17 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Bottom

[Offcial] Perodua Alza MPV Club V4, Car One Moment, MPV The Next

TSKiefer
post Nov 1 2016, 08:40 PM

560 posts

QUOTE(northernhero @ Nov 1 2016, 10:59 AM)
OK
thanks for your reply
will replace it
RM220 gone T.T
Brake pads rm220..sure bo...that is expensive. A relatively good ones is less than 100 a pair
TSKiefer
post Nov 2 2016, 04:58 PM

560 posts

QUOTE(lonelylilpig @ Nov 2 2016, 08:31 AM)
A good ceramic brake pads ( Akebono for Toyota NCP93 ) like i'm using now cost about 130MYR and another 2 packets of brake pad grease cost another few ringgit.

Anyhow i felt latest alza would be better to use semi-metallic brake pads with more biting grip compared to ceramic ones. Even the original provided brake pads doesn't bite as hard not last minute stopping was quite scary.
Ya..semi ceramic is better...bit finding a good one with good grip and affordable price seems hard.

Some claimed good grip but ended up the disk out easily.

So far i am okay with current 2nd disc and pads. As long as you know how well it grips, dont follow too near
TSKiefer
post Nov 2 2016, 09:18 PM

560 posts

QUOTE(tankx3 @ Nov 2 2016, 07:07 PM)
Perodua sc quote 300++ for facelift alza brake pads..
Rm220 is considered cheap, if from sc
It is okay as long as u okay or happy with the pads and price. Cheers
TSKiefer
post Nov 9 2016, 09:39 AM

560 posts

QUOTE(vseries @ Nov 8 2016, 10:41 PM)
Folded seat does not give much boot space imo. If you put boot cover, you can only put things as high as the 2nd seat.
I am not sure what other purpose you need, but I agreed with Cleaner where folding it down and get a 'carpet' to cover whole area (which is what I did too).

You can try take out the seats if needed, but it wont be flat. I have carried things above the height of the seat but not recommended as can't see anything with rear view mirror. I used it short distance within taman only.
TSKiefer
post Nov 9 2016, 10:15 AM

560 posts

QUOTE(lonelylilpig @ Nov 9 2016, 09:24 AM)
In the service book it says every 40k km but i do mine in every 20k km.
ATF fluid is quite important to prolong AT lifespan.
30k is fair. And change the AT filter too.
TSKiefer
post Nov 11 2016, 02:31 PM

560 posts

QUOTE(xavier1782 @ Nov 9 2016, 11:35 PM)
Hi guys, im thinking of getting a Alza SE. came here to read some comments and review. Kind off taken away when reading the 1st page about common issues. Need some reassurance from current users. Thanks.
The common issues are captured here and brought forward from the previous thread.

I have 1st gen version Alza, clocking 5 year now this month with 120k km.
No major issues so far and maintenance is very affordable (*outside)

1. Tyres = currently 4th set (with the 1st set ori tyres running <10k)
2. brake pads = front change 3 times, rear 1 time
3. absorbers = 1 time at 80k km
4. Change atf every 20k or 30k km
5. Normal service every 7-10k km, depending what oil using.
6. water pump = changed at 70k due to bearing sound and slight leaking.
7. Coolant = changed 1 time at 80k (DIY)
8. Battery = 3rd unit now, normally changed every 2 years.
9. Buzzer wiring - flooding the driver side floor, DIY checking.. will check next round as raining season now.
10. wheel alignment + balancing every 8-10k.
11. cabin filter - changed every year.
12. light bulbs - 3 pcs so far if remembered correctly (using Osram/Philips/Bosch)
13. Engine V belt - changed during the water pump changed.

Engine - stock with hotbits extractor.
Body - front strut bar, pivot voltage stabilizer, grounding
Body - sound proofing on doors, roof and side sills. wheel arch bitumen sprays.
Rim - changed rims as ori 2 rims bengkok.

TSKiefer
post Nov 12 2016, 09:12 AM

560 posts

QUOTE(lonelylilpig @ Nov 12 2016, 08:46 AM)
Hey bro, does your hotbits extractor give you too much of FC difference compared to your ori with catalytic ?
I'm very tempted to change it but worried my already fuel sipping engine ( 7.8 l to 100 km ) gonna sip more fuel. 

SC recommended 5w/30 semi synthetic SM/CF for Alza.
7.8l per 100km quite good dah...to save fuel, just ease off yr right foot and good maintenance.

I put in extractor as need better push. I did not track of this helps..but some said yes some not. FC depends on how u drive eventually
TSKiefer
post Nov 14 2016, 01:12 PM

560 posts

QUOTE(mtxx @ Nov 14 2016, 12:23 PM)
I would like to ask, usually what is the lifespan of a tire? measured in mileage?

what's the price for replacing tire currently?
I personally think that it depends on many facts too.

1. Tyre compound - hard or soft. some models have softer compound where it quieter but wear off faster. Grip is better tho. Harder compound last longer and much noisier. The noise level also depends on the 'flower' design. Ones with big big 'flower' is noisier.
2. how it is maintained - proper inflation, rotation as well as alignment.
3. how you drive... if u drift always.. heheheh

average you can measure it by years or mileage (whichever come first).

Mileage - 40k to 60k.
Period - 4 years - some car less drive, clocking 10k km total but the tires already 4-5 years.. best to change as it is old. Some tires burst when go on hiways are due to old age too.

Just my views.
TSKiefer
post Nov 15 2016, 09:55 AM

560 posts

QUOTE(crazeeclan @ Nov 14 2016, 02:12 PM)
anyone in here change their brake system ( caliper and disc rotor) to different car model system...example Honda odyssey? my alza brake really suxz...even change to brembo disc rotor and trw pad...i still feel the brake not really that "makan"..
QUOTE(cleaner @ Nov 14 2016, 09:55 PM)
Try change brake pedal hose to steel braided, it will not improve  "makan" but it will improve brake pedal feel, easier to manipulate brake pressure.

Also try flushing brake fluid and adjust rear brake shoe to make it more "makan"
QUOTE(crazeeclan @ Nov 15 2016, 08:29 AM)
i have a bad experience with metal braided hose on my previous car... the joint actually snap off..btw im not using those china brand...im using P** RS that time....

Already flush...after flush still the same...i always adjust my rear brake everytime i service my car...roughly about 2 month( 8000km) once.
Steel Braided hose.. it actually improve the braking (feel) to be less spongy-ness. As our normal rubber hose would expand when brake pedal is pressed. My friend changed it to steel braided hose on his persona (some local well known brand), not sure it is P** RS or AR******.

It looks nice on hand and he changed it plus branded brake fluid. Ended hell, where the hose 'leaking' one after another. Even though they provide 1-1 change on the 'defective' hose, it kena again, just within 1-2 month time and he kena xcident where the leaking made no pressure on the pump.
Habis fluid tu, he brake and no brake at all, avoided banging into a bike, but ended up into another car.

After we check thru the hose, it is a total design flaw. They said can change 1-1, fxxx them la. Go back to original and he just change to a better pad and new disc (TRW, i think).

Brake hose is key item to jaga too, where during alignment or balancing, go look at the hose to see the condition of the hose (cracks etc).

Since most of us has 100k mileage or >4-5 years car, best to have a frequent check on the hose during service too. Drive safe.
TSKiefer
post Nov 15 2016, 11:05 AM

560 posts

QUOTE(lonelylilpig @ Nov 15 2016, 10:15 AM)
Bro , Alza is well known to have less efficient braking grip due to the nature Auto Transmission.
If you want to get shorter braking distance, try equip with a good set of brake pads and brake disc then flush your brake system with a better brake fluid.
Make sure your rear brakes is adjusted about every 10k km. You can perform self rear brake adjustment by yourself by fully stepping your foot brake then apply full pressure on your brakes. Repeat few times and test and see your brake pedal feel is firmer.
A good set of tyres will help stopping distance as well.
Ya.. I do agree, the manual transmission Alza has better grip. Not sure it is due to the ABS. The non ABS better grip.

I know the feel of brake not makan, especically downhill. Press all still jalan.. hahahhaa

Changing the disc and pads does help. Brake fluid should as long as we change the the same spec kua.

The self adjustment, have not try it..thanks for the tips.

TSKiefer
post Nov 15 2016, 01:26 PM

560 posts

QUOTE(xavier1782 @ Nov 15 2016, 12:30 PM)
?
Thanks guys for the feedback. Now i cant decide whether to get White or Silver. My fear for white is after a while it gets yellowish ? true ?
Solid white would if not jaga frequently. Silver would be the easiest to maintain of all colors.

All paint just need some proper cleaning/washing, for maintain, just waxing (with polishing if needed) at least every 3-6 mths if can.
Nowadays, many ease to use water wax which just spray, apply and wipe off.

Now I am testing nano rapid coating which is imported. non-permanent type. Applied on my bike where it shines, now have to see whether it last 2 months.
Not very expensive, about RM50-60 a bottle.
TSKiefer
post Nov 15 2016, 03:13 PM

560 posts

QUOTE(lonelylilpig @ Nov 15 2016, 01:32 PM)
Bro, one way for me to know Alza Transmission is the culprit to bad braking is if u put N ( not really recommend to repeatedly doing it la, i duno whats the real consequences ) u tend to brake grip harder than if your engage in D .

Parking brake automatically adjust by itself when brake shoes wear off bit by bit, so usually I would forcefully adjust it more or i just jack up my rear end DIY adjust my brake shoes .... hahaha

For brake fluid, yes Daihatsu and Toyota brake systems tend to recommend DOT 3. In many books it says ABS usually recommends the usage of DOT 4 ( eventhough SC says do not know what will happen if change to DOT 4 ) so i have replace mine to DOT 4 and it has firmer brake pedal feel.
During any braking or hard braking, best not to put in N. I don't think all drivers will put in N.

in D more, when you hard braking or downhill braking, the D mode will move down a gear to help slow down the car using engine braking.

I have many times when come into a situation where a hard/emergency braking, I will downshift to 3 or even to 2 depending on how much engine braking I needed to assist to slow down car faster.
I can still feel the ABS kicked in..tak tak tak...

Some friends who sits in my car also said, they thought won't make it to the stop as they know Alza / some other makes with AT has weak braking. It works with ABS without slipping. Then they said, phew..lucky braking is good.

Good tyres plays important role too where grips helps.

Also, as i constantly check rear view mirror for cars / bikes around my car, during hard braking, i put signal to Right, braking and move car to the right with downshift..the car behind would know i shift right, so he would shift left if needed without banging in to my alza from behind. depends la..some drivers kopi lesen without basic driving knowledge.

Tips: see as far as possible if there is a car way in front has brake light on, better slow down liao.
TSKiefer
post Nov 15 2016, 05:37 PM

560 posts

QUOTE(lonelylilpig @ Nov 15 2016, 04:16 PM)
Ya true, of course not put N in driving situation .... i just tried when car speed almost at a stop and in a very safe environment.

Same case to me, always ABS kicks in during brake .... afraid ABS will kong sooner than i thought. hahaha

I agree with the way you avoid cars , sometimes many factors ...... I just pray everytime when i drive , don't contact any waving kapcai rider during rush hour.
Great..many drivers ignore riders..i am a biker too and many times fxxx the driver and they dont even know what they did wrong.

Now waiting for my sjcam m10 to arrive. Can use or swap for my alza and bike when needed.

TSKiefer
post Nov 18 2016, 03:45 PM

560 posts

hurray, my SJCAM M10 just reached me. I think most of you all would know what is it...
for me, I can use it as camera, dashcam (using back the existing car power adapter), helmet cam, underwater cam, etc with the standard accessories.

Going to install it nanti to replace the rear view mirror dashcam that used for 2 years. Will try also on helmet.

TSKiefer
post Nov 19 2016, 03:17 AM

560 posts

QUOTE(cleaner @ Nov 18 2016, 09:23 PM)
isn't it will be hassle to mount/dismount your sjcam compared to dashcam which is fixed to your car
Not really...i mounted it. It comes with standard acc...i dismounted it in just 5sec. Mounting about same and plug in

Only when i need for my helmet, i will put onto the waterproof casing supplied, then slot in to the mounting and on it press record.

Not like daily mount dismount.

Now testing the settings and familiarize.

This is deluxe package..if want to use for car, option to get the suction mount and car charger..
TSKiefer
post Nov 23 2016, 12:10 PM

560 posts

Hi all, I just received 2nd unit of M10 (SJCAM Ori). Anyone interested?
M10 Yellow color with all in-package accessories, batery, etc.

I am open for Alza group here only for today only before I sell it elsewhere tomorrow.
The price is RM280 only.. only here. cheaper than lowyat garage and even cheaper than lxzxxx.

PM me. First confirm, first serve as only 1 unit.

http://sjcamhd.com/sjcam-m10-basic/

TSKiefer
post Nov 30 2016, 10:53 AM

560 posts

QUOTE(itekderp @ Nov 29 2016, 01:29 PM)
Just sharing some experience here.
My car was infested with flying termites the other week. A whole bunch of them clogged up the intake vent below the wiper, and rain made it worse. In the end, they clumped up and couldn't drain through the flap. Then they started growing white mold, which caused a horrible stink through my a/c.
I have cleared the intake vents, and the vents below the dashboard since they got in there too. No smell from the parts anymore, but my blower vents still smell. Not sure if they somehow managed to get into the evaporator coil. But will ventilate the system for a week or so and see if it goes away.

Anyone experienced such issues before? The smell isn't at the cabin filter anymore, only at the center blower vent mostly.

Will advise alza drivers to put a piece of cloth over the external intake vent to prevent insects and debris going in especially for areas with those flying ants and termites. Too much and it clogs up the system since the drain has a flap of sorts which stops them flowing out.
If you are doing DIY..

I would suggest that you can take out the blower to clean. Change the filter. Use Car AC cleaner and refresher where it can clean the coil and vents. Foam type. look at the product instruction.

It will drip out from the 'hose'...then keep the car under the sun and open the window to have it dry. Give it a try..do it at own risk tho.
TSKiefer
post Nov 30 2016, 11:46 AM

560 posts

QUOTE(Ajwad @ Nov 30 2016, 10:02 AM)
hi all, i just bought new Alza advance, i want to change the cigarette lighter socket with USB charger, anyone want to recommend me any brand or should i just leave the cigarette lighter socket and use USB adapter instead ?
I am not sure about the USB adapter. Is it at the cd player there?

I am using Aukey 2 ports with QC 2.0 which suits my hp.
TSKiefer
post Nov 30 2016, 02:45 PM

560 posts

QUOTE(Ajwad @ Nov 30 2016, 01:57 PM)
using adapter i mean use this or other brand (this is adapter)
or should i use this? (NOT adapter, its direct)
ooh.. ok ok. depending how/what u use it.. I am using the cigg adapter USB (type 1 pic). I would suggest getting a good one. Last time the cheapo rm5-10, the whole thing is heating up. Now using Aukey.

the 2nd pix, I am not sure what charging port using.. you know nowadays, smartphones as QC1.0, 2.0 3.0....etc etc.. get the right one to charge is best.
TSKiefer
post Nov 30 2016, 02:53 PM

560 posts

QUOTE(gahpadu @ Nov 30 2016, 02:46 PM)
i am suing the second one. enough to power my dashcam and charge my phone .
thumbup.gif as long as it suits your needs. :>

17 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.0928sec    0.18    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 05:52 PM