235 posts

1. Brand : Any brand will do
2. Budget : max 120k
3. New/Used/Unreg : new or used is ok
4. Specs : above 1.5
5. Transmission : auto
6. NA or FI : non-hybrid
7. Type : MPV/SUV
8. Remarks : I am looking for a daily commuter car that can do long distance travel once in a while and can last for at least another 10+years. preferable to have flat cargo space when 2nd /3rd row is folded down and no need to worry much on the maintenance. max 4 adult.

I am currently considering the new Alza while waiting for Toyota Veloz launch but the extreme long waiting time made me consider used car, but i have no experience to deal with it before so am hesitating. I am checking on used 2018 Subaru XV I-P 2.0 and 2019 HR-V both roughly 95-100k, are this 2 cars a good car that will not cost me a fortune for their maintenance? This will be my only car for usage after all so I want to keep the so called "prone to defect" issue as little as possible.

I am also looking for any other option as well, thanks in advance for your feedback! smile.gif

This post has been edited by zodius: Jul 29 2022, 02:03 PM
dogbert_chew
post Jul 29 2022, 05:44 PM

1,126 posts

QUOTE(zodius @ Jul 29 2022, 02:21 AM)

daily commuter
long distance travel once in a while
last for at least another 10+years.
flat cargo space when 2nd /3rd row is folded down and
no need to worry much on the maintenance.
max 4 adult.

new Alza
Toyota Veloz
long waiting time

used car,  no experience
2018 Subaru XV I-P 2.0
2019 HR-V both roughly 95-100k,
are this 2 cars a good car  for their maintenance?

Alza and Veloz is basically the same car but u pay extra 20k for a little extra fittings and gadgets.
It does have 3 rows of seats though hence can still sit 5 with the last row folded for 500 liters of cargo space.

XV or HRV is in a different league altogether, they are much better built, more robust and can cruise above highway speed limit comfortably fully loaded (eg hrv 140hp vs alza 105hp). But with smaller boot space.

Their maintenance is definitely more than the cheaper Perodua and especially when they start to age approaching 10 years old, replacing major parts will cost more.

However if you can set aside a few K yearly in anticipation of major component replacements, the Subaru and Honda will definitely be nicer to drive.
Syracuse
post Aug 1 2022, 06:40 AM

37 posts

Hi all,

I'd like to purchase a new car within the next few months. I wonder if this is a bad time to purchase a new car? sad.gif

1. Brand: Any
2. Budget: 65k - 85k
3. NEW car only
4. Specs: -
5. Transmission: Any
6. NA or FI: Any
7. Type: B segment or C segment
8. Remarks: Used for daily commute, estimated 30km - 50km daily. Prefer cars with excellent fuel economy.
Not very concerned with resale value, planning to use this car for as long as possible (hopefully can last till at least 10 years). With this in mind, I'd be interested in the upleep / maintencance costs.
Top priority is safety features, hence prefer sedan body over hatchbacks / mini-cars (sedans have more crumple zones).
Currently driving Proton Saga >30 years old.
Currently just starting to consider Yaris, Vios, Bezza and Honda City, but there's so much details to look at and I feel overwhelmed and have no idea where to begin compring the pros and cons. With that being said, please do recommend any good options that will fit my need. Thanks!

This post has been edited by Syracuse: Aug 1 2022, 09:42 PM
dragon_88
post Aug 1 2022, 07:22 AM

25 posts

Hi all, total inexperienced in cars here looking at getting a car for going to work 30km mostly on highway daily for going to work and back home

1. Brand : Any
2. Budget : 35k+
3. New/Used/Unreg : Any
4. Specs : Any
5. Transmission : Auto
6. NA or FI : Any
7. Type : Any
8. Remarks: Need a car from point A to B reliably

This post has been edited by dragon_88: Aug 1 2022, 07:23 AM
amscouzach57
post Aug 1 2022, 08:48 AM

420 posts

QUOTE(dragon_88 @ Aug 1 2022, 07:22 AM)
Hi all, total inexperienced in cars here looking at getting a car for going to work 30km mostly on highway daily for going to work and back home

1. Brand : Any
3. New/Used/Unreg : Any
4. Specs : Any
6. NA or FI :  Any
7. Type : Any
I suggest for you to buy new cars instead of used.

With your budget, it's either Perodua Axia, Bezza or Proton Saga
LostAndFound
post Aug 1 2022, 04:44 PM

5,583 posts

QUOTE(Syracuse @ Aug 1 2022, 06:40 AM)
Hi all,

I'd like to purchase a new car within the next few months. I wonder if this is a bad time to purchase a new car? sad.gif
Worst thing about current time is waiting time. Check for your specific desired brand/model what their wait time is.
Syracuse
post Aug 1 2022, 09:41 PM

37 posts

QUOTE(LostAndFound @ Aug 1 2022, 04:44 PM)
Worst thing about current time is waiting time. Check for your specific desired brand/model what their wait time is.
Looks like Perodua waiting period is estimated to be 6 months to 1 year, and other brands (e.g Toyota, Honda) waiting period is around 1 year.

Waiting period is currently not a significant issue to me as I am not in a very urgent need for a new car, waiting 1 to 2 years is fine
I'm just concerned about the value-for-money aspect of purchasing new car as I've already missed the SST exemption which ended on 30 June.
dogbert_chew
post Aug 2 2022, 12:05 AM

1,126 posts

QUOTE(dragon_88 @ Aug 1 2022, 07:22 AM)
total inexperienced in cars
going to work 30km
mostly on highway daily

QUOTE(amscouzach57 @ Aug 1 2022, 08:48 AM)
I suggest for you to buy new cars instead of used.

With your budget, it's either Perodua Axia, Bezza or Proton Saga
Agree w Amscouzach, if you are inexperience, better get new for much increased reliability.

Go test drive both Axia and Saga. Decide on which models (and variants) suit u better. And forget about Bezza, worst handling car in MY
dogbert_chew
post Aug 2 2022, 12:33 AM

1,126 posts

2. Budget: 65k - 85k
3. NEW car only
7. Type: Sedan
Top priority is safety features

daily commute, estimated 30km - 50km daily.
Prefer cars with excellent fuel economy.
new car within the next few months , waiting 1 to 2 years is fine

There are only 6 sedans within 85K range.
Saga, Persona, Bezza
Vios, City, Almera.

Protons are eliminated due to less than excellent fuel economy.
Bezza should be thrown out too for poor handling undermining safety unless u drive below legal speed limit always

Therefore just go test-drive the 3 Japanese models see which one feels better. Note Vios new model launching in Thailand.and may arrive here next year.
mrtresynth
post Aug 2 2022, 06:01 PM

152 posts

2. Budget : max 45k
4. Specs :
6. NA or FI :
7. Type : sedan
8. Remarks :

Loan finished so I wanted to replace my current saga flx. Requirements:

1. Reliable
Since it will be the only transport in the house, so better stay away from workshop except for periodic maintenance.

2. Comfort
Family of 2 but occasionally travel together with parents on weekends. Need a good NVH comparing to current car (feels like shouting in conversation when driving 🥲). Also travelling KL-KB-KL in saga break my pinggang.

Extra: can fold back seat

2 weeks of reading conclude me to this list

Hyundai Elantra 1.6 FL
Kia Cerato K3
VW Vento 1.6
Vios/Almera/City

Special mention is Haval H1..situ zenix mention a lot in suggestions but dunno about reliability..
cempedaklife
post Aug 2 2022, 06:33 PM

Master Decoy
4,017 posts

Hi all,

Currently just starting to consider Yaris, Vios, Bezza and Honda City, but there's so much details to look at and I feel overwhelmed and have no idea where to begin compring the pros and cons. With that being said, please do recommend any good options that will fit my need. Thanks!
why persona is not in your list?
in any case, just go to test drive all in your list at least once.
no point just reading or watching the reviews.
dogbert_chew
post Aug 2 2022, 09:20 PM

1,126 posts

QUOTE(mrtresynth @ Aug 2 2022, 06:01 PM)
Replace my current saga flx.

1. Reliable
2. Comfort
good NVH
travelling KL-KB-KL

Hyundai Elantra 1.6 FL
Kia Cerato K3
VW Vento 1.6
Vios/Almera/City
Haval H1..situ zenix mention a lot in suggestions but dunno about reliability..
Looking for reliable car, proceed to list 2nd hand Koreans & Volkswagon? A new car will always offer higher reliability.

Since you need good comfort to travel long distance, the Persona has the most comfortable seats and is the best handling sedan below 100K. The new standard variant at 45K cannot fold back seat though.

This post has been edited by dogbert_chew: Aug 2 2022, 09:23 PM
mrtresynth
post Aug 3 2022, 12:07 AM

152 posts

QUOTE(dogbert_chew @ Aug 2 2022, 09:20 PM)
Looking for reliable car, proceed to list 2nd hand Koreans & Volkswagon? A new car will always offer higher reliability.

Since you need good comfort to travel long distance, the Persona has the most comfortable seats and is the best handling sedan below 100K. The new standard variant at 45K cannot fold back seat though.
Reviews in Facebook groups looks promising 😅 that's why considering used Koreans & VW within the budget.

Maybe i'll go test drive persona first and see how it goes.
Icehart
post Aug 3 2022, 01:46 PM

14,304 posts

QUOTE(thenazek @ Jul 27 2022, 11:00 PM)
Hey guys,

Need some input. I know this sounds a little bit weird for comparison, but I'm looking to buy a new car. My choice is :

2016-2018 Accordana vs 2014-2016 Altis.

Yes, its a D segment vs C segment. I know. But reasons why I am picking this 2 is :

1. Price (Not much diff between this 2)
2. Comfort (I have 2 kids and i travel alot)
3. Maintenance cost (basically its Honda and Toyota so yeah)

Although I do like Ioniq and Mazda 3 but i ruled out those 2 simply because of their maintenance cost are higher.
Since got 2 kids probably you want a more comfort ride. Hence the Accord is a better choice.
Maintenance cost both should be the same, unless you service at service center then that's a different story.

In terms of fuel economy, Altis will be better. Whether you get 2.0 or 1.8 you're going to get around 12-13km/L (city) and 15-17km/L (Highway) if you drive like a normal sane person.

14-16 version of Altis prone to premature aircond compressor failure so save up if your car is reaching 100,000-150,000km mileage.

QUOTE(zodius @ Jul 29 2022, 02:21 AM)
6. NA or FI : non-hybrid
8. Remarks : I am looking for a daily commuter car that can do long distance travel once in a while and can last for at least another 10+years. preferable to have flat cargo space when 2nd /3rd row is folded down and no need to worry much on the maintenance. max 4 adult.

I am currently considering the new Alza while waiting for  Toyota Veloz launch but the extreme long waiting time made me consider used car, but i have no experience to deal with it before so am hesitating. I am checking on used 2018 Subaru XV I-P 2.0 and 2019 HR-V both roughly 95-100k, are this 2 cars a good car that will not cost me a fortune for their maintenance? This will be my only car for usage after all so I want to keep the so called "prone to defect" issue as little as possible.

I am also looking for any other option as well, thanks in advance for your feedback! smile.gif
Cargo space? Alza hands down.
If you can wait get the new car otherwise used is fine as well. They're notoriously known for their reliability and excellent fuel efficiency.
Just less power.

Hi all,

Best time to own a car was 30 years ago when cars imported here are not subjected to draconian import tax and excise duty.
With that said, you can't control SST exemption anyway. But look at the bright side.

People who booked Vios may save that significant 4-5k during exemption period, but if you buy new Vios you'll get the new much better looking Vios with TNGA platform.
At the end of the day, resale value of older cars will be affected.

4. Specs :
6. NA or FI :
8. Remarks :

1. Reliable
Since it will be the only transport in the house, so better stay away from workshop except for periodic maintenance.

2. Comfort
Family of 2 but occasionally travel together with parents on weekends. Need a good NVH comparing to current car (feels like shouting in conversation when driving 🥲). Also travelling KL-KB-KL in saga break my pinggang.

Hyundai Elantra 1.6 FL
Kia Cerato K3
VW Vento 1.6
Vios/Almera/City

Special mention is Haval H1..situ zenix mention a lot in suggestions but dunno about reliability..
Elantra and Cerato easily hands down.
You get more value for your money as the first owner is probably crying foul over the depreciation of the car.
Korean car are best to buy used as you don't stand to lose out from the common misconception tied to depreciation of Korean car.

pikafaded
post Aug 3 2022, 02:05 PM

845 posts

QUOTE(cempedaklife @ Aug 2 2022, 06:33 PM)
why persona is not in your list?
in any case, just go to test drive all in your list at least once.
no point just reading or watching the reviews.
What do you think of 2016 Persona? Is it a good used car? Cuz I think its CVT is not quite smooth compared to the current one. Other than that, any issues going for it?
thenazek
post Aug 3 2022, 03:57 PM

549 posts

4. Specs :
6. NA or FI :
8. Remarks :

1. Reliable

2. Comfort

Hyundai Elantra 1.6 FL
Kia Cerato K3
VW Vento 1.6
Vios/Almera/City

Hehe seems like you are in the same position as i am bro.

Saga FLX maintenance damn kaw like a Honda dy, might as well own a better car.

I am currently lookint at Perdana.

CarltonC
post Aug 4 2022, 05:48 PM

18 posts

1. Brand : Honda
2. Budget : 80-90k
3. New/Used/Unreg : New/Used
4. Specs : Depends on model
5. Transmission : Doesn't matter
6. NA or FI : Doesn't matter
7. Type : Sedan
8. Remarks :

I have few models in mind:
1. Civic FC 1.5TC-P,
2. 2017 FL Accord 2.0 VTi-S,
3. 2022 City 1.5V (last option)

and the requirements are:
1. Good handling,
2. Fuel Efficient, and
3. Reliable

I personally prefer the Civic 1.5T for its power and handling but due to chip shortages, the price are even higher than the Accord of same year.
I want to hear your opinion regarding this? Should I wait until next year for the price to come down or just go straight for the Accord or City (I'm not rushing for a new car)?
Wouldn't the Accord be a bit too mature for a youngster to daily drive, or do you guys have other recommendations?

Thanks! rclxms.gif

This post has been edited by CarltonC: Aug 4 2022, 06:01 PM
Lucidus
post Aug 5 2022, 09:02 AM

Newbie?
2,450 posts

4. Specs :
6. NA or FI :
8. Remarks :

1. Reliable

2. Comfort

Hyundai Elantra 1.6 FL
Kia Cerato K3
VW Vento 1.6
Vios/Almera/City

Bro, same. I also have Elantra and Cerato in my list. Any insight on maintenance/repair to expect e.g. engine overhaul, gearbox. aircond compressor, radiator, suspension, etc? Are the parts easily available and economical? Can service at any workshop or Korean cars got some extra fussy behaviour must have special mechanic?
cempedaklife
post Aug 5 2022, 10:35 AM

Master Decoy
4,017 posts

QUOTE(pikafaded @ Aug 3 2022, 02:05 PM)
What do you think of 2016 Persona? Is it a good used car? Cuz I think its CVT is not quite smooth compared to the current one. Other than that, any issues going for it?
bro, i may not be the right person to ask.
frankly speaking, i suggested the persona as a new car. coz based on his requirements, I'm just not sure why he didn't mention persona.
for me, the new persona is a bargain. might not be for everyone but may be right for certain people. i never see car as just a car discussion, for me it's pretty much about your current life phase and the immediate future life phase, and your finance situation.

for me, persona for that price point is worth as much consideration as a honda city or a Toyota vios at their own price point.
for someone who knows a B segment car is not going to be their "final" car, it might be best for them to go for persona instead of vios/city, and keep the money for their next car. since a B segment car is neither here nor there for them. at my current stage, I'm definitely going up from B segment, but if i choose to remain on B segment, for whatever reasons, persona definitely is on my list.

as for a 2016 used persona, i lagi not familiar. but I've heard that proton did at least do a software update on their CVT, so maybe there is a bit of improvement.
when it goes to used persona, then the price point is going to be used persona vs new saga/axia, so you would have that kind of comparison instead of new persona vs new city/vios (which persona wins hands down on price). if that's my budget, i would likely go for new saga/axia, or used vios/city, but that's just me. I'm not really keen on getting a used proton.

This post has been edited by cempedaklife: Aug 5 2022, 01:40 PM
ben3003
post Aug 6 2022, 04:45 PM

10,604 posts

Hi guys, need to change my ride proton preve already 10years, gonna travel frequently from Miri to Brunei for work, so better get a better car since will need to drive very frequent. dilemma between waiting for new HR-V RS need wait more than 6months or civic RS or V that can get in 2-3months. Civic is actually 1 of my target car to get after working, and now is a good chance, but then i felt like a higher ride car is more suitable for driving at Sarawak, where road condition is quite shitty. I would have chosen civic no need to think if im currently in west msia. the new HR-V accessories by honda is really letting me down. Plus i believe civic resale value is much better i believe compare to HRV RS.

I am open to other options like getting 2nd hand civic FC or CX5 2nd hand, probably can save some more just the feeling of 2nd hand car less syok.

Another choice is buying kia sportage or hyundai tuscon at Brunei, after conversion price around 120-130k top spec. Not much of a saving factoring in interest rate brunei is 4% and the resale value is like zero if bring back to malaysia later. only thing at brunei is cheap is to buy their 2nd hand car.

maybe you guys can give more recommendations. Budget wise actually not really much of a issue, but i dont want to spend 200-300k for a car, so 150k might be the limit i would spend.

340 Pages « < 295 296 297 298 299 > » Top

0.0201sec    0.30    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th March 2024 - 07:11 AM