Tires Discussion Thread V3

cempedaklife
post May 28 2018, 03:18 PM

Master Decoy
4,350 posts

Guys, is this tyre condition still okay? Manufacturing date is 5013.its a michelin xm2

cempedaklife
post Jun 13 2018, 05:57 PM

Master Decoy
4,350 posts

Thanks bro for the feedback! I'll try to answer as best as I can.

QUOTE(zeng @ Jun 11 2018, 08:16 PM)
Hi Cempedaklife,

This tyre has abnormal rubbing on the outer edge of the tyre, and it should be avoidable and I consider it re-usable for now.

To assess and establish the source/root of the problem and hence overcome it according, additional info from you would be required among others whether :

a) inner edge of same tyre has similar abnormal rubbing;
b) what about conditions of the tyre on the opposite side as between Left Hand Side LHS and Right Hand Side RHS;
c) tyre on front or on rear of car;whether it's LHS or RHS or both?
d) existing tyre size and actual air pressure being inflated to  vs OEM owner manual tyre size specified and recommended psi pressure?
e) overloading in weights occur or not ? ;
f) the last wheel alignment done, when and why?
g) always take cornering at high speed in similar direction repeatedly, etc.
h) road surface not properly surfaced ?

Above additional info may help in further identifying whether tyre wheel alignment is badly out and require re-work or severe tyre under-inflation and/or cornering abuse requiring re-adjustment.

Use back the tyre, my friend.
i think it's not related to which side, both my front tyres now have this condition and both of them is manufactured 5013, the other two rear tyres are newer 2014 or 2015. I do rotate them periodically. so i think it's because of the age of the tyre.

tyre size is 175/65R15, and this is where I'm bad, recommended pressure 220/210, but i always pumped 250. i have since stopped doing this very recently.

dont think there is overloading, just daily drive car. no driving stocks for works. so it's just the luggage on occasionally vacation.

last wheel alignment about a year ago. no why, just maintenance. together with balancing. i never had any noticeable issue with my alignment. but i do do alignment and balancing periodically. used to be more frequent but getting feedback and other people practices. i prolong-ed it.

maybe i cornered fast, i not sure, i just hate to brake for cornering. unless i'm really not comfortable with the speed. i guess this is subjective on being fast, but in general i'm not a fast driver (again, quite subjective). but dont think i do repetitive one direction turning though.

so for now the tyres are still okay? i'm thinking to replace it but not so soon, maybe end of year, not sure if can tahan.

0.0164sec    0.47    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 09:35 AM