Intel® Core(tm)2 Duo/Quad Overclocked Rev. 2, Going beyond factory limits

arc_archive
post Jan 5 2007, 09:37 AM

386 posts

QUOTE(BeastX @ Nov 21 2006, 12:13 PM)
Time to start a quad core overclocking thread, just got the extreme qx6700 (1.263 billion transistors with  nvidia g80)
overclocking tonight
sweet proc u got there bro...

but the G'Card is sweeter!!!! drool.gif

do u got a headphone bundled with it???
arc_archive
post Jan 5 2007, 09:45 AM

386 posts

but i will wait the AMD launch it new proc...

an AMD die hard fan here...(eventhough quite tempted by C2D tongue.gif )
arc_archive
post Jan 5 2007, 10:31 AM

386 posts

QUOTE(yehlai @ Jan 5 2007, 10:02 AM)
Wait for AMD? C2D price will drop soon.. soon maybe u cant resist it brows.gif
really??maybe not yet lar...

juz want to know how much powerful AMD compare to Intel maa...

if any of them proof to be the best, then buy one laa.. icon_rolleyes.gif

rite now interested in GCard only..Sweet 8800GTX...

will get myself soon..But ASUS one, not XFX..

plain bundle...
arc_archive
post Apr 11 2007, 12:06 AM

386 posts

to all the sifu...need help bout my will built Core 2 Duo rig... smile.gif

what is the best mobo 4 overclocking n performance wise to be paired up wif C2D 6600?? My budget round RM500~600 for mobo.

Actually, Iam interested wif Asus P5N-E-SLI mobo but after reading some of the review, it stated that the mobo sensitivitiness on memory timing scared out of me to make it my best choice. it is said that the mobo run very well wif mem timing 4-4-4-12 1T at 800Mhz. Xpected ram to be bought CORSAIR XMS2 6400 DDR2 at 5-5-5-15 1GB kit for the time being. Anyone care 2 share their experience n knowledge bout P5N-E-SLI issue??

When look at back the OC ranking score...most of all the OCier using Gigabyte DS3..what is the pro n contra between both of the mobo??? is there any diff between DS3 n DS4???

hope all the sifu can spend a second or two to share some of their precious and valueable knowledge to help 'to be' new member of C2D family...(dun have much knowledge on C2D base system as stuck wif socket 939 tongue.gif )

thanks yall!! notworthy.gif

arc_archive
post Apr 11 2007, 02:10 AM

386 posts

QUOTE(sHawTY @ Apr 11 2007, 01:07 AM)
DFI Infinity P965-S thumbup.gif
sweet mobo there bro...but oledi complete MOQ rite...

when will u start V2 eh?? but things is....im xpected to do Sli wif my GTS...

so cannot go for CF based mobo la...is it gigabyte DS3 sweet enough eh???
arc_archive
post Apr 11 2007, 03:34 PM

386 posts

QUOTE(cstkl1 @ Apr 11 2007, 10:36 AM)
guy
just found out something
pc-zone damn dumb...

in their pricelist they put the corsair dominator air-flow kit.
called them to ask whether they have... they said its a back to back order for this.
then ask them whether cudo has stock for this or not... they said again for them also is a back to back order for this.
then i said ok and he asked me to come to lowyat to pay a deposit and etc

all for a RM90 item??? what pay RM9 bucks for deposit...
are they freaking kidding me...

stupid staff...stupid policy for a RM90 item...
also pczone a bit dumb...for posting so much ram...but all back to back order..yeah....

dunno i just find this insane and ridiculous.

Added on April 11, 2007, 10:39 am

dude it can be done
i have tried it
but it comes at a cost.
performance downgrade a bit
some games buggy
and worst of all u cannot use vista.
so u better mention that.
that is y im not xpecting to rely my hope for that mobo..

when will nvidia releasing their 8950GX2?? is it 8950GX2 or 8X00Ultra??

if it happen to be the dual card then...might considering DFI though...

arc_archive
post Apr 11 2007, 03:54 PM

386 posts

QUOTE(irenic @ Apr 11 2007, 03:38 PM)
first of all regarding running SLI on 965 board. yes it can be done with nvidia hacked driver, but who wanna run SLI while the performance is like a single card only?

the 2nd pci-e slot on 965chipset is too slow for SLI mode. and its not worth it. right now if u wanna run sli, better go for 650i sli or 680i sli. in terms of performance, both chipsets have almost equal performance, but in terms of oc option, 680i is a lil better choice.
Ive been through several review stating that 650i even surpassing 680i in games benchmarking. thing is, 650i running sli at 8x8x (16x only)....but 680i running sli at 16x16x (32x)....still the so called 650i excel in the test....i thought the diff in sli (16x16x) bus speed does not applicable in real life.

but what is the diff between 650i and 965 board?? both are SLi mobo rite, i knew that 650i n 680i are new born, but when u stated that "the 2nd pci-e slot on 965chipset is too slow for SLI mode", i didnt get it...care 2 xplain??

arc_archive
post Apr 11 2007, 05:04 PM

386 posts

QUOTE(irenic @ Apr 11 2007, 04:32 PM)
965 board is not SLI mobo.. and at first it is also not a crossfire board, but later they made it as official crossfire board.

the 2nd pci-e slot on 965 is 4x only.. yeah i know 8x and 16x wont differ much, but 4x has too limited bandwith for ur gfx to perform well.. smile.gif
o ic...thanx for the info....now i might considering 650i board...is it 650i is comparable wif 965 oveclocking ability??? im a lil bit afraid bout the sensitivitiness of that mobo to mem timing.

arc_archive
post Apr 11 2007, 06:11 PM

386 posts

QUOTE(Hyde`fK @ Apr 11 2007, 05:34 PM)
Nforce chipset has better memory bandwidth compared to Intel. Timing? That's depend on your RAM. wink.gif
Im afraid there will be mem compatability prob when pairing it wif Corsair mem coz my expected to buy DMM kit timed at 5.5.5.15.

Hope any one with previous xperience wif 650i board can share a lil bit bout the issue they encounter wif the mobo.
arc_archive
post Apr 11 2007, 11:05 PM

386 posts

QUOTE(Hyde`fK @ Apr 11 2007, 08:21 PM)
Using P5N-E SLI now, erm well, RMA-ed, will come back soon. I can say Nforce is good. Time needed to load Windows is also faster compared to INtel's. So far, I never heard any RAM issues with nForce6 just yet, so I doubt there's any problem with your RAM.
RMA shocking.gif ?? Why?? Wat happen??

Sory Mr Moderator..... blush.gif
arc_archive
post Apr 12 2007, 03:48 PM

386 posts

QUOTE(irenic @ Apr 12 2007, 12:18 PM)
i also have one asus p5n-e sli as my modelling & rendering machine.. paired with E6600 and 4x 1gb corsair value select ddr2 667mhz.. i manage to oc it well till 3.4ghz without any stability issue.
thanks 4 the info. will consider it 4 my rig... laugh.gif
arc_archive
post Apr 13 2007, 08:12 AM

386 posts

i have one Q for all the Guru here...

what is the differences between Enggineering Sample proc wif retail proc??

is it ES having higher potential to face stability issue or bug??

0.0416sec    0.48    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 10:20 AM