Intel® Core(tm)2 Duo/Quad Overclocked Rev. 2, Going beyond factory limits

mikelanding
post Nov 30 2006, 12:28 AM

2,865 posts

QUOTE(prescott @ Nov 30 2006, 12:00 AM)
I think he might talking P5B Deluxe. By the way, mind to share ur OC result for P5B-E Plus?
Ya...post some OC result...lot of good reviesw on this mobo on hitting FSB500. thumbup.gif
prescott
post Nov 30 2006, 01:07 AM

324 posts

QUOTE(mikelanding @ Nov 30 2006, 12:28 AM)
Ya...post some OC result...lot of good reviesw on this mobo on hitting FSB500.  thumbup.gif
Yea yea... would like to know whether the serious vdroop affect the OC capability or not..

Coolice, how does ur E6400 from jetkiat perform? which week?

This post has been edited by prescott: Nov 30 2006, 02:25 AM
c9
post Nov 30 2006, 01:20 AM

5,824 posts

Give Folding@Home a try dude! smile.gif

Run 4 clients simultaneously. At that speed, I'm sure 2K+ average points daily is a piece of cake (with 500+ points per client). Normal P4 would spit out around 200+ points per client, and that's almost equal to the power of 10 P4 machines! wink.gif

P/s: Points are from 600 pointer work unit.

This post has been edited by c9: Nov 30 2006, 01:22 AM
SUSMalaysian
post Nov 30 2006, 09:37 AM

1,651 posts

the cpu enuff or not to beat kasparov in chess?
BeastX
post Nov 30 2006, 12:09 PM

Genomics Revolution; Proud to be a Scientist
5,987 posts

at 3.4GHz kentsfield.. probably score about 50Gflops in theory.. May run 2 kentfileds in distributed computing with 2 DS4 montherboards in the future to reach 100Gflops ...mini supercomputer.

50 to 100 GFLOPS the super computers of the early 1990s.. now 280TFLOPS .. maybe in another 15 years (wawasan 2020)..an average home user will be able to get that amount of processing power.

This post has been edited by BeastX: Nov 30 2006, 02:13 PM
DaRkSyThE
post Nov 30 2006, 02:47 PM

4,809 posts

QUOTE(mikelanding @ Nov 30 2006, 12:28 AM)
Ya...post some OC result...lot of good reviesw on this mobo on hitting FSB500.  thumbup.gif
aooarently almost all the P5b models are doing pretty well with the new bios smile.gif
ddww
post Nov 30 2006, 06:21 PM

~DoDy~
908 posts

QUOTE(DaRkSyThE @ Nov 30 2006, 02:47 PM)
aooarently almost all the P5b models are doing pretty well with the new bios smile.gif
the vdroop problem still exist?
siauann
post Nov 30 2006, 06:23 PM

Music-Movies-Coffee
3,375 posts

QUOTE(coolice @ Nov 29 2006, 11:36 PM)
he is selling at RM670 biggrin.gif
btw..since when got p5b-e deluxe?
ops...my mistakes...i was refering to P5B Deluxe tongue.gif

im oledi got no mood for oc liao...now i start to undervolt..
here's some results...not much to brat about cz i knw a lot can do far more better than this...but im stil goin lower.. tongue.gif

now running @ 400x7 @ 2800 @ 1.30vcore
vdimm 2.0 @ 5-4-4-12 DDR800
vmch +0.1
vfsb +0.1

but acording to ET 5 one screenie shows vcore 1.28 n other one is 1.30 sweat.gif

This post has been edited by siauann: Nov 30 2006, 06:24 PM
king99
post Nov 30 2006, 07:34 PM

1,188 posts

QUOTE(siauann @ Nov 30 2006, 06:23 PM)
ops...my mistakes...i was refering to P5B Deluxe  tongue.gif

im oledi got no mood for oc liao...now i start to undervolt..
here's some results...not much to brat about cz i knw a lot can do far more better than this...but im stil goin lower.. tongue.gif

now running @ 400x7 @ 2800 @ 1.30vcore
vdimm 2.0 @ 5-4-4-12 DDR800
vmch +0.1
vfsb +0.1

but acording to ET 5 one screenie shows vcore 1.28 n other one is 1.30  sweat.gif
Hmm..my overclocked E6300 @ 2.1 GHZ is allready @ 63c load...even with Infinity+ Artic Silver 5...(TAT full load)
siauann
post Nov 30 2006, 07:52 PM

Music-Movies-Coffee
3,375 posts

QUOTE(king99 @ Nov 30 2006, 07:34 PM)
Hmm..my overclocked E6300 @ 2.1 GHZ is allready @ 63c load...even with Infinity+ Artic Silver 5...(TAT full load)
2.1ghz? r u sure o not? mayb ur contact between the proc and the base of the hsf is not 100% contact? infinty shd perform a lot better thn my "lousy" hyper 48 sweat.gif
my load temp is 62-63ºc as shown.. smile.gif
king99
post Nov 30 2006, 08:07 PM

1,188 posts

Yes.2.1GHZ..I just change my thermal paste yesterday,I spread evenly.

When at stock speed it load at 55c but when 2.1GHZ It go 63c....It's this normal ?

This post has been edited by king99: Nov 30 2006, 09:23 PM

toughnut
post Dec 1 2006, 09:21 AM

3,239 posts

does ALL KVR 533mhz can be OC to 900mhz and beyond?

i'm jumping to C2D side this this month rclxms.gif

other component in my list:
1. C2D E6400 (from bulk, probably)
2. Gigabyte DS3 or Asus P5B-E+
3. AC Freezer Pro 7
Limit RM1.7k

any comment or recommendation? wanna OC heavily.
btw, how much is asus p5b-e+?

This post has been edited by toughnut: Dec 1 2006, 09:51 AM
c9
post Dec 1 2006, 11:13 AM

5,824 posts

If you did try distributed computing project (F@M to be precise), do report at F@M sub-forum. I'd love to see the output this "BeastX" can do. smile.gif

This post has been edited by c9: Dec 1 2006, 11:16 AM
mikelanding
post Dec 1 2006, 11:16 AM

2,865 posts

QUOTE(toughnut @ Dec 1 2006, 09:21 AM)
does ALL KVR 533mhz can be OC to 900mhz and beyond?

i'm jumping to C2D side this this month rclxms.gif

other component in my list:
1. C2D E6400 (from bulk, probably)
2. Gigabyte DS3 or Asus P5B-E+
3. AC Freezer Pro 7
Limit RM1.7k

any comment or recommendation? wanna OC heavily.
btw, how much is asus p5b-e+?
6400 is a good budget choice if U want to hit 3.2GHz and beyond.... thumbup.gif
Asus P5BE+ is around Rm670, but is a good board with more chance to hit higher FSB than DS3.
About the KVR, it depend on wat ram chip...famous KVR chip are C4 which can go higher.
Happy OC.....Cheer
ddww
post Dec 1 2006, 12:25 PM

~DoDy~
908 posts

i donno bout you. but for my case, i tried stock voltage at 400x7 all the time. passed orthos 24hrs and mem test and also LOTs of 3D test. but one day, it hang and encounter an auto-restart and all the OC setting return to default. sweat.gif so really no mood to OC anymore. anyone interested in my DS3?
king99
post Dec 1 2006, 02:58 PM

1,188 posts

Well..My Friend's C2D load temp with stock cooler is same with the load temp as my C2D with Infinity....(weird)

mikelanding
post Dec 1 2006, 03:19 PM

2,865 posts

QUOTE(king99 @ Dec 1 2006, 02:58 PM)
Well..My Friend's C2D load temp with stock cooler is same with the load temp as my C2D with Infinity....(weird)
ya...i saw yr temp..is kind of high considering u using 1 of the top cpu cooler...I using Ultra-120. Proc OC to 3.2GHz ...orthos full load around 57C...idle temp around 49C.
I think U better reinstall yr cooler again....and check if yr IHS got concave or not....

P/S: ultra-120 and infinity perform almost same...

This post has been edited by mikelanding: Dec 1 2006, 03:19 PM
siauann
post Dec 1 2006, 06:08 PM

Music-Movies-Coffee
3,375 posts

QUOTE(ddww @ Dec 1 2006, 12:25 PM)

i donno bout you. but for my case, i tried stock voltage at 400x7 all the time. passed orthos 24hrs and mem test and also LOTs of 3D test. but one day, it hang and encounter an auto-restart and all the OC setting return to default. sweat.gif so really no mood to OC anymore. anyone interested in my DS3?
i dunno lar...cz im tired of gaining high oc liao...so decide to undervolt for the fun...
reaching 2.8 wif stock voltage is normal i guess...so i try lowering vcore...
so far running @ 1.28 orthos 18hr ++ now...memory test 9k ++ %..load temps is 60-62ºc smile.gif i discover tat 1.325v and 1.28v temp not much difference sweat.gif
yehlai
post Dec 1 2006, 06:22 PM

tree lover
4,539 posts

Wao spend a lot time for primming.. sweat.gif
I dont have tht kinda patient and time laugh.gif
king99
post Dec 1 2006, 06:40 PM

1,188 posts

QUOTE(mikelanding @ Dec 1 2006, 03:19 PM)
ya...i saw yr temp..is kind of high considering u using 1 of the top cpu cooler...I using Ultra-120. Proc OC to 3.2GHz ...orthos full load around 57C...idle temp around 49C.
I think U better reinstall yr cooler again....and check if yr IHS got concave or not....

P/S: ultra-120 and infinity perform almost same...
I've tried everything.....could be the senser problem ?

131 Pages « < 10 11 12 13 14 > » Top

0.0244sec    0.35    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 11:36 AM