3DMark Time Spy Bench and CPU Core Count, CPU/ GPU Bottleneck?

Someonesim
post Jul 17 2016, 01:56 PM

In my way
9,132 posts

QUOTE(CyrusWong @ Jul 17 2016, 05:59 AM)
I believe this discussed many times already. i3 is actually powerful enough to handle mostly game at 1080p, if you pair with powerful gtx card.

if you compare same latest gen i3/i5/i7 i believe the fps will not differ very much unless the game is super heavy cpu usage sweat.gif

if upgrade from old procc to new, it's really hard to tell. I think best way to know whether it bottleneck or not, is to search google.

last time i oso know my cpu bottleneck by searching google. i see ppl dota 2 can get 100-120fps, while my 280x pair with phenom ii x3 710 just around 60fps, when upgraded to i3-4160 fps just around 80 (well although bottleneck but still 80fps is good enough as screen refresh rate just 60hz). so i know both my amd and i3 oso bottleneck my gpu performance.

now i upgraded to i7-4790k, no more bottleneck smile.gif
btw 1080 so powerful, the graphic score is 3x of my 280x drool.gif

Still on i5 2500K @ 4GHz, might need to run higher clock now.

QUOTE(Acid_RuleZz @ Jul 17 2016, 09:30 AM)
My result with 2c/2t

with 4c/8t

another run with 4c/8t

Like totally random in my case.
Maybe your 2nd run, CPU & GPU little bit warmer.

QUOTE(Skylinestar @ Jul 17 2016, 10:30 AM)
Intel CPU improvement for the past 5 years has been lackluster. The i5 is going stagnant while the i7 is getting more core counts. Thanks to AMD for not having any competition.
So sad, AMD gamble their future on APU, and yet to get significant impact. In the end, some forumers said my i5 2500K @ 4.7GHz are near identical to latest i5 skylake, because Intel no need improve performance too much.
Someonesim
post Jul 18 2016, 05:33 PM

In my way
9,132 posts

QUOTE(adilz @ Jul 18 2016, 03:52 PM)
svfnAcid_RuleZzSomeonesimCyrusWong All this while, its a generally accepted that you don't need more than 4 cores to run games, and generally prefers faster cores that more cores. Which is true for games we have to date runs on. Many benchmark confirmed this. Games run as fast on the i7-6700K 4-core as it is on 8-core i7-5960X. I don't know if that game engine limitation, or is it DX11 limitation. But as some of you guys pointed out already some reviews showed that with the new gen GPUs, games built for on DX11 already showed sign of CPU bottleneck (like video below showing GTX1070 is underutilized with i5-4960K). Correct me if i'm wrong, my understanding too is that at 1080P, games are more CPU bound than GPU bound (at least with current powerful GPUs)

One of the supposed advantage of DX12 is better utilization of multi-core/ multi-thread CPU. Since Time Spy was design to bench DX12, I thought I'll test  to see what the impact would be, in addition to running 4K res. Looks like it does use all the available cores (too bad I sold my Xeon 8 core, otherwise would be interesting to test that too).

Obviously Time Spy bench can't be used as the indication of gaming experience, at least not now. But it would be interesting to know, what if future game DX12 game are developed to utilize all available cores on the CPU, from 2 cores right up to Xeon 10-12 cores, in addition to using a powerful GPU. Will we have a case of CPU/ GPU bottleneck?

If future games do use more than 4 cores, means my i7-4930K could potential still has a lot to offer for years to come. If games remains preferring faster cores or better IPC, than upgrades means having to balance between gaming performance and CPU-core intensive apps (like video editing). But if future games can utilize more than 6 cores, then I'll be saving money to go for the Xeon E5-2987W CPU

Demonic WrathYour explanation is plausible too. If I'm free, maybe I run the same 2/ 4 /6 Core test using the 3DMark API Overhead test. That gives the number of drawcalls and fps for both DX11 and DX12. See if the GPU CPU utilization exhibits the same behavior in the monitoring graphs.
I kinda still prefer faster higher clocked processor than multiple. Because it eliminate the potential case where program/games cant utilize more core ( developer fault or simply API dont support ).

Found the video that convinced me to drop my itch for Skylake upgrade. An overclocked old processor can nearly match few gen newer processor's performance is a bit sad IMO.
Also the video noted that a faster RAM may improve performance a lot as well.
An i5 2500K @ 4.6GHz and 2133MHz DDR3 are on par or even outperformed stock i5 6500 and 2666MHz DDR4
An i7 3770K @ 4.4GHz and 2400MHz DDR3 are even on par with i5 6500 @ 4.5GHz and 3200MHz DDR4 in Crysis 3

0.0183sec    0.37    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 01:11 PM