155 Pages « < 121 122 123 124 125 > » Bottom

USD/MYR v4

TSwil-i-am
post Nov 25 2016, 09:25 PM

10,001 posts

QUOTE(aromachong @ Nov 25 2016, 09:24 PM)
I'd suggest it has nothing to do with MOF ..problem.l is my having weak fundemental foundation

If u are building a house and having weak foundation and slabs it will collapse anytime prior warning
Our Govt will reply owners have householder insurance to cover tongue.gif
aromachong
post Nov 25 2016, 09:26 PM

Trade Dispute
2,644 posts

QUOTE(wil-i-am @ Nov 25 2016, 09:25 PM)
Our Govt will reply owners have householder insurance to cover  tongue.gif
Yet they still make loss because insurance won't cover you and pay you in full hehe

So still not a profit business ,no?
TSwil-i-am
post Nov 25 2016, 09:27 PM

10,001 posts

10 years MGS yield is at all time High of 4.43% today cry.gif
Despite the high yield, it doesn't entice foreign investors to stay
TSwil-i-am
post Nov 25 2016, 09:29 PM

10,001 posts

QUOTE(aromachong @ Nov 25 2016, 09:26 PM)
Yet they still make loss because insurance won't cover you and pay you in full hehe

So still not a profit business ,no?
Those stay in landed properties shld b fine
For those stay in highrise bldg, I wish them gud luck
aromachong
post Nov 25 2016, 09:31 PM

Trade Dispute
2,644 posts

QUOTE(wil-i-am @ Nov 25 2016, 09:29 PM)
Those stay in landed properties shld b fine
For those stay in highrise bldg, I wish them gud luck
I only can wish gd luck to my

Expect miracle to happens but it's nearly to impossible
TSwil-i-am
post Nov 25 2016, 09:35 PM

10,001 posts

QUOTE(aromachong @ Nov 25 2016, 09:31 PM)
I only can wish gd luck to my

Expect miracle to happens but it's nearly to impossible
Perhaps they shld consider to invite Tom Cruise for next version of Mission Impossible tongue.gif
TSwil-i-am
post Nov 25 2016, 10:18 PM

10,001 posts

Dollar Pares Weekly Gain as Gold Rebounds; S&P 500 Futures Rise
https://www.bloomberg.com/news/articles/201...emerging-assets

A dead cat bounce or real U-Turn hmm.gif
cherroy
post Nov 25 2016, 10:19 PM

25,802 posts

This is not kopitiam area, so please refrain of posting /k type of post.
Please head to kopitiam section for those purpose.

Also, forum place is not for any personal confrontation.

This post has been edited by cherroy: Nov 25 2016, 10:20 PM
NIckLJF
post Nov 26 2016, 11:23 AM

Lost Stars
923 posts

Guys have a question. I am currently working overseas earning in USD. I convert USD back to MYR on a monthly basis to pay my bills and house back in MY (exchange from money changers in Malaysia). Here, I only spend salary on basic necessities while I have on going home loans, insurances and commitments back in Malaysia.

In your opinion, should I:
1) Convert USD to MYR and put in FD/savings in Malaysia considering the high exchange rate now or,
2) Save here in USD as the rates are higher (especially FD).

The next round where I will require substantial amount of MYR will be during CNY 2017.

Thanks in advance for your advise!
AVFAN
post Nov 26 2016, 12:50 PM

24,453 posts

QUOTE(NIckLJF @ Nov 26 2016, 11:23 AM)
Guys have a question. I am currently working overseas earning in USD. I convert USD back to MYR on a monthly basis to pay my bills and house back in MY (exchange from money changers in Malaysia). Here, I only spend salary on basic necessities while I have on going home loans, insurances and commitments back in Malaysia.

In your opinion, should I:
1) Convert USD to MYR and put in FD/savings in Malaysia considering the high exchange rate now or,
2) Save here in USD as the rates are higher (especially FD).

The next round where I will require substantial amount of MYR will be during CNY 2017.

Thanks in advance for your advise!
it will depend on what is yr view of the USD-RM in the coming 1 month, 3 months, 1 yr, 3 years.

u can try reading up, what others say, what analysts say.

plenty of comments and links right in this thread! biggrin.gif

as mentioned earlier, all these are just predictions, impt thing is your own conclusion/decision.

still, if u r earning $ and spending RM continuously, no big harm buying enough RM for say 3 months usage at a time. even if u lose, it is the 3 months amount.

AVFAN
post Nov 26 2016, 01:04 PM

24,453 posts

original article:
http://www.bloomberg.com/news/articles/201...come-out-on-top

a commentary below. DEBT is the problem.

M'sia fares worst in reserves to debt deficit - report
ringgit banknegara
1 comments    Published Today 12:28 pm    Updated Today 12:49 pm

Malaysia ranks worst in terms of its deficit of foreign currency reserves compared to external debts, leaving it the most vulnerable to currency attacks and capital outflows.

Bloomberg yesterday reported that a study of International Monetary Fund's (IMF) measure of the buffer between foreign reserves and debt showed Malaysia in the weakest position, with Turkey, South Africa and Mexico close behind.

"The measure shows Malaysia - not coincidentally the worst performing of the major emerging Asian currencies against the dollar this month - faring poorly by comparison, with a US$100 billion reserves projection against short-term external debt of US$128.2 billion, based on IMF estimates," it said.

The gauge helps identify which countries have the strongest buffers against capital outflows toward developed markets as US interest rates are poised to keep climbing following US president-elect Donald Trump's electoral victory.

“Malaysia and Turkey are classic example of countries whose reserve levels are falling to a critical level in comparison with the amount of their short-term external debt.

"When the overall market trend is down, investors are looking for who is more vulnerable and weak reserve position is also highlighted,” Bloomberg quoted Takahide Irimura, an economist at Mitsubishi UFJ Kokusai Asset Management Co, saying.

Meanwhile Tsutomu Soma, general manager of fixed-income department in Tokyo at SBI Securities Co, said countries with a poor buffer will face greater risk of attacks.

“In this broad trend of the dollar strength - or emerging-market currency weakness - the currencies of countries that have plenty of reserves will probably perform better than others.

“You don’t attack the currency when you know the monetary authorities have plenty of money to intervene.

"Instead, you look for a currency that has less ability to defend it,” he was reported saying.

Malaysia’s reserves are well down from a May 2013 high, said Khoon Goh, head of Asia research at Australia & New Zealand Banking Group Ltd in Singapore, and the slimmer adequacy ratio "limits the ability for Bank Negara to intervene".

While Bank Negara insists its foreign currency reserves are at a "comfortable level", the ringgit has continued its slide down to 4.458 to the US dollar yesterday.

Depleting reserves across Asia

The measure developed by the IMF showed Thailand and the Philippines may be best placed to withstand further downward pressure on the emerging currencies in Asia, said Bloomberg.

Called the 'assessing reserve adequacy' gauge, it incorporates criteria from short-term debt to money supply, imports and investment flows.

It is based on calculations taken before the "Trump-induced US reflation play roiled the foreign-exchange market".

IMF forecast last month Thailand’s reserves were at US$163.3 billion at year-end, compared with the $64.9 billion needed, while the Philippines reserves were at $84 billion against a US$31 billion need.

However Bloomberg noted Asian countries have been using their reserves to "prevent disorderly declines, likely making the IMF’s year-end projections unattainable".

Read more: https://www.malaysiakini.com/news/364248#ixzz4R5VXs0Ff

BboyDora
post Nov 26 2016, 05:03 PM

2,361 posts

As a helpless citizens here, what else can we do?
I have park small amount of asset in SG Dollar but large portions still in RM. cry.gif cry.gif
Things is getting worse it seem

I just back from Taiwan and I visited there 5 years ago as well. Their price for food and things still the same!! even an ordinary country still have good economy compare to us.

icemanfx
post Nov 26 2016, 06:02 PM

21,456 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Nov 26 2016, 01:04 PM)
“Malaysia and Turkey are classic example of countries whose reserve levels are falling to a critical level in comparison with the amount of their short-term external debt.

http://www.bloomberg.com/news/articles/201...come-out-on-top
If Bnm audit found local bank extend facility to a company that short term liability is higher than assets would receive a dress down.

Guess this is what they say "what goes around, comes around'.

This post has been edited by icemanfx: Nov 26 2016, 06:10 PM
kit2
post Nov 26 2016, 06:38 PM

2,278 posts

QUOTE(BboyDora @ Nov 26 2016, 05:03 PM)
As a helpless citizens here, what else can we do?
I have park small amount of asset in SG Dollar but large portions still in RM.  cry.gif  cry.gif
Things is getting worse it seem

I just back from Taiwan and I visited there 5 years ago as well. Their price for food and things still the same!! even an ordinary country still have good economy compare to us.
the bus fare in taipei remains the same at nt$15 for at least the past 15 years.
langstrasse
post Nov 26 2016, 11:18 PM

~ Have a Vice day ~
1,588 posts

QUOTE(icemanfx @ Nov 26 2016, 06:02 PM)
If Bnm audit found local bank extend facility to a company that short term liability is higher than assets would receive a dress down.

Guess this is what they say "what goes around, comes around'.
Is there a way for the government to quickly raise the reserves level ?
aspartame
post Nov 26 2016, 11:21 PM

3,165 posts

QUOTE(kit2 @ Nov 26 2016, 06:38 PM)
the bus fare in taipei remains the same at nt$15 for at least the past 15 years.
That is not a good thing.
TSwil-i-am
post Nov 27 2016, 12:10 AM

10,001 posts

QUOTE(langstrasse @ Nov 26 2016, 11:18 PM)
Is there a way for the government to quickly raise the reserves level ?
Yes, by giving instruction to all GLCs to repatriate all USD investments outside M'sia back to home
TSwil-i-am
post Nov 27 2016, 12:35 AM

10,001 posts

Trading in Ringgit to remain volatile next week
http://www.nst.com.my/news/2016/11/192025/...atile-next-week

Any possibility to touch 4.50 by next week?
nexona88
post Nov 27 2016, 12:40 AM

The Royal Club Member
48,426 posts

QUOTE(kit2 @ Nov 26 2016, 06:38 PM)
Ours bus fare also maintain for years right.. I think already like 10 years like that hmm.gif
nexona88
post Nov 27 2016, 12:51 AM

The Royal Club Member
48,426 posts

If the same situation goes on, we can expect 5.00 as soon as end of this month cry.gif

155 Pages « < 121 122 123 124 125 > » Top

0.0276sec    0.45    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 05:57 AM