How Do You Bargain Legal Fees With The Lawyer

TSryder_78
post Jul 18 2016, 09:45 PM, updated 10y ago

2,022 posts

Any tips on how to get the legal fees down. A friend mentioned he used some "hard talk" with the lawyer and managed to get a higher discount on the legal fees. He didn't elaborate on the tactics though.

For those who managed to get the legal fees down, mind to share what reasons you gave to the lawyer to get a higher discount?
lyc1982
post Jul 18 2016, 09:49 PM

ExpectNoMercy
2,329 posts

i would like to learn this trick as well...
RChance
post Jul 18 2016, 09:51 PM

176 posts

There are plenty of lawyers who would be happy to serve you.

Just give a price you feel is reasonable and if the lawyer doesn't want to match then find someone else. You can always check with a few lawyers to get their quotation as well.

But remember sometimes what you pay is what you get.
ManutdGiggs
post Jul 18 2016, 09:57 PM

13,752 posts

Normal discount oledi @65%
TSryder_78
post Jul 18 2016, 10:06 PM

2,022 posts

What is the percentage of discount that you usually get for the legal fees?

There are 2 sections for the legal fees as follows.

1. Professional Legal Fees
2. Disbursement Charges

The Total Professional Legal Fees = Professional Legal Fees + Disbursement Charges + GST.

Say if you get 20% discount, is it on Professional Legal Fees only, or it is on the Disbursement Charges as well?

Mind to share what is the discount in % you are getting from your lawyer?
Volkswagen2
post Jul 19 2016, 08:48 PM

439 posts

I agree with the suggestion of comparing the fees of several law firms. Then you will be able to know which one is "overcharging".

I find that some lawyers, especially young ones can surely talk rubbish ie. not very knowledgeable. The older ones can be quite sly.
lifebalance
post Jul 19 2016, 11:12 PM

Licensed Financial Planner & Financial Adviser's Rep.
10,162 posts

QUOTE(ryder_78 @ Jul 18 2016, 09:45 PM)
Any tips on how to get the legal fees down. A friend mentioned he used some "hard talk" with the lawyer and managed to get a higher discount on the legal fees. He didn't elaborate on the tactics though.

For those who managed to get the legal fees down, mind to share what reasons you gave to the lawyer to get a higher discount?
I solely believe you get what you paid for, if professional also you ask for discount for their skills, just proves how confident they are in their capability.
Volkswagen2
post Jul 20 2016, 10:35 AM

439 posts

QUOTE(lifebalance @ Jul 19 2016, 11:12 PM)
I solely believe you get what you paid for, if professional also you ask for discount for their skills, just proves how confident they are in their capability.
As for the "you get what you pay for", although it may be true for most cases, it does not apply to all as sometimes people overcharge. There are not much "skills" involved in professional legal documentation as it is all standard documents. As long as the legal documentation serves the purpose of getting the transfer of title of property done, that is all that matters. The main difference only lies in the efficiency of the feedback as in how fast the lawyer can respond to your questions or how fast they act.

Many or most lawyers can give discounts. It is tough competition these days as people compete to get more business, not only in the legal industry but all other industries as well.
Fortezan
post Jul 20 2016, 01:59 PM

474 posts

Other than price, another factor you'll also need to consider especially for secondary properties, is whether the lawyer has done similar case for the same property, or whether the lawyer has close contact with that particular developer. A lot of time, the delay is usually cause by developer taking their own sweet time with title issuance. A good lawyer with close contact from inside developer will be able to ensure you are able to get your keys in the shortest time possible. This is helpful if you are currently renting and want to move in asap to save on rental.
shaniandras2787
post Jul 20 2016, 02:19 PM

drugged coordinator
2,309 posts

I'm all into minimizing my costs but I also don't expect that the firm gives me 100% undivided attention to my case if I bargained with them to lower down their legal fees like in the morning market.

I sort of know where I stand.

So, if you do not get the same response time/feedback (after paying hefty discounted price) then please do not complain to any relevant parties/bodies that you are being short changed.

You cannot be expecting to get 5 litres of fuel in your tank when you are only willing to pay 1 litre.

General rule is, don't be a cheapskate when appointing a legal firm to represent you. You ask for discounts but ask reasonably and rationally. Don't make threats/demands for 65% if the purchase price property is only RM300,000.00 or around that region.

Legal firms are not charitable bodies and they are just like everyone else in the world who are into business, they also need to profit.

If you can't afford to pay the legal fees then chances are, you can't afford to buy whatever property you wanted to purchase.
lyc1982
post Jul 26 2016, 01:45 PM

ExpectNoMercy
2,329 posts

QUOTE(ManutdGiggs @ Jul 18 2016, 09:57 PM)
Normal discount oledi @65%
i find this hard to believe...
lyc1982
post Jul 26 2016, 01:59 PM

ExpectNoMercy
2,329 posts

QUOTE(kengyan @ Jul 26 2016, 01:57 PM)
Well, my previous loan application do get 60%, but the bank mark up the initial fees. I never take that bank due to high interest rate so go to another bank which offers lower interest rate. Same lawyer firm basically but discount way lower at 45%. As I can't wait any longer as I need to renovate it and shift in before new year, so I just sign the SPA directly. After reading the detail of the fees, it come out to be ~rm1000 cheaper than first bank's 60% discount offer.
mind sharing how much is your loan amount ?
maybe that plays a role in discount being offered i guess...
lyc1982
post Jul 26 2016, 02:07 PM

ExpectNoMercy
2,329 posts

QUOTE(kengyan @ Jul 26 2016, 02:04 PM)
rm47*k amount, 30 years, 10 year MRTA only as Ii planned to settled by 3 years.
I doubt loan amount will play any role, is up to the firm to give you discount. Standard non formal procedure(as if it is formal, lawyers will lost their rice bowl) by lawyer firm are only 45-50%. That's why MBB don't bother help me to ask on the discount, instead asked me to deal directly with them. Initially I also think that officer are lazy, apparently I'm wrong. Like the first bank, I think he is marking the price up, giving "higher" discount and difference from that will enter his pocket.
hhmmm...that's odd
my loan amount similar to yours and guess how much discount i get ?
10% max
tryifelsecatch
post Jul 26 2016, 02:12 PM

474 posts

QUOTE(kengyan @ Jul 26 2016, 02:09 PM)
Total legal fees and stamp duties is rm25000 for my case.
your purchase is sub sale or under con?
cybermaster98
post Jul 27 2016, 02:58 PM

4,440 posts

QUOTE(kengyan @ Jul 26 2016, 02:04 PM)
rm47*k amount, 30 years, 10 year MRTA only as Ii planned to settled by 3 years.
Only a person who is not strong financially will waste money taking MRTA especially if he plans to settle the loan in 3 yrs. If really required a smart investor would take MLTA not MRTA. And we both know that you do not possess the financial capacity to settle a 470K loan amount in 3 yrs so why boast and talk rubbish? rclxub.gif

As I said before, I think you should stop misleading ppl and giving out poor advice. Spend more time on the Investment thread and learn how to manage finances and grow your wealth from the sifus there. You are clearly far behind if your net worth is only RM600K (despite you claiming you have RM20mil).

This post has been edited by cybermaster98: Jul 27 2016, 02:59 PM
cybermaster98
post Jul 27 2016, 03:02 PM

4,440 posts

Keep trying and keep reporting me. I know it hurts when someone exposes you and your lies.

Again as ive said before, lets keep the discussion real, true and factual. Don't mislead ppl by sharing something that isn't true.

Cheers!
tryifelsecatch
post Jul 27 2016, 04:23 PM

474 posts

QUOTE(cybermaster98 @ Jul 27 2016, 02:58 PM)
Only a person who is not strong financially will waste money taking MRTA especially if he plans to settle the loan in 3 yrs. If really required a smart investor would take MLTA not MRTA. And we both know that you do not possess the financial capacity to settle a 470K loan amount in 3 yrs so why boast and talk rubbish?  rclxub.gif

As I said before, I think you should stop misleading ppl and giving out poor advice. Spend more time on the Investment thread and learn how to manage finances and grow your wealth from the sifus there. You are clearly far behind if your net worth is only RM600K (despite you claiming you have RM20mil).

that's why i also wonder why bought 10years MRTA when the plan is to settle loan in 3 years. i mean if he is loaded, why bother the MRTA?
cybermaster98
post Jul 27 2016, 04:46 PM

4,440 posts

QUOTE(tryifelsecatch @ Jul 27 2016, 04:23 PM)
that's why i also wonder why bought 10years MRTA when the plan is to settle loan in 3 years. i mean if he is loaded, why bother the MRTA?
Most ppl who try and pretend to be someone they are not will end up making mistakes like this in their stories. They make such mistakes because it wasn't true in the first place.

cybermaster98
post Jul 28 2016, 08:43 AM

4,440 posts

QUOTE(kengyan @ Jul 27 2016, 10:47 PM)
Nope, I feel quite annoying when a fool that tells lies are being protected by mods which also trying to twist the fact.
Also, if you are so good on investing, you shall know buying MLTA/MRTA will affect the loan's interest rate. Surprisingly you don't know on this.
You were the only one who was caught many times telling lies. Not only by me but by a number of other forumers. Nobody is protecting me and no mods are twisting the facts. They are experienced enough to manage the forum. let them do their jobs.

What ive shared so far (against you) are facts and facts cannot change. Its nothing personal. Im very much against ppl who use this forum to mislead others by giving baseless advice. If you aren't sure of anything, then either don't share or use a disclaimer so that others can do their own due diligence.

As for MLTA/MRTA, a buyer with strong financials can get the best interest rate WITHOUT MRTA/MLTA. Did u know that? You were asked by the banks to get MRTA to enjoy a lower rate because your financials were not strong. And that's also the reason why your loan application for your average cost double storey house was REJECTED.

You have very limited knowledge about property and investment in general and sadly your unwillingness to learn from the more experienced ppl on LYN prevents you from improving yourself.
cybermaster98
post Jul 28 2016, 10:48 AM

4,440 posts

QUOTE(kengyan @ Jul 28 2016, 09:38 AM)
Is it? But the bank officer tells different story. Is totally different from what you says. But hey, you are cybermaster, so I understand that very much.
Of course the bank loan officer will tell u that. What do u expect him to say? He gets a % of the MRTA cost as his commission. If he says u can get the same interest rate even without MRTA then would ppl take MRTA? U cant be that naïve can you? doh.gif

Learn to negotiate. If u walk into a bank without any knowledge and act like a blur case, they will take u for a ride. Trust me. I bought 4 properties with a combined loan amount of approx. RM2.5mil.

This post has been edited by cybermaster98: Jul 28 2016, 10:50 AM

0.0191sec    0.72    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 04:06 PM