University Sheffiled Hallam University, Had any1 been there b4?

yeahs4.1
post Jan 20 2007, 04:49 AM

Audio Freako
2,491 posts

actually, the tuition fees for University of Sheffield is a little higher than the fees at SHU (i'm looking into engineering courses only), it;s the cost of living there is very high. since u're going to sheffield, y dun u go for university of sheffield since the cost of living for this 2 universities is the same? at least it's more reputable..
TSFairy6262
post Jan 20 2007, 09:34 AM

50 posts

QUOTE(yeahs4.1 @ Jan 20 2007, 04:49 AM)
actually, the tuition fees for University of Sheffield is a little higher than the fees at SHU (i'm looking into engineering courses only), it;s the cost of living there is very high. since u're going to sheffield, y dun u go for university of sheffield since the cost of living for this 2 universities is the same? at least it's more reputable..
so if choose Sheffield, thats mean i should go for it after diploma, but not after advanced diploma rite?
coz i been surfed the website n notice there has no any short term degree course there(different from 3-month at SHU)...
hmm.gif

any1 knows the tuition fee in Sheffiled Uni as well?
michaelfoo
post Jan 20 2007, 10:10 AM

1,215 posts

QUOTE(Fairy6262 @ Jan 20 2007, 09:34 AM)
so if choose Sheffield, thats mean i should go for it after diploma, but not after advanced diploma rite?
coz i been surfed the website n notice there has no any short term degree course there(different from 3-month at SHU)...
hmm.gif

any1 knows the tuition fee in Sheffiled Uni as well?
FYI, the University of Sheffield is an original University and you should not expect them to offer short term courses (for instance the 3 months' course at SHU).

Tuition fees are as below:
http://www.shef.ac.uk/international/money/tuitionfees.html

yeahs4.1
post Jan 20 2007, 12:20 PM

Audio Freako
2,491 posts

i dun think sheffield uni will offer a degree through a 3 months summer top up for an advanced diploma student from TARC
elb
post Jan 20 2007, 05:16 PM

514 posts

QUOTE(feynman @ Jan 19 2007, 08:19 PM)
Many of these universities are post 92 universities, universities which were polytechnics before 1992. It is akin to a Nigerian coming to Malaysia to study at KUSTEM or whatever KKTT we have here.

These universities are cash-strapped, anyone who has money can register anytime.

It is alright to spend 3 months and get a degree from SHU, but if one considers to do the entire 3 years there, one is nothing but a fool. More than a fool actually.

It is also sheer folly to get an MA in marketing either from SHU or some place else.
To put it another way, one should only consider universities established via Royal Charter.
fatman_xing
post Jan 21 2007, 01:25 AM

500 posts

QUOTE(angelgemini @ Jan 20 2007, 01:16 AM)
i studying electronic engineering,,,,
but i hear that SHU more better than liverpoor ..
i mean my senior....
and should i go SHU after my advance diploma?

study master for ee really wasted, it just worth if u wan to be lecturer only
would be best you try to enter other Uni to do your further studies. i would advice u to go Nottingham Semenyih to do EnE and twin further to the UK campus. By all means, try not to go SHU if possible.
niu_niu
post Mar 31 2007, 11:16 PM

Remember to feed the cat!
580 posts

Anyone went there for top-up b4? Mind 2 drop up some thoughts here? Thx...
Smy
post Apr 1 2007, 12:09 AM

Woot !
706 posts

you should consider carefully before taking the 3month top up course , its gonna take you 1-2 months to adapt to the UK culture especially if its your first time abroad. The moment u feel settle down , its time to fly back to msia. WTF !

No idea about the education quality though, but the building is pretty decent for a university *cough*. Plus theres a strip joint nearby biggrin.gif.

SUSkockroach
post Apr 1 2007, 04:11 AM

Certified Noob
3,256 posts

QUOTE(Smy @ Apr 1 2007, 12:09 AM)
No idea about the education quality though, but the building is pretty decent for a university *cough*. Plus theres a strip joint nearby biggrin.gif.
A lot of my friend told me about this !!! haha
yeahs4.1
post Apr 1 2007, 04:20 AM

Audio Freako
2,491 posts

well, i've checked through ECUK website, surprsingly, SHU's a few engineering courses r accredited there.
Moonstroke
post Apr 1 2007, 04:45 PM

78 posts

what? then u mean other courses are not accredited? I think i should advice my sis to change her mind.
niu_niu
post Jun 5 2007, 08:45 PM

Remember to feed the cat!
580 posts

Im going to UK in 1 week time......
Can anyone let me know how is the immigration and custom officer in airport there? Im going to alight at manchester airport. So anything that i cannot bring in the UK? Like those non-ori CDs (i burn myself), maggi mee etc can bring in or not? Thx....

0.0176sec    0.96    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 03:27 PM