Plan to buy a NEW/USED car?(V3),, ASK HERE for recommendations

FrogBlob
post Feb 1 2026, 05:57 PM

485 posts

QUOTE(damien5119 @ Jan 31 2026, 08:01 PM)
hi all, any recommendations? looking for something cheap and cheerful just to send kids to school and back.

1. Brand : Not P1/P2 (Gaya mesti ada)
2. Budget : 10K
3. New/Used/Unreg : Doesn't matters.
4. Specs : Any
5. Transmission : Any
6. NA or FI :  Any
7. Type : Sedan/SUV
8. Remarks : Must have basic safety features, bonus if there's ANCAP rating

shortlisted so far only renault fluence.
QUOTE(damien5119 @ Jan 31 2026, 11:59 PM)
enough. you have any suggestions for car?
2014 peugeot 408

if you look around theres also vw polo or polo sedan. ive been eyeing this before i bought my car seems like a good deal.

This post has been edited by FrogBlob: Feb 1 2026, 06:03 PM
damien5119
post Feb 1 2026, 08:07 PM

129 posts

QUOTE(FrogBlob @ Feb 1 2026, 05:57 PM)
2014 peugeot 408

if you look around theres also vw polo or polo sedan. ive been eyeing this before i bought my car seems like a good deal.
thanks, will check those out. but VW no more gearbox issues?
FrogBlob
post Feb 1 2026, 09:11 PM

485 posts

QUOTE(damien5119 @ Feb 1 2026, 08:07 PM)
thanks, will check those out. but VW no more gearbox issues?
the polo 1.6 doesnt use the dsg, its an aisin 6 speed.

not no more issues, just less than the 1.2tsi. ive seen in fb groups mostly the gear selector bush will rosak. and abs sensor issues i think.

the fb groups recommends the tsi for happier driving but more issues since its a vw and a small 4cyl turbo. pick your poison.

correction: 1.2tsi is 4cyl turbo. confused this with the ford fiesta.

This post has been edited by FrogBlob: Feb 4 2026, 04:43 PM
dogbert_chew
post Feb 1 2026, 09:28 PM

1,586 posts

QUOTE(damien5119 @ Jan 31 2026, 11:59 PM)
enough. you have any suggestions for car?
For 10K budget wanna avoid local? 😅

Have fun.
dogbert_chew
post Feb 1 2026, 09:33 PM

1,586 posts

QUOTE(FrogBlob @ Feb 1 2026, 05:57 PM)
2014 peugeot 408

Apparently 408 has been build more robust than predecessors. My 406 literally fell apart component by component after year 5.
damien5119
post Feb 1 2026, 09:41 PM

129 posts

QUOTE(FrogBlob @ Feb 1 2026, 09:11 PM)
the polo 1.6 doesnt use the dsg, its an aisin 6 speed.

not no more issues, just less than the 1.2tsi. ive seen in fb groups mostly the gear selector bush will rosak. and abs sensor issues i think.

the fb groups recommends the tsi for happier driving but more issues since its a vw and a 3cyl turbo. pick your poison.
thank you. much appreciated. i will survey the those suggestions
FrogBlob
post Feb 1 2026, 11:35 PM

485 posts

QUOTE(dogbert_chew @ Feb 1 2026, 09:28 PM)
For 10K budget wanna avoid local? 😅

Have fun.
tbh 10k local cars are all aged p1s and p2s

aging p1s are rusting and aging p2s are already abused by the young drivers now.

all decrepit and they will still sell high price due to demand and good workhorse status

under 10k only blm and myvi 1st gen. the only saving grace is they can be repaired very cheap. damn cheap to maintain including road tax insu. but really finding good units under 10k very hard to find.

really would liks a myvi gen2 for a run-around car but still so high priced for what they are. haiz.
FrogBlob
post Feb 1 2026, 11:38 PM

485 posts

QUOTE(dogbert_chew @ Feb 1 2026, 09:33 PM)
Apparently 408 has been build more robust than predecessors. My 406 literally fell apart component by component after year 5.
parts are still expensive compared to any other car devil.gif and difficult to source.

have friend w rosak power window for one of the smaller peugeots. foreman tape and suggest just leave it and dont bukak.
dogbert_chew
post Feb 2 2026, 10:00 AM

1,586 posts

QUOTE(FrogBlob @ Feb 1 2026, 11:35 PM)
tbh 10k local cars are all aged p1s and p2s

aging p1s are rusting and aging p2s are already abused by the young drivers now.

all decrepit and they will still sell high price due to demand and good workhorse status

under 10k only blm and myvi 1st gen. the only saving grace is they can be repaired very cheap. damn cheap to maintain including road tax insu. but really finding good units under 10k very hard to find.

really would liks a myvi gen2 for a run-around car but still so high priced for what they are. haiz.
10K rarely get you a gem. My point is with this limited purchase budget, how much more is needed to bring and maintain a 10yr old continental up to specs. 🙄

As you said yourself, local models are repaired and maintained cheaply

https://www.mudah.my/2018-proton-saga-1-3-s...a-113350438.htm
FrogBlob
post Feb 2 2026, 10:18 AM

485 posts

QUOTE(dogbert_chew @ Feb 2 2026, 10:00 AM)
10K rarely get you a gem. My point is with this limited purchase budget, how much more is needed to bring and maintain a 10yr old continental up to specs. 🙄

As you said yourself,  local models are repaired and maintained cheaply

https://www.mudah.my/2018-proton-saga-1-3-s...a-113350438.htm
this i did not expect

2018 saga at 10k not even 10 years old 30% of value left. these around the price of a good unit 1st gen myvi.

i do agree on maintaining contis will be substantially more expensive but since he say got enough budget for maintaining. go for it lu.

david22022022
post Feb 5 2026, 11:08 PM

for this spec and price too good to be true? planning to get a first car. always travelling for work from 300KM+ one way. need a reliable car but comfortable enough

dogbert_chew
post Feb 6 2026, 12:38 AM

1,586 posts

QUOTE(david22022022 @ Feb 5 2026, 11:08 PM)
for this spec and price too good to be true? planning to get a first car. always travelling for work from 300KM+ one way. need a reliable car but comfortable enough
Are you familiar with car components to handle a 4 year old used unit, got reliable mechanics to support? Else a new car gives highest reliability with 5 year warranty vs used from unknown previous owner.

Long outstation travel minimum 1.5L like this City but if budget can increase to 63K, then can consider Alza (B-Segment with the longest wheelbase 2750mm) for comfortable cruising.

Else test drive new Saga 1.5L can get below 40K
david22022022
post Feb 6 2026, 08:04 AM

QUOTE(dogbert_chew @ Feb 6 2026, 12:38 AM)
Are you familiar with car components to handle a 4 year old used unit, got reliable mechanics to support? Else a new car gives highest reliability with 5 year warranty vs used from unknown previous owner.

Long outstation travel minimum 1.5L like this City but if budget can increase to 63K, then can consider Alza (B-Segment with the longest wheelbase 2750mm) for comfortable cruising.

Else test drive new Saga 1.5L can get below 40K
i was expecting to spend atleast 2k on just wear and tear, eo and other fluids. other than that I'm not sure on what to expect from a 4yo+ car.

did test drove the new saga. the premium/cvt to me doesn't have much difference, but having to wait atleast a few months to get one doesn't sit well in my book with this being a new engine platform, still to be proven on proton reliability. or that's just me.

Alza would be nice but a tad too large for my liking. but will add it within my radar

This post has been edited by david22022022: Feb 6 2026, 08:07 AM
dogbert_chew
post Feb 6 2026, 08:48 AM

1,586 posts

QUOTE(david22022022 @ Feb 6 2026, 08:04 AM)
i was expecting to spend atleast 2k  on just wear and tear, eo and other fluids. other than that I'm not sure on what to expect from a 4yo+ car.

did test drove the new saga. the premium/cvt to me doesn't have much difference, but having to wait atleast a few months to get one doesn't sit well in my book with this being a new engine platform, still to be proven on proton reliability. or that's just me.

Alza would be nice but a tad too large for my liking. but will add it within my radar
Saga booking exceeded 100K units. Factory capacity ard 10-12K so waiting time is > 6months now. The Geely BHE15PFI engine is not new.

Alza only looks big due to height.
AlzaCity
L4,4254,580
W1,7301,748
H1,6601,467
Wheelbase2,7502,600

ayamxxx
post Feb 6 2026, 10:17 AM

4,109 posts

300km one way, 600km per day, and obviosly will clog high mileage after 6 months/ 1 year. High mileage is a CVT gb flaw, it will one day burst the CVT belts after some high mileage. If u ok to spend rm4k+ towards rm6k (depending on shop) for this belt replacement, u can go for it
FrogBlob
post Feb 6 2026, 10:21 AM

485 posts

carsome same year and spec is around 70k. carro around same also. but their price is more premium + already nett excl insurance road tax je.

so for regular used cars you expect around 10% processing fees, handling fees, fee processing fees yada yada.

for used car listings on carlist, try searching their shop name in google maps, see lowest reviews. if a lot of people are saying hanky panky, look for another listing.

this is not a rare car, take your time to go through more listings until you find one your gut says it's ok to go for. don't be afraid to walk away.

other than that, see if you can bring a mechanic to help you go check see the car lu.

but have to consider used cars are used goods, don't expect everything to be perfect. in fact, expect things to go wrong very quickly after you take delivery of your car.

if often long distance, try looking at older c-segments also lah. but upkeep will be one step higher than city. but tbh city i feel already good enough long distance.

but try as dogbert says, try consider new as well. not bezza since you often long distance. ascending in size: saga, myvi, alza. only this 3 suitable for long distance lah imo. others either outdated or abit meh.

or if you're not in a rush for cars, wait for the s70 facelift. rumor has it there will be a NA version replacing the persona vvt. should be same engine as new saga.
ayamxxx
post Feb 6 2026, 10:54 AM

4,109 posts

QUOTE(FrogBlob @ Feb 6 2026, 10:21 AM)
carsome same year and spec is around 70k. carro around same also. but their price is more premium + already nett excl insurance road tax je.

so for regular used cars you expect around 10% processing fees, handling fees, fee processing fees yada yada.

for used car listings on carlist, try searching their shop name in google maps, see lowest reviews. if a lot of people are saying hanky panky, look for another listing.

this is not a rare car, take your time to go through more listings until you find one your gut says it's ok to go for. don't be afraid to walk away.

other than that, see if you can bring a mechanic to help you go check see the car lu.

but have to consider used cars are used goods, don't expect everything to be perfect. in fact, expect things to go wrong very quickly after you take delivery of your car.

if often long distance, try looking at older c-segments also lah. but upkeep will be one step higher than city. but tbh city i feel already good enough long distance.

but try as dogbert says, try consider new as well. not bezza since you often long distance. ascending in size: saga, myvi, alza. only this 3 suitable for long distance lah imo. others either outdated or abit meh.

or if you're not in a rush for cars, wait for the s70 facelift. rumor has it there will be a NA version replacing the persona vvt. should be same engine as new saga.

S70 MC 1
181Hp, 290NM
7 Speed DCT
FrogBlob
post Feb 6 2026, 11:01 AM

485 posts

QUOTE(ayamxxx @ Feb 6 2026, 10:54 AM)

S70 MC 1
181Hp, 290NM
7 Speed DCT
kesian the 3cyl owners. p1 backpedaled so fast.

but means the used 3cyl models will be extra cheap brows.gif
ayamxxx
post Feb 6 2026, 12:39 PM

4,109 posts

QUOTE(FrogBlob @ Feb 6 2026, 11:01 AM)
kesian the 3cyl owners. p1 backpedaled so fast.

but means the used 3cyl models will be extra cheap  brows.gif
All brand backstab nowadays. Not via features, but via cash rebates. Norm these day saw 5 figures rebates. HM done it, Chery done it, P1 also regular on this.
david22022022
post Feb 6 2026, 01:26 PM

QUOTE(FrogBlob @ Feb 6 2026, 10:21 AM)

not in a rush, true. However will try to get a privste inspector/mechanic to verify any vehicle that is to my liking, costs some money but better than be scammed I guess?

Anyone experienced with doktorkereta or any other car inspection services?

but then again would like something max 60k either used or new. I was looking into the P2s but their NVH is rubbish. My brother had to invest 2k+ for floor&door noise dampening and that made it bearable. And they're also using CVTs which is whatever to me.

I do know that the GN2 are using the same steel belt CVT as per GM6 Hondas which are prone to kaboom around 150k km. Have reseached around and seem to cost north of 5k to get it replaced.

old C-seg also looking into it but the mileage of them are north of 100k km, so that's also a concern + age of course.

that S70 looks spicy. let's see how things goes with their launch.

Anyways, appreciate the advices folks! Will keep an eye out for other deals or scams.

372 Pages « < 369 370 371 372 >Top

0.0185sec    0.71    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th February 2026 - 05:20 PM