4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Bottom

Technical PSP Homebrew Discussion Thread V2, Note: Please read discussion guidelines

Bernard Yeo
post Jan 26 2007, 12:08 PM

570 posts

QUOTE(figure8 @ Jan 26 2007, 11:30 AM)
not as simple as that...
u need to join all the background by using cmd or u can create bat file in the same folder of all the bg...

create a background (12 bgs), rename it same as before 1.bmp,2.bmp and so on.
create new text file n paste
rename it to .bat extension... run the .bat file and u get the 1-12.bmp
I've run the .bat according to your instructions. The output file shows the same image as 1.bmp. If I flash that into flash0, will the image change every month like the standard theme? Also, the image size is 1.75mb. Isn't that too large for flash0?

Sorry for the questions, I can't test this right now because I'm in the office and should be seen working. blush.gif
Bernard Yeo
post Jan 26 2007, 03:35 PM

570 posts

Edit......

This post has been edited by Bernard Yeo: Jan 26 2007, 03:51 PM
Bernard Yeo
post Jan 26 2007, 03:42 PM

570 posts

QUOTE(QD_buyer @ Jan 26 2007, 03:17 PM)
BTW,had anyone tried 3.03OEC? biggrin.gif
Eh, read what you have missed first lah. Last 2 pages were written by people who already upgraded................

QUOTE(figure8 @ Jan 26 2007, 02:23 PM)
yup, it will show the 1st bmp i think, but it include all the files...
u got 1MB, it mean u use high resolution, keep in mind, psp bg only support small resolution file (im not sure the exact resolution, i will try it later)...

-yes the image will change for each month. not wallpaper kay, the bg images is the image that u see that blend with wavery lines...

edit:_
-okay, i read in other forum and im not really sure about it,
1.if u combine all backgrounds 1-12 with standard resolution (60x43pixel), u can access all the theme correctly.
2.but im not sure if u want to use higher resolution..
---maybe u can try this:_
if u want the april theme, try pick u desired 4.bmp (with higer resolution), and then the others put the standard one (60x43). see what happen if u change the theme...
So sorry, I checked the source bmp files and they were 300 x 170. No wonder the size was so large. Fixed it already and it works. But what you said about the higher resolution thing won't work for me. I tried. It turns out blank.

This post has been edited by Bernard Yeo: Jan 26 2007, 03:49 PM
Bernard Yeo
post Jan 26 2007, 03:59 PM

570 posts

QUOTE(MR.Shiney @ Jan 26 2007, 03:40 PM)
guys, how do i get my Cintro's working again?.
man, modding psp never been this easy!
http://forums.maxconsole.net/showthread.php?t=45330
Bernard Yeo
post Jan 27 2007, 12:37 AM

570 posts

There are bound to be problems with replacing jpn0.pgf. So I left that alone. I use the standard font to replace the .bwfon file. I don't replace the standard font so everything is alright.
Bernard Yeo
post Jan 27 2007, 04:24 PM

570 posts

For those trying to figure out how come their Cintro doesn't work in OE-C and haven't found the answer, Dark_Alex himself said the autoboot is broken. source: http://forums.maxconsole.net/showthread.php?t=46042

Sounds like there's going to be another update.smile.gif

This post has been edited by Bernard Yeo: Jan 27 2007, 04:25 PM
Bernard Yeo
post Jan 27 2007, 05:49 PM

570 posts

QUOTE(MR.Shiney @ Jan 27 2007, 05:32 PM)
i think i've heard somebody claimed a few pages back that
its only need to hex edit to work on 3.03oe-c?
That was me. But I tried it and didn't work. So I looked up the forums at Maxconsole again. Others have tried too but didn't work. Apparently autoboot is broken, so no matter what they do, it's not going to work.
Bernard Yeo
post Jan 27 2007, 06:42 PM

570 posts

I flashed a Halo 3 Gameboot into my PSP, replacing my original one. No problems.

To debrand the gameboot, you need to hex edit. It works. As posted before, it's here. http://forums.maxconsole.net/showthread.php?t=45330
Bernard Yeo
post Jan 27 2007, 10:55 PM

570 posts

QUOTE(MR.Shiney @ Jan 27 2007, 06:53 PM)
i dont know if it doesnt work yet. it seems bro snipersnake ady gave the answer.
yup, replacing it might fix the problem.
is there any other method than hex editing. sweat.gif
seeing all those numbers ady pening rclxub.gif
Hey, you're the one who said modding has never been so easy.
An alternative to Hex editing is to wait for the new X-Flash.
To debrand your gameboot, all you got to do is run your Hex Editor, scroll down to line 3A14.
Look for 7D7D, and replace with 5555.

There is always the recovery menu.

This post has been edited by Bernard Yeo: Jan 27 2007, 10:56 PM
Bernard Yeo
post Jan 28 2007, 09:14 AM

570 posts

Yeah I agree with figure8. Pin those tutorials in a new Tutorials section. Everyone can go there first for their answers.
Bernard Yeo
post Jan 29 2007, 09:31 AM

570 posts

Those who have bought a GTA:LCS 2.0 UMD after the a 2.71 downgrader was released must feel like kings now.
Bernard Yeo
post Jan 29 2007, 12:27 PM

570 posts

QUOTE(King83 @ Jan 29 2007, 11:53 AM)
since u're a noob, i won't recommend u jumping into custom fw yet... get Devhook instead.
I think custom firmware is better for noobs and newbies.

Google Wikipedia PSP Homebrew to bring you up to speed.

And most of what you need to know about homebrew on PSP.
http://forums.maxconsole.net/forumdisplay.php?f=80

This post has been edited by Bernard Yeo: Jan 29 2007, 12:34 PM
Bernard Yeo
post Jan 29 2007, 01:07 PM

570 posts

QUOTE(King83 @ Jan 29 2007, 12:34 PM)
custom firmware got 1% chance to brick...

DH is idiot-proof.
Even the most experienced modder can brick a PSP while downgrading or flashing 3.0XOE. But such occurences are so rare and isolated, it's probably bad luck that somehow the flash0 got corrupted or something. A lot of newbies install Dark_Alex's 3.0X without any problems at all. All they had to do was RTFM.

Installing DevHook is not as easy as installing 3.0XOE. To me, Devhook is also not as user-friendly in terms of operation. Probably over a million PSP owners are on 3.0XOE. It's as common as learning how to drive a car; if you're new to driving and are terrified, then think,"Hey, lots of people are already doing it, it's not rocket science."

So, might as well go with 3.0XOE.
Bernard Yeo
post Jan 29 2007, 10:33 PM

570 posts

Try moving all your homebrew to the GAME folder instead.
Bernard Yeo
post Jan 30 2007, 12:05 AM

570 posts

QUOTE(Xrossfire @ Jan 30 2007, 12:01 AM)
OMFG!

Finally dream comes true!
MGSPO Limited Editon Camo PSP + 3.03OE-C = Better Than Sex! tongue.gif
That's a serious statement. You need help.
Bernard Yeo
post Jan 30 2007, 09:00 AM

570 posts

QUOTE(TheXxBestxX @ Jan 29 2007, 10:04 PM)
i cannot run homebrew like pspfiler. yes. i don't know how to solve this prob.
QUOTE(DFlo @ Jan 30 2007, 03:46 AM)
Why don't you post that into the PSP Homebrew Discussion Thread?
Isn't this the PSP Homebrew Discussion Thread? It's only V2 because there were 120 pages in the first one and has closed.
Bernard Yeo
post Jan 30 2007, 02:00 PM

570 posts

Is there a better place to talk about memory stick prices?

While we're on the subject on memory sticks, here's a homebrew you can use. The blackSPEED v1.0beta. Test how fast your ori and fake memorystick pro duo are.
http://www.maxconsole.net/?mode=news&newsid=13902
Bernard Yeo
post Jan 30 2007, 06:52 PM

570 posts

Stop bickering already and let it go lah. I PM tycheah_7 to tell him to chill already. I'm not angry with you King83, it's just that you'll always try to have the last word, and that means clogging up this thread. Everyone has his own opinion. I'm not against recommending Devhook at all. It's just an alternative to Custom Firmware. But please, recommend only 0.52.

This is a homebrew forum, not kopitiam. I'm here to learn and share how to do heavy modding, hex editing and dangerous flashing, not read about drama mamas.

I've looked at CapsJuste's Custom Firmware Extender 1.1. I think I prefer his Vsh ftpd 01.

Well, King83, which homebrew apps are you using? Which are your favourite and have you done some manual flashing yet?

This post has been edited by Bernard Yeo: Jan 30 2007, 06:57 PM
Bernard Yeo
post Jan 30 2007, 08:07 PM

570 posts

The link to 3.03 OE-B is dead. I've deleted it. The other 2 links are ok.
Bernard Yeo
post Jan 30 2007, 10:46 PM

570 posts

QUOTE(DFlo @ Jan 30 2007, 10:11 PM)
Yup. I always thought that the recovery thingy was run from the RECOVERY folder inside GAME. Damn, I'm so ignorant. doh.gif
Hmmph.. I've gotta do more research on that.. Or anyone in here that has actually used the Recovery mode to un-brick their PSPs can share share their techniques? thumbup.gif
Just rename a 1.50 firmware eboot to UPDATE.PBP.
Put it in the RECOVERY Folder.
In the Recovery Menu choose Run program at /PSP/GAME/RECOVERY/EBOOT.PBP
Hello 1.50!

Simple as pimples.

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.0376sec    0.43    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 04:07 PM