Plan to buy a NEW/USED car?(V3),, ASK HERE for recommendations

DS51
post Nov 9 2018, 12:13 AM

470 posts

QUOTE(archonixm @ Nov 8 2018, 10:24 PM)
2.4 NA on a 1.5tonne body i assume, 19hp/1500 = will be comes to almost nothing lol..so the difference is not much..seriously wasting time..

if u want more umpph, u need turbo/supercharger, NA....2.0 or 2.4 not really much different, even after modding it, still +5hp..hahaha..
Ya. I use 2.4 cp2 8th gen. That 2400cc can only felt when maintain high speed cruising. So effortless cruise at 160km/h to 180km/h.

But on startup, always need to rev engine, up to 4k rpm sometimes. Lel. If not, felt like car not moving but it does moving a lot more compare to smaller car, maybe due to heavy weight, it not feel fast.
DS51
post Nov 9 2018, 12:24 AM

470 posts

QUOTE(ketupatlazat @ Nov 8 2018, 10:31 PM)
wait, don't commit just yet

at least wait till the 10th gen gets announced/launched

it's just a few months down the road lol

unless you can get a unit of the current gen at at least 20k discount
Kinda agree with this. Current gen accord, fc is fuel drinker in city, newer turbo will be very efficient in city. Right now 2.0 not really efficient in city, 2.4 even worse la.

But if u can wait, why not. But if u cannot, please ask the best of the best discount that u can get. In term of maintenance, NA is the best. I had use my accord since 2010, always hentam 200km/h. Never once overheat whatsoever. Send to service centre from day 1. Same goes to r20 accord 2.0, so bulletproof. Gearbox conventional 5 speed auto. Current gen can easily last 20 years without major problem/broke ur wallet.
DS51
post May 31 2019, 07:03 AM

470 posts

QUOTE(Chips556 @ May 30 2019, 09:52 PM)
50k loan, need to include replacing wear & tear parts etc, something that's compact & fun to drive around, can corner stably at high speeds, interior doesn't matter
My relative just bought facelifted honda crz 2nd hand..I had drive it and had smoke quite a lot of car at traffic light. 0 to 100kmh in 9 second flat. The best thing is this car is jimat, so u can tekan almost all the time.

I feel on startup its even faster than my accord 2.4, ya power to weight ratio play major parts here.

Scared battery need to replace?. Ya, cost is only rm5k for replacement, but that is peanut compared to ur profit from depreciation.

This post has been edited by DS51: May 31 2019, 07:05 AM
DS51
post Jun 4 2019, 07:15 PM

470 posts

QUOTE(Seng_Kiat @ Jun 3 2019, 09:07 AM)
The crz battery is only rm5k for replacement?
Yes..very fun car to drive. Test drive it urself to believe.
DS51
post Jul 11 2019, 08:53 PM

470 posts

QUOTE(k3v1nkok @ Jul 6 2019, 09:07 AM)
Thanks, but I have a Kia Forte at home already, bought it discounted right before Kia Cerato was available.  biggrin.gif
Anyway, I've test drive a Mazda 6 and decided on it. It might be lethargic on low speed but quite good on high speed, plus it's comfortable and spacious.
That is the problem with d segment car. All of them got kerb weight above 1500kg. So on startup or start & stop traffic cars feels very heavy even press full, but on highway this is where d segment shine cool2.gif cool2.gif

Ya, I drive accord 2.4, on highway easily outpace 1.5litre car, but on traffic light sweat.gif sweat.gif . But, d segment indeed been made for highway.

I think, if want this heavy car, need to feel omph, need to have at least 200hp and 350nm of torque.
DS51
post Jul 12 2019, 10:26 PM

470 posts

QUOTE(k3v1nkok @ Jul 12 2019, 10:19 PM)
Hybrid no thanks la... I will either choose petrol/diesel or full electric car  biggrin.gif
Mazda 6 diesel got very strong pull. But newer price is rm200k. Lol. 2nd hand unit also very few and almost non existent as for now. Maybe owner really enjoy the power hence dont want to let go fast fast. Not like mazda 2.5, quite a lot 2nd hand even recently facelift model one.

This post has been edited by DS51: Jul 12 2019, 10:26 PM
DS51
post Jul 14 2019, 08:49 AM

470 posts

QUOTE(k3v1nkok @ Jul 13 2019, 09:54 AM)
Yeah lo... But life is sometimes about making compromises, no choice...  cry.gif
QUOTE(6UE5T @ Jul 13 2019, 03:18 PM)
There's always a choice. ☺️
Last time service my car at sc, see accord 2.0 use michelin pilot sport 4, while accord 2.4 with stock 18inch use landsail LS588.

That LS588 price was way more cheaper than stock 17inch 2.0 ps4. Lol.

Might be 2.4 dude overestimate his spending strength hence force to compromise on this safety aspect. While 2.0 dude really spend within his means so thus he can get the best tyre in the market which is ps4.

Life always about compromise. If people dont do compromise they might force to compromise later on like above case. Just my 2 cents

DS51
post Sep 26 2019, 01:07 AM

470 posts

QUOTE(Jason @ Sep 23 2019, 11:55 PM)

2005/06 Toyota Mark X 2.5L V6 rear wheel drive. It's a TOYOTA
Confirm an upgrade over your Myvi, an upgrade over the Preve/Suprima too
07 Camry 2.4L can be had around 30k as well...but what for when you can have a 2.5L V6 with rear wheel drive?

Alternatively a 09 Honda Accord 2L (accordana) which has a huuuuuuuggggeeee cabin, if you want load of space and a newer car.

Preve probably feels like falling apart as well -- compared to the accord and mark x.
a good B segment can't best a good C segment, and a good C segment can't best a good D segment. I recommend you all D segments since no concern on fuel, maintenance or road tax
U seems like furious when suggest d segment sedan 🤔🤔😆. There is a reason why d segment is very cheap. As owner of 2.4Litre D segment, I dont really recommend d segment unless someone use their car for long distance trip and dont really care about fc. Short city trip really kill fc for this heavy kerb weight car

D segment best fc the best is 13km/L but that is if someone drive at majority highway with 110kmh. Mostly dont drive at 110kmh. Really hard tbh to drive at 110kmh since u dont feel the speed hence most of the time u will maintain at least 140kmh.

But rm30k really a bargain to those who can fuel this thirsty car
DS51
post Sep 26 2019, 08:46 AM

470 posts

QUOTE(Jason @ Sep 26 2019, 02:22 AM)
I think you need to look at his requirements in his first post as he didn't state FC requirements or age of car. And I highlighted that in my post. Only requirement was upgrade from Myvi & impress clients. A Proton won't "impress" anyone. Which is why I suggest D segment sedan, as those D segments would be more spacious, handle better and impress people more so than a Myvi. C segment won't necessarily beat Myvi in cabin space, especially head room.

Want comfort, want to impress people, want upgrade from Myvi, want good FC.. buy any of the Volvo T8s or BMW edrive or Mercedes E350e/C300e.  icon_idea.gif

Personally, I have no preference towards D segments. I wouldn't buy one myself either even if I need the space, probably go for SUVs.
I also like suv until one day I test drive proton x70 as I feel suv no stable ma. Unless those expensive rm300k above suv. I had try x70 2 months ago. Sales advisor damn kind people. During test drive, frequently ask me to pedal to the metal. Until I think, why not right drive fast, rims is 19inch. Tbh, I dont dare to drive test drive car fast, but he keep cucuk me. Then me drive fast la.

Pickup is very good tbh, but when it comes to fast cornering, u can feel it chasis flex so much compare to sedan. Some sharp cornering even u drive ordinary still feel chassis is flex higher as compare to sedan. Immediately my taste towards suv is death.

Coming home see someone mention moose test on forum. Then see youtube, geely bouyue moose test really sux. No wonder I feel scare drive fast.

But suv in term of visibility is very good. But to drive fast no good. Dunno how people can drive this affordable suv fast. Lol. Only expensive suv I see pass moose test with flying colours.
DS51
post Sep 26 2019, 10:30 PM

470 posts

QUOTE(Jason @ Sep 26 2019, 10:36 AM)
For my driving style, I won't look at X70. I've enough of sailing boats on the road. Bare minimum Mazda CX-5 2.0 GLS. I'd love the 2.5 turbo but not worth the additional road tax and price premium for my daily driving route. Maybe you should test drive that. Next up it's the BMW X5, followed by the Volvo XC90 T8 bus.

But you can't beat laws of physics. If you want a SUV, somethings gotta give.

My rationale for the SUV is ease of ingress/egress, higher clearance (Klang Valley roads always flood lol), better visibility, in that order.
Indeed. Super duper agree with all of ur points.
DS51
post Nov 24 2020, 06:52 PM

470 posts

QUOTE(zenix @ Nov 22 2020, 01:14 AM)

my daily drive is a 2017 Honda City V-Spec
nearing to 100k kilometers so there is a choice to either:

1) Bezza/Axia - downgrade and cash out for rainy day due to current situation  icon_rolleyes.gif
2) Myvi 1.3 - downgrade abit but still within b-segment  nod.gif
3) Myvi 1.5 - downgrade and cash out just enough for PS5?  laugh.gif
Just keep ur city lor..If people ask me, I will said, city is almost perfect honda. Compare to my accord, my city can do everything accord can do except high speed cruising..That is the only city weaknesses.

And other pros of city is very reliable(no problem), very fuel efficient in town even more fuel efficient on highway, very effortless drive(rpm very low), very easy to park.

If tomorrow I force to sell cars, easily I will sell accord, but not city. I will keep city until become classic.lol.

0.0215sec    0.47    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th March 2024 - 08:27 PM