Tires Discussion Thread V3

chikuera
post Jan 8 2017, 04:00 PM

Nora Bagi 4 Stars!!
749 posts

I've been looking around and found Dunlop D05 is quite an all rounder tire and I like it. Too bad it doesnt come in 14".

Anyone can recommend a similar tire like D05? Mine is 175/65R14
chikuera
post Oct 22 2017, 07:05 PM

Nora Bagi 4 Stars!!
749 posts

Guys, looking to change tire soon..40k already on stock (silvestone m3)

any recommended tire for this size = 175/65/r14?

for comfort (low nvh) driving, long usage

btw, my car is IRIZ 1.3. Currently leaning towards Dunlop J5. Is this tire any good?
chikuera
post Oct 23 2017, 02:08 PM

Nora Bagi 4 Stars!!
749 posts

QUOTE(khairilyazit @ Oct 22 2017, 10:55 PM)
For comfort, small.sizes.. definitely Continental ComfortContact 6..
using cc5 on almera (stock tire) and it is quiet..

QUOTE(leehernandez @ Oct 23 2017, 11:12 AM)
j5 is good enough.better than silverstone a lot.haha
true..silverstone probably the worst lol
chikuera
post Oct 24 2017, 01:51 PM

Nora Bagi 4 Stars!!
749 posts

QUOTE(khairilyazit @ Oct 23 2017, 02:12 PM)
Cc6 is quiet too..
But dont last long on my iriz.. i doubt any tyre would.. approaching 20k km.. and i feel it wiggling in the rain.. or maybe i was going too fast..
not suitable for spirited driver like you tongue.gif
chikuera
post Sep 27 2020, 07:19 PM

Nora Bagi 4 Stars!!
749 posts

Hi guys. Planning to change from 195/55R15 to 195/65R15?

Googling around found less choice for 195/65R15.

XM2+ quite expensive around 180-2xx per piece
Dunlop SP J5 quite cheap. Ok or not?

All in all, looking for all rounder tires
chikuera
post Sep 28 2020, 08:37 AM

Nora Bagi 4 Stars!!
749 posts

QUOTE(6UE5T @ Sep 27 2020, 11:13 PM)
Why want to change to much bigger size? What's the car?
It's Proton Iriz.

Somehow now interested with beefy look with thick sidewall. Probably because the SUV trend 🤭
chikuera
post Sep 28 2020, 01:36 PM

Nora Bagi 4 Stars!!
749 posts

QUOTE(6UE5T @ Sep 28 2020, 09:18 AM)
You cannot increase tire size like that! It's 4cm larger diameter or almost 7% larger already. You will have clearance problem with the fenders, bad acceleration and fuel consumption,  poor handling and even worsening braking distance. You should always try maintain about the same diameter.
Really? 🥺

The stock ones were 175/65R14. Changed to 195/55R15. Tbh that you mentioned it, felt bit heavier after changed 🤔

Should i change to 185/65R15 instead?
chikuera
post Sep 28 2020, 09:49 PM

Nora Bagi 4 Stars!!
749 posts

QUOTE(6UE5T @ Sep 28 2020, 02:48 PM)
Cannot, actually 195/55/15 is already 1.7% larger than your stock size. Ideally you should only use 185/55/15.
Hm i think it's harder to find 185/55R15.
chikuera
post Sep 28 2020, 10:42 PM

Nora Bagi 4 Stars!!
749 posts

QUOTE(VeeJay @ Sep 28 2020, 10:30 PM)
Like Guest and other members had mentioned, personally I wont change beyond stock rim measurement.

Upsizing tire bring alot of downside to the practice. First of all, you are making your car heavier, hence higher fuel consumption.

Second, your car is aligned and tuned to run that particular size, now by upsizing you are incurring further stress to the suspension system, spring, bushes, dampers, rods, etc.

Thirdly you your odometer is not going to shows correct speed readings as well, since its not calibrated for the new sizing.

Im not saying dont upsize, do it if you understand the mechanics and with proper accessories as mentioned above, goes together with the upgrade

If you want stability, just use wider tire, that should be sufficient. Just my two cents  icon_rolleyes.gif
Thanks bro. Since Iriz come with both 14 tire (1.3l engine) and 15 (1.6l engine) i believe it is tuned to cater both size. No point to have a model designed for specific tire size, this is a low price car summore.

But i admit after changing to 15, it feels bit heavier and hungrier for fuel 🤭

There is no turning back since I already changed to 15 almost 2 years now
chikuera
post Sep 29 2020, 10:54 PM

Nora Bagi 4 Stars!!
749 posts

QUOTE(6UE5T @ Sep 29 2020, 10:45 AM)
You feel heavier because of more unsprung weight (bigger rims, bigger tires usually bigger weight unless you buy much lighter rims), bigger rolling diameter, and wider tread.
Like I said depends on car size. For example my Mark X is best with 18 coz can still use tires with around 10-10.5cm sidewall height but my Evo is best with 17 coz with 18 the sidewall becomes too thin (less than 9.5cm). For me personally the best is to maintain around 9.8-11cm sidewall height for best balance of dry/wet performance and comfort. Anything thinner than that becomes a bit too harsh, anything taller than 11cm will feel more wobbly.
Thanks man. Probably gonna change to 185/55R15

Selection either Dunlop D06 or Toyo TR1

Currently using kumho ps31 very noisy, grip wet and dry not bad..
chikuera
post Oct 1 2020, 05:41 PM

Nora Bagi 4 Stars!!
749 posts

QUOTE(6UE5T @ Sep 29 2020, 10:58 PM)
Get PS3 much better.
QUOTE(cyapd @ Sep 30 2020, 02:42 PM)
Personally PS3 and TR1 I can’t feel any obvious superiority from the former. If PS4 then yes it’s much better but too bad PS4 is unavailable for that size. At the end of the day it’s a normal passenger car, it’s not like we will be running wild with it. Occasionally climb up genting, those donuts are more than enough to provide proper safety.
QUOTE(dwRK @ Sep 30 2020, 04:07 PM)
imho it's like insurance lah... we normally using maybe 50-60% of tyre's capacity jer... but then suddenly need emergency brake, or heavy rain big puddle... a better tyre always preferred

when I drive fast am alert and prepare exit plan... but cruising time almost always daydream...this is the time easy get in trouble

edit: just ranting in general... not tr1 vs ps3
ps3 still too expensive for me. TR1 look around can get 178/pc. PS3 macam hard to get 185/55R15 size.

chikuera
post Oct 3 2020, 11:31 AM

Nora Bagi 4 Stars!!
749 posts

QUOTE(dwRK @ Oct 1 2020, 10:27 PM)
am using 205/55/16 ps3... to me nothing special because I've never push it to the limit...use like normal tire... wear quite fast, now hard n noisy... I won't buy again because don't need all the "power"

99% of people will recommend ps3 because it's about the best dry n wet grip tyre...hard to go wrong, but not always necessary... so to me more than ok to skip

tr1 don't understand the pattern especially asymmetric tyre... looks awesome but I'll pass

currently I'm very impressed with budget kinergy eco2 on 185/60/15 for dry handling and grip...but it's only so so when wet...if you're a careful and sensible driver...a lot of tyres you can choose
i guess i am a sensible driver..only hard cornering sometime only..no touge

0.0526sec    0.94    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 02:26 PM