[Offcial] Perodua Alza MPV Club V4, Car One Moment, MPV The Next

itekderp
post Nov 29 2016, 01:29 PM

674 posts

Just sharing some experience here.
My car was infested with flying termites the other week. A whole bunch of them clogged up the intake vent below the wiper, and rain made it worse. In the end, they clumped up and couldn't drain through the flap. Then they started growing white mold, which caused a horrible stink through my a/c.
I have cleared the intake vents, and the vents below the dashboard since they got in there too. No smell from the parts anymore, but my blower vents still smell. Not sure if they somehow managed to get into the evaporator coil. But will ventilate the system for a week or so and see if it goes away.

Anyone experienced such issues before? The smell isn't at the cabin filter anymore, only at the center blower vent mostly.

Will advise alza drivers to put a piece of cloth over the external intake vent to prevent insects and debris going in especially for areas with those flying ants and termites. Too much and it clogs up the system since the drain has a flap of sorts which stops them flowing out.
itekderp
post Dec 1 2016, 03:30 PM

674 posts

QUOTE(Kiefer @ Nov 30 2016, 10:53 AM)
If you are doing DIY..

I would suggest that you can take out the blower to clean.  Change the filter.  Use Car AC cleaner and refresher where it can clean the coil and vents.  Foam type.  look at the product instruction.

It will drip out from the 'hose'...then keep the car under the sun and open the window to have it dry.  Give it a try..do it at own risk tho.
Managed to do as suggested, however noticed that the grime on the blower fins smell very strongly of that smell. So suspecting the smell has already got inside my cooling coil, since the air from blower still smells when turned on with AC off especially first start in the morning. Thinking might as well do a service, since the air flow seems to have decreased a bit too.
Got quoted from rm250 to rm400 for taking out the parts, cleaning and gas replacement. A bit variance in cost, so thinking what's the usual cost for this kind of service?
itekderp
post Dec 1 2016, 11:47 PM

674 posts

QUOTE(Kiefer @ Dec 1 2016, 08:50 PM)
i am not sure the price or cost... If really no choice after tried out many options...do it.
It seems reduced, going to hang on a few more days to see if it further decreases.
The only worry is if a blockage or such might damage the compressor or other parts.

Any Alza users care to share your costs for air cond service, and what jobs were done? Did they replace the seals etc and flush the system?
itekderp
post Dec 3 2016, 12:52 AM

674 posts

QUOTE(alvinji87 @ Dec 2 2016, 10:52 PM)
hi all..long time no come to this forum jor.

wanna ask

1.how long normally to change absorber & spring?
recently feel like the car banging all the roads hole and uneven road harshness until my car recorder going into emergency record..and can feel the car very "hard n strength" ..is it time to change absorber? or cause by 16inch rim ?

2. what brands of absorber to recommend for alba beside original ? i only heard of proride n IMP ?
3. what u guys preferred fully sythentic oil? been using Total (Elf) for some times..

btw my alza going to 6 years when CNY 2017...tot of changing car but no $$  biggrin.gif

sharing sharing  biggrin.gif
If you hear knocking sound, or grinding sound when you go over uneven road then time to change.
Proride read some not nice reviews, for myself i recently replaced with Kayaba. You need to replace the mounting and suspension itself, think spring no need as it's a very hardy part. Maybe the stabilizer link as well.
itekderp
post Dec 3 2016, 08:29 PM

674 posts

QUOTE(cleaner @ Dec 3 2016, 11:55 AM)
me change absorber and absorber mounting at 100k km, change at p2sc, using original part, cost around rm600-rm700 iinm, 2014 price.

Before that try using proride, better handling but after 3 month k.o already. Thats why me change back to ori abs, reliability more important for me than slightly improve handling
Any idea original shocks manufactured by which brand?
itekderp
post Dec 4 2016, 12:45 PM

674 posts

QUOTE(cleaner @ Dec 4 2016, 09:30 AM)
iinm kayaba
Oh, always thought it was apm or something. You replaced at p2 though, why? Always thought they overprice their parts. I know their absorber selling for rm260 now when you can get it straight from Kayaba at rm140.
itekderp
post Dec 4 2016, 07:53 PM

674 posts

QUOTE(cleaner @ Dec 4 2016, 02:13 PM)
change it at p2 becoz proride absorber installer damage my rubber spring holder, have to order at p2 becoz normal spare part shop didnt have stock.

And at that time p2 got service promo, all in with absorber, absorber mounting, rubber for spring holder and labour charge not more than rm700 iinm. Dunno cheap or not becoz proride abs price also more or less the same.

Proride abs got 6 month warranty but didnt bother to claim becoz use 3 month k.o already, dont want the hassle to claim and k.o again

Change ori abs at 100k km, still good until i swap my alza with my friend at 190k km
Proride Malaysian company I think. So not really confident of their engineering abilities. Usual stuff, they always think these things simple like autogate, r&d pun tarak
itekderp
post Jan 22 2017, 12:50 AM

674 posts

QUOTE(shoduken @ Jan 4 2017, 10:10 PM)
Any good tyre recommend? Using Silverstone.60k mileage. Just broke 2 tyres due to overweight and one pancit side edge. Now feel imbalance due to one second hand, one new tyres and preexisting two tyre.

Should I get xm2 195/55/15? Any sifu advice here. Thank you.
Another xm2 user. Very satisfied, light years performance from stock.
itekderp
post Feb 4 2017, 10:44 PM

674 posts

Michelin XM2 users, what PSI you normally pump? Just curious.
itekderp
post Feb 6 2017, 04:33 PM

674 posts

QUOTE(lonelylilpig @ Feb 6 2017, 09:44 AM)
I filled up mine at 32psi front and 30 psi rear.

If with passengers then 33 psi front and rear.

Mine is actually 32-33 front and back, but feels a bit splashy for lack of words. Feels a bit squishy when driving.
itekderp
post Feb 26 2017, 05:36 PM

674 posts

Driving around for a bit after suspension change, suspension and stabilizer replaced. Only springs left from stock. I never noticed this before, but there seems to be some noise coming from the tyre well when going through the bumps. Not exactly knocking, maybe a dull thud.
Also when wheel is at full turn, it will "skip" on parking bay concrete. Almost like losing traction.

So many issues one doesn't notice if one doesn't look for it.

0.0590sec    0.58    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 11:48 AM