my alza with engine off (no top up, I let the petrol gun nozzle auto trip). No petrol fume the moment I entered the car. Petrol smell appear after 30 seconds or 100 Metre travel. It last for about 10 seconds then the smell goes off.

The car is 2 years and 6 months old. The petrol fume only started to appear recently. Anyone who has encountered the same issue and know what is going on kindly shed some lights. Thanks.

This post has been edited by therain01: Aug 25 2016, 06:49 PM
therain01
post Aug 25 2016, 10:44 PM

256 posts

QUOTE(cleaner @ Aug 25 2016, 09:00 PM)
Try change fuel filler cap, also check fuel filter
I will complain it to the service center on next free service. Need to do some homework before that. Can't put too much hope on them.

Anyway I thought if filler cap it would trigger check engine light because of evap sensor. On the fuel filter part I will hint them hopefully they would do the pressure test.

This post has been edited by therain01: Aug 25 2016, 10:47 PM
therain01
post Aug 26 2016, 01:45 PM

256 posts

QUOTE(cleaner @ Aug 26 2016, 01:42 PM)
Nope, fuel vapour leak from fuel cap/fuel filter didnt trigger error cod
Alright thanks a lot. You were having the same issue where a faulty fuel cap causing petrol fume each time to refill the gas tank?
therain01
post Aug 26 2016, 11:58 PM

256 posts

QUOTE(cleaner @ Aug 26 2016, 08:55 PM)
My other car having that problem before this, change fuel filler cap. Now no more petrol fume
I'm wondering how would the petrol smell enter the cabin due to faulty fuel cap. Anyway I'm really appreciate your suggestion. I will note that to the service center if they couldn't diagnose the petrol fume issue without reproducing it.

therain01
post Aug 30 2016, 06:44 PM

256 posts

QUOTE(Kiefer @ Aug 29 2016, 03:26 PM)
Just had my Alza changed ATF (D3) and ATF Filter.  It is smoother with much lesser jerk when driving.  Will need to monitor the differences.

I checked my Alza's car owner's manual, D3-SP is the one stated.  Not sure about newer Alza which has newer type of gearbox.  Anyone can double check. 

Just to make sure that we have the right information for both type of gearbox.
Hi. Since you have been playing around with the ATF change, can I know if you happen to know if perodua service center do allow ATF change only instead of taking whole package? Do they do AT filter replacement? How about ATF flush, do they provide the service?

therain01
post Sep 1 2016, 04:23 PM

256 posts

QUOTE(tankx3 @ Aug 31 2016, 11:29 PM)
Yes they do filter change and flushing too, at sc. If you not sure when to change, can always refer to service interval manual.
Alright thanks man. I remember someone told me they don't offer filter change many years ago. Anyway, thanks again at least I know they do offer the service now.
therain01
post Sep 1 2016, 06:09 PM

256 posts

QUOTE(Apple@Green @ Sep 1 2016, 11:31 AM)
Congrat V4.

Hi All, I am new and recently purchased Alza Advance drive for few days and my comment as below.

1. Yea...there is a little rattling sound from the driver seat door when driving and I couldn't find where exact come from.
2. Don't know what sound from back left during driving when by pass the bump. Sound like something loose, couldn't find exact come from too. sweat.gif
3. Some dirty stain on the roof top guess the technician accidentally "finger print" on it sweat.gif
4. It come with the solar and tinted glass but SA said better change it cause it's still hot. Can any one recommend a good tinted brand with reasonable price? I drive my children outstation and i am very concern on the solar and security of theft breaking from the window. Nowadays... scary. It is need to change all or just add a layer will do?
5. I think of changing the PVC Mat cause the original look smaller can't cover all sweat.gif Any good recommendation?
6. Yea... can hear the engine sound from inside car... is it normal? How to improve the sound proof?
7. Saw the post before about the Tyre issue...really scare me too as i drive outstation often. Really need to change for the latest Alza Advance? The original is silverstone with Titanium rim.
8. Key alarm without sound makes me not comfortable... if I change the alarm will it affect the immobilizer and void the warranty?
9. The horn sound is too soft and terrible to me... will need to change

I would like to seek for the Sifu advice here for better improvement.

Many thanks smile.gif
1. My alza has the rattling sound too. It's from the B pillar until now still unable to get it fix because it does not always produce the sound. It just magically temporary disappear upon car service day.
2. Lately my car has the same sound too when getting over speed bump. It only happens after the car running for hours. I did the diagnose by myself. Not the lower arm bush and not the sway bar bush as well. Suspect from absorber or the mounting.
4. The tinted brand is llumar. Yes the heat rejection is so so only. I suggest to apply another layer instead of replacing it unless you are going to replace it with something cost thound/s.
6. I can hardly hear the engine sound when my car was new. It has been getting "roarer" now since my trip to genting long ago.
7. I have been using the Silverstone stock tire as well. Does not seems perform as bad as reported. Only issue is annoyingly noisy.
8. You can just add a alarm buzzer without replacing the alarm system. Better still you might want to get the module set which include alarm beep, side mirror auto fold, and brake door lock.

This post has been edited by therain01: Sep 1 2016, 06:11 PM
therain01
post Sep 1 2016, 09:36 PM

256 posts

QUOTE(Apple@Green @ Sep 1 2016, 08:49 PM)
Thanks djhenry91 and therain01 smile.gif

May I know where is the B pillar? sweat.gif Engine noise roar after Genting trip?? Seriously?? shocking.gif My SA said I can send the car to P2 SC to check it out and they will fix it if required. He also suggested to add a layer instead of change all. Tomorrow will check out the Rhinepro.  So far i satisfied with the SA, he is very friendly and helpful.

Yea, you are right and good suggestion on the 4 in 1 module set, will check which model is better to go. biggrin.gif
wiki pillar
Well I remember I was unable to know if my car engine is running when idle because it was so silent that I have to listen to it carefully. Since after a harsh Rev I can hear the engine sound even when idle. Not loud though.
therain01
post Sep 2 2016, 02:40 PM

256 posts

QUOTE(Kiefer @ Sep 2 2016, 10:59 AM)
mmmm, I see if I can add in some here.

1. Troubleshooting rattling can be tough...if B pillar, where the sound is from B pillar top, there could be some loose wire.  If below, there could be some loosing nut or sound from the seat belt mechanism.  Try with out seat belt fasten and with...

2. is it knocking sound? from front or back?  Try get SC to tighten undercarriage..  I have this sounds.. 2 types. knocking when going thru bumps, suspect absorber mounting.  if 'sii-ssak', could be the bush - but no sound when/after raining..heheheh

6. Engine noise... when push?? or idle?  really donno as each person's quietness / loudness level is diff.
been up to genting few rounds.. so far so good.  Check your engine oil.

8. Add a buzzer will do it.
1.My rattling sound is from bottom. It sounds "zee zee zeee ze" repeatedly. It actually sound like thin plastic hitting metal vibration sound. I am unable to record the sound because it kinda too soft. Kinda loud to my ear though.

2. Mine actually sound "nyik nyek". It is actually friction sound between metal and rubber.
therain01
post Sep 5 2016, 11:58 PM

256 posts

QUOTE(mrvkool @ Sep 2 2016, 08:15 PM)
Sorry guys, this might be a recurring question? Tried to find on previous thread but just couldn't get it.Where do you get the update for Alza navigation maps and how to update it?
Download and install from here
http://www.lokatoo.com
therain01
post Sep 6 2016, 12:00 AM

256 posts

QUOTE(ssshiam @ Sep 5 2016, 07:46 AM)
Hi guys, anyone had changed the "drive belt (alternator, water pump, air conditioner)" before? And how is the charges?

My car soon clocking 120,000km, recently it does have the so called "Mouse" noise coming out when step pedal or standstill and put N.
I'm wondering how much does it cost in SC as well. Normally outside charge rm20 labor. Part is around RM30 or less.
therain01
post Sep 6 2016, 12:06 AM

256 posts

QUOTE(bomberman @ Sep 5 2016, 11:32 PM)
hi, is it new alza advance a value buy? is it the b pillar sound solved v this batch? or its unsolved issue?
Can I know what is the sound as mentioned? I have a new FL alza advance and yes the B pillar is kinda noisy (not loud though, like Zee ze zeee ze), mostly when tiny vibration for example braking down the car or traveling on even but rough road. I can't get the issue rectified because it does not always happen.
therain01
post Sep 21 2016, 10:08 PM

256 posts

Hi. Can u know if anyone has the same issue where rust found at rear brake drum cover as well as the battery hold down bracket?

I reported the issue to perodua SC Glenmarie but the service advisor told me those are not under warranty so cannot claim. Any idea? I have yet to check to perodua warranty center though.

therain01
post Oct 9 2016, 12:10 AM

256 posts

QUOTE(chyu89 @ Oct 8 2016, 09:13 PM)
Is it normal to smell outside smell especially at Selayang rubbish landfill or taman desa shit pond. Again my service advisor said it's normal.
It's not normal if heavy smell unless you stayed very near to the source for too long or you have the aircon ventilation turn on.
therain01
post Oct 18 2016, 06:58 PM

256 posts

QUOTE(khfoo88 @ Oct 18 2016, 09:58 AM)
Yes like rattling noise the monitor shake and come out noise while SC said that is normal
Nope it's not normal. My alza advanced roof monitor does not produce any sound.

The problem with my roof monitor is the monitor unable to close at one click. I will need to press the release button while pushing back the monitor to make it a fit close. To settle the issue I will need to send the car to vendor at rawang. Don't like the hustle and bustle so I just ignore it.

This post has been edited by therain01: Oct 18 2016, 06:59 PM
therain01
post Feb 2 2017, 06:05 PM

256 posts

Anyone using NGK Gpower spark plug DCPR7EGP for alza? My concern with this spark plug is it has 1mm gap while the standard spark plug is 0.9mm.

I'm wondering if the non standard spark plug will stress the ignition coil dues to non standard gap.
therain01
post Feb 2 2017, 11:13 PM

256 posts

QUOTE(Kiefer @ Feb 2 2017, 07:25 PM)
if not wrong, i am using this. Platinum plug ni. I did not keep the package hence not sure about the gap. But it is good so far since i changed this early Jan.

I personally not sure if will stress the coil.
Yes indeed. NGK Gpower has copper core with platinum tip. Low price and durable. It could take years for ignition coil to shown failure after excessive stress, just not sure if that extra 0.1 mm does any damage though.
therain01
post Apr 5 2017, 11:08 PM

256 posts

QUOTE(Abie.C @ Apr 5 2017, 10:55 AM)
I have few question to ask hope you guys can let me know.
I will going for a 20,000 car service thsi weekend at the Perodua SC in PJ.
Below is the online list that i should change as given in their website.

It is the 20,000km consider a major service. I do not want Perodua to change the parts that is not ready to change.

1) What parts must change?
2) Spark Plug can change at 30,000km instead of 20,000km?
3) Thought to doing Alighment and balance at other shops but not in Perdodua SC.

Alza ( AT - 2014 ) : 20,000km  Automatic Transmission

Brake Fluid 0.5L                        2  20.00
Element S/A Oil Filter                        1  12.20
Element Sub-Assy, Air Cleaner Filter  1  35.80
Gasket                                        1  3.80 
PGO Semi Syn 5W-30 SM (4L)        1  91.00
Spark Plug (D55D)                        4  49.20
*Tyre Alignment, Balancing & Rotation  49.00

Labour Charges  -                                  80.00 
GST ( 6% )  -                                  20.46
Total  -                                        361.46 

I find is quite expensive for the 4th service.

OR  go to other car service center to do the service.

Hope you all can give me some advise.
1)i would replace ATF @20k km if the car operate under severe condition most of the time, for example high speed, idle a lot or short distance.
2)replace the standard spark plug at every 20k km. You don't want to stress the ignition coil which are much more expensive. Ask them to return the old spark plug and you should see the electrode started to wear.
3)tyre service cost at Tyre shop cost around Rm35 to rm50. The cost to service in perodua SC seems reasonable where if you service outside chances are you might suffer from the infamous camber con job. Besides that, you get to let them inspect your suspension for leaking. Anyway, Tyre service is not necessary unless you can't avoid tyre rotation.

For me, the service cost is reasonable.
therain01
post Apr 13 2017, 11:14 PM

256 posts

Can I know if anyone replace alza Tyre with

185/60/R15
Or
195/55/R15

Do you find any differences compared with original 185/55/R15.
therain01
post Apr 15 2017, 12:11 AM

256 posts

QUOTE(Kiefer @ Apr 14 2017, 09:32 AM)
I replaced to 195/55/R15 since 6mths old car. 
For me, the diff are:
1. stiffer sidewall hence little better handling.
2. width is increase little bit, like 5%..layman thinking, 5% more grip..hehhhee
3. overall diameter is lesser like 1%..speedo and actual speed off just little bit, but can't notice.

After like 4 sets tyres including Ori.  I had:
1. Sime (Ori) - pakai like 6 mth only..tyres was out wear very uneven and wavy.  Noisy until nothing to say.
2. Pirelxx - good overall.
3. Kumxx - good earlier, noisy after like 20k.  ok la for budget.
4. Michy - quiet...now using like 10k already..still good (for now).
Thanks a lot for the details. I'm wondering does changing the tyre to 195/55/R15 would cause any drag at low gear? Or it just too minimal to be noticed? I do prefer 195/55/R15 after all due to more varieties and better value.

0.0619sec    0.74    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 02:03 PM