XWRT-VORTEX has just released firmware version 380.69 Stable for WS880

Download: http://xvtx.ru/xwrt/download.htm

Changelog: [Mark changes from 380.68_4]
CODE
380.69 (11-Dec-2017)
 - NEW: Added option to disable the Asus NAT tunnel service under
        Other Settings -> Tweak.  Not quite sure what this
        partly closed source service is for, but it eats a
        fair amount of CPU and RAM (backport from 382)

- CHANGED: Updated odhcp6c to be in sync with upstream
            (patch by theMIRon)
 - CHANGED: Updated libogg to 1.3.3 and libvorbis to 1.3.5.
 - CHANGED: Updated wget to 1.19.2 (fixing connectivity to some
            TLS 1.2 servers)
 - CHANGED: Updated RT-N66U and RT-AC66U SDK to GPL 380_8120's
            (fixing KRACK in repeater/bridge mode)
 - CHANGED: Updated openssl to 1.0.2n.
 - CHANGED: Updated tor to 0.2.9.14.
 - FIXED: allow IA_NA mode downgrade with forced IA_PD
          (for ISPs with broken IPv6 support)
          (patch by theMIRon)
 - FIXED: Trend Micro signature check might randomly fail the
          RSA validation.
 - FIXED: Security issues CVE-2017-15275, CVE-2017-12163
          and CVE-2017-12150 (backported to Samba 3.6 and 3.5)
 - FIXED: Httpd crash when accessing certain webui pages with
          no connected Ethernet clients
 - FIXED: DNSFILTER rules would have priority over OPENVPN Client
          rules (when client has DNS set to Exclusive mode).
 - FIXED: traffic routing from the router itself would fail when
          restarting the firewall while using an ovpn client with
          policy rules in effect.

muncheno
post Dec 13 2017, 07:38 AM

734 posts

QUOTE(sHawTY @ Dec 13 2017, 12:01 AM)
XWRT-VORTEX has just released firmware version 380.69 Stable for WS880

Download: http://xvtx.ru/xwrt/download.htm

Changelog: [Mark changes from 380.68_4]
CODE
380.69 (11-Dec-2017)
        Other Settings -> Tweak.  Not quite sure what this

- CHANGED: Updated odhcp6c to be in sync with upstream
            (patch by theMIRon)
 - CHANGED: Updated libogg to 1.3.3 and libvorbis to 1.3.5.
 - CHANGED: Updated wget to 1.19.2 (fixing connectivity to some
            TLS 1.2 servers)
 - CHANGED: Updated RT-N66U and RT-AC66U SDK to GPL 380_8120's
            (fixing KRACK in repeater/bridge mode)
 - CHANGED: Updated openssl to 1.0.2n.
 - CHANGED: Updated tor to 0.2.9.14.
 - FIXED: allow IA_NA mode downgrade with forced IA_PD
          (for ISPs with broken IPv6 support)
          (patch by theMIRon)
 - FIXED: Trend Micro signature check might randomly fail the
          RSA validation.
 - FIXED: Security issues CVE-2017-15275, CVE-2017-12163
          and CVE-2017-12150 (backported to Samba 3.6 and 3.5)
 - FIXED: Httpd crash when accessing certain webui pages with
          no connected Ethernet clients
 - FIXED: DNSFILTER rules would have priority over OPENVPN Client
          rules (when client has DNS set to Exclusive mode).
 - FIXED: traffic routing from the router itself would fail when
          restarting the firewall while using an ovpn client with
          policy rules in effect.

Failed to upgrade here.
Other pls be more cautious.

I will try again later.
sHawTY
post Dec 13 2017, 08:16 AM

Frequent Reporter
14,629 posts

QUOTE(muncheno @ Dec 13 2017, 07:38 AM)
Failed to upgrade here.

I will try again later.
My upgrade runs perfectly
muncheno
post Dec 13 2017, 08:47 AM

734 posts

QUOTE(sHawTY @ Dec 13 2017, 08:16 AM)
Noted and thanks.
Will try again tonight.
fkinmeng
post Dec 13 2017, 09:03 AM

6,179 posts

Failed to upgrade here.

I will try again later.
will failed upgrade brick the router?

QUOTE(sHawTY @ Dec 13 2017, 08:16 AM)
how's the update so far? good?
muncheno
post Dec 13 2017, 12:39 PM

734 posts

QUOTE(fkinmeng @ Dec 13 2017, 09:03 AM)
will failed upgrade brick the router?
Not really, but internet will stay disconnected till you reboot the router.
sHawTY
post Dec 13 2017, 02:14 PM

Frequent Reporter
14,629 posts

QUOTE(muncheno @ Dec 13 2017, 08:47 AM)
Noted and thanks.
Will try again tonight.
Re-download the firmware again and only update the firmware with a laptop / pc that's connected directly to the router using an ethernet cable
Don't use wireless to run the update
muncheno
post Dec 13 2017, 08:59 PM

734 posts

QUOTE(sHawTY @ Dec 13 2017, 02:14 PM)
Re-download the firmware again and only update the firmware with a laptop / pc that's connected directly to the router using an ethernet cable
Don't use wireless to run the update
Done upgraded to 380.69_0.
Maybe the file that I downloaded on this morning got problem.

KoYuKii
post Dec 17 2017, 12:18 PM

1,971 posts

i've just upgrade from 380.68_4 to the latest.

but i'm still unable to find the QoS function.

can someone guide me to the light of Qos ?
InSplre
post Dec 17 2017, 12:45 PM

2,814 posts

Failed to upgrade here.

I will try again later.
I notice this if I didn't restart before I upgrade e.g. my router has been running 49 days then i straight away try to upgrade it will hit this error but if I restart before upgrade, it works perfectly. happen to me past few upgrade.
lati0s
post Dec 17 2017, 03:48 PM

41 posts

Hi there sifus.

Asking for suggestion for my home network setup. Currently I have two router/modems :

1. D-Link DIR-850L (Provided by TM)
2. Huawei WS880 (XWRT-VORTEX) (Main router connected to BTU)

My current setup is :

<BTU>-----<WS880>-------(Cat5e Cable)-------<DIR850L>

a) I've disabled the 5ghz for the WS880 and only enabled 2.4ghz for downstair usage.
b) Used the DIR850L as a access point upstairs. Only enabled the 5ghz band as all of my devices upstairs supported 5ghz.

My only problem is with the DIR850L as access point, the 5ghz signal will suddenly drop even though using it on the same floor and very not satisfied with the performance.

What I am trying to do is to switch position :

<BTU>-----<DIR850L>-------(Cat5e Cable)-------<WS880>

What do I need to do with the WS880, use is as Repeater or AP Mode ?

Hopes my explanations are clear. Thanks

sweat.gif
muncheno
post Dec 17 2017, 08:22 PM

734 posts

QUOTE(lati0s @ Dec 17 2017, 03:48 PM)
Hi there sifus.

Asking for suggestion for my home network setup. Currently I have two router/modems :

1. D-Link DIR-850L (Provided by TM)
2. Huawei WS880 (XWRT-VORTEX) (Main router connected to BTU)

My current setup is :

<BTU>-----<WS880>-------(Cat5e Cable)-------<DIR850L>

a) I've disabled the 5ghz for the WS880 and only enabled 2.4ghz for downstair usage.
b) Used the DIR850L as a access point upstairs. Only enabled the 5ghz band as all of my devices upstairs supported 5ghz.
My only problem is with the DIR850L as access point, the 5ghz signal will suddenly drop even though using it on the same floor and very not satisfied with the performance.

What I am trying to do is to switch position :
<BTU>-----<DIR850L>-------(Cat5e Cable)-------<WS880>
What do I need to do with the WS880, use is as Repeater or AP Mode ?

Hopes my explanations are clear. Thanks

sweat.gif
Easy enough. If Dlink 850L as main router ( by default DCHP server enabled)

For WS880, one of method.

1) Goto LAN, LAN IP, Set IP address that does not clash with 850L, example 850L is 192.168.1.1 and WS880 is 192.168.1.2

2) Goto LAN, DHCP server, No → Enable DCHP Server.

3) connect the cable to any lan port except wan port.

2nd method can be, using wizard and connect to wan port.

3rd ...if above fail let discuss again.

KoYuKii
post Dec 22 2017, 06:35 PM

1,971 posts

any1 know how to wireless connect hyppTV ?

currently using xwrt 380.67
firdausbhari
post Dec 23 2017, 05:11 PM

2,194 posts

a)5ghz dont travel as far as 2.4ghz
b)u can turn on both 2.4ghz and 5ghz but on different channel. Our device nowadays can band steer.
c)if u connect using cable, use it as an AP mode. Repeater mode only for wireless bridge.
d)i would use the ws880 as my main router and 850L as an AP

RViN
post Dec 26 2017, 10:49 AM

There Is Only One United
5,779 posts

Other Settings -> Tweak.  Not quite sure what this
So, did everyone turn this off? Saving CPU cycles would be good for a device that runs pretty hot.

Anyway I second that suggestion to always use a PC connected with a cable to do the firmware update. I always do that and an update has never failed so far.
jerryckk
post Jan 6 2018, 10:34 AM

73 posts

Managed to buy one from my local store yesterday (last old unit). Just wondering whether the latest 380.69 would be stable without disconnection? Currently on stock Malaysia firmware and the performance is great. Would like to hear some feedback from you guys before i proceed.

This post has been edited by jerryckk: Jan 6 2018, 10:34 AM
LostAndFound
post Jan 6 2018, 05:00 PM

5,584 posts

Yeah it's stable, but if the current works for you why not keep it? If you needed some feature of asuswrt-merlin you'd already know that, if you don't then really no reason to change.
jerryckk
post Jan 6 2018, 05:14 PM

73 posts

QUOTE(LostAndFound @ Jan 6 2018, 05:00 PM)
Yeah it's stable, but if the current works for you why not keep it? If you needed some feature of asuswrt-merlin you'd already know that, if you don't then really no reason to change.
Thanks for the feedback. The feature in stock firmware is quite limited and lack of no-ip ddns support.
Keatsan
post Jan 6 2018, 08:41 PM

If it ain't broke, don't 6ix it
1,124 posts

I'm looking forward IF Merlin could port over the AiMesh feature into this wonderful router.
kept
post Jan 8 2018, 02:46 AM

74 posts

QUOTE(jerryckk @ Jan 6 2018, 10:34 AM)
Managed to buy one from my local store yesterday (last old unit). Just wondering whether the latest 380.69 would be stable without disconnection? Currently on stock Malaysia firmware and the performance is great. Would like to hear some feedback from you guys before i proceed.
How much you bought?

119 Pages « < 82 83 84 85 86 > » Top

0.0240sec    0.15    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th March 2024 - 12:53 PM