Intel® Core(tm)2 Duo/Quad Overclocked Rev. 2, Going beyond factory limits

^666^
post Jan 16 2007, 06:19 AM

^Lamb Of God^
1,491 posts

Guys,

Im going to attempt to shift to the Intel side. Hope you guys can give me some pointers.
First, my plan is to get a E6300 and OC to 2.6++Ghz. mainboard GA-965P-DS4 (rev. 2.0). I dont wanna OC that high but wanna seek good tempetature and adaquate speed.

Looking for budgets things here. What type of memory speed and types should I buy.
Is CM iGreen line 560W is adaquate to run my system with 7900GTO/8800GTS?
For a start do I need to get a CPU Cooler?
^666^
post Jan 16 2007, 07:32 AM

^Lamb Of God^
1,491 posts

QUOTE(DaRkSyThE @ Jan 16 2007, 07:29 AM)
personaly, i would not get the CM iGreen PSU. i would rather get somethng from Siverstone to powerup my rig.
well, 2.6 is only a 800mhz oc. the stock HSF with a fresh coat of AS5 and u shud be ready to go.
What RAM should i get? I looking for silverstone and enermax but i dunno where can i get silverstone. Also looking at CM hyper TX for cooling.
^666^
post Jan 16 2007, 08:15 AM

^Lamb Of God^
1,491 posts

QUOTE(cstkl1 @ Jan 16 2007, 08:11 AM)
wei bro ask moderno he got quite a number of silverstone

also i recommend only the zeus series
how much? is it cheaper or more expensive than the liberty?
^666^
post Jan 16 2007, 08:29 AM

^Lamb Of God^
1,491 posts

QUOTE(cstkl1 @ Jan 16 2007, 08:20 AM)
yeah
a lot more.

it depends what ure running bro.
liberty is awesome but look at the amp railings on the 12v

example my zalman has 4 12vols, each at 16v but the last two 12v more for the pcie cards... so have loads of power for a graphic card.

zeus cooling is way better.
con part is zeus is not modular. but it supports the latest eps mobo
liberty doesnt.

www.modernopc.com

call him later larr..

me support moderno  thumbup.gif
y?? cause eventhough the price about the same as anywhere else. but
easy leh just call supplier/distributor if u want to check stock.
then call moderno and he will get it. if not ask him to call.
second his place is in subang...easy... hate ly cause a lot of ppl windows shopping
and loads of ppl talking crap that this is good but has no clue about what they are talking about
zues is more expensive than liberty wor by 60 buck. shocking.gif shocking.gif shocking.gif
^666^
post Jan 16 2007, 08:36 AM

^Lamb Of God^
1,491 posts

QUOTE(cstkl1 @ Jan 16 2007, 08:35 AM)
wei which one ure looking at bro
the 650watts??

also remember liberty is good and has good effiency rate.
but it depends how much amps u want

enermax libery 620 watts priced at RM 660
silverston zeus 650watts priced at  RM 659

advice.. get a powerfull psu like 650 to 850 watts.
incase u go quad...

for the future
thinking 560W only. haih. cause next month have to get gts.
^666^
post Jan 16 2007, 08:52 AM

^Lamb Of God^
1,491 posts

QUOTE(cstkl1 @ Jan 16 2007, 08:45 AM)
y i bought the zalman
its 599, modular, got the led bling i like, excellent cooling and silent
and the 12v rail each has 16amps with total of 62amps...and take efficiency rating of 84 percent which is freaking good.. should be able to pump 54 amps for all the rails and the last two 12vold rails is more for gpu so 54/4...13.5amps..think not bad..

correct me anybody if i was wrong at this
how bout this one? SST-ST56ZF - RM500
^666^
post Jan 16 2007, 09:05 AM

^Lamb Of God^
1,491 posts

QUOTE(cstkl1 @ Jan 16 2007, 09:00 AM)
again dude
u skimp now
u will keep changing psu everytime u want to upgrade

my advice

buy expensive casing,psu,mobo and ram
others u go reasonable and upgrade along the way.

u sure about the price at rm500??

look at the ammps for railing
if ure thinking about rm 500
y not rm 599 for zalman, u get modular, heatpipe cooling, led fan
and hell of a lot amps for each 12v rail and it supports the latest eps atx mobo ( 8 pin)

http://www.modernopc.com/store/index.php?m...products_id=730
not bad, but this one good enough?
^666^
post Jan 18 2007, 12:16 AM

^Lamb Of God^
1,491 posts

Anybody use gigabyte ds4? I can only OC to 2.33ghz.
The multiplier cant be set wor. How much for 750mhz ram voltage increase.
^666^
post Jan 21 2007, 11:33 PM

^Lamb Of God^
1,491 posts

QUOTE(siauann @ Jan 21 2007, 11:25 PM)
my DS3 oso hot  smile.gif but stil can touch..only kenot leave ur finger longer at tat..hehe
for me i oways run blend test aroudn 24 hrs thn im satisfied  tongue.gif
and also mem test  smile.gif
running it now at home until tomorrow. see what happens. sweat.gif sweat.gif sweat.gif
how fast is 4ghz cd2 now i wonder, feel like changing processor in 2 months time for e6600. hmm.gif

is it worth it? doh.gif doh.gif doh.gif
^666^
post Jan 22 2007, 06:53 AM

^Lamb Of God^
1,491 posts

guys. why i read a lot if reviews that OC 2.9 and 3.15 at 1.3v>1,4 v whereby mine is only 1.274v vcore. weird?

im just curios, i felt that with 1.4v i feel the pc much more responsive, is it just my feeling?

please enlighten me please.
^666^
post Jan 22 2007, 12:24 PM

^Lamb Of God^
1,491 posts

orthos failed even at 1.4v at 1min, yesterday was running well.
now pushing 1.45v at 3.26ghz and stress testing. sweat.gif sweat.gif
^666^
post Jan 22 2007, 12:32 PM

^Lamb Of God^
1,491 posts

QUOTE(flatfinger @ Jan 22 2007, 12:31 PM)
play with ur ram timing oso...
now im running 5-5-5-15, what should i change?

is 70c maxx cpu temp okie??? sweat.gif sweat.gif

This post has been edited by ^666^: Jan 22 2007, 12:33 PM
^666^
post Jan 22 2007, 01:26 PM

^Lamb Of God^
1,491 posts

shakehead.gif
QUOTE(flatfinger @ Jan 22 2007, 12:55 PM)
it depend..u have to try n error..maybe ask DS4 owner how they tweak...im not familiar with gigabyte mobo/bios...

70'c is normal when overclock with air cooling...some ppl getting higher than u
thanks, but very less it goes to 70c, usually 67c. ohmy.gif
so far orthos is running 1hour plus and no error. sweat.gif
if this is stable i will stop pushing it, thinking to grab e6600 in the future. brows.gif
^666^
post Jan 22 2007, 06:33 PM

^Lamb Of God^
1,491 posts

QUOTE(basSist @ Jan 22 2007, 02:46 PM)
5-5-5-15 is ok d.

70 max is CPU temp or CORE temp? if it really 70c CPU temp then u better becareful. Anyway if 70c CORE temp then still consider ok. better get below 65c lah.
i tried lower to 2.8ghz stock vcore orthos failed. vmad.gif vmad.gif vmad.gif

who here really tried running orthos more than few hours and pass?

This post has been edited by ^666^: Jan 22 2007, 06:44 PM
^666^
post Jan 22 2007, 10:02 PM

^Lamb Of God^
1,491 posts

QUOTE(deric88 @ Jan 22 2007, 08:25 PM)
what you mean few hours? a successful oc should be enable to pass orthos no matter how long you tested, once fail means failed ler......
usually average test around 8 hours for me
so far 3.26 pass but temp is soaring 73c max. 1.45v core.
now doing a 3.03 pass max temp 63c. 1.4v core.

QUOTE(siauann @ Jan 22 2007, 08:38 PM)
check out mine...
2.8 @ 1.25v pass more than 24hrs of orthos... smile.gif
screenie here i took @ 18hr ++  brows.gif

[attachmentid=184805]
will try to copy ur setup tomorrow.
thinking to improve my 12cm fan on my back centaurian 5.
mine only 1000rpm any 1800rpm recommendation?
^666^
post Jan 23 2007, 07:25 AM

^Lamb Of God^
1,491 posts

QUOTE(basSist @ Jan 23 2007, 12:20 AM)
i got more than 30 hours laugh.gif

E6400 400x8 @ 1.375v 58c Load
now i know why, need to bump fsb voltage at +0.2 to 0.3v.
seeing 3.3ghz 1.45v now stable. but will downclock to 3ghz for 24/7 use.
hmm.gif hmm.gif hmm.gif

^666^
post Jan 23 2007, 07:16 PM

^Lamb Of God^
1,491 posts

QUOTE(deric88 @ Jan 23 2007, 02:53 PM)
WRONG!!!!
it's DDR2 overvoltage...
then why got so many, ddr 2 overvolatage???
^666^
post Jan 23 2007, 07:29 PM

^Lamb Of God^
1,491 posts

QUOTE(deric88 @ Jan 23 2007, 07:20 PM)
please specify,
how MANY is MANY?
take picture of your bios screen if possible
i will, one thing i think the easy tune is clashinbg with the orthos..

when i install my gigabyte gts my system temp shoot from 30 to 48c... doh.gif doh.gif doh.gif

This post has been edited by ^666^: Jan 23 2007, 07:38 PM
^666^
post Jan 23 2007, 11:18 PM

^Lamb Of God^
1,491 posts

Mine keep crashing after 5 hours, dam weird. Even at low speed of 2.8ghz.

My Hardware specs:
Motherboard: Gigabyte DS4
Cooler: Coolermaster Hyper TX
CPU: Core 2 Duo E6300
RAM: Corsair Value DDR2 667
RAM capacity: 1GB x2

Disabled:
CPUID Max to 3
No-Execute Memory Protection
C1E
TM2
EIST
Virtualization Technology
Smart Fan Control Method
CIA2

For the OC Part:
CPU Clock Ratio to x7
CPU Host Frequency to 400
PCI Express Frequency at Auto
System Memory Multiplier at 2.00
DRAM Timing at 5-5-5-12
DDR2 OverVoltage Control +0.2V
CPU Voltage tried at 1.325V, 1.3750V, 1.4V, 1.45V

Eved tried increasing Northbridge voltage to +0.3V (1.55V).
And also FSb voltage to +0.3V as per recommended in Toms.
Still no luck.

^666^
post Jan 24 2007, 05:28 AM

^Lamb Of God^
1,491 posts

QUOTE(vassalle @ Jan 23 2007, 11:37 PM)
@ Cyber,

Oh well, at least u still have a chance to hit 3.4ghz. Im stuck @ 3.29ghz max SUPER PI 1M stable.
btw, good temps for your setup. I actually have the same case and cooling as u do and I had quite mediocre temps before i added a fan @ side panel.
Have you tried running memtest for your ram yet? Can prolly try a more relaxed timing of 5-5-5-15. There is a good guide for overclocking the e6300 HERE

You'd be damn unlucky if your e6300 can't run @ 400 fsb. Its really rare! Anyway, go through this thread HERE for some other tips (like disabling usb legacy support or something). BTW, which bios are u running at?
sorry its on 15 not 12. the thing is when running 3.26 is stable but too hot for me.
1.45v vcore. shocking.gif

QUOTE(baok @ Jan 24 2007, 02:42 AM)
set it at 100MHz......
and try to re-apply AS5 to your hsf.
okie, thanks. i will test again. haih.

0.0451sec    0.40    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 02:40 AM