Plan to buy a NEW/USED car?(V3),, ASK HERE for recommendations

T06D14 P
post Jun 13 2019, 02:46 AM

Probation

Hey! Can anyone give me advice on choosing a 2nd hand car to buy? my budget is within 14k. i shortlisted 2009/10 myvi ezi, proton waja cps, vios 2004/05 and altis 1.6 first batch. my priority is FC, safety, spare parts, maintenance(monthly expenditure) and resale value in 5 years from now. Mostly city use and travel from seremban to nilai too. Would appreciate some advice from owners of those cars i listed. Thanks in advance. biggrin.gif
T06D14 P
post Jun 13 2019, 12:26 PM

Probation

QUOTE(Chrix @ Jun 13 2019, 08:44 AM)
IMO,

Myvi for easy of parking if u find having a shorter car advantageous, but trunk space is sacrificed.

I would say that year Vios & Altis are similar now, get the Vios if want lower rtax. If want (marginally) better NVH, get Altis. I own 2002 1.8 Altis, but driven & sat as passenger in all mentioned models before.

All above cheap to maintain & repair. However, I believe the Toyota options would hold better value compared to the Proton options. But that is telling the future, in which if I could, I wouldn't be spending time surfing forums..instead surf super models.

No comment about Waja, as all persons I know are rejoicing after replacing their Waja.
T06D14 P
post Jun 13 2019, 12:30 PM

Probation

QUOTE(Chrix @ Jun 13 2019, 08:44 AM)
IMO,

Myvi for easy of parking if u find having a shorter car advantageous, but trunk space is sacrificed.

I would say that year Vios & Altis are similar now, get the Vios if want lower rtax. If want (marginally) better NVH, get Altis. I own 2002 1.8 Altis, but driven & sat as passenger in all mentioned models before.

All above cheap to maintain & repair. However, I believe the Toyota options would hold better value compared to the Proton options. But that is telling the future, in which if I could, I wouldn't be spending time surfing forums..instead surf super models.

No comment about Waja, as all persons I know are rejoicing after replacing their Waja.
I dont need trunk space but i'd like a safe and fuel efficient car tbh... I dont know if i should go with 9/10 yrs old myvi or a vios thats almost 15 years old... But if i do go with the myvi i'm currently finding for the ezi se version 🤔
T06D14 P
post Jun 18 2019, 12:30 AM

Probation

QUOTE(Stevenng94 @ Jun 17 2019, 11:44 PM)
Hi all, looking for advise and recommendations  smile.gif

. Brand : Ford focus/ hyundai elantra/ honda civic/ vw passat
2. Budget : 50k - 60k
3. New/Used/Unreg : Used
4. Specs : Any
5. Transmission : Automatic
6. NA or FI :
7. Type :
8. Remarks : fuel save and fun to drive

I'm going to drive a lot and mostly is 70% city, 30% highway. I'm going to buy in the end of this month.
Civic hybrid city use very good petrol... can go up to 13.5km/l or possibly higher if u dont rev too much... focus i heard fuel consumption good but maintenance is expensive... but honestly among the above 4, focus is more powerful
T06D14 P
post Jun 26 2019, 09:57 PM

Probation

[quote=k3v1nkok,Jun 26 2019, 01:09 AM]
Hi sifus,

1. Brand: No specific preference, but preferably not Perodua or Proton.
2. Budget: Around 50k, preferably less. Loan available.
3. Used, 2010 and newer.
4. Specs: Preferably 1.6 to 2.0
5. Transmission: Automatic
6. NA or FI: No preference
7. Type: Sedan or SUV
8. Would like to look for a car with good safety features , spacious, and fun to drive in.

Priorities:
1. Safety.
2. Performance.
3. Maintenances cost and ease of maintenance.
4. Spaciousness.
5. Looks.

Driving habits:
1. More of an aggressive driver.
2. Tend to overtake cars and enter corners in a higher speed.
3. Not much top speed, never driven above 160 km/h.

I'm thinking about Ford Mondeo 2011 2.0 ecoboost but am worried about the ease of maintenance and availability of spare parts.

After reading the posts for the past one year, here are some shortlisted options that I found (not sure which year or make is better):
1. Renault Fluence 2.0
2. Toyota Altis
3. VW Passat
4. Toyota Camry

Thanks in advance!

Forget ford, VW & Peugeot if u want cheap maintenance... Camry is good or u could go with according or even teana actually... All easy to maintain and not that expensive cost... Definitely good safety features. If SUV then toyota rush or CRV or even HRV is good.

0.0192sec    0.30    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th March 2024 - 09:47 PM