Photography The Sony Alpha Thread V63, From A to E Mount!

-kytz-
post Feb 13 2017, 10:45 PM

12,509 posts

Looking at the F32M flash for my Sony A6000. Any other cheaper alternatives? I know there's the Nissin i40 but it's only like RM200 cheaper.

Don't mind a cheap manual flashgun though, must be compact and works with the Sony A6000's hotshoe
-kytz-
post Feb 20 2017, 12:51 AM

12,509 posts

QUOTE(Loseeker @ Feb 14 2017, 12:49 AM)
Godox tt350s, ttl, hss, compact and fully compatible with a6000. If I am not mistaken, it is cheaper than nissin i40 even if you buy it with x1ts wireless transmitter.
QUOTE(Eiraku @ Feb 14 2017, 04:42 AM)
You can't get smaller than the Meike MK320 for a full bounce auto flash. It's dirt cheap too (300? 400?), but lacks all the fancy features of the others. Think of it as a full swivel F20M.
I'm considering between these two...

Godox TT350S has HSS which is useful when I wanna use camera flash and wide aperture in broad daylight but it's larger and heavier.

Meike MK320 is more compact and lighter but doesn't have HSS, which means I can't use the flash in broad daylight with wide aperture

Also Godox is GN36, Meike is GN32. Is the power output that substantial?
-kytz-
post Feb 25 2017, 11:19 AM

12,509 posts

QUOTE(djboycalvin @ Feb 24 2017, 05:03 PM)
ooo ... will consider this combination ... thanks !  thumbsup.gif
There's also the Sigma 35mm f/1.4 DC DN which cost around RM1.4k only..
-kytz-
post Mar 1 2017, 11:07 PM

12,509 posts

Just made an order for a Sony 50 f/1.8 OSS for my A6000 biggrin.gif biggrin.gif
-kytz-
post Mar 5 2017, 12:46 PM

12,509 posts

Any cheap/reasonable decent fast manual 50mm 1.0/1.2/1.4 prime for the A6000 for under RM1k? Wanna shoot portrait (aka my girl) with shallow DOF, so the aperture will be at the biggest. Never actually tried notice of focus peeking but once I did, I noticed how easy it is to focus!! But downside is that it depends on contrast..

At the same time, I already ordered a 50mm f/1.8 OSS and it's probably arriving tomorrow, a little bit of regret actually.

And yeah, I also tried EYE AF, which is amazing lol but again, it depends on contrast so it won't work too well when there's little contrast on the eyes.
Another thing lacking is the absence of continous eye AF tracking, which the A6300 and A6500 have brows.gif

To be honest, I didn't really play around with the settings too much as I mostly shoot landscape when I got my A6000 (previously a lot of portraits and part time wedding but that was with a Canon 60D) so these two features (eye AF + focus peaking) really opened my eyes on the Sony mirrorless system. I wonder if other manufacturers like Fuji/Oly/Nikon/Canon have such features?

This post has been edited by -kytz-: Mar 5 2017, 12:57 PM
-kytz-
post Mar 6 2017, 05:53 PM

12,509 posts

USD29 dollar manual lens from Ebay

Anyone bought this before? Seems like it produces some good pictures here:
http://bigstreetguns.com/2013/12/review-50...4-c-mount-lens/

-kytz-
post Mar 6 2017, 06:12 PM

12,509 posts

QUOTE(Eiraku @ Mar 6 2017, 06:03 PM)
It might, it might not. Most of the time CCTV lenses are more or less toys (compared to "real" lenses) but if you have a certain artistic look that you wanna achieve, why not.

Try it out, you might like it.

On the other hand, there also Zeiss C-mount lenses out there too, which give you a bit of that Zeiss pop at the fraction of the price of a "proper" Zeiss... buuuuut as you could imagine they're hard to find.
I'm actually just looking for a 50mm lens to shoot bokehlicious portraits, so the 1.4 is appealing to me. Of course, the cheaper is better as long as it gets the job done (sharp at the centre and decent image quality). Already regretting my 50 1.8 OSS purchase recently - will be receiving it tomorrow.

Might want to get a Mitakon 50 0.95 in the future if budget permits tongue.gif

-kytz-
post Mar 7 2017, 12:16 AM

12,509 posts

QUOTE(evilhomura89 @ Mar 6 2017, 06:28 PM)
There's a lot of good vintage lenses out there for you to choose from for portraiture and they are usually quite cheap

Check out this article - https://mbphotox.wordpress.com/2015/12/22/overview/
EDITED: This one too - http://www.sonyalpharumors.com/manual-lens...eve/#more-56160
2nd link is very nice bro. Might go for a Canon/Nikkor/Minolta 50 1.4 together with e mount adapter hopefully for under USB 100..

Might scrap the idea of getting the fujian 50 1.4 for about USD30 due to it lacking contrast, sharpened and a lot of vignetting..
-kytz-
post Mar 11 2017, 11:50 AM

12,509 posts

Quick question guys, would there be any difference in image quality if I get a cheap Canon FD to E mount adapter?
-kytz-
post Mar 11 2017, 12:20 PM

12,509 posts

QUOTE(Loseeker @ Mar 11 2017, 12:10 PM)
Hi Bro, you still haven't answered my question leh....why you regretted getting the 50mm f1.8 oss leh ?  hmm.gif
Ohh.. I actually ordered the SEL 50 f/1.8 OSS before knowing about some old manual primes lenses which could go for below USD100. With focus peaking/magnification, it's a lot easier to manual focus using the Nex cameras...

The SEL 50 f/1.8 cost me RM9XX brand new from Lazada and it's actually a pretty sweet lens. Colour rendition is good, contrast and sharpness wide open is excellent! The OSS greatly helps a lot at lower Shutter Speeds..

I might still get some old manual primes with faster aperture like 1.4 or 1.2 to play around. Focus peaking is good but is dependent on contrast, so sometimes I can only get a very small reading on the eyes of my subject. When you wanna capture portraits with very shallow Depth of Field, you wanna focus on the eyes smile.gif
-kytz-
post Mar 11 2017, 12:52 PM

12,509 posts

QUOTE(Loseeker @ Mar 11 2017, 12:38 PM)
So, that's why you're selling the 50mm f1.8 oss to get manual lens? I have 2 manual lens, one is samyang 12mm and the other is my father 1984 Yashica 35-70 from his film camera. I dunno about you, but I think MF lens is ok for landscape but for portrait, especially with run and gun situation, MF lens are pain to use. I am still deciding between a 30mm or a 50mm for my next purchase, and it must have AF because I'm shooting my 2 years old niece that is very active.
By the way, which MF lens you're eyeing on? Canon FD 50mm f1.4 ?  hmm.gif
I'm looking at the Canon FD 50 1.4 as it's touted to be one of the sharpest 50mm 1.4 lenses around at the cheapest price points. The only worrying thing is the usability of MF as it can be quite hard to use Focus Peaking when contrast is low.

Why manual lenses instead of auto focus ones? Cheap mah, USD100 below can get one already tongue.gif tongue.gif
(Might even consider getting a Samyang 85 f/1.4 manual lens together with a Lens Turbo - it's like having 2 lenses at the price of 1)

I won't be selling the SEL 50 1.8 anytime soon I guess, it's still pretty good for the sharpness wide open, overall image quality and the very useful OSS.

Which camera are you using again? Shooting kids is so hard unless your camera has fast continuous AF tracking with a fast lens. If I'm on a APS-C body, I'd go with the 35mm lens due to the wider depth of field compared to a 50mm lens smile.gif
-kytz-
post Mar 11 2017, 02:16 PM

12,509 posts

QUOTE(Loseeker @ Mar 11 2017, 01:17 PM)
I'm using a6000. I agreed with you about the 35mm on apsc. That's why I'm leaning toward the Sigma 30mm f1.4. By the way, let me get this straight. When you said SEL 50 1.8, you meant the apsc lens with OSS right, you're not refering to the FE version of 50mm f1.8, right? If you're referring to the E version with the OSS, I think you might be interested to read what an old timer said on dpreview. Below was partially quote of what he said. u can check the link to his full statements on dpreview.
https://www.dpreview.com/forums/thread/3538857
I'm referring to the SEL 50mm f/1.8 OSS for APS-C. I think the FE version doesn't have OSS right? hmm.gif

Have seen the link before and shall re-read it again. Thanks again smile.gif

-kytz-
post Mar 13 2017, 12:36 AM

12,509 posts

Testing the SEL 50mm f/1.8 OSS wide open at f/1.8

user posted imageDSC05723 by Kevin Tan, on Flickr

For full resolution, click on the image > download this image> original size

This post has been edited by -kytz-: Mar 13 2017, 12:44 AM
-kytz-
post Mar 15 2017, 10:52 AM

12,509 posts

QUOTE(Eiraku @ Mar 15 2017, 10:39 AM)
Upgrade discount for SkyHDR owners too. Awesome. Thanks for the update, will prolly get it.

Just keep in mind how this works is by blending multiple exposures in-camera. So you pretty much NEED a tripod and a scene that doesn't change too much/have little movement.

Otherwise you'll get pesky ghost images/blurring.

Also, not applicable for A5100. Boo Sony boo. Wasn't a good idea to assume that 5100 users won't have a need for the App.
USD30 though but I think it's worth it for landscape shooters smile.gif

Possible to get the SKYHDR app and get the upgrade at a discount? tongue.gif tongue.gif
-kytz-
post Mar 15 2017, 11:14 AM

12,509 posts

QUOTE(Eiraku @ Mar 15 2017, 10:55 AM)
Only diff is 3 exposure sectors vs Sky's 2. So yeah, a lot more fiddling with the buttons to set up.

Also, you can achieve about the same thing with 3 seperate exposures blended on the computer, but you're gonna need a computer for that obviously. That said, you're gonna have a whole lot more granular control over the blending.
So it's better to capture 3 different exposures and blend it in the computer vs in camera? What about amount of noise as a result of blending of exposure in camera vs computer?

-kytz-
post Mar 16 2017, 04:46 PM

12,509 posts

QUOTE(kkk8787 @ Mar 16 2017, 04:02 PM)
Dear sifus, is it still worth buying a6000 now. A bit old. Newbies. Where is the best place to get sony a6000.
Saw on lazada
http://www.lazada.com.my/sony-a6000-with16...61.html?rb=1406
Worth it ?
I bought my A6000 with kit lens at RM2.2k in 2014
-kytz-
post Mar 16 2017, 04:59 PM

12,509 posts

QUOTE(kkk8787 @ Mar 16 2017, 04:48 PM)
how come the price is not coming down. 3 years already. Anyway where is the best place to get ya.
The RRP in 2014 when it just launched was RM2399 or RM2499..

If you're into portraits might look into the A6300 if you have the budget, as it has continuous eye AF.
Eye AF is auto focus lock on the eyes of your subject and the A6300 let's you continuously lock on it even when you or your subject is moving. Bessie that, there's an improvement in auto focus performance if I'm not mistaken..

-kytz-
post Mar 16 2017, 11:45 PM

12,509 posts

QUOTE(kkk8787 @ Mar 16 2017, 11:42 PM)
i guess it was cheaper last time when u bought it ? Rebate? Which rebate
Btw, have you thought of getting a 2nd hand camera instead? Tons of cheap stuff at garage sales.
-kytz-
post Mar 17 2017, 02:24 PM

12,509 posts

QUOTE(wilsonjay @ Mar 17 2017, 11:56 AM)
After having 3 batteries for my Sony A7, i kept thinking as to why i bought so many batteries when i can just buy a cheap high mah powerbank to charge it where ever i go? hmm.gif
You can only charge using your power bank when you are not using the camera. Also, the charging speed is not as fast as your fast charge for mobile phones (Qualcomm 3.0/Dash/VOOC charging speed).

Batteries still the way to go if you're shooting from day to night and no breaks in between for charging..
-kytz-
post Mar 23 2017, 01:05 AM

12,509 posts

Guys, I've just ordered the Godox TT685S HSS flash for my A6000. Hope the TTL is as good as the reviews online.

Also just received the Canon FD 50mm f/1.4 lens. Manual Focus assist doesn't work on the A6000 (even after assigning a button for it.. It says lens not attached or something) but focus magnifier is working well though.. Will be doing more testing later this week biggrin.gif

0.2193sec    0.49    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th March 2024 - 08:20 PM