cherroy
post Jul 8 2016, 12:19 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Jul 8 2016, 11:45 AM)
well, i am not so sure you are right.

if bnm cut rates, there are consequences on bonds, fx, swap rates, reserves, etc.

it is not possible normal banks can continue to do their own thing while major changes happen as a result of central bank action.
i'm not a banker and not a serious borrower, so i don't really know.

we need a knowledgeable banker here to answer this. anyone?
Cost of funding for banks will lower across when OPR being cut.

Banks can issue bond at lower rate to get funding, instead of getting through FD promo.

So FD rate or FD promo rate will also go down when OPR is lowered.

Having said that, I do not think there is urgency need to have a cut in OPR at the moment, as the economy although is growing at slower pace, it is dipping into recession trend.
There are still lot of uncertainty factors.

While household debt is still at elevated level, further cut in OPR that may boost house debt further is not something too healthy to see.

Also, it may weak RM vs USD further, which may cause problem for inflation front as well.

Rate cut is like central bank's ammunition, you only use it if really need to.
Use it too early or at the wrong time, it may not effective.

There is still room for SRR cut if bank short of liquidity (that prompt to higher FD promo rate), before the need of rate cut.
We have seen how FD promo trending lower, after BNM lowered SRR in the beginning of the year.
cherroy
post Jul 8 2016, 02:27 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Jul 8 2016, 01:36 PM)
banks can go bankrupt for all sorts of reasons. but that is not the question.

the question is whether banks need to follow bnm rate cuts or hikes by banking rules.

or they can stick to their own lending and deposit rates?

answer seems very hard to find! biggrin.gif
There is no fixed rule that banks need to follow BNM rates, as long as not exceeding the ceiling rate, last time, yes, there is fixed BLR.

But when cost of funding is lowered across, if a bank is still stick to higher lending rate and higher deposit rate, then you will see depositors flock to the bank, while borrowers shy away from the particular bank, which in the end of the day, bank lose out in term of revenue, and higher cost of funding, which make the bank non-profitable.

Unless there is only one banks which is monopoly the market, then may be the bank can stick to own lending and deposit rate at their wish and ignore the

It is just like ordinary business competition out there,, if you do not follow the "market price, you may loose out business.

This post has been edited by cherroy: Jul 8 2016, 02:28 PM
cherroy
post Jul 14 2016, 10:25 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(prophetjul @ Jul 14 2016, 08:43 AM)
i don't get this.

Cut rates and MYR goes north?
There are plenty of foreign inflow into MGS lately, which is the main reason of RM strength as shown in foreign ownership of MGS going up.

MGS yield is attractive for foreigner investors especially those come from negative yield one, and with rate cut, they stand a chance to make a capital gain as well on top of the yield.

cherroy
post Nov 25 2016, 10:19 PM

25,802 posts

This is not kopitiam area, so please refrain of posting /k type of post.
Please head to kopitiam section for those purpose.

Also, forum place is not for any personal confrontation.

This post has been edited by cherroy: Nov 25 2016, 10:20 PM
cherroy
post Dec 2 2016, 09:53 PM

25,802 posts

Please only post finance aspect of RM issue.

Ty.
cherroy
post Dec 3 2016, 09:24 PM

25,802 posts

There is no problem to TT money to overseas.
There is no problem of FDI to go in and out.

The restriction is localized with the restriction to borrow RM to invest overseas.
No borrow to invest, no restriction.

While if a company or individual able to secure a loan at overseas instead of RM (eg, buy shares or property in SG, and borrow in Sgd with SG banks), then the company/individual still can invest abroad.

This move actually has its merit as well.

While for exporter to repatriate money back, I see it is a move to "deepen" and enhance the local hedging liquidity onshore in order to lessen the impact of offshore NDF which can be quite speculative and influenced by big money movement.

Onshore- at least BNM has an eye on it, and easily can identify the transaction is indeed business hedging or what is really needed for business and economy, and BNM can easily tweak or supply the market with liquidity.

Offshore - no control, big speculative money can simply bet to make a money out of it.

There is one recent news about RM and banks.
https://www.bloomberg.com/news/articles/201...-malaysia-rates

This post has been edited by cherroy: Dec 3 2016, 09:52 PM
cherroy
post Dec 4 2016, 11:38 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(Hansel @ Dec 4 2016, 10:51 PM)
Well,.. now you are saying you do not have a crystal ball, but earlier you said there is not going to be stricter rules of capital control in the foreseeable future. You have started to contradict yourself even before the days start to go by. Why back down so fast ?

All that I have said earlier have been blanketed by my two main sentences, which I have also included into my signature at the bottom of my posting space. So,.. please do not harp again and again, and repeat unnecessarily what you have said of me earlier. Since you used the word allegation in your first 'hit' against me, I have been respectful enough to you to include those two sentences.

I will respect all who put in their opinions and comments, NOT only the ones from you. So, I have put in a caveat into my earlier postings, what else do you wish me to do ? You are the admin, if you don't like those postings, you know very well what to do with your keyboard. You do not need to repeat what you have indicated to me earlier.

You are OT'ing unnecessarily by repeating what I have adjusted !

It is a critical juncture for investors between : the door is closing and the door has closed. You are of the opinion that everything is fine, and with no possibility of further 'closures'. You kept telling the forummers that the central bank's steps are still mild, and not too bad. You kept telling the forummers that things were very much worse back in 1998, and things are better today.

I, on the other hand, am giving the forummers an alternative view. Then, this afternoon, you called my postings as allegations,.. sure, I respect that, hence I put in two sentences to be 'fair to the readers'.

I am relaying this message to the forummers : act first in preparation BEFORE the full closure comes, should it come. No point to delay and suddenly if it comes, regret why mitigation steps were never taken earlier. Events have happened once back in 1997/8, how would we know that such events will not repeat this time ? Anyway, forummers reading my posts are free to do what they think they should or should not do, even before I put in those two sentences.

By the way, what's wrong with taking quicker steps to take up some investments outside, as a form of diversification, even if the full closure does not come ? What's wrong with taking quicker steps to invest in a stronger currency outside ? What's wrong with doing all the above now since the motivation is there, seeing all these events taking place now ?

Now's the time to do so, since,... as you said, there is NO capital control in place, and if we follow the rules and provide the proper docs, it should not be a problem to TT out. If not to do now, then wait till when ??

Till the events of 1998 appear again ? Or,.. to trust what you said that 1998 will definitely not come again,.. and we don't have to do anything at all forever....

My point of view,...you can choose to do what you wished to !
As mentioned before, my pov is that if central banks want to impost capital control, it won't start with miniature move, it will be a blanket control.
You want to have control and plug the leak, you stop at the source and big tap, just like what had happened during 1998.
By stopping the small "tap" by only imposing restriction on borrowing to invest abroad, while no limit with no borrowing, is not a blanket capital control.

As mentioned before, one can opine the door may be closing soon, no problem, this is one's opinion,
but posting statement of "please move money quickly as can't even transfer fund out anymore" is a serious statement made.

QUOTE(Hansel @ Dec 3 2016, 01:51 PM)
Hence,... forummers,... [B]please move quicker before you can't even transfer funds out anymor[/b]e,....
I don't think you get the message I want to raise. My message is simple.
There is no capital control in place currently, except 75% of exporter proceed issue.
There is no capital control in place for forseeable future, because I see the move is miniature, it really want to have capital control, it won't be like that, but start with a "bang" one just like what happened in 1998.
I may be wrong, this is my opinion, but I won't tell people should or shouldn't invest abroad.

I do not speculate what will be happening, nor saying 1998 crisis will or will not repeat.
I do not say thing is better or worst than 1998.
I just pointed out real example how capital control was imposed, not guessing or speculating.

Moving money abroad now due to speculating the door is closing is not a preparation but a speculating and panicking move.
Making investment decision is not through speculating whatever event may occur.

As mentioned before, this is a finance section not /k section, we expect forumer to post serious and more responsible statement definitely not this kind of statement. smile.gif
We just do not want to see any uninformed forumer seeing this statement then thinking capital control is or will be definitely in place and asking, they cannot TT money out now? money locked in local bank? etc. <-- we already have some kind of similar posts.

As mentioned I do not have crystal ball, if the door is opening now, I said it is opening.
When the door is closed, then I said the door is closed.

Not all investment abroad are sound one, taking Lehman mini-bond as example. One is way better off with local good stocks or even FD vs the bond.
So please do not panic and rush in making any investment decision merely based on speculating the capital control must be in place or not.

cherroy
post Dec 5 2016, 03:09 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(aspartame @ Dec 5 2016, 01:57 PM)
It is not in BNM interest for RM to strengthen. They are satisfied with a stable and undervalued RM at 4.45.
As long as RM is stable, it is unlikely that BNM will introduce more measures. Their objective is achieved. They are not stupid to push RM upwards only for speculators to sell more RM to them at higher prices. At current prices, sellers of RM are selling at undervalued levels and I think the longer RM stays at this level, the more exhausted sellers of RM will be. After speculating interest die down, RM will then strengthen.
Yup,
Remember there was a time, everyone is in the race for devalue their money to boost economy.

Current economy situation doesn't allow currency to strengthen too much, it hurts competitiveness, even for the like Japan, they also need weak Yen to boost their economy. When Yen appreciated too much, we can see many corporate top and bottom line are hurting as well.

It is about a stable currency level, not about push up or down the currency.
Either way of drastic movement has its consequences.

cherroy
post Dec 5 2016, 04:20 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(Hansel @ Dec 5 2016, 03:33 PM)
smile.gif Well,... I think for exporters, it used to be good when they were collecting their payments in USD and no need to convert back 75% of the proceeds into the RM,... I'm quite sure many exporters would feel differently for whatever they export from today onwards,... biggrin.gif

Still,... okay, got 3.25% 'FD interest' for their converted USDs into the RM, but till end-December only !  biggrin.gif
Till end of Dec 2017

For pure local exporter, convert back 75% won't pose much problem extra and 3.25% may a good incentive to convert back, but those intermediate exporter may need to apply for much lesser than 75% from BNM, as they need USD proceed to pay the import purchase bill, so if the measure is adopted in flexible way based on needs of exporters, there shouldn't be too much problem except previously they can keep USD, now become RM.

While exporter still can change back to USD to invest abroad after that.

This move seems that BNM just doesn't want USD export proceed floating around in the offshore market, which is one of the source NDF existence.
So the main target of this move is NDF.

cherroy
post Dec 5 2016, 04:22 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(wil-i-am @ Dec 5 2016, 03:59 PM)
In fact, special int rate @ 3.25% pa is until 31/12/2017
In addition they r silent on d tax treatment in respect of tis int income
Tax treatment is in the hand of LHDN, they may need to communicate with LHDN, so I believe there will be further clarification needed.
cherroy
post Dec 5 2016, 04:55 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(TOMEI-R @ Dec 5 2016, 04:39 PM)
Yes. I can agree on that. But for how long more or will the sellers be exhausted..?
The financial market is money driven, when there is no easy money can be made, speculative money will shy away itself, whatever left is the real demand and supply.

It didn't make sense for "actual" seller to sell RM at 4.50 offshore, when it can be done onshore with 4.35 (during the gap between NDF and onshore rate opened up time)

cherroy
post Dec 5 2016, 05:59 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(Showtime747 @ Dec 5 2016, 05:14 PM)
You guys talk about the details of forex machanism. And those technical stuff + economic theories.

Whereas the most important part which affect the value of RM is ignored ---> confidence

Why RM devalue so much compare to other regional currencies in such a short time is about the lack of confidence.

You can put 101 rules in how to manage the RM. But when people has no confidence, even 1001 rules also no use...

Just ask the aunties in the morning wet market. They also will change their RM into SGD and USD...They komplot and go to midvalley and queue at the centre court. Each person queue one line.... biggrin.gif
That's why BNM needs to act to stablise the situation.

No one will have confidence if a currency, stocks or whatever is free fall situation.
Eg. if a stock is dropping a cent or two, investors won't bother.
But if a stock is dropping 20 cents, 40 cents consecutive each day, even the hardcore followers also will question the stocks.

When a financial target is in free fall situation, punters and voucher of financial market loves it as it is an easy meat to chew on.
There are plenty of financial big boy that punt on trend to make big money.
Look at how oil price shoot to the sky, despite there was no shortage of oil even at USD140,
and look at how punters short the oil market until it breached USD30 mark. Punter long and short the market based on market trend and herding situation.

Herding behaviour can send price sky rocketing as well as freefalling, that's why I said we need to post responsible in the forum, and not spreading any unfounded rumour as it can induce herding situation. smile.gif

Financial market, banking system is built on confidence, not gold. tongue.gif
When confidence is lost, you will have problem, just like what happened during 2008 global financial crisis. The crisis mainly because investors lose confidence on banks, due to worry of subprime mess, and interbank leading freezing that leading to liquidity crunch.

You can't built confidence without some stablisation factor.
The peg of 3.80 back worked well, because it stablise the chaotic situation back then, by a stable exchange rate. Businesses don't like flying up and down rate, as it makes business more difficult actually, although it may result in huge gain, if exchange rate become favourable. But don't forget it can make huge loss if it is in reverse situation. Businesses just interested to make a profit through selling product, not to punt on exchange rate.

What we need now is a stable exchange rate, not up or down few% each day.

No doubt RM fundamental especially in term of foreign currency reserves and fiscal deficit may not as rosy compared to others, but there is also no doubt highly speculation factor is adding fuel on the fire.
cherroy
post Dec 5 2016, 06:03 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(Hansel @ Dec 5 2016, 05:36 PM)
Yeah,... this makes sense.

I believed I too have said something similar of the above,... we can talk all abt econ theories, investors' psyche, academic equations, etc,... but end of day, I am still losing my purchasing power in my RM. And I continue to lose this as the years go by !!!!!!!!!!

So,... after this round,.. even the aunties know better that they should convert as soon as possible and hold other currencies. Not to wait and analyse anymore onto subjects like if things are bad this time, or worse earlier, and how are the signs this time,...
Holding other currencies is not a good way to hedge inflation or protect purchasing power.

Inflation is everywhere and part of parcel of modern financial system, no doubt with a weaker RM, it hurts more than others.

A simple example would be investing in exporter will able to hedge the inflation as well as weak RM.

Investors those invested in those stocks, has gain handsomely over the year, it is not only protect the purchasing power, but also enhancing it, even though it is a RM denominated asset.

cherroy
post Dec 5 2016, 09:57 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(Showtime747 @ Dec 5 2016, 07:25 PM)
2 option :

1. Buying shares in foreign currency with high dividend yield counters and bank instruments
2. Buying shares in RM with high dividend yield counters (including export counters) and bank instruments

In the past 1.5 years, in RM terms, #1 gives me ~23% return. #2 only ~6%

Definitely #1 is a better hedge against inflation and preserving purchasing power
I have more mixed result between the 2, with time frame of 7-10 years.

1. Some foreign denominated asset still making a loss or at par only. (even after converting to weak RM). While some indeed magnificent gain.
2. Definitely more than 6% pa within this time frame.

Fundamentally, the most important is the underlying asset that able to protect the purchasing power.
Bought wrong foreign shares in foreign currencies, result can be worst as well. eg. airline stocks, O&G stocks etc.

There are plenty of avenue to hedge a weak RM, not necessary must through foreign share with foreign currencies.
There are also local feeder funds that feed into overseas fund/asset, they also gain from weak RM similar to (1), just in a indirect way.

cherroy
post Dec 6 2016, 07:51 AM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(Hansel @ Dec 6 2016, 07:19 AM)
Yes, it will be a good step,.. and if bro AV can get : 15% net over 2 years in RM terms,.. I think can cover the normal inflation, staying in the city.

However,... comparing against an earlier method quoted by another forummer who recommended investing in Msian export counters to hedge against inflation,.. then cannot meet normal inflation if staying in the city.
The exporter share price rise more than 30% over the last 2~3 year time frame

Ok, I get the logic message is
people invested in local exporter in RM that gain 30% in RM cannot cover inflation,
while the 15% gain in RM by converting to SGD can cover. biggrin.gif

Whatever RM is bad, invested in gold in RM also cannot cover inflation.
Everything must convert.... bruce.gif biggrin.gif

The 15% gain, the net gain is 9%, as there is a yield spread of 3.5% pa. of RM
Same with exporter share price, gain, net gain achieved is 23% due to opportunity yield.

cherroy
post Dec 6 2016, 03:20 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(Hansel @ Dec 6 2016, 08:08 AM)
Well, since you replied me and are willingly doing so,.. okay-lar,..  biggrin.gif

People who convert into the SGD should not be laying their funds in cash only, as you assumed earlier, come on, bro....

At least now we have a figure. With a figure of an exporter share rice rising over 30% in the last two or three years can easily be beaten with SG REITs and instruments,.... biggrin.gif,.... but it's good if an Msian exporter share can oerform like that. If you wish to be helpful, please tell us the counter.

Of course, must convert,.. if don't convert, how to spend in Msia ??  biggrin.gif  Unless one intends to spend overseas, and perhaps intend to enjoy a life overseas in future, or for the children to study overseas, of course, must convert back to use in MY. That is the whole point of this discussion, right ?

Who asked yu to change at the money-changer ?  biggrin.gif  biggrin.gif  One of the skills involved in investing overseas si also to know :-

1) All the most effective mechanisms to convert your funds in and out.

On top of taxation in the different countries, which I have talked about earlier,....

Tell me : why would you not want to diversify your currency holdings into other currencies if you are already earning the RM in this country ? Tell me without saying that we should, but the way I did it earlier was an allegation,...  smile.gif
Diversification is long time championed by me.
It is just I highlighted there are avenue locally, or RM denominated that one can hedge upon RM weakness as well, not necessary must convert
Eg.
Invest in Carlsberg Malaysia, one has exposure to SGD.
Invest in Ytlreit, one has exposure to Aud.
Invest in glove company, one has exposure to USD.
Money put in local bank gold saving account in RM, one has exposure to USD (set aside the gold price fluctuation issue)

I never say one shouldn't invest abroad nor I am championing RM.

In fact I like SG reit and SG banking stock very much at current point.

This is what I am highlighting about, not to say RM asset is better than others nor to say shouldn't convert. smile.gif

The fact is those stocks does hedge us against RM weakness and protecting our purchasing power in the process as well.

cherroy
post Dec 6 2016, 03:54 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(Hansel @ Dec 6 2016, 03:44 PM)
This one I didn't study,... The nearest to this would be my exposure in high-yield bond funds denominated in the AUD,... invested in fund houses in Sgp.. I do directly into the country itself,....
If treasuries keep on rising, bond may be a place to avoid temporary.

Aud interest rate is at historically low.
cherroy
post Dec 6 2016, 04:31 PM

25,802 posts

Since the BNM new measure, RM vs USD is moving in very tight range in the region of 4.44xx to 4.45xx
cherroy
post Dec 6 2016, 05:26 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(kopifan @ Dec 6 2016, 05:23 PM)
Imaging if some exporters need > 25% FX to pay for FX-denominated costs, and the FX movements not in their favor during the USD-MYR and MYR-USD exchange hmm.gif
BNM does allow them to hedge onshore, this what BNM intended for.
cherroy
post Dec 6 2016, 05:56 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(prophetjul @ Dec 6 2016, 05:46 PM)
i thought when interest rates rise, REITs tend to tank?
Yes, just like how SGreit is tanking recently.

0.0245sec    0.41    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 07:50 PM