62 Pages « < 57 58 59 60 61 > » Bottom

Tires Discussion Thread V3

jepakazoid_82
post Jun 26 2022, 02:06 PM

830 posts

QUOTE(andrekua2 @ Jun 24 2022, 12:17 PM)
You changed?

No need la... only recommended to change if sidewall bulging. In your case, just lose a small chunk of rubber. It does not affect anything. What really holds the integrity of a tyre is the wire mesh cooked into the tyre construction. That's why it is recommended to change when sidewall bulging because the wire mesh inside already compromised. Not sure just bended or snapped thus advisable to replace.
Not yet. This morning it survived 130 - 140 km/h hehe. The cut visually looks deep but i guess if the mesh is not exposed and no bulging its ok for now ya? I am still considering to change though for a piece of mind especially when wife drives the myvi
amduser
post Jun 26 2022, 10:26 PM

5,542 posts

QUOTE(jepakazoid_82 @ Jun 26 2022, 02:06 PM)
Not yet. This morning it survived 130 - 140 km/h hehe. The cut visually looks deep but i guess if the mesh is not exposed and no bulging its ok for now ya? I am still considering to change though for a piece of mind especially when wife drives the myvi
Since you have made up your mind then you can just go with your decision even though it will be ok to drive, when you change you need to change from left and right side, not just one piece
chrischiang
post Jun 27 2022, 04:08 PM

1,081 posts

QUOTE(TVWatcher @ Jun 26 2022, 01:18 PM)
Hi, I need to change my tyres - size 265/35 r18.
Looking at Falken FK510 or Continental MC6 or Hankook S1evo3.

Any advice which is better? Also where can I get these at good price in Subang/PJ/Shah Alam area? My regular shop no stock. Thks.
fk510 or s1e3... mc6 is not same par with the other 2...

i changed my s1e3 after call the number 13th hankook master in KV list.. u can try to call and check
ayamxxx
post Jun 28 2022, 09:14 AM

4,047 posts

QUOTE(chrischiang @ Jun 27 2022, 04:08 PM)

i changed my s1e3 after call the number 13th hankook master in KV list.. u can try to call and check
agree with this. even on FB got many real user experiences on this tire. only those YouTubers (get free tyre kot) praise this model to the moon. in short, this mc6 is only ok at dry but poor at rain/ heavy rain. it is an improvement from the poor MC5, but not to the level of the great tire like ps3, ps4. another cons, this model only sold here in our market only, not found elsewhere.

This post has been edited by ayamxxx: Jun 28 2022, 09:14 AM
TVWatcher
post Jun 28 2022, 11:05 AM

27 posts

QUOTE(chrischiang @ Jun 27 2022, 04:08 PM)

QUOTE(ayamxxx @ Jun 28 2022, 09:14 AM)
agree with this. even on FB got many real user experiences on this tire. only those YouTubers (get free tyre kot) praise this model to the moon. in short, this mc6 is only ok at dry but poor at rain/ heavy rain. it is an improvement from the poor MC5, but not to the level of the great tire like ps3, ps4. another cons, this model only sold here in our market only, not found elsewhere.
Thanks, I was a little skeptical with MC6 too and went ahead with FK510.
epjx31
post Jul 2 2022, 10:38 PM

21 posts

QUOTE(jepakazoid_82 @ Jun 19 2022, 09:15 PM)
Hi guys,

Not sure what happened. Wife drove my car and found out my few months old xm2 plus got scratched and peeled at sidewall here. How? Need to change ah?
Hey there

Interesting point you have here. I will try to explain from a tire engineer point of view & what are the possible risk and so on.

Current situation: You have a damage on the sidewall, I can see from the picture that it has not penetrate the carcass if not you will see some textile material.

Do I need a new tire? : This depends on your risk appetite. Right now the sidewall rubber which is suppose to protect your sidewall is gone. So this is actually in the flexing area of the tire. What this means is that your tire is constantly being compress and elongate in this area. Around 80-90% of the stresses actually occurs in this area during any "excitation" of the tire. It seems that with your current driving style, the tire is still able to withstand the flexing and function as normal. However now as your tire is longer protected, any foreign object at high speed would be able to penetrate your sidewall easily.

Recommendations: From the test I have seen, it is advisable to change the tire. If I were you I would do it as safety is at stake here. If you have a bigger risk appetite, please check your tire for any pressure lost regularly (every 7 days). Also please take note if there is any crack propagation happening due to the flexing. Sidewall damage at high speed is not as fatal as tread separation but it could be equally as fatal.

Thanks!

SeanWong
post Jul 3 2022, 06:57 AM

88 posts

Hi Sifu can recommend any brand of quiet and comfortable tyre? My current R17 Conti MC5 is comfortable but a bit noisy while driving on the road.
minizian
post Jul 4 2022, 11:35 AM

1,074 posts

what would be ideal size to downsize from 185/55 R16 to R15 inch wheel within causing more than 3% difference.

More onto performance driving but looking to downsize just to reduce the unsprung weight.

Had a 15 inch wheel with 6.0J width, certainly wont be able to fit 205 tires.

Webpage I found i mostly on upsizing but I cant find downsizing part.
jimmyteng18
post Jul 10 2022, 11:26 AM

669 posts

Hi all,

I am looking for SUV tyre for my Tiguan MK1.
Size 235/50/R18.
Currently using MC6.
epjx31
post Jul 10 2022, 05:35 PM

21 posts

QUOTE(jimmyteng18 @ Jul 10 2022, 11:26 AM)
Hi all,

Size 235/50/R18.
Currently using MC6.
Hey,

With 235/50R18 you have a decent choice. From my price table I got the following options.

Kumho Ecsta PS31 235/50R18 468
Yokohama Advan Fleva V701 235/50R18 538
Continental UC6 235/50R18 540
Continental Max Contact 6 235/50R18 550
Michelin Primacy 4st 235/50R18 730

What are your main requirements? Are you happy with MC6?

Looking at the options, if you have the budget, I would defeintely recommend Primacy 4st due to its outstanding wet performances.
I made a comparison between Primacy 4st vs MC6 quite sometime ago here
andrekua2
post Jul 12 2022, 03:23 PM

13,475 posts

Anyone tried CSC5 from China?
autodriver
post Jul 14 2022, 11:11 AM

404 posts

QUOTE(SeanWong @ Jul 3 2022, 06:57 AM)
Hi Sifu can recommend any brand of quiet and comfortable tyre? My current R17 Conti MC5 is comfortable but a bit noisy while driving on the road.
MC5 is a complete rubbish tyre. I had this MC5 as my stock tyre and it is very poor performance and super duper noisy. The wet grip is totally sxck all time big and wheelspin as slow as 50km while driving in wet road. You can take Michelin, Hankook, Goodyear, Yokohama, Toyo or even some brand China brand like Giti also perform better than this MC5. MC6 the road noise is still higher than all brands I mentioned. Conti good tyre is CPC or CSC series but price is rather high.
autodriver
post Jul 14 2022, 11:15 AM

404 posts

QUOTE(jimmyteng18 @ Jul 10 2022, 11:26 AM)
Hi all,

Size 235/50/R18.
Currently using MC6.
Got budget go for Michelin, moderate budget can take Hankook or Toyo. These 3 brands are performing better than MC6.
ayamxxx
post Jul 15 2022, 08:24 AM

4,047 posts

QUOTE(autodriver @ Jul 14 2022, 11:11 AM)
MC5 is a complete rubbish tyre. I had this MC5 as my stock tyre and it is very poor performance and super duper noisy. The wet grip is totally sxck all time big and wheelspin as slow as 50km while driving in wet road. You can take Michelin, Hankook, Goodyear, Yokohama, Toyo or even some brand China brand like Giti also perform better than this MC5. MC6 the road noise is still higher than all brands I mentioned. Conti good tyre is CPC or CSC series but price is rather high.
Its a well known for this mc5. And the successor of it, mc6 is just an upgrade of it but still not as good as the rival uhp. In short take ps4 for best. Buy at bukit Kemuning for cheapest price in Selangor
amscouzach57
post Jul 15 2022, 08:36 AM

531 posts

QUOTE(minizian @ Jul 4 2022, 11:35 AM)
what would be ideal size to downsize from 185/55 R16 to R15 inch wheel within causing more than 3% difference.

More onto performance driving but looking to downsize just to reduce the unsprung weight.

Had a 15 inch wheel with 6.0J width, certainly wont be able to fit 205 tires.

Webpage I found i mostly on upsizing but I cant find downsizing part.
You can downsize to 195/60R15 size. 195 width can fit 6.0J
minizian
post Jul 15 2022, 09:27 AM

1,074 posts

QUOTE(amscouzach57 @ Jul 15 2022, 08:36 AM)
You can downsize to 195/60R15 size. 195 width can fit 6.0J
Thank you for the suggestion icon_rolleyes.gif

Noticed that there are not much performance type tires for this size bangwall.gif

This post has been edited by minizian: Jul 15 2022, 09:33 AM
amscouzach57
post Jul 15 2022, 12:02 PM

531 posts

QUOTE(minizian @ Jul 15 2022, 09:27 AM)
Thank you for the suggestion icon_rolleyes.gif

Noticed that there are not much performance type tires for this size  bangwall.gif
Ya. Unless smaller tyre to 195/55R15
minizian
post Jul 15 2022, 01:49 PM

1,074 posts

QUOTE(amscouzach57 @ Jul 15 2022, 12:02 PM)
Ya. Unless smaller tyre to 195/55R15
I believe fitting 6J wheels with 195/55R15 would not be an issue right?
amscouzach57
post Jul 15 2022, 02:14 PM

531 posts

QUOTE(minizian @ Jul 15 2022, 01:49 PM)
I believe fitting 6J wheels with 195/55R15 would not be an issue right?
No issue. In fact, maximum fitment for 6J is 205 width.
MunDsuM
post Aug 5 2022, 01:19 AM

239 posts

Hi all. Seeking your insights to my dilemma. I'm currently on Michelin PS3, 215/45R17 size tyres. Considering changing to Primacy 4 for a more comfortable ride and also considering upping the aspect ratio to 215/55R17.

Are there significant risks of the tyres rubbing against the fenders? And can adjustments be made to address that if it does happen? Driving a 2012 Elantra, seems like there's enough clearance but not sure about when turning/u-turn.

This post has been edited by MunDsuM: Aug 5 2022, 01:21 AM

62 Pages « < 57 58 59 60 61 > » Top

0.0506sec    0.31    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 07:23 PM