SUSceo684
post Jun 17 2020, 10:41 PM

Component Burner
11,667 posts

QUOTE(ayamxxx @ Jun 17 2020, 09:32 PM)
Same here. Ps4 right?
Looks like severe peeling as compared to my 0% PS3 (reached TWI)

SUSceo684
post Jun 28 2020, 12:11 PM

Component Burner
11,667 posts

QUOTE(arju @ Jun 23 2020, 11:39 AM)
hi guys, which tire recommends . priority quiet and wear tear. mid range type for saga facelift
toyo nano3
hancook kninergy eco2
bridgestone ep150/300
yokohama E32

tqvm all sifu for help
toyo NE03 or yokohama ES32
eco tyre is scary to drive coz lousy wet grip. Braking for traffic light also activate ABS like crazy.

QUOTE(Chisinlouz @ Jun 23 2020, 05:30 PM)
195 55 r15 can recommend? Budget range for Continental/Dunlop for example, but not until getting China tires.

-Good grip on wet
-Noise as minimum as possible
-Non spirited drive style

First set Toyo Neo3
Currently on Contin cc6
My mileage 178k km.

So roughly know how gentle i drive smile.gif
Thanks in advance for recommending
UPDATE....

So my tires blown up just now... Lol...
Toyo NE03
Made in Msia at Toyo's latest mfg plant so its pretty good and the rubber doesnt harden even when worn to 40%.. I have another set of "Falcon" tyres, rubber harden already, it auto activate TC beeping at 70-80 in the wet even though there's still a bit more tread before TWI.

Tyre blown is largely because hit pothole when tyre not enough air. Can pump 10pc more than door sticker then you save a bit of fuel and safer when hitting pothole. Underinflation damages tyre sidewalls.

This post has been edited by ceo684: Jun 28 2020, 12:12 PM
SUSceo684
post Jul 4 2020, 01:35 PM

Component Burner
11,667 posts

QUOTE(xphr3ak @ Jul 4 2020, 08:01 AM)
I also have the same issue. Bought on 2018. Still can use or should change it?
still can use, sidewall is still good condition.
You might wanna rotate the tyres (swap over to other side) so it spins the opposite direction under normal forward condition to prolong the life (so it wont tear off)

QUOTE(artificialRAGE @ Jul 4 2020, 12:03 PM)
I assume the size is 225/50R17.

Here are a few options.

1. Michelin Pilot Sport 4 - around RM 450
2. Michelin Primacy 4 - around RM 400
3. Continental MaxContact MC6 - around RM 400
4. Goodyear Excellence - RM 300

PS4 if you want the best performing tyre. Primacy 4 it you prefer a comfortable silent tyre. MC6 is decent but not amazing from what I have heard. Avoid Continental UltraContact UC6 as it just sits above Continental CC6 which is garbage at best. Not worth the price premium. Goodyear is the cheapest I would recommend without going into cheap China, Vietnam, Thai brand tyres. Yes the prices are tempting as they start from RM 200 to RM 250 but questionable quality.
For 225 width, its kinda wide so if wanna continue 90-100 in the rain best to get PS4.

The speed at which a tire hydroplanes is a function of water depth, vehicle speed, vehicle weight, tire width, tread depth and tread design. It depends on how much water has to be removed, how much weight is pressing down on the tires and how efficient the tread design is at evacuating water. While deeper water, higher speeds, lighter vehicles, wider tires, less tread depth and less efficient tread designs will cause tires to hydroplane at lower speeds; all tires will be forced to hydroplane at some speed.

QUOTE(ayamxxx @ Jul 4 2020, 01:09 PM)
If u are prefer wet grip, then MC6 is not a good backup. The tyre was great at dry, kinda similar to RE003. Only in dry.
Come wet, struggling a lot vs PS3/ PS4.
For the water dispersion.. looking at the tread pattern of Primacy 4 or PS4.. the side contact areas are designed to channel water away

I have doubts about MC6 pattern seeing that they seem to be good for noise acoustics but it doesnt seem to be channeling water away for the side parts but holding them within that "dimple"
SUSceo684
post Jan 24 2021, 02:19 PM

Component Burner
11,667 posts

QUOTE(dayalan86 @ Jan 7 2021, 02:49 PM)
Any review on Sumitomo HTR-900 tyre? currently on Michelin Primacy 4 but tyre is more than 50% used after just 45k km done.

Looking for quiet and good grip tyres.

I am using Honda HRV-2016 215/60/16
For quiet and good grip the current primacy 4 is the right choice already.
About RM355/ea

If price is a concern; cheaper decent tyre GY assurance around RM298/ea or so.

Sumitomo HTR900 can't find the size pricing on lazada but from other review seems noisy.

HRV slightly lighter than old camry (1490 kg kerb weight), on the old camry, TLDR, as its heavy and wide (215 tyre same as yours) cannot cheap out on tyres as it becomes scary when braking in the wet.

This post has been edited by ceo684: Jan 24 2021, 02:24 PM
SUSceo684
post Mar 25 2021, 01:20 AM

Component Burner
11,667 posts

QUOTE(z800r @ Mar 23 2021, 09:54 AM)
Hi. Need to change my tires. 175/65 r14.
Maybe i will stick with this size or change to 185/60 r14.

My front tires toyo neo3. Ngam2 2 years. But already botak.no thread at all. 
My back tires continental cc6. 3 years plus. Still going strong. Still ada bunga / thread la. I can still use at least for 1 year.
Before this i put cc6 in front, but then my back tires botak, so i bought the neo 3 install at front, so cc6 i put at the back la.

So i guess neo3 is too soft. So fast botak. Only 2 years. No bunga/ thread at all. Well i used it for 55k km i guess.

How is hankook eco2 k435 performance during wet? Much better than cc6 or more or less the same?

Michelin xm2+ is too expensive for my axia. Just looking for an affordable tire that has a good (not superb since its cheap/ affordable) grip during wet. 

Which one is better, Cc6 again, or hankook eco2 k435 or dunlop j5 ?

Not gonna buy toyo neo3 or the latest proxes cr1. I read toyo tires is too soft. Any other suggestion? Tq
I think you are doing it wrong, for front wheel drive new tyres should go on the rear. To get maximum life rotate the tyres around every 10 to 15k then change all 4 at once.
SUSceo684
post Apr 19 2021, 09:41 PM

Component Burner
11,667 posts

QUOTE(ayamxxx @ Apr 17 2021, 10:41 PM)
How u guys tyre finished differently front vs rear? Mine I keep try rotates it every 10k km and once hit 70k km it all botak and just changed all 4. Instead buy 2.
It depends on the vehicle also.. for RWD truck it has less pronounced diff between front and rears (hardly rotate).. for FWD cars the front always wear out faster than the rears

SUSceo684
post Sep 21 2021, 10:39 PM

Component Burner
11,667 posts

QUOTE(seanlee89 @ Sep 21 2021, 10:17 PM)
Hey guys, im using Toyo proxes cr1 245/40 r18 on my audi a4 but feels bouncy. Prior to this i was using PS4. I thought it was my suspension that gave way but if fixing it, car still feels bouncy. Could it be other parts or is because cr1 is too hard or soft? Thx
You may need to first equalise tyre pressures accordingly.

I had a bouncy issue on my old camry, because 3 tyre at 230 and 1 odd one at 210kpa. Am running Primacy3 215 55 17.

Then I put 250 all round. Solved all the strange bounciness!
SUSceo684
post Sep 21 2021, 11:52 PM

Component Burner
11,667 posts

QUOTE(seanlee89 @ Sep 21 2021, 11:05 PM)
Hmm i tried with many different pressure settings but still very bouncy for some reason. Like every bump or uneven road can be felt. Lower psi seems to help a bit but still bouncy.
Urs 245/40 r18 ..super low profile sure feel everything laugh.gif

My car came with 215 60 16 as original size. This thick size any tyre you put also feel like hovercraft feeling.

Then I change 215 55 17 few gen newer camry rims. Wahlao. I start to feel rough roads like some section of kesas hwy and cili padi small speedhumps were somewhat more jarring.

Your absorbers in good condition or sign of old age (oil stains)?
There is also another experiment, try putting some load (mineral water bottles or cement/rice bags or dumbbell collection) in the boot. Even small load like a cement bag 50kg-100kg may reduce a floaty rear problem.

This post has been edited by ceo684: Sep 22 2021, 12:04 AM
SUSceo684
post Sep 22 2021, 01:07 AM

Component Burner
11,667 posts

QUOTE(seanlee89 @ Sep 22 2021, 01:03 AM)
Hmm its not floaty and tried putting those very big water bottles today and still got some bounce effect. Absorbers are new. Perhaps cr1 are comfort tyres, not meant for low profile? Anyways i’m switching to ps4 again tmr to see if it improves the overall ride comfort.
Yeah probably tyre sidewall of CR1 is soft side.
In my past wannabe street racer days also had this problem with yoko parada spec2 soft sidewall that didn't give me cornering confidence.

PP2, PS3 sidewalls are firmer. thumbup.gif
SUSceo684
post Jan 20 2022, 10:24 PM

Component Burner
11,667 posts

QUOTE(I.hunter @ Jan 13 2022, 04:09 PM)
Any opinion on xm2+ vs primacy 4st vs pilot sport 3 for honda city (15').

Driving style (on myvi 1st gen 14'):
- 130-170 on North south (100-120km/h on rain, don't remember)
- 100-140km/h on major roads/city highways when possible
- 60-80km/h on non major roads
- usually around 50-60km/h cornering. anything above 60 usually tyre start squeaking
- slightly lower speed 10-20km/h on wet condition.
- sometimes do hit potholes at speed (so tyre better not too fragile)
- faster than avg person on bumps.
- old tyres are like silverstones or other budget tyres. even drove with 4 different brand and 'flower' 3-6yo (well just realized)

preference:
safety/durability (in terms of fragility) > comfort/noise > durability (mileage).

Price is hard to judge. If xm2+ is sufficient of course best option since almost x2 mileage compare to primacy and ps.
Safe as in good enough wet grip but not too fragile kena non serious pothole then break. so far (10y+) driving no break tyre due to pothole (touchwood). Bumpy like tyre hardened is no fun. Noise? even budget tyre also seldom realized much noise (maybe too much road noise till not realized). best to last atleast 40kkm (all three of tyre above should pass this already).
I heard michelin tyre easy break/fragile is it true? Wanna give a try on these branded stuff as past experience only on (goodyear/silverstone/dunlop/toyo) budget tyres.
If 15in just get PS3. 3rd set for me and very happy with it. Wet performance no problem, confident on hwy.

Its tough enough to survive as long as u dont underinflate the tyre.
SUSceo684
post Mar 1 2022, 01:10 PM

Component Burner
11,667 posts

QUOTE(Aeon_Clock @ Feb 25 2022, 03:56 PM)
well, XM2+ to me feels not worth the money...better off going for Continental UC6 coz it should be around the same price? Primacy is worth that little bit extra because it has much better performance even when worn. Having just changed my tyres (to a much cheaper range - Hankook) from 5.5 years old Continental MC5, I can say that new rubber does affect braking performance. I've always thought these only affect racing cars but you can feel the significant difference even on cheap tyre.

but there is no harm in using cheaper tyre...since you're going for comfort. For example, Toyo CR1 is almost half the price of Michelin's Primacy so it does make some sense in using Toyo for half the time and changing tyre a little sooner than usual for whatever reason (since its so cheap). My cousin did just that.
XM2 is entry level with expensive badge
I think you can get better VFM (value 4 moneh) with Yoko/Toyo/Hankook than XM2 for a bit lesser
But see tread pattern.. make sure it still conform to the 3 or 4 straight deep longkang boring pattern.. we are wet weather place
Hence pretty starts and moons with not much straight deep longkang like CC6.. tend to float on water

QUOTE(DM52 @ Feb 25 2022, 07:45 PM)
those bantai full throttle at traffic light and cruise 200kmh can kill tyre thread very fast..imagine drive conti cruise at 220kmh instead of national speed limit 110kmh. double speed, lifespan shorten by double. as easy as that.
Plus heavy car.. and use Federal Hwy a lot sure kill tyre fast, that Federal material is super rough and porous.
Or those who like to make tyre sing in corners when the green light is blinking devil.gif

QUOTE(Aeon_Clock @ Feb 28 2022, 02:19 PM)
okay, now that I have changed tyre...I can provide full review of life expectations towards the end. First of all, I am what you call a very spirited driver - don't floor it at the traffic lights but throw it on the corners. So yeah, my tyres degrade quite a bit after 5.5 years / 60k km (including MCO), but I never realized how bad it was.

Grip is there all the time for normal driving (my tyre thread still just above the replacement indicator), but I can feel that the grip around corners is starting to go bad around the 5th year. I started taking more cornering exit abt 6 mths prior years to make the tyres last that little bit more but around the 5th year you can feel there is lack of performance. What I can really feel is the braking performance which is pretty bad at this wear.

There is a stretch of road around my house where I often use to go back home. It is a small bend but whatever speed you go at it, can feel the back end slide a little everytime you use it. Always thought that patch of road is just a little bad after so many years. I just tried that yesterday on the new tyres and in the rain but never felt that slide anymore! That means all this while there was a bit of an alignment issue on the worn MC5 and never realized it! Mind you, I rotate my tyres on time.

After changing to Hankook Ventus Prime 3, the difference is HUGE. I mean these are considered cheaper performance tyres. Cornering is so effortless now (I can go back to driving with 1 finger) and my confidence in braking is back to normal. The biggest shock actually is the noise. While doing pre-purchase reviews, a few shops mention Continentals are famous for being noisy. Never really realize it until after changing tyres, this cheaper Hankook is absolutely silent! In terms of dB...previous tyre can go around avg 75dB and now its 69 (reconfirm first) dB

Its been only a few days and I need to test more for better review on performance. But I think the point to take from this is whatever you choose, just change your tyres around the 4-5 year or 50k mark.
I would suggest avoiding CC6...go for something else...even if its a cheap range tyre.
New tyres fresh rubber. Old tyre already hardened and worse if never move much during MCO.. it didn't release the SK-II anti aging stuff that is activated when rolling.

CC6 not recommended..the priority became cheap and silent at great sacrifice to WET grip
I think anything else from other brands would be better. Dunlop/Goodyear/Yoko

0.0603sec    0.27    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 08:02 PM