370 Pages « < 352 353 354 355 356 > » Bottom

Plan to buy a NEW/USED car?(V3),, ASK HERE for recommendations

Old DaI
post Sep 9 2024, 02:47 PM

29 posts

QUOTE(dogbert_chew @ Sep 9 2024, 02:45 AM)
Checked with Carsome and Carro (mytukar) on the value for your 2014 City? Might get more than 25K. Highest price if you sell yourself.

A. Any used car got risk, need careful check by trusted expert. The smaller car segments repair usually cost less if unlucky. So would stick to say 2014 Axia E. If you can drive manual

B. Check with your bank

C. If you don't drive often, then Grab + public transport might be a cheaper option for the year instead of car ownership
Yes, I’m trying with Carsome and Carro as my friend is working as an agent there. He will helped me to get a quote later this week.

A. I’m big and huge in a way, I’m thinking to look at something old and slightly bigger. Such as Honda Accord 2005, 2001 S280 etc.. would it be a too big risk for me? Or is there any Reccomended old yet durable car, understand that there will be a risk.

B. Will check it out.

C. In some ways I still need my own transport although I’m not driving it that often.

Thanks for the opinion and replies
dogbert_chew
post Sep 9 2024, 03:08 PM

1,563 posts

QUOTE(Old DaI @ Sep 9 2024, 02:47 PM)
Yes, I’m trying with Carsome and Carro as my friend is working as an agent there. He will helped me to get a quote later this week.

I’m big and huge in a way, I’m thinking to look at something old and slightly bigger. Such as Honda Accord 2005, 2001 S280 etc.. would it be a too big risk for me? Or is there any Reccomended old yet durable car, understand that there will be a risk.

💪 Carsome or Carro still will earn at least 3-5K from your City.
Not sure if you have the time to sell yourself without getting scammed too.

Going from B segment to D the maintenance will double , triple. And you are talking about 19 to 23 year old models. AND continental models? Suicidal
ktek
post Sep 10 2024, 10:31 AM

小喇叭
13,197 posts

how to prevent taxi vehicles
other than obvious red color
LostAndFound
post Sep 10 2024, 10:46 AM

6,264 posts

QUOTE(ktek @ Sep 10 2024, 10:31 AM)
how to prevent taxi vehicles
other than obvious red color
Nowadays with grab? Not possible I feel.
M2020
post Sep 16 2024, 11:31 PM

80 posts

We want to replace 2011 old Saga with a new car below RM60k and plan to use it for long term so need a reputable, reliable and safe one.
Please help to compare Saga Premium (~44k) and Myvi H (~58k).
Our weekly usage is around 200 km and 99% city driving, seldom travel long distance and seldom needs more space.
Or any other recommendation?

This post has been edited by M2020: Sep 16 2024, 11:33 PM
dogbert_chew
post Sep 17 2024, 02:12 PM

1,563 posts

QUOTE(M2020 @ Sep 16 2024, 11:31 PM)
new car below RM60k
weekly usage is around 200 km
99% city driving,
seldom travel long distance
seldom needs more space.
use it for long term
need a reputable, reliable and safe one.

replace 2011 old Saga
Saga Premium (~44k)
Myvi H (~58k).
New car < 60K only 6 models from Proton and P2
Sedan - saga, bezza, persona
Hatchback - Axia, Myvi, Iriz

Hatchback more flexible for carrying larger items, folded rear seats means can squeeze in small cabinets.
Sedan suppose to handle better at highway speed, bigger boot.

Proton tougher hence safer in actual accident, more comfortable but P2 have more active safety to prevent accident with more modern equipment like new CVT gearbox for lower fuel consumption and higher resale value in case need to sell earlier than planned.

If not focus on handling and passive safety from tougher body, then P2 is more popular choice for better resale and lower fuel.

Problems with the three P2 models (my opinion la)
Axia - 1.0L 67hp not enough power. If really sedate city driving no fast overtaking then 2nd problem is very expensive. AV varient is 50K 😳
Bezza - based on the old Axia platform, P2 design a boot and to make it look better, raised the back by a few inches. This completely destroyed the handling making this car the WORST handling in Malaysia. Again, driven slowly no issues.
Myvi - new DCVT gearbox but old engine and even older platform since 2005 first Gen based on Daihatsu Boon. So handling is also shaky and new model expected in 2025 affecting current model value.

Since you're already familiar with Proton services, and higher fuel consumption minimal impact on your 200x52=10K mileage per year, then can consider
Saga Premium with old but reliable 4AT price 42K (before ins) with 7" touchscreen but 2 airbags only. Do take max 5 year if loan needed else market value below outstanding loan balance.

Persona and Iriz is bigger B-segment more stable better handling which you dont need.

Else second choice Bezza X extra 2K at 44K (before Ins) since slow drive handling still ok for better resale and lower fuel (also lighter by 150Kg than Saga) but no touchscreen & reverse camera (can install aftermarket)

alex_angelus
post Sep 18 2024, 05:15 PM

100 posts

Hi all, I’m looking to change my vw Jetta 2015 as it’s too costly to maintain. Hopefully you guys are able to provide good recommendations.

1. Brand: Japanese - Toyota, Honda or Mazda
2. Budget - around 150k can increase abit.
3. New/Used/Unreg -new
4. Specs.
5. Transmission. (Automatic)
6. NA or FI ? (NA = Natural Aspirated, FI = Forced-induction aka Turbocharged/Supercharged) - either
7. Type. (Sedan)
8. Remarks: I am looking for a fuel economical car and reliable car to use for the next 10 to 15 years.
I was considering the Honda civic but I read there was issues with the steering rack. Another car I considered was the Toyota Corolla but I think it’s under powered. Now considering mazda 3. Looking for a car with the least major issues.

This post has been edited by alex_angelus: Sep 18 2024, 05:19 PM
dogbert_chew
post Sep 18 2024, 06:55 PM

1,563 posts

QUOTE(alex_angelus @ Sep 18 2024, 05:15 PM)
change my vw Jetta 2015

1. Brand: Japanese - Toyota, Honda or Mazda
2. Budget - around 150k can increase abit.
3. New/Used/Unreg -new
7. Type. (Sedan)
fuel economical car
reliable car10 to 15 years.
car with the least major issues

Honda civic issues with steering rack.
Toyota Corolla under powered.
considering mazda 3
Apart from EV or Peugeot 408, there's only the 3 sedan models above you can buy new at that price range. Can get your preferred variants from multiple test drives, another option is to join car club discusions eg Mazda clubs

Unless you willing to explore SUV?

This post has been edited by dogbert_chew: Sep 18 2024, 07:05 PM
alex_angelus
post Sep 20 2024, 03:05 PM

100 posts

I just tested the cx-5 as the Mazda showroom doesn’t have Mazda 3. It was a nice drive. I am just wondering whether any problem with this carand how is the maintenance price post warranty.
I also tested the Toyota Corolla which seems to be slightly under powered but still okay. But the build quality is not that great. Seems like I am overpaying for this car. The SA mentioned it’s a good value car and for maintenance post warranty it is cheaper than Mazda. He was also saying the Mazda car is old technology. Any input?
dogbert_chew
post Sep 20 2024, 05:07 PM

1,563 posts

QUOTE(alex_angelus @ Sep 20 2024, 03:05 PM)
I just tested the cx-5 as the Mazda showroom doesn’t have Mazda 3. It was a nice drive. I am just wondering whether any problem with this carand how is the maintenance price post warranty.
I also tested the Toyota Corolla which seems to be slightly under powered but still okay. But the build quality is not that great. Seems like I am overpaying for this car. The SA mentioned it’s a good value car and for maintenance post warranty it is cheaper than Mazda. He was also saying the Mazda car is old technology. Any input?
If you're open to SUV then the options suggested at this range would be
Corolla Cross Hybrid 142K vs CX-30 High+150K

Cross Hybrid has more power than Corolla with its system lifted off from the highly successful Prius. However you need to prebook and wait for the new model with Electronic Parking Brake in Q4 to avoid long queue once decided

CX-30 is a slightly smaller, lighter, faster and modern model compared to the aging CX-5. Am surprised your Mazda SA didn't proposed it. Example it has driver knee airbag as well total 7 compared to CX-5 6 airbags. Add 10K for AWD.

Do test drive both extensively, bring family & friends.
alex_angelus
post Sep 21 2024, 08:52 PM

100 posts

I did see the cx-30 but I think the boot space is too small so I didn’t consider it. Now I’m considering the civic even with the risk of the steering rack issue. The SA said she can increase the rebate to RM14k for the V spec. Mazda only gave rm2k off. Are these the best rebates that can be given now?
ayamxxx
post Sep 22 2024, 04:43 AM

4,047 posts

QUOTE(alex_angelus @ Sep 21 2024, 08:52 PM)
I did see the cx-30 but I think the boot space is too small so I didn’t consider it. Now I’m considering the civic even with the risk of the steering rack issue. The SA said she can increase the rebate to RM14k for the V spec. Mazda only gave rm2k off. Are these the best rebates that can be given now?
U survey civic FE used (2022) unit better cz owner desperately letgo their cz hate the steering rack issue, hence price cheaper by a lot vs new + rebates

This post has been edited by ayamxxx: Sep 22 2024, 04:43 AM
alex_angelus
post Sep 22 2024, 07:17 AM

100 posts

QUOTE(ayamxxx @ Sep 22 2024, 04:43 AM)
U survey civic FE used (2022) unit better cz owner desperately letgo their cz hate the steering rack issue, hence price cheaper by a lot vs new + rebates
I checked already. The 2023 civic costs 128k and the 2022 civic costs 120k. So would prefer to get the new one after discount around rm131k.

Or is there any new cars that will be launching by year end?

Still torn between the civic, Altis and the cx-5. Each got its own pros and cons.
ipat88
post Sep 28 2024, 09:00 PM

341 posts

sifus, hyundai creta pre register slightly below 100k good deal or not?
less than 50k from retail price
dogbert_chew
post Sep 28 2024, 10:07 PM

1,563 posts

QUOTE(ipat88 @ Sep 28 2024, 09:00 PM)
sifus, hyundai creta pre register slightly below 100k good deal or not?
less than 50k from retail price
Whoever the soar high in Sime Darby (who now owns UMW 🤦🏻‍♂️) responsible in pricing the 1.5L NA B-seg Korean SUV at 150K should be sacked.

Today might as well get a brand new WR-V below 100K. At least there are still buyers.
Turbo SUVs avaliable include Ativa, X50.

Crete most likely only display unit probably zero buyers how to get parts?

This post has been edited by dogbert_chew: Sep 28 2024, 10:12 PM
dogbert_chew
post Sep 28 2024, 10:14 PM

1,563 posts

QUOTE(alex_angelus @ Sep 22 2024, 07:17 AM)

Still torn between the civic, Altis and the cx-5. Each got its own pros and cons.
In the end, bought which car?
ipat88
post Sep 28 2024, 11:16 PM

341 posts

QUOTE(dogbert_chew @ Sep 28 2024, 10:07 PM)
Whoever the soar high in Sime Darby (who now owns UMW 🤦🏻‍♂️) responsible in pricing the 1.5L NA B-seg Korean SUV at 150K should be sacked.

Today might as well get a brand new WR-V below 100K. At least there are still buyers.
Turbo SUVs avaliable include Ativa, X50.

Crete most likely only display unit probably zero buyers how to get parts?
i check at data.gov total only 142 unit register until today which probably already include the preregister unit. they also include free servicing for 5 years too. what do u think, still not a good deal?

i already test drive the car, except for the performance, the rest such as handling n ride seem better than the previous version of hrv. im yet to try the new hrv. anyways, seem its really a segment B suv bar perfomance.

wrv outside good looking. inside looks like a 50k cars. some more lack of equipment haha
ativa, like wrv, A-seg suv n quite small for me. mazda cx3 also the same.
cherry omoda also arround 100k now but reputation damage already after the viral incident.

dilema

dogbert_chew
post Sep 29 2024, 07:31 AM

1,563 posts

QUOTE(ipat88 @ Sep 28 2024, 11:16 PM)
data.gov total only 142 unit register until today which probably already include the preregister unit.

what do u think, still not a good deal?

Many people complain that X50 did not have enough spares for parts breakdown during their warranty period.

How much spare parts do you think Sime Darby will stock up with profits made from selling 142 units of Creta?

But it seems that you have already decided this is a good deal. All I can say is good luck. 😇

ayamxxx
post Sep 29 2024, 07:44 AM

4,047 posts

QUOTE(dogbert_chew @ Sep 29 2024, 07:31 AM)
Many people complain that X50 did not have enough spares for parts breakdown during their warranty period.

How much spare parts do you think Sime Darby will stock up with profits made from selling 142 units of Creta?

But it seems that you have already decided this is a good deal. All I can say is good luck. 😇
The proton parts issues was so yesterday. Now ok already. If warranty claim, that normal 2-3 weeks for HQ approval - parts arrived at SC, this similar to HM.
ipat88
post Sep 29 2024, 10:26 AM

341 posts

QUOTE(dogbert_chew @ Sep 29 2024, 07:31 AM)

Thanks bro for your opinion i appreciate it. I do consider waiting for toyota yaris cross/perodua nexis too. Any news/update when it will be launch?

370 Pages « < 352 353 354 355 356 > » Top

0.0241sec    0.40    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 09:59 AM