Intel® Core(tm)2 Duo/Quad Overclocked Rev. 2, Going beyond factory limits

irenic
post Jun 26 2007, 07:24 PM

extr3me n3wbie
7,338 posts

QUOTE(remysix @ Jun 26 2007, 12:11 PM)
nice one bro notworthy.gif ...on air lagi plak tuh...wonder how does it perform under WC setup...
anyway, what happened to ur P35-DQ6...no 't' one......sold already ka hmm.gif
p35 dq6 sold alreadi .. but kinda regret selling it coz now no ddr2 board to play haha
irenic
post Jul 1 2007, 01:09 AM

extr3me n3wbie
7,338 posts

QUOTE(remysix @ Jun 30 2007, 11:27 PM)
he bought the board from irenic...i bet my rig that it's not the ori bios... tongue.gif
yey i just got a free rig from u! rclxms.gif

neway -pws- just make sure u disable all the things u need to disable like C1E, eist, etc... biggrin.gif
irenic
post Jul 1 2007, 02:12 AM

extr3me n3wbie
7,338 posts

QUOTE(-pWs- @ Jul 1 2007, 01:22 AM)
Thanks for the tips. Will try it later smile.gif
And the Jingting cooler works nice  thumbup.gif  thumbup.gif
-pWs-
hehe no prob.. glad u like it.. but i thought i sold to u for at least 4 months already.. now only u got time to try ar? shocking.gif

QUOTE(remysix @ Jul 1 2007, 01:38 AM)
hahah...nvr tot u'd used it on the ori bios...but then again, u only use it for a very short time...mmm...pm me ur address, i will courier my rig to u first thing in the morning tongue.gif
address send via pm.. plz use fedex ok!
irenic
post Jul 1 2007, 02:57 PM

extr3me n3wbie
7,338 posts

QUOTE(remysix @ Jul 1 2007, 10:06 AM)
@irenic...i wonder how u managed to keep ur QX so cool with that geminiII...i have tried changing the fan direction from sucking to blowing but w/o any diff...the load temp based on coretemp is damn too high...reaching 90-95c for all cores...idling at 58-63c...probably there's contact problem...seems that i need to take all stuff (mobo and all) out and re-do it all over again...
btw, ur rig in AC room or non-AC room?
last time i was in AC room, but when my AC kong few days ago, suprisingly i can clock further with just a portable AC blowing towards me + my pc ( i also hottt haha)

well, the temp i got for my gemini + quad core is nice, even without AC.. here is one tip, u need to put a lot of as5 on ur processor, and a tiny bit on the centre of ur gemini.. well u might feel weird, coz normally a tiny bit on the processor is enuff.. but that's it for gemini.. last time when i first installed the gemini, i applied the normal amount of as5 (like other heatsink) and the idle temp was around 70c! so i put a lot and the temp dropped to 40c idle hehe..

hope this might survive ur problem thumbup.gif

hmm another thing to those interested with gemini..

from my experience, geminII is damn good with quadcore.. i already use 2 qx6700 (one non ES and one ES) and manage to get very nice idle + load temp for both processors..

but when i put a dual core C2D under gemini, the idle temp is around bt vx only.. and full load temp is higher that my quad cores' temp!

so i guess, thats the reason in some reviews that are using c2d as their test rig, the gemini performance is average only..

QUOTE(AceCombat @ Jul 1 2007, 02:16 PM)
Shawty is right,the XMS2 only the first 2 batches using D9GMH,the rest batch is suck...as for the Hyper-X also first few batch using d9GKX or GMH.

as for remysix,i think he's using a very nice fan and thermalpaste?
yeah my as5 is special.. it doesnt has cap, so i balut it with lots of tissue.. thumbup.gif

my fans are allngap's nmb fan..
irenic
post Jul 2 2007, 03:11 AM

extr3me n3wbie
7,338 posts

i just bought 1 e2160 yesterday to fill my free time.. and i didnt show any mercy to this lil processor, i straight away put it at 3.65ghz and yehaa.. pcmark stable laugh.gif
irenic
post Jul 2 2007, 11:06 AM

extr3me n3wbie
7,338 posts

QUOTE(toughnut @ Jul 2 2007, 08:38 AM)
doh.gif  sweat.gif
sound like you really has deep pocket... is't Orthos stable?

damn, too long didn't touch my rig already
this 2160 quite cheap.. around 310 only.. and so far in normal usage ok lar.. thumbup.gif

QUOTE(remysix @ Jul 2 2007, 09:27 AM)
no la...he didnt have big pocker...just some 'small' change from his lunch tongue.gif

@irenic, well i re-applied the AS5 last nite...not sure is it a lot but by compared to normal application, it's considered a lot...now i can OCCTing at 3.2G now, last time always kiok one...already passed 6 hours...and the temp just after application, dropped about 8-10c rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif
we'll see how the temp like when the AS5 sinks in...anyway, thanks for the tips.
great to hear that.. btw how did u apply the as5? just dropped it in the middle or u flat it on ur heatsink urself?
irenic
post Jul 2 2007, 06:19 PM

extr3me n3wbie
7,338 posts

QUOTE(remysix @ Jul 2 2007, 11:20 AM)
first, i put it on the heatsink, spread it like polishing the base - just to ensure that the AS5 could fill in the micro-gap...then put 3 lines of AS5 across the centre, upper and lower and 2 dots between the line
something like this:
[attachmentid=256270]

ps: excuse me for the poor drawing...nvr been good in this area blush.gif
ic ic.. should be ok lar like that biggrin.gif

QUOTE(gengstapo @ Jul 2 2007, 12:10 PM)
.. he's a money growers mahh

sure no pr0b getting all those stuff tongue.gif

btw, what dya mean u didnt touch ur rig?
ceh! tongue.gif

i guess he got sthing else to touch, that might be better than touching a pc rolleyes.gif
irenic
post Jul 4 2007, 03:23 PM

extr3me n3wbie
7,338 posts

QUOTE(sHawTY @ Jul 3 2007, 10:37 PM)
Irenic, kalau aku buat camtu kat watercooling kit aku, agak agak jadi tak? hmm.gif
tak kot.. coz selain dr gemini, a lil dot of as5 is more than enuff biggrin.gif

QUOTE(tAmp0i @ Jul 4 2007, 10:38 AM)
I need your details as well such as mobo, ram timings, fsb.... Do you mind to print screen alongside with your CPU-Z opened? Thanks

Edit: I missed one post of yours, sorry biggrin.gif Would you mind state what cooling are you using? wink.gif
erm update mine as well..

QX6700 @ 3.9ghz (356x11)
corsair xms3 @ 9-9-9-24 1424mhz
gigabyte p35t dq6
coolermaster geminII smile.gif

QUOTE(VT-Ten @ Jul 4 2007, 02:29 PM)
applying paste to a quadcore is different from dual core, due to the physical positioning of the wafers...

Dual Core
http://www.arcticsilver.com/pdf/appinstruc...l_dual_wcap.pdf

Quad Core
http://www.arcticsilver.com/pdf/appinstruc...l_quad_wcap.pdf
yes, but this doesnt work with geminII.. smile.gif

irenic
post Jul 5 2007, 04:04 PM

extr3me n3wbie
7,338 posts

QUOTE(remysix @ Jul 4 2007, 04:50 PM)
no fair since u r using ddr3 bro tongue.gif
what the vcore for that result?
1.5vcore..

hehe
irenic
post Jul 6 2007, 12:21 AM

extr3me n3wbie
7,338 posts

QUOTE(irangan @ Jul 5 2007, 10:36 PM)
Obtained this from few hours of benching.
wowee!! ln2? dry ice? biggrin.gif
irenic
post Jul 12 2007, 01:53 PM

extr3me n3wbie
7,338 posts

my e2160 can do 3.3ghz stable @ stock vcore .. so i guess u should aim for that speed as well biggrin.gif

maybe u need to play with other voltage.. ?
irenic
post Jul 15 2007, 06:37 AM

extr3me n3wbie
7,338 posts

My new proc..

C2D E6850 @ 4ghz 500x8 1.5vcore (intel stock heatsink)
Gigabyte P35T DQ6
2x Kingston HyperX DDR3 @ 1500mhz 9-9-9-24 2.0vdimm
1gb HIS ATi Radeon X2900XT
Non tweak Windows XP sp2

see the temp? this proc is damn cold thumbup.gif
irenic
post Jul 15 2007, 12:25 PM

extr3me n3wbie
7,338 posts

QUOTE(t3chn0m4nc3r @ Jul 15 2007, 11:07 AM)
edited pic....? lowest i've seen is 52 on idle wif stock HSF and compound... unless u use dried ice or other cooling chemicals it's impossible to get tat low... hmm.gif
how did u do tat....?
i didnt do anything.. i even used the stock thermal paste that comes at the bottom of intel stock fan tongue.gif

QUOTE(Hyde`fK @ Jul 15 2007, 11:18 AM)
I wonder if the temp reading is correct or not. Run Speedfan to double confirm or Gigabyte probe software.
as u wish~!!

idle temp with EIST enable (stock speed)

QUOTE(Hyde`fK @ Jul 15 2007, 12:03 PM)
Intel couldnt care less if you overclock with 1.35v or more, they have no ways to check how much vcore you have pumped if to send back for RMA.

@irenic
I see that you sold your Gemini, then can't test anymore, getting what next?
i just bought a new set of wc.. biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by irenic: Jul 15 2007, 12:26 PM
irenic
post Jul 15 2007, 02:37 PM

extr3me n3wbie
7,338 posts

yes this processor is way better than my qxx6700.. at 3.9ghz, got faster super PI 1m...i'm thinking to sell it but coolice doesnt allow me to do so..sad.gif later if i rajin enuff, then i'll install my wc kit.. and see how it performs under water..
irenic
post Jul 16 2007, 05:04 PM

extr3me n3wbie
7,338 posts

now i'm at 4.1ghz... already haha

irenic
post Jul 16 2007, 05:55 PM

extr3me n3wbie
7,338 posts

what u guys mean new price?
irenic
post Jul 18 2007, 01:12 PM

extr3me n3wbie
7,338 posts

yeah it's not logic for sthing to be colder than ambient temperature, but with this GO, few people has prove otherwise biggrin.gif

tonyocz has confirmed the go temperature is very cold..

and there's someone who use gun temperature sensor and it shows the heatsink is colder than his ambient temp..

just imagine, let say u blow a fan to an iron or metal, and then u touch the metal, it should be a little cooler than ur ambient temp.. if u're in ur aircond room, then it will be lot cooler than ur ambient temp.. coz it's metal not plastic or wood..
so imho it's quite logic laugh.gif
irenic
post Jul 20 2007, 12:39 PM

extr3me n3wbie
7,338 posts

i tried orthos 3.6ghz @ stock vcore andn 6hrs + stable.. 3.7ghz @ stock vcore orthos failed after 5hrs 21mins ..

neway this is 3dmark06 @ 4ghz biggrin.gif

irenic
post Jul 21 2007, 03:00 PM

extr3me n3wbie
7,338 posts

why u regret ? then give to me lar hahah
irenic
post Jul 21 2007, 03:04 PM

extr3me n3wbie
7,338 posts

dun have to feel regret lar bro.. u use it for quite some time already..

6 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 >Top

0.0209sec    0.93    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 07:40 PM