124 Pages « < 48 49 50 51 52 > » Bottom

Official Honda Civic 10th Gen Owner/Fans Club V2, Turbo still kicking yo!

thevelvet
post Aug 2 2016, 09:22 AM

63 posts

QUOTE(cybermaster98 @ Aug 2 2016, 08:59 AM)
There is no such thing as a perfect car. If u expect to buy a car with no problems, then ure in for a surprise. Best stick to public transport or walking.

And why should I have any regrets just because my car had some issues? Isn't that why we have warranties for? And if problems crop up and the manufacturer can resolve them quickly enough, then what's the big fuss except for time spent at the service centre?

Btw, what 140K+ 'investment' are you referring to anyway?
QUOTE(shinchan^^ @ Aug 2 2016, 09:01 AM)
lol a car doesn't seems to be an investment
Sorry I choose a wrong word (thx for point out the mistake) its not an 'investment' it just my hard earn money I borrow from the bank in order for me to have a little bit fun while I'm still alive .
cybermaster98
post Aug 2 2016, 09:29 AM

4,440 posts

QUOTE(BFGWong @ Aug 2 2016, 09:16 AM)
Actually if they are averaging 131ppm vs 500ppm Euro2 spec, I would consider that is quite good.  Too bad we don't have consumer or motoring association carrying out random sampling to inform us of the industry average.

I'm also a BHP user, unless its too out of the way.  One nice thing about the bigger fuel tank and increase fuel efficiency of this car, now I can get by only fueling up over the weekends and dont have to fill up at other random stations
Yes, if only BHP had more stations, they would be the fuel of choice for most Malaysians. And because they don't have good coverage, they cannot offer 'pump first pay later' cards like the Shell Card. Hence why many companies are stuck having to use Shell for their employees. Same predicament im in. cry.gif
Prop.Observer
post Aug 2 2016, 09:51 AM

179 posts

QUOTE(blurkia @ Aug 2 2016, 07:42 AM)
yo guys.. thinking of getting this pedal lock:
https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/2324118

can we use this? i rmb reading some1 say our remote start cannot have our pedal locked?
anyone can confirm this before i buy?
GO ahead. There is no problem for remote start.
But you have to unlock pedal lock after remote start in order to start the enjine.
Why i know? coz locktech pedal lock under my foot now. hehehe.
Alternation
post Aug 2 2016, 09:52 AM

912 posts

QUOTE(GeekinE90 @ Aug 1 2016, 05:16 PM)
The compression ration ratings we see in our spec sheet are initial compression ratios and not final compression ratios taking in account boost.  For the 1.5T is considered pretty high at 10.6:1 which is why the car does not feel sluggish off the line without boost.  In the past many Turbo 4's were running ~8:1 compression ratios and felt quite laggy off the boost.

So the 1.5T's compression ratio is actually pretty high for a turbo car running 16.5 psi of max boost.  It was designed that way to be more efficient as well.  A little engineering marvel in terms of balancing thermal efficiency, high boost pressure, powerful and lightweight and compact.

Most owners will pump RON97 for Euro4 low sulfur grade which should prolong oil life and internal engine cleanliness.
Bro, is 10:6:1 compression ratio same with 10:1?

According to ron vs compression chart, 10:1 need ron 100 but our civic can be pumped ron 91.

pigin
post Aug 2 2016, 09:54 AM

QUOTE(ridethedream @ Aug 2 2016, 08:50 AM)
I don't usually read forums unless I have issues. I speak from experience. I have all the marquee above & few more. very minor issues that I can just close my eyes & forget about it.
i bought a honda cuz i gave up on my ford's DSG. 4.5 years driving it and no remedy.

and i have all of the above at home too ! =p but tbh the merz doesn't give alot of headaches compared to alot of other cars ive driven.

i know some ppl swear by those brands but i happen to be that unlucky customer who got stuck with a lemon (Ford).

another colleague who drove the exact same model had no issues for the past 3 years she's been driving it.

agreed minor issues ie. rattling, squeaking, fittings not good doesn't break a good car.

having to wake up in the mornings and "hope" you can get to work without the gearbox overheating is stressful.

i did contemplate alot when buying a turbo because i wanted something reliable initially.. but a global car with very isolated incidents of mechanical failures seemed like Honda knew what they are doing. pun the local QC.
TSisr25
post Aug 2 2016, 10:01 AM

1,263 posts

QUOTE(Alternation @ Aug 2 2016, 09:52 AM)
Bro, is 10:6:1 compression ratio same with 10:1?

According to ron vs compression chart, 10:1 need ron 100 but our civic can be pumped ron 91.

I'm guessing those numbers are just a guideline. Honda chief powertrain engineer already said that the engine is tuned to RON 91 and there is no extra benefit to pumping higher RON fuel. The only reason why we are saying to pump RON97 (or RON95 BHP coz low sulphur too apparently) is that it's EURO 4M compliant.

In any case... Mazda cars have a higher compression ratio of 14:1, and they are tuned to run on RON92 smile.gif
reloadedprimus
post Aug 2 2016, 10:04 AM

81 posts

QUOTE(Aeon_Clock @ Aug 2 2016, 01:59 AM)
Guys, I totally agree with you. This car is a mess. I mean just today I found out that it corners absolutely FLAT! Why would anybody want that? And there's a light on the dashboard to tell you when you're accelerating too much - as if the ECO mode wasn't enough to slow us down! Furthermore who uses Cruise Control...nobody in Malaysia sticks to one speed no matter how far they drive isn't it? NOBODY!!

Don't get me started with the automatic features...I can never understand why people would want to have their lights on after they've stopped the car. Auto-start? Who warms their car nowadays??? Auto-lock?? I want to TOUCH MY REMOTE!!!
Look at this, another reason not to buy a Civic!
Simple, get out of this topic and dont come in here since you have so many negativities to complain about.

Its fine for us to discuss problems with our cars, but you do not need to come in here and talk shit about Honda and its cars.

Every manufacturer has its own problems to deal with. If u have a honda and u hate ur car so much, sell it ..... or else deal with it.

This post has been edited by reloadedprimus: Aug 2 2016, 10:10 AM
thevelvet
post Aug 2 2016, 10:36 AM

63 posts

QUOTE(reloadedprimus @ Aug 2 2016, 10:04 AM)
Simple, get out of this topic and dont come in here since you have so many negativities to complain about.

Its fine for us to discuss problems with our cars, but you do not need to come in here and talk shit about Honda and its cars.

Every manufacturer has its own problems to deal with.  If u have a honda and u hate ur car so much, sell it ..... or else deal with it.
Well I must agree with you he's basically complaining about a features!
He's should focus it on defect actually
That's kind of complaints actually will give benefits for a new or future user (someone like me)
kljy17
post Aug 2 2016, 10:38 AM

24 posts

Every manufacturer has its own problems to deal with.  If u have a honda and u hate ur car so much, sell it ..... or else deal with it.
I think he was trying to be sarcastic la. Chill out... smile.gif (i might be wrong)
pigin
post Aug 2 2016, 10:48 AM

QUOTE(kljy17 @ Aug 2 2016, 10:38 AM)
I think he was trying to be sarcastic la. Chill out... smile.gif (i might be wrong)
hhahaha yeah he was being sarcastic.

im pretty sure everyone wants their car to corner FLAT and not wobble like a fat arse
hihihehe
post Aug 2 2016, 10:51 AM

13,786 posts

how do you guys find about the conti tires?
is it normal there is minimal tread at side tires?
cybermaster98
post Aug 2 2016, 10:54 AM

4,440 posts

Aiyoo! Read carefully. He supports us la. He is just being sarcastic to the earlier comment. All the points raised above are POSITIVE. biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by cybermaster98: Aug 2 2016, 10:56 AM
TSisr25
post Aug 2 2016, 11:13 AM

1,263 posts

QUOTE(hihihehe @ Aug 2 2016, 10:51 AM)
how do you guys find about the conti tires?
is it normal there is minimal tread at side tires?
I'm finding that the Conti tyres are quite good leh. The more I drive on it, the better it is - it's either that or i'm getting used to it's flaws already tongue.gif

Will wait for PS4 to launch before changing
hihihehe
post Aug 2 2016, 11:17 AM

13,786 posts

QUOTE(isr25 @ Aug 2 2016, 11:13 AM)
I'm finding that the Conti tyres are quite good leh. The more I drive on it, the better it is - it's either that or i'm getting used to it's flaws already tongue.gif

i'm not sure in tires but the tread seems like wearing out quite fast

my next replacement will be RE003 or PS3 but have to depends on my budget. dont think PS4 will come any soon
thevelvet
post Aug 2 2016, 11:22 AM

63 posts

QUOTE(cybermaster98 @ Aug 2 2016, 10:54 AM)
Aiyoo! Read carefully. He supports us la. He is just being sarcastic to the earlier comment. All the points raised above are POSITIVE.  biggrin.gif
Hahaha..yup He point out the FEATURES! Which is consider Positive unless its not working as intended.

But if he own the car its quite arrogant if someone said just sell it and don't come in this forum anymore if all what he did just make a complaint.

Reason for complaint so that many ppl will aware so can highlight the issue n raise a complaint for betterment so that HONDA will step up to resolve this and in the end I believe it will benefit the user like us..
BFGWong
post Aug 2 2016, 11:54 AM

時代革命
1,998 posts

QUOTE(thevelvet @ Aug 2 2016, 11:22 AM)
Hahaha..yup He  point out the FEATURES! Which is consider Positive unless its not working as intended.

But if he own the car its quite arrogant if someone said just sell it and don't come in this forum anymore if all what he did just make a complaint.

Reason for complaint so that many ppl will aware  so can highlight the issue n raise a complaint for betterment so that HONDA will step up to resolve this and in the end I believe it will benefit the user like us..
Read the original post again, it is really quite BRILLIANT!

SweetTooth
post Aug 2 2016, 12:09 PM

2,650 posts

QUOTE(Moonflown @ Aug 1 2016, 11:20 PM)
If you realise, most people will only voice out publicly on car with problems. But large chunk actually have no problem and enjoying the car silently, myself included. People really need to control info intake nowadays...
Ditto. I'm another example smile.gif

wkc5657
post Aug 2 2016, 01:49 PM

558 posts

QUOTE(GeekinE90 @ Aug 2 2016, 08:00 AM)
Low grade fuels have negative impact on Nikasil coated engine liners and components.  Nikadil coating is a technological advancement offering low friction and heat with low tolerances.  But even German engineers got it wrong with durability with high sulfur fuel.

The 1.5T uses a special low friction ion coated piston rings for the same purpose.  It's long term effects with low grade high sulfur content fuel remains to be seen.
There are many types of combustion coatings available in the market and Nikasil is just one of them. Are you sure this Honda engine is Nikasil coated? If yes, please share the source link, i'm interested to read it.

QUOTE(cybermaster98 @ Aug 2 2016, 09:06 AM)
Some basic info on the various fuel standards FYI

Euro 1 – 1992 (sulphur content 2,500ppm)
Euro 2 – 1996 (500ppm)
Euro 3 – 2000 (350ppm)
BHP RON95 – 131 ppm
Euro 4 – 2005 (50ppm)
Euro 5 – 2009 (10ppm)
Euro 6 – 2014 (very low)

Ppm = quantity of sulphur (mg) in 1kg of fuel

Negative effects of Euro 2 fuel:

1) High sulphur content produces significant amount of Sulphur Dioxide resulting in Sulphurous and Sulphuric Acids
2) The presence of the sulphuric acids cause:-
3) Contamination of crankcase oil / lubricating oil
4) Corrosion of engine components / parts
5) Catalytic converter is damaged and is unable to neutralise pollutants ( CO, NOx & Unburnt Fuel )
6) SOX contribute to the high emission of particulate matter.
7) Decreases the cetane number resulting in incomplete combustion and the formation of soot.
8) Injector tips are obstructed with the formation of soot.
9) Injection spray pattern is altered resulting in incomplete combustion.
10) Significant reduction in the lifetime of the engine.
11) Increases maintenance costs due to frequent replacement of engine oil and servicing parts
Benefits of Euro 4 fuel:

1) Insignificant formation of SOx /acidic compounds
2) Decrease of particulate matter/Black smoke (if petrol engine got black smoke, straight masuk kilang overhaul)  sweat.gif
3) Reduces output of Oxides of Nitrogen
4) Increase cetane number result in complete/efficient combustion (see comment below)
5) No unburned fuel (not relating to sulfur PPM but the effects of inefficient combustion)
6) CO is easily converted into CO2
7) Engine lubricating oil less prone to acidification
8) Reduces engine component corrosion (if engine oil not up to temperature due to frequent short drives or a lot of stop/go traffic condition, water content will chain up with the sulfur elements creating sulfuric acid. Driving up to temperature will cause the water content in oil sump to evaporate)
9) Increase of lifespan of catalytic converter
10) Engine less noisy (this one not applicable)
11) Engine develops more power (very unlikely, marginal at best)
12) Increase of lifetime of the engine (debatable)
13) Increase in fuel economy (true for diesel, for petrol is more likely due to better additives used in RON97)
14) Reduces maintenance cost due to insignificant contamination of engine oil and service interval can be increased
15) Eco friendly fuel (if lead footed and always traffic jam, not much difference lor....)

We should be getting Euro 4 RON95 fuel in a couple of years which isn't too far away to cause significant detriment to our car engines using current Euro 2 RON95 fuel. But in the meantime, I would strongly recommend BHP RON95. It's the best RON95 fuel in the market currently. Some batches of BHP's RON95 fuel was even tested to be only 12ppm which is almost Euro 5 standard.
No offense, but i think your facts are more applicable towards diesel. Although some of the facts are still applicable to petrol engines.

Cetane ratings are only applicable to diesel fuel. Unlike RON rating, higher cetane rating can derive more power to the engine.

QUOTE(BFGWong @ Aug 2 2016, 09:16 AM)
Actually if they are averaging 131ppm vs 500ppm Euro2 spec, I would consider that is quite good.  Too bad we don't have consumer or motoring association carrying out random sampling to inform us of the industry average.

I'm also a BHP user, unless its too out of the way.  One nice thing about the bigger fuel tank and increase fuel efficiency of this car, now I can get by only fueling up over the weekends and dont have to fill up at other random stations
The PPM average was true at that time (which was 3 or 4 years ago), but no one go follow up to double check is it applicable now. Anyone wants to give sample to SIRIM to check? I know they can.

QUOTE(isr25 @ Aug 2 2016, 11:13 AM)

QUOTE(hihihehe @ Aug 2 2016, 11:17 AM)
i'm not sure in tires but the tread seems like wearing out quite fast

my next replacement will be RE003 or PS3 but have to depends on my budget. dont think PS4 will come any soon
Sudah unofficially dijual, i dah tanya biggrin.gif

https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/4011464
TSisr25
post Aug 2 2016, 01:57 PM

1,263 posts

QUOTE(wkc5657 @ Aug 2 2016, 01:49 PM)
Sudah unofficially dijual, i dah tanya  biggrin.gif

https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/4011464
No 215/50 R17 though sad.gif
SackBoy
post Aug 2 2016, 02:01 PM

QUOTE(isr25 @ Aug 2 2016, 01:57 PM)
No 215/50 R17 though sad.gif
Ya makes me wonders if we were to put 215/45 R17 will it look ugly or it doesn't even fit?

124 Pages « < 48 49 50 51 52 > » Top

0.0316sec    0.51    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 12:43 AM