Cheap Asus Wifi Router Alternative, Huawei WS880 & Others
jio
Jul 12 2016, 02:53 PM
QUOTE(ycs @ Jul 12 2016, 02:22 PM) is this 5GHz range better than asus? For 5GHz, the range is not really the issue but rather the poor wall penetration of 5Ghz radio wave especially on thick concrete walls. In empty hall or warehouse with clear line of sight, 5GHz can cover the distance almost as well as 2.4GHz. But the signal strength will deteriorate significantly if there is wall in between. Since the router is so cheap, you can use multiple units to cover each floor if you are staying in multi storey landed property with thick walls.
SUSraynman
Jul 12 2016, 03:22 PM
QUOTE(irwan6179 @ Jul 12 2016, 02:47 PM) Are you still having problem flashing? I've finally managed to flash the router. The trick is to use IE instead of chrome when you first uploading the modified CFE file. When I did with chrome, after clicking submit, it right away turned into can't find network error. Then after several failures, I used IE and after click submit, it went into another page saying upload is successfull and it's rebooting. Once it's reboot, just go to the same 192.168.1.1 and it will show CFE mini server or something, instead of Huawei emergent. Then now you can upload the trx files from Asuswrt. Hope this help. Thanks for the tip! You are right. I was using Chrome all these while. I will repeat the procedure using Edge and see. ( I am on Windows 10).
Mr Leo
Jul 12 2016, 03:23 PM

Anyone is going to purchase this router? Pls pm me
Digifriend07
Jul 12 2016, 03:23 PM
QUOTE(irwan6179 @ Jul 12 2016, 02:47 PM) Are you still having problem flashing? I've finally managed to flash the router. The trick is to use IE instead of chrome when you first uploading the modified CFE file. When I did with chrome, after clicking submit, it right away turned into can't find network error. Then after several failures, I used IE and after click submit, it went into another page saying upload is successfull and it's rebooting. Once it's reboot, just go to the same 192.168.1.1 and it will show CFE mini server or something, instead of Huawei emergent. Then now you can upload the trx files from Asuswrt. Hope this help. Hi there, Bro, you're using IE what version?
mintgadget
Jul 12 2016, 03:26 PM
was there to pickup additional units. they still have a lot. But i noticed this [attachmentid=7069049] hopefully they are not increasing the price Attached thumbnail(s)
PowerSlide
Jul 12 2016, 03:33 PM
Can tumpang? Me from Penang cannot find it here..anyone can help?
If price goes up very sad liao..I always no chance buy good deal stuffs
ImGames
Jul 12 2016, 03:33 PM

QUOTE(mintgadget @ Jul 12 2016, 03:26 PM) was there to pickup additional units. they still have a lot. But i noticed this [attachmentid=7069049] hopefully they are not increasing the price They increased the price?
mintgadget
Jul 12 2016, 03:35 PM
QUOTE(ImGames @ Jul 12 2016, 03:33 PM) They increased the price? no still RM199, maybe a misprint didn't check others this was staring at me from the pile.
jpaul
Jul 12 2016, 03:35 PM
QUOTE(mintgadget @ Jul 12 2016, 03:26 PM) was there to pickup additional units. they still have a lot. But i noticed this [attachmentid=7069049] hopefully they are not increasing the price I went just now during lunch time, still RM 199. By the way, there is no port for phone ?
irwan6179
Jul 12 2016, 03:38 PM
QUOTE(Digifriend07 @ Jul 12 2016, 03:23 PM) Hi there, Bro, you're using IE what version? I'm not sure. The one coming with windows 8. By the way, I can concur that the 5G and 2G signal perform significantly better than following device: Tp-link C2 Tp-link C20 Mi Mini Mi Router 3 Even the power adapter is 3AMP. The router must be needing more power to have this kind of range.
mintgadget
Jul 12 2016, 03:38 PM
QUOTE(jpaul @ Jul 12 2016, 03:35 PM) I went just now during lunch time, still RM 199. By the way, there is no port for phone ? er this is a router not a router modem hence no phone jack
jpaul
Jul 12 2016, 03:39 PM
QUOTE(mintgadget @ Jul 12 2016, 03:38 PM) er this is a router not a router modem hence no phone jack Need to connect to my maxis cordless phone... Any solution ?
mintgadget
Jul 12 2016, 03:46 PM
QUOTE(jpaul @ Jul 12 2016, 03:39 PM) Need to connect to my maxis cordless phone... Any solution ? at this point you still need your maxis all in one router, either you make the WS880 an access point or replace maxis device as the primary router.
alvinf
Jul 12 2016, 03:53 PM

i managed to get it around 12.30 noon. But i think price went up according to another thread.
nabielz
Jul 12 2016, 04:01 PM
QUOTE(PowerSlide @ Jul 12 2016, 03:33 PM) Can tumpang? Me from Penang cannot find it here..anyone can help? If price goes up very sad liao..I always no chance buy good deal stuffs im going to lowyat again to collect my stuff this evening. let me know if u want it.
yewfatt
Jul 12 2016, 04:03 PM
QUOTE(nabielz @ Jul 12 2016, 04:01 PM) im going to lowyat again to collect my stuff this evening. let me know if u want it. bro can helpp?
nabielz
Jul 12 2016, 04:15 PM
QUOTE(yewfatt @ Jul 12 2016, 04:03 PM) bro can helpp?  sure. just pm me for confirmation.
kkm
Jul 12 2016, 04:17 PM
QUOTE(nabielz @ Jul 12 2016, 04:15 PM) sure. just pm me for confirmation. Would you happen to be from PJ?
nabielz
Jul 12 2016, 04:19 PM
QUOTE(kkm @ Jul 12 2016, 04:17 PM) Would you happen to be from PJ? nope. my office in damansara heights This post has been edited by nabielz: Jul 12 2016, 04:20 PM
irwan6179
Jul 12 2016, 04:23 PM
QUOTE(nabielz @ Jul 12 2016, 04:15 PM) sure. just pm me for confirmation. do update us on the pricing ya