Plan to buy a NEW/USED car?(V3),, ASK HERE for recommendations

ongtypc
post Mar 4 2025, 02:01 AM

20 posts

Hi sifus. I'm thinking to buy a 2nd hand car to replace my current 2009 Myvi. Budget 30k but preferably within 25k and leave another 10k max for fixing.

Priorities from highest order would be comfort (smoothen out bumpy road), safer than my Myvi which feels like tin kosong, not too small nor too big (no Axia nor Iriz size, nor SUV, prefer bigger than 2009 Myvi a bit), acceptable maintenance and fixing cost (willing to DIY and learn some also).

I don't care too much about FC because I don't drive everyday, usually just ride kapcai to LRT to work or eat. Occasionally drive back to hometown from KL to Pahang passing Karak Highway, so I prefer a safer car. I don't mind an older car as well, as long as the car was taken cared well by previous owner.

I do like to drive in highway but nothing too crazy and still prioritize safety. Willing to learn how to take care of the car and do minor maintenance and fixing. And will take care of it gao gao.

This post has been edited by ongtypc: Mar 4 2025, 02:02 AM
ongtypc
post Mar 5 2025, 05:08 PM

20 posts

Thank you all sifus for the recommendations. 🫡

QUOTE(ayamxxx @ Mar 4 2025, 09:36 AM)
if it me with that budgets, Perdana 2.0 with Honda engine. if u got kids, kids will love the extra legroom at rear. long distance driving also comfortable. If can stretch more budget, take Perdana 2.4, get VSC, HID headlamp. Once u use HID/LED stock form, will never return to any car with halogen bulb.

boot sizes can put massive luggage.
Never expected this recommendation. I researched around and found that the government version and the 2016 public version is slightly different. I assume you meant the 2016 version?

And according to what I read, both versions might have some issues finding spare parts especially the 2016 version. The government version also tough to find the bumpers and some parts unique to this model. Correct me if I'm wrong though.

QUOTE(dogbert_chew @ Mar 4 2025, 09:49 AM)
Can consider used Persona eg 2022 RM26K
I wonder how comfortable is the Persona? I was actually expecting maybe C-segments and above so didn't expect this answer. Does the ESC really make that much difference? Anyway, thanks for the recommendation anyway. I believe you sifus still, so I shall go and try to sit in one to try first.

0.0257sec    2.17    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 03:03 PM