Intel® Core(tm)2 Duo/Quad Overclocked Rev. 2, Going beyond factory limits

remysix
post Jun 24 2007, 07:07 AM

Hardcore Leecher!!!
1,311 posts

QUOTE(irangan @ Jun 24 2007, 12:07 AM)
Yes... If the batch code is the same, its should perform the same. Always remember cooling is the most important part of OC. If you cant keep the temp low, even with a gem proc u will never get good result.
Bro.. Do consider changing your heatsink. I dont think TTBT VX can handle your Q6600 heat anymore.
Will Noctua NH-U12F do? tongue.gif
Actually already ordered the Tuniq 120.
The problem is, all those performance Aircooling HSF is damn tall...Tuniq 155mm, same goes for the NH-U12F...my praetorian 732 has very slim chance of fitting them without having problem of closing the side panel. I'm taking the chance here of buying the Tuniq...
Any recommendation icon_question.gif - on aircooling...WC? I'm the President of Orang Malas Club blush.gif

Added on June 24, 2007, 7:10 am
QUOTE(yehlai @ Jun 23 2007, 09:55 PM)
wao nice..  u upgraded proc alrdy?
Yup. But having hard time playing with both the DFI Dark and this Q6600.
I dunno which one giving me trouble cry.gif 2.9G on stock (1.285v) is ok but higher than that even 3G seems to be 'impossible' no matter with what voltage...sux to the bone man...

This post has been edited by remysix: Jun 24 2007, 07:10 AM
remysix
post Jun 24 2007, 09:42 AM

Hardcore Leecher!!!
1,311 posts

QUOTE(irenic @ Jun 24 2007, 09:05 AM)
well if my geminII  can handle my qx6700, it shouldnt be a problem for ur coming tuniq to handle ur quad  thumbup.gif
hehehe...sure thing, the tuniq will.
but i was actually referring to the size, not the performance...
tuniq is 15.6cm standing...geminiII is far less than that...geminiII is more on the horizontal, tuniq vertical...so the geminiII will have no problem one...
i think i probably just head down to robyncom and grab me a geminiII...
remysix
post Jun 24 2007, 10:37 AM

Hardcore Leecher!!!
1,311 posts

QUOTE(gengstapo @ Jun 24 2007, 09:59 AM)
w0ot.. all movin' into quad-ro already ahh

nice.. wanna see more OC result from the quaddy brows.gif
main-main je bang...
no result from me yet...n i think it's gonna be quite a while b4 i can show something doh.gif
remysix
post Jun 25 2007, 04:11 PM

Hardcore Leecher!!!
1,311 posts

QUOTE(kamen_rider @ Jun 25 2007, 03:39 PM)
Nobody wants to reply?  cry.gif   cry.gif  cry.gif
would be helpfull to others if u:
1. list down ur system spec...either in ur siggy or in ur post.
2. U OC u proc to what speed? at what vcore ---> check with SpeedFan; at least can have some reference.

maybe, then people wif have the idea what actually to advise/comment
but my guess would be...it's normal on stock hsf tongue.gif

This post has been edited by remysix: Jun 25 2007, 04:12 PM
remysix
post Jun 26 2007, 12:11 PM

Hardcore Leecher!!!
1,311 posts

QUOTE(irenic @ Jun 26 2007, 11:59 AM)
[attachmentid=253089]

yey finally manage to reach 12secs milestone biggrin.gif

qx6700 @ 3.916ghz + coolermaster geminII
corsair xms3 @ 1424mhz 9-9-9-24
gigabyte p35t dq6
nice one bro notworthy.gif ...on air lagi plak tuh...wonder how does it perform under WC setup...
anyway, what happened to ur P35-DQ6...no 't' one......sold already ka hmm.gif

This post has been edited by remysix: Jun 26 2007, 01:39 PM
remysix
post Jun 26 2007, 07:43 PM

Hardcore Leecher!!!
1,311 posts

QUOTE(irenic @ Jun 26 2007, 07:24 PM)
p35 dq6 sold alreadi .. but kinda regret selling it coz now no ddr2 board to play haha
was thinking of 'fishing' that one from u...guess no luck whistling.gif
remysix
post Jun 29 2007, 06:07 AM

Hardcore Leecher!!!
1,311 posts

QUOTE(mmohdnor @ Jun 29 2007, 01:43 AM)
100%  oc ....hehe biggrin.gif

eh botak how many proc u have leh?
on the first page seems like u've tried e4300, e2140 and e6320 worr..
which one r u using now?  tongue.gif
too many proc...that's why he 'botak' lol...
jk only tongue.gif
remysix
post Jun 29 2007, 12:13 PM

Hardcore Leecher!!!
1,311 posts

QUOTE(storm88 @ Jun 29 2007, 10:50 AM)
my turn:
wahhh...same board as mine but just pasang the board...havent re-install the OS...will do the test tonite...
remysix
post Jun 29 2007, 07:44 PM

Hardcore Leecher!!!
1,311 posts

QUOTE(InF.anime @ Jun 29 2007, 07:27 PM)
congrates!! nice result u got there smile.gif
hahaha...u shud replied storm88's post, not mine...it looks like as thou i'm getting the credit...oh! what the heck...thank you rclxms.gif , thank you rclxms.gif notworthy.gif

Updated:
a quick test...I'm in LOVE!!! wub.gif

This post has been edited by remysix: Jun 29 2007, 09:39 PM
remysix
post Jun 29 2007, 11:12 PM

Hardcore Leecher!!!
1,311 posts

QUOTE(sHawTY @ Jun 29 2007, 10:58 PM)
Bro, push more lar, your Team Xtreem sure can go higher than that. thumbup.gif
Bang, apa tu, guna Crucial tersekat kat 17? laugh.gif
ahaks...itu quick test je bro...nak kena tweak lagi...and the proc was running at 3g only...nanti aku tweaj summore and see how...
remysix
post Jun 30 2007, 12:10 AM

Hardcore Leecher!!!
1,311 posts

QUOTE(storm88 @ Jun 29 2007, 11:35 PM)
hehe
i would love to, but i doing 1:1
2day gonig 544.
Boot up ok
Super PI 1M passed
BUT...
orthos  doh.gif

Added on June 29, 2007, 11:37 pm
will update the info when everything finalizing
caz now i still pushing.
i might getting new result.

But the heatpipe came with the mobo seems cannot cooling down the chipset fast enough..

looking somewhere to borrow the block tomorow... IF possible
aiseh...share share je la...then we can oc together...but mine is Q66, so dun think can achieve what u can do la...

remysix
post Jun 30 2007, 11:27 PM

Hardcore Leecher!!!
1,311 posts

QUOTE(yehlai @ Jun 30 2007, 10:55 PM)
I think able to reach 2.8Ghz with stock vCore, or u can try increase it a bit to trial error. Do it saperately for vCore, vMCH, vFSB to troubleshoot
BIOS use the latest one, becoz the original BIOS is not good for o'c. Just incase u r using the original one.
he bought the board from irenic...i bet my rig that it's not the ori bios... tongue.gif
remysix
post Jul 1 2007, 01:38 AM

Hardcore Leecher!!!
1,311 posts

QUOTE(irenic @ Jul 1 2007, 01:09 AM)
yey i just got a free rig from u! rclxms.gif

neway -pws- just make sure u disable all the things u need to disable like C1E, eist, etc... biggrin.gif
hahah...nvr tot u'd used it on the ori bios...but then again, u only use it for a very short time...mmm...pm me ur address, i will courier my rig to u first thing in the morning tongue.gif

This post has been edited by remysix: Jul 1 2007, 01:38 AM
remysix
post Jul 1 2007, 10:06 AM

Hardcore Leecher!!!
1,311 posts

@irenic...i wonder how u managed to keep ur QX so cool with that geminiII...i have tried changing the fan direction from sucking to blowing but w/o any diff...the load temp based on coretemp is damn too high...reaching 90-95c for all cores...idling at 58-63c...probably there's contact problem...seems that i need to take all stuff (mobo and all) out and re-do it all over again...
btw, ur rig in AC room or non-AC room?
remysix
post Jul 1 2007, 06:26 PM

Hardcore Leecher!!!
1,311 posts

QUOTE(irenic @ Jul 1 2007, 02:57 PM)
last time i was in AC room, but when my AC kong few days ago, suprisingly i can clock further with just a portable AC blowing towards me + my pc ( i also hottt haha)

well, the temp i got for my gemini + quad core is nice, even without AC.. here is one tip, u need to put a lot of as5 on ur processor, and a tiny bit on the centre of ur gemini.. well u might feel weird, coz normally a tiny bit on the processor is enuff.. but that's it for gemini.. last time when i first installed the gemini, i applied the normal amount of as5 (like other heatsink) and the idle temp was around 70c! so i put a lot and the temp dropped to 40c idle hehe..

hope this might survive ur problem  thumbup.gif

hmm another thing to those interested with gemini..

from my experience, geminII is damn good with quadcore.. i already use 2 qx6700 (one non ES and one ES) and manage to get very nice idle + load temp for both processors..

but when i put a dual core C2D under gemini, the idle temp is around bt vx only.. and full load temp is higher that my quad cores' temp!

so i guess, thats the reason in some reviews that are using c2d as their test rig, the gemini performance is average only..
yeah my as5 is special.. it doesnt has cap, so i balut it with lots of tissue..  thumbup.gif

my fans are allngap's nmb fan..
thanks a lot irenic for the tips...gonna put all of my AS5, actually not many left...hmmm maybe can add the 3-year old AS3 as well tongue.gif
remysix
post Jul 2 2007, 09:27 AM

Hardcore Leecher!!!
1,311 posts

QUOTE(toughnut @ Jul 2 2007, 08:38 AM)
doh.gif  sweat.gif
sound like you really has deep pocket... is't Orthos stable?

damn, too long didn't touch my rig already
no la...he didnt have big pocker...just some 'small' change from his lunch tongue.gif

@irenic, well i re-applied the AS5 last nite...not sure is it a lot but by compared to normal application, it's considered a lot...now i can OCCTing at 3.2G now, last time always kiok one...already passed 6 hours...and the temp just after application, dropped about 8-10c rclxms.gif rclxms.gif
we'll see how the temp like when the AS5 sinks in...anyway, thanks for the tips.
remysix
post Jul 2 2007, 11:20 AM

Hardcore Leecher!!!
1,311 posts

QUOTE(irenic @ Jul 2 2007, 11:06 AM)
this 2160 quite cheap.. around 310 only.. and so far in normal usage ok lar..  thumbup.gif
great to hear that.. btw how did u apply the as5? just dropped it in the middle or u flat it on ur heatsink urself?
first, i put it on the heatsink, spread it like polishing the base - just to ensure that the AS5 could fill in the micro-gap...then put 3 lines of AS5 across the centre, upper and lower and 2 dots between the line
something like this:

ps: excuse me for the poor drawing...nvr been good in this area blush.gif

This post has been edited by remysix: Jul 2 2007, 11:21 AM
remysix
post Jul 2 2007, 09:42 PM

Hardcore Leecher!!!
1,311 posts

ok...passed OCCTIng for 18hrs...lazy to wait till 24hrs which would be 12 tonite...going to run OCCT at 3.3G tonite and see how...a quick 1/2 OCCT is ok...up the FSB and GMCH voltage...and managed to pass the quick test...mmm...by upping the FSB Overvoltage...i got a stable vcore...even though there is vdroop but it was stable instead of erratically up and down previously.
remysix
post Jul 4 2007, 04:50 PM

Hardcore Leecher!!!
1,311 posts

QUOTE(irenic @ Jul 4 2007, 03:23 PM)

erm update mine as well..

[attachmentid=257249]

QX6700 @ 3.9ghz (356x11)
corsair xms3 @ 9-9-9-24 1424mhz
gigabyte p35t dq6
coolermaster geminII smile.gif
no fair since u r using ddr3 bro tongue.gif
what the vcore for that result?
remysix
post Jul 5 2007, 03:15 PM

Hardcore Leecher!!!
1,311 posts

QUOTE(AceCombat @ Jul 5 2007, 02:30 PM)
direction is different,and i thought one drop in the middle?
btw,i never use AS5 before.
one drop is not enuff especially for quadcore...and furthermore if u use geminiII..geminiII is bolted to the mobo...so, basically u cannot twist it around to ensure the as5 is properly spread across the IHS...so, applying extra will do a good job for geminiII...

6 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 >Top

0.0255sec    0.35    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 08:02 AM