Connect to Bittorrent trackers, Being blocked? Try this :)

TSsilverhawk
post Jan 18 2007, 01:32 PM, updated 19y ago

Eyes on Target
4,956 posts

1. Introduction
Thanks to YiQi, we confirmed that tmnet is blocking bittorrent based on user-agents. So if you change the user agent, you will be able to connect to trackers. We can achieve this by using a proxy server which allows use to change the HTTP header.

Sounds complex? Well it isn't really. I went around looking for proxy servers for windows which can do this for free (no need for cracks and shit). I came across PAW, I've tested it and it works smile.gif THIS WILL NOT SOLVE THE THROTTLING PROBLEM. It only allows you to connect to the tracker, a slow download is better than no download tongue.gif

2. Installation & Setup

2.1 PAW
Perform the following stepsNow you got the proxy server running.

2.2 Proxomitron
Alternatively, you can use another software called proxomitron. To set it up, follow the instructions here. Thanks to newbieockids for the alternative method.

3. Configuration

3.1 Proxy Server
If you want to change the port number, go to "conf/server.xml". You can change the username and password there too (recommended).

For those of you who downloaded paw from sourceforge, you will need to edit a file before it will work. run "startGUI.bat". This will load the admin GUI. Then edit according to the following screenshot:

If editing through the GUI doesn't work for you, go to "conf/headers-request". The file doesn't have an extension, open it with notepad or any text editor. And edit according to the screenshot above.

Here's a list of possible user-agents to use:
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/User_agent_string#Browsers

3.2 Bittorrent Client
So now to configure your bittorrent client.

server: localhost
port: 8080 (default)

I'll show you a screenshot of utorrent's configuration.

4. Conclusion
And now you should be able to connect to trackers smile.gif Remember, this DOES NOT improve your download speed, it just enables you to connect to trackers.

5. Problems & Solutions
  1. Can't run startServer.bat, it automatically closes!
    Your JAVA version might be outdated or broken. Go download the latest JAVA version and try again.
  2. Getting error 404 proxy offline
    Try restarting your client. It worked for LEVIATHAN. If you're still getting the error, we'll try to find the problem.
  3. Getting error 500
    Try downloading the torrent file again. If that doesn't work, set a user-agent instead of leaving it blank. The instructions are given above.
Edit: updated download file, since the attachment is corrupted.
Edit2: Thx to MX510 for putting up a rapidshare link. Also fixed the layout of the first post.

This post has been edited by silverhawk: Jan 21 2007, 08:37 PM
TSsilverhawk
post Jan 18 2007, 01:56 PM

Eyes on Target
4,956 posts

run "startGUI.bat" (server must be running)
in the left panel, click on files -> headers-request

you will see a few "#user-agent: blablabla"
make one of them
"user-agent: ";

this makes it empty, and thus removed from the HTTP request header. You can put anyname you like "user-agent: d3x".

edit: updated the download file. Used my own server instead of LYNs.

This post has been edited by silverhawk: Jan 18 2007, 02:01 PM
TSsilverhawk
post Jan 18 2007, 02:07 PM

Eyes on Target
4,956 posts

QUOTE(jaclyn @ Jan 18 2007, 02:00 PM)
Yeah, a solution!! biggrin.gif  But, I need to go home and try~ BTW, sorry to ask..I can download BT but only from local seeders/peers..so after doing all these, does this mean I can connect to international peers and seeders? If yes, then silverhawk...u r the MAN!! Thanks!! biggrin.gif
If I'm not mistaken, you could always connect to international peers/seeders. The block was on the tracker. Since i had a few torrents where i was connected to the peers but not the tracker.

You need to connect to the tracker or you wont be able to get an updated peer/seeder list. This method allows you to connect to the international trackers.
TSsilverhawk
post Jan 18 2007, 02:34 PM

Eyes on Target
4,956 posts

Nope, your bandwidth is still throttled... but at least you can connect to trackers.
TSsilverhawk
post Jan 18 2007, 02:40 PM

Eyes on Target
4,956 posts

QUOTE(doinkz_gaara @ Jan 18 2007, 02:38 PM)
Em, must I run the startServer.bat always?
I don't really understand here. laugh.gif
Yeap. That's the proxy server. If your close it, the proxy server will stop running, and thus you won't be able to connect to the tracker. A little annoying that you have to have a window open for it, but if you want to use your BT... then its an inconvenience you have to get used to.
TSsilverhawk
post Jan 18 2007, 03:01 PM

Eyes on Target
4,956 posts

QUOTE(doinkz_gaara @ Jan 18 2007, 02:44 PM)
Everytime I run it, and launch my BitComet, nothing can start? Did I do something wrong? xD
What does the tracker status say when you try to connect?
TSsilverhawk
post Jan 18 2007, 05:05 PM

Eyes on Target
4,956 posts

QUOTE(IcEMoCHa @ Jan 18 2007, 04:27 PM)
i got
Windows XP WF Status: TCP Port is not opened in Windows Firewall.
Windows XP WF Status: add TCP port in Windows Firewall Succeed.
Windows XP WF Status: UDP Port is not opened in Windows Firewall.
Windows XP WF Status: add UDP port in Windows Firewall Succeed.
Proxy request failed - HTTP/1.1 404 Not Found

from bitcomet log... i put localhost and 8080 adi...
I assume you've started the proxy server. Try running "startGUI.bat" to see if the proxy server is really running. If "localhost" doesn't work, try "127.0.0.1". Out of curiosity, are you connected using a modem or router? Not sure if it'll affect anything, but might be worth knowing.

QUOTE(QuickFire @ Jan 18 2007, 04:47 PM)
How do I know if I cant connect to trackers? I see most of them in my utorrent are working, but some are "not valid in its context" or "HTTP error 403".
If you can't connect to trackers, your torrents will have a red icon instead of a blue one. If the tracker status says "connection closed by peer", then this would help solve it. If your error is something else, then this solution might not work for you.

This post has been edited by silverhawk: Jan 18 2007, 05:07 PM
TSsilverhawk
post Jan 18 2007, 11:05 PM

Eyes on Target
4,956 posts

QUOTE(chickenducksoup @ Jan 18 2007, 10:42 PM)
hi what is the default user name n password?
admin/paw
you can change it in the "conf/server.xml" file.

QUOTE(lucifah @ Jan 18 2007, 10:52 PM)
i got the same error message too

tried localhost and 127.0.0.1

btw, i'm behind a router. any settings that need to be tweaked?
Hmm I'm also behind a router, and no problems on my end. To test if the proxy is working, set up firefox to use your own proxy and try surfing. If sites load means your proxy is working.

I have no idea why you're getting a 404 error though.
TSsilverhawk
post Jan 18 2007, 11:12 PM

Eyes on Target
4,956 posts

If XP says the file is still running, open your task manager and kill the process manually. If you don't have any other java apps running, you'll see the process as "java.exe"
TSsilverhawk
post Jan 19 2007, 07:49 PM

Eyes on Target
4,956 posts

QUOTE(scrubiee @ Jan 19 2007, 05:17 PM)
i cant seem 2 get it working sorry but im a lil slow in it stuff ><
step 1 : click on startgui.bat
step 2 : starserver.bat
step 3 : run u torrent?
Your steps wrong liao, you're supposed to run "startServer.bat" before you run "startGUI.bat". In either case, you don't really need to open startGUI.bat. Only "startServer.bat" is important.

everytime i click on STARTGUI.BAT OR STARTSERVER.GUI. the dos screen just fashes and disappear!!! what?!!!!!!

Means there's an error. Open the command prompt. Go to where you unzipped paw and run the startServer.bat file from there. You would be able to see the error now. The command prompt would look something like this

CODE

C:\paw>startServer

QUOTE(duckevo @ Jan 19 2007, 07:16 PM)
i try to setup as what silverhawk mentioned....

my bitcomet 0.70 still unable to connect to tracker...

it prompt message it cannot connect to tracker...

btw, there is no java.exe running as well..

i have install jre6....

i start with startserver and then start gui...

but in startgui is says not connected...  rclxub.gif
Check your firewall settings on your PC and on your router. Instead of spending time setting up different rules for testing, just disable the firewalls. If the proxy works, then we know its a firewall setting. If not, the problem lies elsewhere. So lets hunt it down smile.gif

As for those who asked about using PAW as a socks4/5 proxy. Sorry PAW is a HTTP proxy, it doesn't handle socks4/5. It wouldn't really matter anyway as tmnet checks the actual packet. Even encrypted connections have problems.

To those who have problems with this, try downloading the latest JAVA version. Document the steps you have done and post them here if it still doesn't work. Then we can hunt for the problem.

Lets keep this topic about BT proxy connection and not go off topic discussing other areas where tmnet is blocking us.

This post has been edited by silverhawk: Jan 19 2007, 08:02 PM
TSsilverhawk
post Jan 19 2007, 08:13 PM

Eyes on Target
4,956 posts

QUOTE(supadupa @ Jan 19 2007, 08:03 PM)
still getting zero using bitcomet

do we need to authenticate in bitcomet in the proxy setting?

if yes wat is the username n password?
No authentication is required unless you set it up that way. By default, connection doesn't require username/password.
TSsilverhawk
post Jan 19 2007, 08:19 PM

Eyes on Target
4,956 posts

QUOTE(chan01 @ Jan 19 2007, 08:08 PM)
i have never realy use torrent b4 so i thought to give it a try but i was unable to start the download...

i have follow the step by step lo...
Its running, as you can see you're connected to the tracker. You got a list of seeds and peers. However you're not connected to any of them.

QUOTE(almostthere @ Jan 19 2007, 08:08 PM)
I'm getting this error message from utorrent whenever I switch to the PAW proxy.

It's either Client Version is banned or Tracker Sending Invalid Data

Isit due to the masking that PAW does?
Hmm, try setting the user-agent to the same one as firefox or something similar. At the moment the user-agent is removed completely. Setting a user-agent might bypass this problem.
TSsilverhawk
post Jan 19 2007, 08:23 PM

Eyes on Target
4,956 posts

QUOTE(almostthere @ Jan 19 2007, 08:22 PM)
smack me in the head for noobishness in prxyism but how do I go about it? Reading the 1st 3 pages but still at a lost. Currently using PAW as it is downloaded from the 1st post
Read the first post, the instructions on changing the user-agent is there.
TSsilverhawk
post Jan 19 2007, 08:53 PM

Eyes on Target
4,956 posts

QUOTE(almostthere @ Jan 19 2007, 08:35 PM)
got it since someone linked user-agent possible strings from wiki

added Mozilla and Opera to see. Certain torrentsites have no problems with it so far

Maybe you should also link the agent strings wiki to make it easier to refer to

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/User_agent_string
I'll add it to the first post smile.gif

QUOTE(duckevo @ Jan 19 2007, 08:47 PM)
now the paw is working fine...

i have deleted the old file and unzip again...

utorrent running 13-14kb  rclxm9.gif

thanx silverhawk... but it juz connected to local peers....

international peers always disconnected... cry.gif
I'll see if i can find a way to fix that.

TSsilverhawk
post Jan 19 2007, 09:28 PM

Eyes on Target
4,956 posts

supadupa, are you connected to the tracker? If so then this solution has worked for you already. If you cannot connect to international peers, that's another problem.

I'm also starting to face problems connecting to international peers. I'll be checking the packets sent and received by bittorrent to see what's happening. Hopefully we can find a way to bypass this.
TSsilverhawk
post Jan 20 2007, 12:40 AM

Eyes on Target
4,956 posts

QUOTE(jaclyn @ Jan 19 2007, 11:36 PM)
Thanks for the prompt reply..I've checked in utorrent..all tracker status are "working" but in bitcomet..there's 2 which state " cannot connect to tracker 10060, waiting 70s to retry". So, i guess i don't need to do this since i didn't get that message. But yeah, most of my peers/seeders are local with a few exception tho~ biggrin.gif

Hopefully silverhawk can find a way to bypass them~

BTW, thanks a lot YiQi!!
My networking knowledge is actually pretty basic. Doing this is actually teaching me alot tongue.gif Hopefully someone with better networking knowledge can lend a hand.
TSsilverhawk
post Jan 20 2007, 12:59 AM

Eyes on Target
4,956 posts

QUOTE(supadupa @ Jan 20 2007, 12:48 AM)
silverhawk...is ur trick working still?

it doesn't work for me here in penang mad.gif
As i asked you before, can you connect to the tracker? This isn't going to help you in your peer connections or speed.

QUOTE(sootienann @ Jan 20 2007, 12:50 AM)
i can connect to foreign peers , but cannot download from them
all my traffic is with local peers
I'm having the same problem atm, trying to find a way around it.

QUOTE(jaclyn @ Jan 20 2007, 12:52 AM)
again, question..

If i get tracker status = "offline", what does this mean?My downloading icon is red color (utorrent) and those with status "working" are in blue icon.. I still can download tho~
An offline tracker means the tracker is down. Most modern BT clients have "peer exchange" or "DHT" which allows you to download without the tracker. To put it simply, if you've connected to the tracker before, your client keeps a list of seeds/peers which it can use if the tracker goes down.
TSsilverhawk
post Jan 20 2007, 02:25 AM

Eyes on Target
4,956 posts

QUOTE(Polaris @ Jan 20 2007, 01:34 AM)
About Port 8080, besides changing that in the BT client, do I need to set it in the firewall as well or it's two unrelated things?
Default configuration for most firewalls would allow port 8080. You should check it though.
TSsilverhawk
post Jan 20 2007, 08:52 PM

Eyes on Target
4,956 posts

QUOTE(rootified @ Jan 20 2007, 07:05 PM)
revise and revise and revise... really can't see anything wrong.

conclusion of the day: streamyx hates me.

gave up d...
I'm having the same problem too. It will connect to local peers in the list, but not to international peers. Still havent figured out a way to solve this problem.

QUOTE(Polaris @ Jan 20 2007, 07:46 PM)
edit ---> One weird thing, when exiting Azureus when the firefox-localhost-proxy-test browser is open, the browser closes as well. Is this normal?
No, that's not normal.

Currently my uTorrent is on a different port (20000) and it is opened in NAT and Firewall settings on my router page.

It seems your bittorrent can't even connect to port 20000. Try disabling UPnP and do your port forwarding manually.
TSsilverhawk
post Jan 20 2007, 10:08 PM

Eyes on Target
4,956 posts

QUOTE(xxboxx @ Jan 20 2007, 10:00 PM)
the user agents string, which one should i copy into?
example: IE 3.01
3.01 on Windows 98 - Mozilla/2.0 (compatible; MSIE 3.01; Windows 98)
so should i just copy Mozilla/2.0 (compatible; MSIE 3.01; Windows 98)?
Just Mozilla/2.0 (compatible; MSIE 3.01; Windows 98)

0.0177sec    0.29    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 09:16 AM