62 Pages « < 54 55 56 57 58 > » Bottom

Tires Discussion Thread V3

shadow111
post Apr 9 2022, 08:47 PM

3,140 posts

What's the difference between Michelin Primacy 4 vs Primacy 4 ST?
ayamxxx
post Apr 10 2022, 08:55 AM

4,040 posts

QUOTE(sume2t @ Apr 8 2022, 06:08 PM)
Hi all, roughly how much do shops charge for (expert) tire inspection - to decide if right time to change or not? I live in KL.
Check the centre tyre indicator or how long is the tyre already? Max 2 years recommended to change
hafiez
post Apr 11 2022, 01:38 PM

2,980 posts

hey what happen if I change my tyres to 225/45/18 ? right now using 225/40/18.

how about in terms of performance? and what tyre pressure should i use? is it same as written at the gas cap?

seems like 45 tyre choice much better than 40.

This post has been edited by hafiez: Apr 11 2022, 01:43 PM
amduser
post Apr 11 2022, 04:17 PM

5,542 posts

QUOTE(hafiez @ Apr 11 2022, 01:38 PM)

how about in terms of performance? and what tyre pressure should i use? is it same as written at the gas cap?

45 series is more comfortable, 40 series has better handling and less flex due to stiffer sidewall, so your ride will be harsher with 40, 45 has better noise control and ride smoother

grip wise, if it is the same tyres there wont be any difference, but you will feel the nvh is better on 45, while handling and steering precision is better on 40
SimonsayZ
post Apr 11 2022, 04:24 PM

2,792 posts

Anyone still using advan neova? Is this tire good for daily drive? Hows the wet and dry grip?
amduser
post Apr 11 2022, 04:30 PM

5,542 posts

QUOTE(SimonsayZ @ Apr 11 2022, 04:24 PM)
Anyone still using advan neova? Is this tire good for daily drive? Hows the wet and dry grip?
this is extreme/semi slick category, not suitable for daily drive, unless you know how the tyres gonna behave in cold/hot/wet, dry drip is good but wet grip wont be as good as other cheaper UHP

with that price range you can get better UHP tyres that is more suitable for daily drive
iymm
post Apr 11 2022, 04:31 PM

132 posts

Wondering why nobody talk about Falken ZE310?
Is this tyre good?
SimonsayZ
post Apr 11 2022, 05:48 PM

2,792 posts

QUOTE(amduser @ Apr 11 2022, 04:30 PM)
this is extreme/semi slick category, not suitable for daily drive, unless you know how the tyres gonna behave in cold/hot/wet, dry drip is good but wet grip wont be as good as other cheaper UHP

with that price range you can get better UHP tyres that is more suitable for daily drive
Thanks for the reply. UHP tires, what would you personally recommend? Looking for opinions biggrin.gif
amduser
post Apr 11 2022, 08:08 PM

5,542 posts

QUOTE(SimonsayZ @ Apr 11 2022, 05:48 PM)
Thanks for the reply. UHP tires, what would you personally recommend? Looking for opinions  biggrin.gif
I'm using hankook prime 3, is a budget uhp that does its job well, you might need to try it out different model yourself

There are many types you can choose for uhp, but I personally don't go for ps4, I rather go for cheaper uhp
SimonsayZ
post Apr 11 2022, 08:18 PM

2,792 posts

QUOTE(amduser @ Apr 11 2022, 08:08 PM)
I'm using hankook prime 3, is a budget uhp that does its job well, you might need to try it out different model yourself

There are many types you can choose for uhp, but I personally don't go for ps4, I rather go for cheaper uhp
I heard really good reviews of hankook prime 3. But I'm leaning more to Advan fleva. hmm.gif

amduser
post Apr 11 2022, 08:25 PM

5,542 posts

QUOTE(SimonsayZ @ Apr 11 2022, 08:18 PM)
I heard really good reviews of hankook prime 3. But I'm leaning more to Advan fleva.  hmm.gif
Prime 3 is superior in dry but wet grip is not as good as dry, but I don't drive fast in rain, at most around 120kmh, just the lateral grip during wet is not that good

I bring the tyre to track and gymkhana, it is a very durable tyres

Actually you can get better tyres reviews at https://www.tyrereviews.com/

This post has been edited by amduser: Apr 11 2022, 08:26 PM
ayamxxx
post Apr 12 2022, 09:58 AM

4,040 posts

stock suspension set up or tuned/sport suspension? if stock no issue to hit the car body when run fast at bumper for instance
6UE5T
post Apr 12 2022, 10:32 AM

1,704 posts

What car and what was the original tire size?
flyingturtle77
post Apr 12 2022, 11:33 AM

89 posts

what is the current tyre recommendation for best-bang-for-buck tyre?

last time, around 4 years ago, hankook v12 was best-bang-for-buck, and it was selling like hot cake, every hankook shop no stock for this tyre, end up i have to get premium(in terms of price) michelin ps4 due to urgency to change tyre

now is it still hankook or other brand for best-bang-for-buck tyre?

note:
i have been using ps3 for 4 years plus until the side of the tyre like kulit kupas, now my ps4 also same
its time for my car to change tyre, but i dont need michelin ps cause i less travel using cars now...
amduser
post Apr 12 2022, 02:47 PM

5,542 posts

QUOTE(flyingturtle77 @ Apr 12 2022, 11:33 AM)

last time, around 4 years ago, hankook v12 was best-bang-for-buck, and it was selling like hot cake, every hankook shop no stock for this tyre, end up i have to get premium(in terms of price) michelin ps4 due to urgency to change tyre

note:
i have been using ps3 for 4 years plus until the side of the tyre like kulit kupas, now my ps4 also same
its time for my car to change tyre, but i dont need michelin ps cause i less travel using cars now...
hankook now increased price by a lot, prime 3 (k125) is the replacement for v12 evo2, it cost around 300-330 per donut for 225/45/17, S1 evo3 (K127) is UHP around RM50 per donut more expensive than prime 3

last year i still managed to get prime 3 at rm275 per donut for 225/40/18, now is like RM350-380

unless you willing to try china, thailand or indonesia tyres, which you can still get them at cheap price, most of the mainstream brand price increased a lot lately sad.gif

you can look for Westlake SA37 or rovelo A1 sport, but i have not tried these tyres before, but westlake review seems not bad, rovelo A1 is like prime 3, as long as you not high power car should be okay to use
6UE5T
post Apr 12 2022, 04:58 PM

1,704 posts

QUOTE(flyingturtle77 @ Apr 12 2022, 11:33 AM)

note:
I'd recommend Maxxis Victra I-Pro, price level similar to V12E2, performance also similar with harder sidewall but tread wear is rather low at only 240. I am using this now as replacement for the V12E2 on my son's car.
ktek
post Apr 12 2022, 05:22 PM

小喇叭
13,189 posts

QUOTE(SimonsayZ @ Apr 11 2022, 08:18 PM)
I heard really good reviews of hankook prime 3. But I'm leaning more to Advan fleva.  hmm.gif
fleva lose to prime3. i used both 17"
ktek
post Apr 12 2022, 05:25 PM

小喇叭
13,189 posts

just go with ad08r. no regret a single cent
ayamxxx
post Apr 13 2022, 07:55 AM

4,040 posts

QUOTE(amduser @ Apr 12 2022, 02:47 PM)
hankook now increased price by a lot, prime 3 (k125) is the replacement for v12 evo2, it cost around 300-330 per donut for 225/45/17, S1 evo3 (K127) is UHP around RM50 per donut more expensive than prime 3

last year i still managed to get prime 3 at rm275 per donut for 225/40/18, now is like RM350-380

unless you willing to try china, thailand or indonesia tyres, which you can still get them at cheap price, most of the mainstream brand price increased a lot lately sad.gif

you can look for Westlake SA37 or rovelo A1 sport, but i have not tried these tyres before, but westlake review seems not bad, rovelo A1 is like prime 3, as long as you not high power car should be okay to use
for me i prefer to go shop which give good price. Based on experience, Oscar Bukit Kemuning give me really good price. I had PS4 235/45/18 less than rm600 (around RM580 iinm) per pcs while Kajang Tyre shop give me RM800 per donut. Check already the manufacturing date, it is very new back then. That price gives me a go-to PS4 from the old PS3 which suprise me can tahan until 80k km. Maybe I drove relatively easygoing since had kids.
flyingturtle77
post Apr 13 2022, 11:40 AM

89 posts

QUOTE(amduser @ Apr 12 2022, 02:47 PM)

thanks for the replies, my tyre size is 205/55/16, should be cheaper
i remember back when i change to ps3 and ps4, both also cost around RM360-RM380 per donut

so for Hankook, should be less than RM300 i guess...

62 Pages « < 54 55 56 57 58 > » Top

0.0267sec    0.33    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 12:41 PM