Photography The Sony Alpha Thread V63, From A to E Mount!

hafeez71
post Jan 21 2024, 03:18 PM

/// CleaN ISO \\\
538 posts

Good to be back here...hello all
SUSceo684
post Jan 22 2024, 11:42 PM

Component Burner
11,667 posts

Anyone using the 70-200 GM II here? How's the experience?
aranel
post Jan 24 2024, 08:30 AM

254 posts

QUOTE(ceo684 @ Jan 22 2024, 11:42 PM)
Anyone using the 70-200 GM II here? How's the experience?
I am a noobs using A7iv.

Been using for almost 6months (70-200 GM II), main usage for swimming competition.

In terms of weight, do find it consider light weight.

Internal zoom somehow make me feel safer (compare to my 20-70 G).

with F2.8 result looks much better.

I also got a x2 tele converter but by using it in a indoor pool stadium it became much darker.
bdrc
post Feb 23 2024, 11:40 AM

1,626 posts

Some shots from the newly bought zoom lens, was quick to captivated by the focal, size and weight for hiking and traveling use.
The snappy AF and contrast is surprisingly fine for someone who always prefer a prime lens.
The 20mm is very usable and handier than 24mm, and 70mm is still good for further crops for a longer reach, very interesting.
Being f/4, for indoor and night shoot the external light is a necessary, and more tricky in terms of placement as subject separation is less.

SOOC:

Night outdoor portrait shoot:

Indoor studio cosplay shoot:

Night scape at SG:

Traveling:

winter1941
post Feb 23 2024, 03:43 PM

44 posts

anyone know how much is the current price for Sony Alpha7III?
SUSceo684
post Mar 2 2024, 05:21 AM

Component Burner
11,667 posts

QUOTE(winter1941 @ Feb 23 2024, 03:43 PM)
anyone know how much is the current price for Sony Alpha7III?
About rm4900 (S$1500) for low SC used about 3k shots
winter1941
post Mar 2 2024, 11:46 AM

44 posts

QUOTE(ceo684 @ Mar 2 2024, 05:21 AM)
About rm4900 (S$1500) for low SC used about 3k shots
so cheap? how's the price with 28-70mm kit lens? where can get in KL?
SUSceo684
post Mar 2 2024, 02:41 PM

Component Burner
11,667 posts

QUOTE(winter1941 @ Mar 2 2024, 11:46 AM)
so cheap? how's the price with 28-70mm kit lens? where can get in KL?
New one 6909 @ SS2
https://www.kldslr.com/Sony-a7-III-with-28-...tml-18050724383

Used one check FB marketplace/carousell

This post has been edited by ceo684: Mar 2 2024, 02:42 PM
SUSceo684
post May 2 2024, 05:30 PM

Component Burner
11,667 posts

QUOTE(bdrc @ Feb 23 2024, 11:40 AM)
Some shots from the newly bought zoom lens, was quick to captivated by the focal, size and weight for hiking and traveling use.
The snappy AF and contrast is surprisingly fine for someone who always prefer a prime lens.
The 20mm is very usable and handier than 24mm, and 70mm is still good for further crops for a longer reach, very interesting.
Being f/4, for indoor and night shoot the external light is a necessary, and more tricky in terms of placement as subject separation is less.

SOOC:

Night outdoor portrait shoot:

Indoor studio cosplay shoot:

Night scape at SG:

Traveling:

Wanna ask about the setup for night portraits lighting. Are you using OCF or something like a portable video light LED panel?
hksgmy
post May 8 2024, 10:33 PM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

Wow. Just found this thread. Happy to be here…

A7C and aIV with Sigma 16-28, 28-70, Tamron 50-400 and Tamron 28-200 user

Amateur/noob level photographer.

Appreciate any guidance and tips - am keen to learn from the sifus and masters here.

notworthy.gif notworthy.gif notworthy.gif
RT8081
post May 17 2024, 10:22 PM

358 posts

QUOTE(hksgmy @ May 8 2024, 10:33 PM)
Wow. Just found this thread. Happy to be here…

A7C and aIV with Sigma 16-28, 28-70, Tamron 50-400 and Tamron 28-200 user

Amateur/noob level photographer.

Appreciate any guidance and tips - am keen to learn from the sifus and masters here.

notworthy.gif  notworthy.gif  notworthy.gif
sigma is good. that is my goto 3rd party lens for my cam smile.gif. notice that tamron is 50:50 on good copy lens.

i see that you have 50-400mm. do you also do nature shots ?
hksgmy
post May 17 2024, 10:49 PM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

QUOTE(RT8081 @ May 17 2024, 10:22 PM)
sigma is good. that is my goto 3rd party lens for my cam  smile.gif. notice that tamron is 50:50 on good copy lens.

i see that you have 50-400mm. do you also do nature shots ?
I’m starting easy… taking photos of zoo animals hahah. I love the 50-400. It’s just a pity that it’s so freaking heavy!

My all in one option is the Tamron 28-200. Genuinely fast (f2.8 at 28mm) and sharp focus, and also capable of pseudo macro shots.

However, for traveling especially if I need a wide angle companion, I will take my Sigmas with me. Pity Sigma doesn’t make a 28-200 version like the Tamron.

The advantage of the 2 sets of Sigma contemporary lenses is that they are much lighter than the Tamron 28-200, and it’s a f2.8 throughout the zoom.
RT8081
post May 18 2024, 09:14 AM

358 posts

QUOTE(hksgmy @ May 17 2024, 10:49 PM)
I’m starting easy… taking photos of zoo animals hahah. I love the 50-400. It’s just a pity that it’s so freaking heavy!

My all in one option is the Tamron 28-200. Genuinely fast (f2.8 at 28mm) and sharp focus, and also capable of pseudo macro shots.

However, for traveling especially if I need a wide angle companion, I will take my Sigmas with me. Pity Sigma doesn’t make a 28-200 version like the Tamron.

The advantage of the 2 sets of Sigma contemporary lenses is that they are much lighter than the Tamron 28-200, and it’s a f2.8 throughout the zoom.
nice! i am into landscape shoot and sometimes nature as well. i am still using my old trusted nikon cam, D750 with 16-35mm F4 for landscape, 24 - 70mm 2.8 for portrait, all in one option as well as 70-200mm F4 for portrait and birding.

still building my lens, since more are selling their old lens for Z, so i am doing the opposite. i am now planning to get those 300mm lens for wildlife for my next trip to phil.

yeah those 300mm range above lens are freaking heavy!

sungjie91
post May 29 2024, 10:26 AM

22 posts

I am just starting out with A6400 with Sony 16mm-50mm kit and Sigma 16mm f1.4 lens. Should I upgrade to A6700 or even go FF like A7IV or A7RV? Will it be worth it?

This post has been edited by sungjie91: May 29 2024, 10:27 AM
hksgmy
post May 30 2024, 02:06 AM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

QUOTE(sungjie91 @ May 29 2024, 10:26 AM)
I am just starting out with A6400 with Sony 16mm-50mm kit and Sigma 16mm f1.4 lens. Should I upgrade to A6700 or even go FF like A7IV or A7RV? Will it be worth it?
I started with crop sensors too… mine was even more old school - Nikon DSLRs, the last being my D5300. Get used to photo taking, framing your subjects, playing around with the apertures and ISO exposures then upgrade when you feel you’ve gained enough experience.

Having said that, coming from a Sony FF mirrorless user, I can’t recommend either the A7iv or even just the A7C highly enough… it makes the photo taking so much easier, and the learning curve is much shallower compared to a DSLR.

Your A6400 should offer you the same ease of use as any of Sony’s FF items.

Enjoy!
hksgmy
post Jun 1 2024, 04:50 AM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

Hello Sifus and Grandmasters.

I know it’s the man and not the camera or lenses that make the photos, but I’m really curious to know your thoughts on the Tamron 35-150 f2-2.8 vs Tamron 28-200 f2.8-5.6.

I already have the latter, but is having a larger aperture (therefore faster) lens better? But I’d also lose out on both ends of the focal range….

Comments and thoughts would be greatly appreciated thanks
SUSceo684
post Jun 11 2024, 07:09 PM

Component Burner
11,667 posts

QUOTE(hksgmy @ Jun 1 2024, 04:50 AM)
Hello Sifus and Grandmasters.

I know it’s the man and not the camera or lenses that make the photos, but I’m really curious to know your thoughts on the Tamron 35-150 f2-2.8 vs Tamron 28-200 f2.8-5.6.

I already have the latter, but is having a larger aperture (therefore faster) lens better? But I’d also lose out on both ends of the focal range….

Comments and thoughts would be greatly appreciated thanks
Having larger aperture lenses provides more flexibility for bokeh and low-light. Plus brighter lenses (F2.8 and brighter) are generally made to a higher standard (for sharpness) than the dimmer "kit lens/jack of all trades" ones.

Of course, the gap has been narrowed with better BSI sensors (and modern motors) that using a dimmer lens like the 100-400 F4.5-5.6 indoors w/o flash isn't as harrowing as compared to 10-15 years' ago DSLR sensors.

You need to be more objective on what you're aspiring to get out of the new lens. Sharpness? Lower ISO (and noise)? Better bokeh? All-in-one for portraits and zoo pics?

Assuming you're on a current A7C or better body, you should check out the 100-400GM. Plenty of reach and very sharp even handheld.

This post has been edited by ceo684: Jun 11 2024, 07:13 PM
hksgmy
post Jun 11 2024, 07:37 PM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

QUOTE(ceo684 @ Jun 11 2024, 07:09 PM)
Having larger aperture lenses provides more flexibility for bokeh and low-light. Plus brighter lenses (F2.8 and brighter) are generally made to a higher standard (for sharpness) than the dimmer "kit lens/jack of all trades" ones.

Of course, the gap has been narrowed with better BSI sensors (and modern motors) that using a dimmer lens like the 100-400 F4.5-5.6 indoors w/o flash isn't as harrowing as compared to 10-15 years' ago DSLR sensors.

You need to be more objective on what you're aspiring to get out of the new lens. Sharpness? Lower ISO (and noise)? Better bokeh? All-in-one for portraits and zoo pics?

Assuming you're on a current A7C or better body, you should check out the 100-400GM. Plenty of reach and very sharp even handheld.
Well, I am still in the learning stages of what works best for me. I have both the A7c and the A7iv and the 16-28mm Sigma, 28-70mm Sigma, 28-200 Tamron and the incredible 50-400 Tamron.

I’m looking for a sharp lens to do it all during travelling - I took my 28-70 to Japan and realised I needed both width and reach, so I bought the Tamron 28-200 soon after. But I’m still lacking width unless I’m willing to lug the 16-28 with me.

Maybe I should get a 14mm prime for width, then carry the 28-200 as my everyday lens… what does the sifu (yes you) think? notworthy.gif notworthy.gif notworthy.gif notworthy.gif
SUSceo684
post Jun 11 2024, 08:29 PM

Component Burner
11,667 posts

QUOTE(hksgmy @ Jun 11 2024, 07:37 PM)
Well, I am still in the learning stages of what works best for me. I have both the A7c and the A7iv and the 16-28mm Sigma, 28-70mm Sigma, 28-200 Tamron and the incredible 50-400 Tamron.

I’m looking for a sharp lens to do it all during travelling - I took my 28-70 to Japan and realised I needed both width and reach, so I bought the Tamron 28-200 soon after. But I’m still lacking width unless I’m willing to lug the 16-28 with me.

Maybe I should get a 14mm prime for width, then carry the 28-200 as my everyday lens… what does the sifu (yes you) think?  notworthy.gif  notworthy.gif  notworthy.gif  notworthy.gif
Can consider the Viltrox 16mm. Sharp, and distortion free (so to speak) but AF hunts a little in dim light. Just RM2k only biggrin.gif

I went to JP with a 20-70 F4, it worked well, wide enough then - and picked up a 135mm there too coz tax free brows.gif
hksgmy
post Jun 11 2024, 08:30 PM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

QUOTE(ceo684 @ Jun 11 2024, 08:29 PM)
Can consider the Viltrox 16mm. Sharp, and distortion free (so to speak) but AF hunts a little in dim light. Just RM2k only biggrin.gif

I went to JP with a 20-70 F4, it worked well, wide enough then - and picked up a 135mm there too coz tax free  brows.gif
Ooh. That’s a brand I’ve not heard of before. Will do some reading about it. Thanks so much!

332 Pages « < 328 329 330 331 332 >Top

0.0235sec    0.40    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th March 2026 - 04:33 PM