Plan to buy a NEW/USED car?(V3),, ASK HERE for recommendations

clon12
post Mar 29 2024, 06:15 PM

let's learn together!
2,911 posts

Hi all, is Ativa still a good option to considering, seeing that its almost a 3 years old car already?
clon12
post Mar 29 2024, 09:05 PM

let's learn together!
2,911 posts

QUOTE(dogbert_chew @ Mar 29 2024, 07:41 PM)
Check out Myvi platform age..

ModelPlatform AgeBody TypePrice Range(K)Donor model
Axia 1.02023Hatchback39-50Ayla
Bezza 1.32014Sedan44-50
Myvi 1.52005Hatchback51-60Sirion
Ativa2021SUV63-73Rocky
Alza2022MPV63-76Xenia
D66B2024SUV70-80?Yaris Cross
*Excl manual trans, Aruz
Because theres the D66B model so I was thinking if it is replacing/competing with Ativa and so was wondering if its still relevant to consider it.

I am still driving a Myvi SE 1.3 2009 model now tongue.gif
clon12
post Apr 5 2024, 12:42 PM

let's learn together!
2,911 posts

QUOTE(zenix @ Apr 5 2024, 12:11 PM)
[/spoiler]

you didn't survey websites like imoney before signing the LOU?

[/spoiler]

do you mean as in buying a used Ativa from a friend or used car lot?

[/spoiler]

if you're going to consider something for old people
then you should consider something with crossover or suv height because it is easier for them to get in and out
sedan cars especially mazda3 and civic are sporty in nature so it is like "sitting on the floor" for them

2018 Toyota Harrier 2.0 - this example is an unreg, meaning it is a used/demo/showroom car from overseas not yet registered in Malaysia so you can buy and treat it like a new car, e.g. new car interest rates for loan and new car number plate you can choose. Usually these imports are brought in by grades, when you go to the showroom to see look for the better grades and but stick within a reasonable budget in your head if not the salesman will bring you to Holland. Maintainence for this is going to be relatively cheap because it uses the same engine as the Toyota Wish and Voxy (baby vellfire) a normal 2000cc that will be within the same maintainence bill as a 2000cc civic or altis.

[/spoiler]

don't trust sales person
just demand for the car servicing manager to answer
I meant getting a new Ativa actually. Cause was considering the car came out 3 years ago, and may be due for a new model soon (the D66B). However another forumer pointed out that the D66B is another segment car lah.

On the other hand, I went to Honda dealership the other day to check out the City. Was really quite satisfied with the amount of comfort in the car as driver and passenger. But of course, the price is also much higher compared to the Ativa and belongs to another segment altogether.
clon12
post Oct 21 2025, 08:02 PM

let's learn together!
2,911 posts

1. Brand.
Local/Japanese

2. Budget.
~RM100k

3. New/Used/Unreg.
New unit

4. Specs.
ICE or hybrid.

5. Transmission.
Auto

6. NA or FI ?
Either is fine, but prefer turbo.

7. Type.
Sedan / SUV

8. Remarks.
Currently driving about 60-70km to work daily so would prefer a car that has all the safety features and ACC. Fuel-efficiency would be a plus since long distance driving. Currently no kids yet but will be planning for it in the future.

Thanks!
clon12
post Oct 21 2025, 10:29 PM

let's learn together!
2,911 posts

QUOTE(dogbert_chew @ Oct 21 2025, 10:11 PM)
SUV/ Sedan exclude Hatch, MPV, China
SegmentAB
40-50KoldSaga1.3NA Bezza1.3NA
50-60KnewSaga1.5NA
60-70KAtiva1.0T
70-80KS701.5T newNexis1.5NA
80-90KCity1.5NA
90-100KX501.5T WR-V1.5NA Vios1.5NA Almera1.0T

For Turbo - Ativa, S70, X50, Almera
Some models lower variants no ACC gotta check
FC if careful driver NA not much difference, smaller engine lower, turbo higher.
Planning for kids - any 5 seaters still ok. Unless expect triplets come out 😅 then better MPV
Want hybrid so far only Tiggo Cross ard 100K unless wait for Yaris Cross 2026.
Thanks. So far I've checked out the Tiggo Cross and X50. Leaning towards X50 as the test drive on the X50 feel smoother. The City also feels spacious but interior is dated. Haven't check out Vios out for now, so will go check it out
clon12
post Oct 23 2025, 01:34 PM

let's learn together!
2,911 posts

QUOTE(dogbert_chew @ Oct 22 2025, 02:35 PM)
Since you rarely change car and keep > 10 years,
resale value is probably not that relevant.
Hence do you intend to take advantage of the massive discounts for year end cars and register one by Dec 2025?

Eg X50 can probably try aim for > 10K discount for higher variants?  🤔
Yeah currently planning get it by end of this year hoping for more discounts being lashed out. Currently gotten an offer for 7k discount plus tinted and dashcam as free gift for the X50 Premium variant. 4k is by Proton and another 3k is by the SA himself. Honda City is also giving out 15k discount but like I mentioned the interior is dated and not to my liking. Was waiting for Nexis but the waiting game has gone on for too long until I am no longer interested hahaha.

0.0266sec    0.56    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 01:35 PM