Plan to buy a NEW/USED car?(V3),, ASK HERE for recommendations

greyshadow
post May 10 2019, 11:51 AM

I bleed it out, Diggin' deeper just to throw it away!
1,826 posts

Guys,

very tempting to change my wife's 7 years old conti car, it's a daily work commute & sending kids to school car, 100% city drive, poor FC and recently getting more problems creeping up, thinking to change it before it does more damage to my wallet

problem is we made a mistake taking a 9 years loan last time, now still got about 2 years loan left, and there's no resell value for this conti car, even if we managed to sell it off, it's not enough to cover the remaining loan sweat.gif

anyway, my six sense (most of the time very accurate) telling me the car gonna have a major issue soon that gonna bleed my wallet dry, so thinking to bite the bullet and let it go

Now thinking between Kia Picanto 1.2EX/GT or Perodua Myvi 1.5AV
both car are pretty similar in spec & price, except engine CC
How's Kia and Perodua's quality nowadays?
any comments?
or any suggestion for other cars that's within the range of RM50k?

greyshadow
post May 10 2019, 02:12 PM

1,826 posts

QUOTE(BravoZeroTwo @ May 10 2019, 02:05 PM)
What's your Conti car model ? Mind sharing here the foreseeable repairs ? Thanks.
Peugeot 207
aircon got loud fan noise, sometimes not cold at all
engine sometimes overheated into the red suddenly, but back to normal after a while
coolant level decreases but no visible leak mark anywhere
brake sometimes got issues etc...
and there's no mechanic in my area (east M'sia) dare to touch it, and the SC service quality is crap and cutthroat expensive

greyshadow
post May 14 2019, 04:31 PM

1,826 posts

QUOTE(TehTar1k @ May 12 2019, 02:39 PM)
1. Brand : Japanese brand
2. Budget : 150K max
3. New/Used/Unreg : New / unreg
4. Specs : any
5. Transmission : AUTO
6. NA or FI : NA
7. Type : 7 seater MPV
8. Remarks: Replacing old Avanza. Should be comfortable for city driving & balik kampung. Safe, reliable, cheap to run.

I've shortlisted a few actually (price from low to high):
new Nissan Serena Hybrid
recond / used Odyssey 2014
recond Estima 2.4 Aeras 7-seater 2013
recond Vellfire 2.4 2011
Get the brand new car: Nissan Serena is better

recon cars can be a hit & miss, kinda like playing with lottery
unless you can bring an experienced trusted mechanic with you to inspect the recon cars
not to mention it's more difficult to get rid of the recon cars that's more than 10 years old
greyshadow
post Feb 14 2020, 05:31 PM

1,826 posts

1. Brand : Any except Continental cars
2. Budget : 50k to 60k
3. New/Used/Unreg : New preferred
4. Specs : Any
5. Transmission : Auto
6. NA or FI : Any
7. Type : Hatchback
8. Remarks : Planning to change wife's 8 years old car that's getting more problematic, mainly use for sending kids to school & work commute, 100% city drive.

Original was targeting Picanto GT, but was told by the salesman they no longer bringing it in, only got one leftover registered 2019 Picanto EX, had bad experience previously buying last car, so no no.
So I think it's down to either Myvi or Iriz now... hmm.gif

0.2164sec    0.53    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th March 2024 - 09:32 PM