Plan to buy a NEW/USED car?(V3),, ASK HERE for recommendations

VeeJay
post Sep 29 2016, 11:06 AM

3,845 posts

True and I had visited them couple of years back...they tend to always advertise below "market rate".

When I wanted to test drive, they said, I need put a deposit first, when I asked them would they return back, I cant remember exactly his answer, but it was not to my satisfactory. I had visited couple of times, and was really interested in the car...sigh!

Since then, it was a no no to me
VeeJay
post Sep 30 2016, 02:17 PM

3,845 posts

QUOTE(zenix @ Sep 30 2016, 12:21 PM)
Wira 1.6xli is a good car.
So you're assessing a Ferrari?
Why you need to do high speed test?  laugh.gif

Drivetrain assessment can be done from 20-60kmh.
Look out for weird jerks during gear shifts.
Make sure your route has turns, speed bumps, and a long straight.
You can assess the gears going up smoothly, then up down shifts during corners, and quick downshifts when aproaching speed bumps.
Yeah, the original Perdana is fine.
More Mitsu parts in it's design.
Pv6 is where more Proton parts and corners were cut.
hahaha...just to share...

I used to own a wira 1.6 manual for 13 years...easily one of my best local car experience, in terms of reliability, suspension, performance and pretty economical at 13km/L

I could easily push it to 200kmh, max was at 220kmh (standard engine, with Porting and polishing)

This post has been edited by VeeJay: Sep 30 2016, 02:21 PM
VeeJay
post Sep 30 2016, 02:53 PM

3,845 posts

QUOTE(niggalover69 @ Sep 30 2016, 02:37 PM)
But wira so ugly man. Know any other cars that look better?
Cheap and reliable ones.
different eyes, I guess smile.gif

How about Sonata or Optima? for that budget, then?
VeeJay
post Oct 3 2016, 12:36 PM

3,845 posts

QUOTE(lsm1991 @ Sep 30 2016, 04:50 PM)

the 10k budger + reliability would be the major limiting factor here... only reliable + somewhat pretty thing i can think of atm is the satria....
mind you these 2 cost alot more to maintain
The maintenance part of it is pretty standard pricing for any D segment cars. Its still worth it to consider Optima/Sonata, if you ask me... smile.gif
VeeJay
post Oct 17 2016, 01:17 PM

3,845 posts

QUOTE(albertpcl @ Oct 17 2016, 12:13 PM)
Hi all, currently driving 96yr old corolla seg 1.6.
Plan to buy over my freind's 2012yr sonata yf , he offer me Rm55k, is it worth to buy ?
Thank you.
Thats a fair price...btw, depending on mileage as well. And buying from owner, you could prior discuss service history and any own problem or parts that need to be changed
VeeJay
post Oct 17 2016, 04:44 PM

3,845 posts

QUOTE(albertpcl @ Oct 17 2016, 04:25 PM)
Tq @Veejay, mileage is close to 80,000km, my fren told me his aorcond got problem & may need change the compressor.
used car only offer him Rm59k
thats the average mileage, and I presume used car offered RM49k and not 59k, since he is selling it to you for 55k.

AC compressor is not too bad, its one time deal costing probably around 1-2k. Sonata sound proofing is alittle bad, hence you will hear the engine noise, you could get it done at accessories shop. Other than that its a nice comfortable ride, but dont except any surge of power...i would say, just nice for a family drive, top speed could easily hit 180-200kmh
VeeJay
post Oct 20 2016, 10:30 PM

3,845 posts

QUOTE(zenix @ Oct 20 2016, 03:50 PM)

Why is the Mondeo cheaper than the Camry?
Mondeo is better spec, has a better engine, more safety features, etc.
Because of market demand, the prices are based on what the customer is willing to buy.
If the customer not willing to buy then of course it is much cheaper, since that Mondeo is being advertised as 45k i am guessing the used car dealer paid RM39k or less for the car.
lol, that Mondeo been sitting there atleast for last 2yrs...who knows maybe more?!
VeeJay
post Nov 7 2016, 05:52 PM

3,845 posts

QUOTE(fool1988 @ Nov 7 2016, 05:03 PM)
Hi, by this coming Christmas i will be father of two. Currently driving a 1994 yo wira 4G91. Wish to get one MPV or at least SUV with 7 seater because every weekend i will bring along my mum and youngest sis to turn around in Johor Bahru and sometime to Melacca or KL.

My budget is around 80K of cause if valuable slightly increase on budget is ok for me too. I trying to lower the monthly installment so it wont bring lot burden for me by monthly.

Below is some car i found, but welcome to recommend other than the list.

1. Proton Exora 1.6 CFE
2. Estima 2.4cc
3. Hyundai Santa Fe
4. Nissan Serena S-Hybrid (Around 88k)
5. Kia Rondo

My request is the car must be spacious, last row got aircon, safe and reliable, FC is ok as long as don't too extreme.  icon_question.gif
To me, the most comfortable and spacious would Serena...hands down...furthermore its hybrid

The others are small in comparison for a 7 seater; especially the luggage compartment
VeeJay
post Nov 14 2016, 02:04 PM

3,845 posts

QUOTE(cyclonekid @ Nov 14 2016, 11:19 AM)
Need recommendation for a 7 Seater SUV. Needs to be an SUV not a MPV.

Brand : Anything Japanese, Korean, USA
Budget :140;-165k
Used/New/Unreg : NEW
Transmission : AUTO
Santa Fe, Sorento, Captiva, X-Trail
VeeJay
post Jan 22 2017, 11:35 AM

3,845 posts

QUOTE(zenix @ Jan 22 2017, 02:45 AM)
Gen7 civic?
Korean parts quality decent but price isn't cheap
I wont call korean car part as expensive, its pretty much similar, +/- 10% to japanese parts
VeeJay
post Feb 26 2017, 10:30 PM

3,845 posts

QUOTE(neo_6053 @ Feb 26 2017, 02:42 PM)
1. Brand : Any
2. Price : 8000
3. Condition : New/Used/Unreg
4. Transmission : Auto
5. Usage : Car for wife (since she's not so good in driving yet, band also not hurt that much)

I think I do not have too much options. Maybe 2nd hand Kancil/Savvy? Let me know if got others.

But mainly want to know if any recommended dealer or seller to recommend.
Proton Gen2, Getz, Atos, Kenari, Kelisa, Saga, are some of the used car that you can look at
VeeJay
post Mar 1 2017, 07:53 PM

3,845 posts

QUOTE(Vio @ Mar 1 2017, 08:50 AM)
'

thank you sifu! another question that i would like to ask, should i look out for those car that still comes with warranty from etc, toyata, honda, nissan? as in to avoid mileage etc being tampered with?
Whenever I visit a used car, I would ask them, is it okay for me to bring the car to a SC to check it up before prior to purchase. If they say no, then I walk out, if yes, continue the process
VeeJay
post Mar 2 2017, 08:45 PM

3,845 posts

QUOTE(Vizz @ Mar 2 2017, 05:56 PM)
Dear all, one quick question.
I'm buying a second hand Camry and the owner want to keep his plate number.
So, I'll need a new number. Since he will need to transfer  his plate to a new motorcycle and get a new number that I desired for the Camry. Do I register the new number under his name or my name?
I have replied to you on the other thread smile.gif

https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...&#entry83944947

VeeJay
post Mar 24 2017, 03:43 PM

3,845 posts

QUOTE(udin901 @ Mar 24 2017, 03:37 PM)
might need to bring friends who can do diagnostics,i dont have any idea how, yeah that is why i go for merc, spare part more cheaper than beemerlah!  blush.gif
wah..very cheap 70k++, but too far from Penang to go see..hmm..
You can request to the dealer that you wanna bring it to Merc SC for a checkup.
VeeJay
post Mar 24 2017, 06:43 PM

3,845 posts

QUOTE(udin901 @ Mar 24 2017, 04:20 PM)
owh like that, how much is the fees they usually charged? i never saw one Merc c200k w204 less than 80k in Penang...kinda hesitate already
I have not done for Merc...For Kia its RM80 and VW its RM130...its totally worth it. Have dont that for all my previous purchases as well.

Recently went up to SH Petani...this sorento was so tempting..almost rm20k cheaper than market value
http://www.mudah.my/2013+Kia+Sorento+2+4+A+2013-53351487.htm

Brought to Kia, found out, its an accident car, and repair cost is almost RM10k...and who know what else would be broken, after purchase...even the SC guy told me not worth it.

The Dealer, acted ignorant, and said, he could fix it for me.....told him not interested, especially when it has wiring problem, where Kia kept it a day to diagnose, yet to find the issue.

All the best in hunting

VeeJay
post Apr 13 2017, 09:22 PM

3,845 posts

QUOTE(kelsem @ Apr 13 2017, 03:51 PM)
I read that if I buy from the car dealers there is a possibility that they will tamper with the mileage (odometer)
I have been reading good things about the Persona. I think it is a Mitsubishi clone so I can trust it to last. Some more, being a national brand, can get better bang for your money. Will start to research that car.
Thanks for the invaluable tip.
You can bring it to the service to verify on the mileage, there are multiple ways...do inform SC when you bring em in
VeeJay
post Apr 16 2017, 10:08 PM

3,845 posts

QUOTE(kelsem @ Apr 16 2017, 10:03 PM)
Sorry I didn't make myself clear. If I should buy a 2nd hand car from the used car dealers, I can have someone at the service centre check if the odometer has been tampered with. Is that what you are saying?

I'm a bit dense with regard to these car thingy. Is it better for me to wait and look at mudah.com for private sellers? I called up 1 listing from an expat in TTDI but she already sold it off after giving a discount. I really think I should buy a new Bezza and be done with it. My hubby might want to be a grab driver. Highly unlikely I think.
Thanks VeeJay for your input. Much appreciated.
Correct, when you buy a used, its strongly advisable to bring the car to service center (SC) to get it check. Do inform the SC that you are a potential new buyer, would like to get a list of faulty or worn out parts that require replacement, any accident history information, major ECU error log and to check if the mileage is correct or there might been some potential tempered
VeeJay
post May 27 2017, 03:17 PM

3,845 posts

QUOTE(RaionShen @ May 26 2017, 12:29 AM)
hey smile.gif have always been wondering something. is it possible to trade in two cars for one?
Obviously boleh...my cousin recently did exactly that
VeeJay
post Jun 17 2017, 06:34 PM

3,845 posts

QUOTE(jimmylim85 @ Jun 17 2017, 06:14 PM)
Guys can i have some opinions and awareness.

I'm planning of getting a second hand Kia Sorento 2.4 Petrol year 2012 - 2013 with the price range somewhere RM 55k - 65K. Mileage around 60k -80k. What do you guys think of this SUV 7 seater? worth to buy than getting an old 3rd gen CRV year 2007 - 2008 for around the same price? Is there any problem should i be aware for this Kia Sorento gen?

Thanks a lot.
Best value for money for its space.
Ensure you bring to Kia for a checkup (around RM80) prior to purchase

2013-14 goes at high 70s in pricings
VeeJay
post Jul 25 2017, 05:28 PM

3,845 posts

QUOTE(life27 @ Jul 25 2017, 05:22 PM)
hi otai otai  ..

i got a question want to ask too instead of creating a new topic ..

may i know when is the best time to buy a new car ?  ? during merdeka month ??

or i shall wait 2018 for chinese new year sale  ??

i am thinking if i wait 2018 march or april then buy 2017 new car , it will be cheaper in market price right ??

BUDGET RM 50,000 or below , what is my best choice ? current car is myvi =p
If its a used car, I would say from Nov till Jan, since its ageing, many Seller would throw in to get rid of the car at the soonest, else its one year older

0.0337sec    0.66    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 11:41 PM