kmarc
post Jul 8 2007, 12:00 AM

The future is here - Cryptocurrencies!
14,576 posts

QUOTE(storm88 @ Jul 7 2007, 10:16 PM)
i have some taughts..
imageine, if a discussion thread is being limit FOR DISCUSS O/C ONLY, or relevent topic only, chitchat or some little crappy , silly posts is totally prohibated...

I am feeling like, that forum will be DEAD boring. These "crappy, silly posts" always can make people laugh, relaxing our mind or to catch forumer's relation closer. But what would happen if the posts being banned by SOMEBODY as the reason of SPAMMING?

yea. it will Darm boring

However i do respects Moderator of de forum

but, it gone too far

Look at other forum
Xtreme system, ARP, or PCmodding
Yea this post is specially dedicate for DarkSxxxE

honestly,
learn. Dont always rule in your own world. doh.gif
You know what? I totally agree with you. It is the joking and small talk that makes this forum fun. What's wrong with discussing while having some fun? It is one thing to make a thread "clean", however, if the thread has 100+ pages, nobody, and I mean NOBODY, is going to read it anyway. If "clean" means a few pages only, then it wouldn't be a discussion thread for everybody as there are always noobs joining in.

QUOTE(AceCombat @ Jul 7 2007, 10:47 PM)
aiyo.......now u say like that also no use,later on the mod will delete this post liao one.....
kena warning but no one know what u said,not worth la....
True true. To mod, so sorry. Just giving an opinion.... sweat.gif
kmarc
post Jul 8 2007, 10:06 AM

14,576 posts

QUOTE(botak @ Jul 8 2007, 01:58 AM)
Spec :

COOLER = ASUS SILENT SQUARE PRO
CPU = INTEL CORE 2 DUO E6750 2.66GHZ @ 4120MHZ
MAINBOARD = ABIT IP35 PRO
RAM = CORSIAR 2GB 8500C5D
VGA = ATI HD2600XT 256MB DDR3
Nice OC. How much was the CPU and mobo (c-zone pricelist doesn't have this!!!)? I'm planning to get a E6750 or E6850.

What's your core temp at idle and load BTW?

And what's a fan doing on top of the cooler and graphic card???? shocking.gif Won't the vibration cause some problems in the long run???

This post has been edited by kmarc: Jul 8 2007, 10:09 AM
kmarc
post Jul 15 2007, 10:51 AM

14,576 posts

QUOTE(eXtreme(tm) @ Jul 15 2007, 10:15 AM)
35c only ???? 1.5vcore + intel stock heatsinks  blink.gif
Impossible! Is the readings wrong?
kmarc
post Jul 15 2007, 11:47 AM

14,576 posts

QUOTE(extremeocer @ Jul 15 2007, 11:17 AM)
hmm...this proc seems good for cascade benching.....4ghz at 35c.....5ghz+ would be possible i guess with -70C. But right now DDR3 performance isn't any better than DDR2 platform based on those PI time.

The proc defaults at 3ghz so 4ghz at 1.5v is reasonable.....my e6600 @ 4.3Ghz needs 1.57v...so its roughly the same but this proc definately show lotsa promise of its low temps.
Is there any reference to say how high these CPU's Vcore can SAFELY go up to? As shown in the packaging, it was stated 1.35v max. Does that mean if OC more than 1.35v, warranty void?

1.5v is reasonable for air cooling?
kmarc
post Jul 15 2007, 12:51 PM

14,576 posts

QUOTE(extremeocer @ Jul 15 2007, 12:16 PM)
air cooling is best to stay at 1.4v - 1.5v.....with phase change or cascade cooling, can go above 1.6v - 1.8v....depends on how cold you can hold the temps

No prob with warranty....u can pump in 1.8v and kill your proc, send in for warranty and there is no way Intel could check coz all voltage settings is done on the mobo itself. nothing is stored on the proc.
OIC, then how come high performance RAMS has warranty up to a certain Vdimm? e.g. 2.2v for DDR2. Would they know if we OC more than 2.2v?

This post has been edited by kmarc: Jul 15 2007, 12:52 PM
kmarc
post Jul 15 2007, 01:38 PM

14,576 posts

QUOTE(irenic @ Jul 15 2007, 06:37 AM)
My new proc..

C2D E6850 @ 4ghz 500x8 1.5vcore (intel stock heatsink)
Gigabyte P35T DQ6
2x Kingston HyperX DDR3 @ 1500mhz 9-9-9-24 2.0vdimm
1gb HIS ATi Radeon X2900XT
Non tweak Windows XP sp2

[attachmentid=261895]

see the temp? this proc is damn cold  thumbup.gif
Haiyooo..... finally found out that the core temp is at idle. Irenic told me the core temp at load was 51'c, which is damn cool! drool.gif drool.gif

QUOTE(extremeocer @ Jul 15 2007, 01:13 PM)
same goes for vdimm....no way of checking the voltage once u send in for warranty.
Ok. Thx for the info! icon_rolleyes.gif
kmarc
post Jul 16 2007, 09:17 PM

14,576 posts

QUOTE(irenic @ Jul 16 2007, 05:04 PM)
now i'm at 4.1ghz... already haha
WoW! Can give some info on the OC? drool.gif

Core temp at load + type of cooling
Vcore used
Stability

QUOTE(remysix @ Jul 16 2007, 05:40 PM)
doh.gif change again...no more money to change anymore...
wait for the new price la...
AFAIK, the E6x50 series prices are introductory prices on 22nd July. The price cuts are for older CPUs......

Look here again:

http://img213.imageshack.us/img213/5945/intelts8.png

See, those are new prices....
kmarc
post Jul 16 2007, 11:18 PM

14,576 posts

QUOTE(arj @ Jul 16 2007, 11:04 PM)
Guys, I'm thinking of getting a Q6600 at the end of the month. Planning to do some OCing using aircooling. Current thinking of pairing it with the least expensive P35 mobo, the Gigabyte DS3 and some sub-RM500 2GB rams. I'm targeting 3Ghz with the setup. Is this number realistic with the specified mobo and rams or do I need to get better mobo/rams? Haven't been reading much about overclocking in the past year or so, now damn n00b edi tongue.gif
I have been researching on the DS3 too. I just ordered one!!

There are not much reviews on DS3 but a lot on DS3R (same mobo but with the ICH9R chipset for raid). Apparently the DS3R can usually go up to a bus speed of 480-500Mhz!!!

So, I think the mobo would not have any problems with OCing the Q6600 even if you drop the multipler to 7x from 9x....

Like Hyde'fK said, aim higher! thumbup.gif
kmarc
post Jul 16 2007, 11:53 PM

14,576 posts

QUOTE(extremeocer @ Jul 16 2007, 11:50 PM)
try to get hold of the new Q6600 steppings. Right now....e6600 performs better than Q6600 in terms of overclocking. Aim for high clocks instead of high FSB. High clocks and tight ram timings is better than high fsb and loose timings. The higher clocks you go, the better performance you get. 3.6Ghz (400X9) is slightly better then 3.5Ghz(500X7).
Really? But I've notice overclockers usually dropping their CPU multiplier for higher FSB. I couldn't find the reason for this. Can you explain?
kmarc
post Jul 18 2007, 07:16 AM

14,576 posts

QUOTE(tone @ Jul 18 2007, 02:18 AM)
C2D E6750 G0
Gigabyte-P965-S3 (V3.3)
2 X 1Gb Crucial D9GMH Chipset @ 928mhz 5-5-5-12
China-made Water Cooling

Overclock Result : 3712mhz@1.47v
Superpi : 13.719

Look at the temp!
Nice proc! Are you in air-con room? Even if water-cooling, I don't think the CPU can go below ambient temperature.... hmm.gif
kmarc
post Jul 18 2007, 03:20 PM

14,576 posts

QUOTE(irenic @ Jul 18 2007, 01:12 PM)
yeah it's not logic for sthing to be colder than ambient temperature, but with this GO, few people has prove otherwise biggrin.gif

tonyocz has confirmed the go temperature is very cold..

and there's someone who use gun temperature sensor and it shows the heatsink is colder than his ambient temp..

just imagine, let say u blow a fan to an iron or metal, and then u touch the metal, it should be a little cooler than ur ambient temp.. if u're in ur aircond room, then it will be lot cooler than ur ambient temp.. coz it's metal not plastic or wood..
so imho it's quite logic laugh.gif
True, but not when that metal have electric current running through it!!! tongue.gif

I just hope the temperature sensor is accurate. Let's see what other owners CPU shows..... hmm.gif
kmarc
post Jul 18 2007, 04:19 PM

14,576 posts

QUOTE(toughnut @ Jul 18 2007, 03:20 PM)
something weird with my setup. running 3.4Ghz with 1.6vcore but orthos failed within 5sec. but running supcom for hours without issue. coretemp show 85C idle.... didn't bother checking load temp though. is't due to the ES proc?

currently running 3.2G at 1.35v, not orthos stable but running supcom for hours without problem too. really weird.
Doesn't that mean your rig is not 100% stable? Especially when it fails within 5 sec!

AFAIK, orthos stresses the CPU by doing calculations and checking on the results. If it fails, it means that the CPU calculated wrongly and thus is not stable.... nod.gif
kmarc
post Jul 19 2007, 10:59 AM

14,576 posts

QUOTE(KidsCode @ Jul 19 2007, 09:42 AM)
Please help to add me in... My Results:
Nice OC. Wished we had a complete local database on C2D overclocking that includes type of cooling and core temperature..... nod.gif

0.0437sec    0.54    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 01:31 AM