QUOTE(YouHan @ Dec 18 2017, 11:48 PM)
1. Brand : Anything
2. Budget : Below 100k
3. New/Used/Unreg : New
4. Specs : Would be great if it's hybrid, but not a priority
5. Transmission : Auto
6. NA or FI :  Anything
7. Type : 5 Seater and above
8. Remarks : Car just broke down and being sent for repair. Have been failing me for the past 5 months with consistent repairs monthly. It's time to go on for a new car since there's a year end promo.
hybrid city, hybrid jazz if thats your thing? city top end otherwise (more goodies and fc is already great)

your requirements are literally nonexistent.
lsm1991
post Dec 19 2017, 03:53 PM

309 posts

QUOTE(6UE5T @ Dec 19 2017, 03:34 PM)
Huh, got people taking car loan with 8% interest???!  doh.gif  That's nuts!
personal loan kut?
lsm1991
post Dec 26 2017, 03:11 PM

309 posts

QUOTE(choonhuen.koh @ Dec 26 2017, 01:57 PM)
By increase, in wht sense ya, wht items of maintenance that will cost more, tqtq
everything.... obviously consumables like the tranny fluid is more exp, you need more engine oil, bigger tires also cost more. absorbers, bushings and mountings obviously are larger, beefier cost more. this bit is obvious to say the least. You have more features in the car like abs wheel sensors, which can fail (not that they often if at all) that point is a given i guess.
running costs wise, its a bigger heavier car, it drinks more petrol, its got a bigger engine and is valued more so roadtax and insurance is also heavier.

not really maintanance related, body panels and trims also cost more in event of an accident but i guess you have insurance for that.

This post has been edited by lsm1991: Dec 27 2017, 12:55 PM
lsm1991
post Dec 28 2017, 11:06 AM

309 posts

QUOTE(mADmAN @ Dec 27 2017, 03:10 PM)
1. Brand. - Non Korean/China brand
2. Budget. - RM15k
3. New/Used/Unreg. - Used
4. Specs. - Any
5. Transmission. - Auto
6. NA or FI ? - Any
7. Type - Any as long as 4 doors
8. Remarks. (add anything u like)
- Considering to buy use car for normal day to day use and the occasional Grabcar so car needs to below 10yo or less. Want good fuel mileage, reliable, easy to find parts etc

Originally wanted Myvi (due to timing chain) but doesnt seem like many in the budget (unless super lucky find)

Came across some 3-4 yo Saga FLX that suits the budget. But not to keen on the fact that it runs on timing belt.

I believe the FLX is a decent car? any downsides?

Any other options?
very odd... remember replying to this yesterday~

better double check what the requirements are. I remember it being 7-8 years max, dont think it was 10. You should also find out what happens if your car goes over the age limit maybe next year or the year after.

given the requirements the flx is probably your best bet? Not really a problematic car, fc is reasonable (wont call it frugal but it isnt that bad) , parts are easy and is basically as cheap as can be for a modern-ish car. (heck its what taxi drivers use so maintanance/parts definitely ok).

option 2 is the persona. think it a s a bigger fatter saga. i assume its rated under the same class as the saga so in terms of grab/uber value not as good a deal. running costs are basically similar, but uses more fuel and some spare parts do cost abit more.

the timing belt isnt really an issue (to me at least), not like you replace it so often, nor is it extremely expensive. 400 easily be enough to cover the belt+workmanship, (i believe it can be as cheap as 300, cannot remember)
lsm1991
post Dec 29 2017, 09:44 AM

309 posts

QUOTE(justinWKL @ Dec 28 2017, 02:49 PM)
Is Toyota Caldina still worth the buy?
value is in the eyes of the beholder!

to most, an old junk car, nmah not worth the effort.
lsm1991
post Jan 3 2018, 03:11 PM

309 posts

QUOTE(ChickenWing @ Jan 3 2018, 02:59 PM)
Hello guys,

Need some assistance for recommendation on my next car. I’m usually driving around myself and not required to bring passengers most of the time.

Info below FYR:

Transmission: Do not want manual.
Budget: 30K OTR
Brand preference: Locals/Japanese.
Condition: Brand new or less than 20,000KM 

Would appreciate some recommendations.

I am currently driving a Viva, if that matters.
THANKS!
forget brand new with 30k
why are you thinking of changing? need a bigger car? what are your priorities? honestly you cant get much more with just 30k compared to your viva if you want something that new. Can only think of the axia, iriz, saga and at most, largest the persona.
lsm1991
post Jan 4 2018, 11:32 AM

309 posts

QUOTE(ChickenWing @ Jan 3 2018, 08:22 PM)
Priority is safety, and something little bit bigger/more power.

Im driving a viva 1000cc. It has zero safety features except for safety belts.

Im interested in the iriz and the latest persona. But the persona seems more expensive than the iriz as it is newer.

Id like to really stick to rm 30,000 if possible. U think a used below 20000km 1.6 iriz is possible? Or am i better off with an axia?
20000km 1.6 iriz possible? yes, technically anything is possible, you might stumble upon a good deal... just make sure its not an accident/flood car OR a car with a molested odometer. (am really not sure why you want one with less than 20k on it. would rather take a well serviced and cared for 50k car over a trashed 20k car)

safest car you can get is the iriz, forget the new persona, way out of your budget (interior space is actually basically the same, just has an added arse). best you go view the car, rear legspace is kinda limited, not that it really matters i guess since you are upgrading from a viva
lsm1991
post Jan 9 2018, 02:24 PM

309 posts

QUOTE(eqmal197 @ Jan 9 2018, 01:51 PM)
Hi
Is civic eg 1995 wotrh buy?

yes, and no.....

you really havent given much details...
1)is it stock?
2)are you buying to modify? or just buying to use?
3)eg 95, there are many models, blue tags red tags (i think there are black tags as well? too many variants to remember). they typically are sedans, some are hatches, some are coupes

whatever it is, its a very old car, you better know how to view a car before getting one of those, or bring a mechanic along. if you are buying to modify or buying modified you better as heck know what you are looking at.
lsm1991
post Jan 9 2018, 02:34 PM

309 posts

QUOTE(xcstacy @ Jan 6 2018, 09:28 PM)
1. Brand. - Non Korean/China brand
2. Budget. - RM30-35k
3. New/Used/Unreg. - Used
4. Specs. - Any
5. Transmission. - Auto
6. NA or FI ? - Any
7. Type - Any as long as 4 doors
8. Remarks. - Fresh grad looking to get a daily driver.
you have options...

1)iriz
one decent car, no real issues with it other than the rear passenger legroom and boot. fc is decent, handling is decent plus its fairly well equipped. Maintanance is also fairly low

2)saga
needs no introduction, very similar to the above, slightly diferent dimentions (i believe its narower but has more legroom) with a boot and maintanance is around the same. One plus here is you can pretty much get a new unit.

*the cvt in these cars are kinda sluggish, you might take a while to get used to it.

3)axia
even smaller, even cheaper to run than the above 2! but its also less nice to drive if you ask me.

4)myvi
the reign of the old myvi is prettymuch gone now... the new myvi makes the old car seem silly.

go test drive em, nothing to lose but some time.
lsm1991
post Jan 11 2018, 02:37 PM

309 posts

QUOTE(mynameishanif @ Jan 11 2018, 02:25 PM)
Guys, 60k for a 2012 mazda 6 with considerably ok milage with maintained record with mazda sc. is it worth it?
otr?
a simple browse through mudah should tell you what its market value is like. 50-60 thereabouts...
lsm1991
post Jan 11 2018, 04:44 PM

309 posts

QUOTE(eqmal197 @ Jan 11 2018, 04:28 PM)
1. Yup
2.use first, mod later
3.i know there many eg version even i cant tell which is which. Mudah sells many sedans so i guess iwanna get sedan & fuel injection. A no no for those converted to vtec as i know owner already lenjan kaw2 ;D

Anyway, civig eg is priority. If things not goes well, i go for kancill 660 auto
i dont think theres a correct answer to your question.....

all i can advise you is to get to know the models well.. that way you should be able to tell what is original from modified bits. Be warned, modifying these cars can become very expensive... halfcuts cost a bomb. be prepared for that.
lsm1991
post Jan 20 2018, 11:14 PM

309 posts

QUOTE(KKLeong @ Jan 17 2018, 12:21 AM)
Hi, mazda 3 2012 ckd unit is a good deal? It is about 45k. It is c segment car nowday. Any problematic issue about this car?
tbh, don't know the car well, but i don't hear of any major issues with them.

The only downsides to this model is... 1) its the older 'not so popular' model. 2)it hasn't got mazda's new fancy sky-active, only an older ford engine which isn't really special (the whole car in general isn't anything special tbh)

QUOTE(life27 @ Jan 17 2018, 05:22 PM)
Just want to get advise from you all .

If want to buy a used car ,

Proton preve or persona will be my better choice ?

I am aiming for year 2015 onward  only .

Max budget not more than 40k  .

Thank you
if you dont mind the smaller size and can get used to the cvt, the persona is decent. Pretty much a decent all rounder other than its rather small size (significantly smaller than the older persona which is huge in comparison).

the preve is definitely the larger of the two. And imo less refined (never tested both one after another but that's what i feel anyway). Its also 'less frugal' being a heavier car and all that.

QUOTE(jacxk @ Jan 20 2018, 08:25 PM)
hye there...im also aiming for used preve now..but which one is good na or turbo..hurmm which one is more hassle free ...ty
the simple answer for this is kinda obvious, don't you think?
turbos = more parts that can fail. simple as that..

Now, the real question: "is that additional power worth the hassle."
I cannot actually give you a straight answer. I know of 4 guys owning 5 of them ( sample is a mix of suprimas and preve turbos and if not wrong all 100% stock). very different experiences. of the 5, 3 are relatively trouble free, the other 2, have been in and out of the sc multiple times, stuff like och, electrical gremlins, stuff failing.
lsm1991
post Jan 21 2018, 04:49 PM

309 posts

QUOTE(ajay67 @ Jan 21 2018, 08:05 AM)
i can't decide between these hatches :
1. polo
2. jazz
3. kia rio
or others u can think of..

incline twds polo coz conti feel but still open for suggestions.
if the jazz is in there, the myvi deserves to be listed. Why? cause the bloody thing generally offers basically the same and more for a lower pricetag but you get a local badge.

rio is kind of a sad guy here.... looks good comes with stuff like a sunroof BUT... that engine + tranny combo....

life27 if you go for a non-turbo model, they have hardly any issues. Join the preve club to learn more.
lsm1991
post Jan 23 2018, 10:26 AM

309 posts

QUOTE(Marydea @ Jan 23 2018, 04:32 AM)
Hi! I want to buy a used car. I would very much like to be sure that this is not dangerous.I was advised this site https://autoportal.com/usedcars/ . Has anyone heard anything about this resource? I hope that it is really a reliable place, Had you any axperience with it or maybe heard something?
never heard of them before... my experience is through mudah, carlist, zth and fb owner groups.

honestly, mudah has the largest selection and while there are many scams, i frankly believe (personally) anyone with 2 brain cells could figure out if theres a scam going on or not... buying cars is easy, really easy, and straightforward, its the finding and inspecting bit (and ofc if you want to involve yourself in illegal/hangky pangky stuff, you are just asking for it)

carlist is full of dealers (basically a dealer portal anyway) but theres a decent selection. While im very distrustful of dealers, i know there are decent people out there.

zth has the better selection of modified cars. uually owners passionate about their cars (or owners trying to dump rides after they get tired or dont wana deal with them anymore) good thing bout forums is, you can see some sort of history by stalking the owners lol.

fb is one of the best places BUT you must know what you want. These owners however do have the tendency to list their cars at fairly high prices. Its sort of a believe in a group that their cars are t them, worth such a figure and if you lowball, they might rage so keep note of that.
lsm1991
post Jan 24 2018, 10:26 AM

309 posts

QUOTE(Quang1819 @ Jan 23 2018, 09:00 PM)
New Persona's handling got "tuned by Lotus" meh?
no.... the old persona which was wider and much heavier handles even better! But in its class, and for the price, its handling is pretty good (do note that its competition is nonexistent in the class given its selling price in malaysia)
lsm1991
post Jan 28 2018, 06:45 PM

309 posts

QUOTE(Blind(s)man @ Jan 28 2018, 01:07 PM)
O.o
Sounds quite serious if broke down twice within 1st year. .
hmm makes me more inclined towards honda now. .
Worry no $ to repair if the car is not reliable.
QUOTE(jomonista @ Jan 28 2018, 08:39 AM)
1. Brand : Anything as long as reliable
2. Budget : 60k
3. New/Used/Unreg : any (if used ~40k mileage)
4. Specs : any
5. Transmission : AT
6. NA or FI :  any
7. Type : hatchback/sedan

First time buying car in Malaysia.

Main concern:
-reliability
-fc
-comfort

Looking at new myvi or unreg 2017 polo atm.
Or any other recommendation?

Persona seems good too but my sibling's 2 exora got serious noise/rattling problem so prefer to stay away from proton.

Used to drive Mazda 3 oversea so don't like the feeling of downgrade in comfort/performance when driving new myvi.

Polo: very solidly built, feels times more premium than myvi but heard it got low RV here plus high maintanance. Although how much higher it really is between Jazz/city etc...

Can stretch to 70k if good options available.

Why car so expensive in Malaysia!! /rant
persona is alright, little rattles here and there, sort of expected? even the new myvi i tested had a rattle coming from the back.

polo is a very simple car, nothing special if you ask me, you're just paying for the brand. Nothing really special about the car. Maintenance is on the high side in the sc, no way around that.

If you ask me, the built quality of the myvi and polo are not really far apart. Myvi just comes with a crapton more features and costs less to maintain. There is however something about the myvi you should know.... might be a buzzkill for you. Its waiting list. Its selling so well, its best selling model (top spec grey) has a 4 month long waiting list. Kinda speaks about its value no?
lsm1991
post Jan 28 2018, 06:48 PM

309 posts

QUOTE(jacxk @ Jan 28 2018, 02:09 PM)
so if i buy 2013 preve is it gonna be the same engine with persona 2013 or persona sv?
yes and no....
if you get the cfe, no. if you get the simpler na models, its mostly the same.

=======================================

QUOTE(Blind(s)man @ Jan 28 2018, 01:07 PM)
O.o
Sounds quite serious if broke down twice within 1st year. .
hmm makes me more inclined towards honda now. .
Worry no $ to repair if the car is not reliable.
lol sample size of one isnt really an accurate gauge but i guess he is the only one who spoke up?

hondas also have their downtime. sometimes crap happens, thats it.

=======================================

QUOTE(jomonista @ Jan 28 2018, 08:39 AM)
1. Brand : Anything as long as reliable
2. Budget : 60k
3. New/Used/Unreg : any (if used ~40k mileage)
4. Specs : any
5. Transmission : AT
6. NA or FI :  any
7. Type : hatchback/sedan

First time buying car in Malaysia.

Main concern:
-reliability
-fc
-comfort

Looking at new myvi or unreg 2017 polo atm.
Or any other recommendation?

Persona seems good too but my sibling's 2 exora got serious noise/rattling problem so prefer to stay away from proton.

Used to drive Mazda 3 oversea so don't like the feeling of downgrade in comfort/performance when driving new myvi.

Polo: very solidly built, feels times more premium than myvi but heard it got low RV here plus high maintanance. Although how much higher it really is between Jazz/city etc...

Can stretch to 70k if good options available.

Why car so expensive in Malaysia!! /rant
persona is alright, little rattles here and there, sort of expected? even the new myvi i tested had a rattle coming from the back.

polo is a very simple car, nothing special if you ask me, you're just paying for the brand. Nothing really special about the car. Maintenance is on the high side in the sc, no way around that.

If you ask me, the built quality of the myvi and polo are not really far apart. Myvi just comes with a crapton more features and costs less to maintain. There is however something about the myvi you should know.... might be a buzzkill for you. Its waiting list. Its selling so well, its best selling model (top spec grey) has a 4 month long waiting list. Kinda speaks about its value no?
lsm1991
post Mar 9 2018, 05:42 PM

309 posts

QUOTE(SentryWarX @ Mar 9 2018, 02:57 PM)
I am looking into getting a new car but I am wondering say my car has scratches and bumps and dents (quite serious one) but never been in an accident anyways just knocks and etc.

Would it be better to just fix it up myself then try to sell the car off through a dealer? If dealer any recommended?

Or just one go trade in for new/used car and they will do everything.

I want less hassle since I'm not a pro with cars
dont bother fixing it up... repairs would cost more than the difference in value.

you can try carsome and see what whey are willing to offer you
lsm1991
post Mar 14 2018, 01:31 PM

309 posts

QUOTE(ishadower @ Mar 14 2018, 10:54 AM)
1. Brand : any(prefer japanese)
2. Budget : RM40000
3. New/Used/Unreg : any
4. Specs : enough to make it comfortable to drive
5. Transmission : Manual(open to paddleshift)
6. NA or FI :(no clue) 
7. Type : 5 seater
8. Remarks : need something reliable, powerful enough for highway and doesn't drink petrol like water

Okay guys, just got my driving licence and i'm going to move to college in kl in april. I'll be staying with a relative and commute between bukit jalil and putrajaya every day so i want something that does well on highways. i could get the axia but apparently the gear shift is a little slow(read it somewhere on the axia club). also body rolling and the warranty not letting you install anti roll bar.

p.s. currently staying in penang

scrap that... didnt see the manual bit.... or read it properly in the 1st place

This post has been edited by lsm1991: Mar 14 2018, 05:50 PM
lsm1991
post Mar 26 2018, 01:06 PM

309 posts

QUOTE(VeeJay @ Mar 26 2018, 11:44 AM)
Buying a used car is always a risk, no matter where we buy from.

few steps can be taken:-

1) ask for after sales warranty - most of my car I have obtained either thru dealer or private, I have manage to get 1-3 months warranty (not the paid warranty like smart)
2) bring to service center and get it checked; together with ECU diagnosis
if possible, this is a great idea
3) get a history report from the service center, most of the cars when serviced at official SC, they have the online record that you could check
very important if getting a car which is still covered under the manufacturers warranty
4) bring a knowledgeable person or mechanic with you for initial inspection
even better if someone familiar with a particular model... its these guys who usually pickup on the smallest details
5) look for any abnormalities
those are some that you could perform to reduce the risk
^this...

with used cars are always chances of getting a slightly problamatic car (sometimes its only a small thing, sometimes its major).

This post has been edited by lsm1991: Mar 26 2018, 01:07 PM

30 Pages « < 27 28 29 30 >Top

0.0260sec    0.43    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 02:34 PM