Photography The Sony Alpha Thread V63, From A to E Mount!

hksgmy
post Jun 24 2024, 08:39 PM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

QUOTE(ceo684 @ Jun 11 2024, 08:29 PM)
Can consider the Viltrox 16mm. Sharp, and distortion free (so to speak) but AF hunts a little in dim light. Just RM2k only biggrin.gif

I went to JP with a 20-70 F4, it worked well, wide enough then - and picked up a 135mm there too coz tax free  brows.gif
Update a bit. I pulled the trigger for a Sony 14mm f1.8 GM a couple of days ago… should be delivered by the first week of July.

Will update with a review when I get it.

This post has been edited by hksgmy: Jun 24 2024, 08:39 PM
uraki
post Jun 25 2024, 02:22 PM

182 posts

QUOTE(sungjie91 @ May 29 2024, 10:26 AM)
I am just starting out with A6400 with Sony 16mm-50mm kit and Sigma 16mm f1.4 lens. Should I upgrade to A6700 or even go FF like A7IV or A7RV? Will it be worth it?
What are the things that you're unhappy with A6400?
I would suggest you ask yourself, did you outgrow your current gears, before buying new gears.
Sometime we wanna buy new gears purely just for GAS (gear acquisition syndrome).

If you wanna update to FF camera, bare in mind that you need to purchase FF lens which are often expensive and bulky.
hksgmy
post Jun 25 2024, 04:47 PM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

QUOTE(uraki @ Jun 25 2024, 02:22 PM)
What are the things that you're unhappy with A6400?
I would suggest you ask yourself, did you outgrow your current gears, before buying new gears.
Sometime we wanna buy new gears purely just for GAS (gear acquisition syndrome).

If you wanna update to FF camera, bare in mind that you need to purchase FF lens which are often expensive and bulky.
I am terribly inflicted with GAS…. my camera is better than the photographer’s skill… I feel I’m severely underutilizing the capabilities of my Sony a7c and a7iv….
uraki
post Jun 25 2024, 05:20 PM

182 posts

QUOTE(hksgmy @ Jun 25 2024, 04:47 PM)
I am terribly inflicted with GAS…. my camera is better than the photographer’s skill… I feel I’m severely underutilizing the capabilities of my Sony a7c and a7iv….
Go out and take more shots then, that's the only way to improve photography skills.
Good thing is Sony Malaysia organize lots of photography workshops with reasonable price.

Search FB for Sony Store Malaysia, they announce new workshops there.
Workshops registration is here.
hksgmy
post Jun 25 2024, 08:41 PM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

QUOTE(uraki @ Jun 25 2024, 05:20 PM)
Go out and take more shots then, that's the only way to improve photography skills.
Good thing is Sony Malaysia organize lots of photography workshops with reasonable price.

Search FB for Sony Store Malaysia, they announce new workshops there.
Workshops registration is here.
Thanks bro… I’ll look around but gotta find equivalent sessions in Singapore where I’m currently based.
hksgmy
post Jun 25 2024, 08:43 PM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

Anyway, if the Sony 14mm f1.8 is small enough, that and my Tamron 28-200mm f2.8-5.6 will be the 2 carry on lenses for my traveling needs.
hksgmy
post Jun 25 2024, 09:20 PM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

I’m also hoping to do night sky photography with the 14mm when I head back to Australia….
hksgmy
post Jul 1 2024, 04:43 PM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

My Sony 14mm f1.8 is here!!!! So excited. But it’s a lot bigger than I thought it would be…

Confession
post Jul 10 2024, 12:42 AM

736 posts

looking to get the A6400 with kit lens. any suggestion where to find the best deal? Thanks!
hksgmy
post Jul 10 2024, 08:03 AM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

QUOTE(hksgmy @ Jul 1 2024, 04:43 PM)
My Sony 14mm f1.8 is here!!!! So excited. But it’s a lot bigger than I thought it would be…

A quick update: the lens itself is considerably bigger than what I expected for a fixed focal length item - maybe because it's full frame, I dunno (since Sony's platform is the first time I've been onboarded to the FF experience), and it isn't really much smaller (shorter) than my Sigma 16-28mm f2.8 lens. I haven't had much of a chance to take any photos yet, but will do so and come back here to report.
DS_Legacy
post Jul 24 2024, 03:18 AM

That's my PUG
1,526 posts

QUOTE(hksgmy @ Jul 1 2024, 04:43 PM)

Oh u got the 14mm. Great lens choice. This is one of the most favoured lens by one of the Malaysia top wedding photographer, Louis Gan. He used this a lot on wedding to include more architecture shots with the couple to pair with his 50 1.2 GM on another camera.

Just be careful don’t shoot group photos with ppl near the edge. The distortion is quite bad laugh.gif
kamsing
post Jul 24 2024, 03:12 PM

30 posts

hi all, any place got good offer for Sony a7C II Mirrorless Camera?
DS_Legacy
post Jul 25 2024, 10:49 PM

That's my PUG
1,526 posts

QUOTE(kamsing @ Jul 24 2024, 03:12 PM)
hi all, any place got good offer for Sony a7C II Mirrorless Camera?
Try Mylo Trading. They offer quite competitive price at KL.
Loseeker
post Jul 27 2024, 12:16 PM

Apa Macam
902 posts

Quick question: I bought my first mirrorless at 2016, the legendary A6000, then left sony for Fuji XT20 because of aweful sony colors and I wasn't good at color processing using Capture One pro 10 back then. Then last years sold my fuji (XT1, XT2 but still keeping the XT3) to move to Canon R6 and R6II for the awesome skintones and AF.

Truth to be told, I constantly look back at Sony because of the awesome 3rd party lenses support. I do have the financial means to get the A7IV + Sigma 50 and the 85....but I know it's my GAS talking but it's getting hard to tame it since I do have the financial ability to own extra gears on top of what I already have.

Over the years, after I started using LR however, my editing skills has improved significantly compared to myself back in 2016. So, the question is, should I return to the dark side (Sony) hmm.gif ? The A6000 yellowish tint still haunt me to this days especially I look back at those photos I've taken with it in the 2016 to 2018 duration....

If Canon allow 3rd party lenses for the FF offering, I won't have to struggle so much..... mad.gif Canon...

This post has been edited by Loseeker: Jul 27 2024, 12:22 PM
Dark_Angel85
post Jul 28 2024, 07:27 AM

Government Agent
956 posts

QUOTE(Loseeker @ Jul 27 2024, 12:16 PM)
Quick question: I bought my first mirrorless at 2016, the legendary A6000, then left sony for Fuji XT20 because of aweful sony colors and I wasn't good at color processing using Capture One pro 10 back then. Then last years sold my fuji (XT1, XT2 but still keeping the XT3) to move to Canon R6 and R6II for the awesome skintones and AF.

Truth to be told, I constantly look back at Sony because of the awesome 3rd party lenses support. I do have the financial means to get the A7IV + Sigma 50 and the 85....but I know it's my GAS talking but it's getting hard to tame it since I do have the financial ability  to own extra gears on top of what I already have.

Over the years, after I started using LR however, my editing skills has improved significantly compared to myself back in 2016. So, the question is, should I return to the dark side (Sony)  hmm.gif ? The A6000 yellowish tint still haunt me to this days especially I look back at those photos I've taken with it in the 2016 to 2018 duration....
If Canon allow 3rd party lenses for the FF offering, I won't have to struggle so much..... mad.gif Canon...
If you have the financial means then go for it. What's life if not with a bit of indulgence? This is only because you can afford of course.

I agree somewhat with the baked raw files that have different interpretation of their color science for the different manufacturers but with a simple click in LR, you can change it to your liking very easily these days

This post has been edited by Dark_Angel85: Jul 28 2024, 07:28 AM
SUSceo684
post Sep 4 2024, 07:56 PM

Component Burner
11,667 posts

QUOTE(Loseeker @ Jul 27 2024, 12:16 PM)

Truth to be told, I constantly look back at Sony because of the awesome 3rd party lenses support. I do have the financial means to get the A7IV + Sigma 50 and the 85....but I know it's my GAS talking but it's getting hard to tame it since I do have the financial ability  to own extra gears on top of what I already have.

Over the years, after I started using LR however, my editing skills has improved significantly compared to myself back in 2016. So, the question is, should I return to the dark side (Sony)  hmm.gif ? The A6000 yellowish tint still haunt me to this days especially I look back at those photos I've taken with it in the 2016 to 2018 duration....
LR and a good collection of presets can work very well. The Sony colours don’t bother me much
freddy manson
post Sep 19 2024, 03:04 PM

ðñê hêll ð£ å gµ¥
4,858 posts

QUOTE(ceo684 @ Sep 4 2024, 07:56 PM)
LR and a good collection of presets can work very well. The Sony colours don’t bother me much
true, photos are almost always post-process/edited nowadays

blush.gif the lens lineup is always a good choice to pick sony
zhou.xingxing
post Dec 24 2024, 02:35 PM

:3
1,872 posts

planning to get my first proper camera in a6700. want to ask any good drybox recommendation? looking to have a6700, sigma 1850 and sigma 561.4.... or any feature to look for a good drybox?
GamersFamilia
post Dec 30 2024, 09:59 PM

Proud to be Malaysian
18,500 posts

For beginner like me, which model should i go for
SUSceo684
post Jan 10 2025, 01:56 PM

Component Burner
11,667 posts

QUOTE(zhou.xingxing @ Dec 24 2024, 02:35 PM)
planning to get my first proper camera in a6700. want to ask any good drybox recommendation? looking to have a6700, sigma 1850 and sigma 561.4.... or any feature to look for a good drybox?
Hiniso about 249 normal price one. Cheaper on lapsapda or peepee

QUOTE(GamersFamilia @ Dec 30 2024, 09:59 PM)
For beginner like me, which model should i go for
A7iii is good but cost in FF lenses

Actually don’t need FF for beginner. Just get a used A6400 and maybe the Tamron 17-70 or a couple of primes you’d be good

332 Pages « < 329 330 331 332 >Top

0.0588sec    0.64    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th March 2026 - 04:49 PM