zenix
post Mar 17 2021, 05:07 PM

Pirate Captain
6,149 posts

QUOTE(lemonish @ Mar 15 2021, 07:21 AM)
Couldn't have said it any better.
Applies to many rules in MY.
But many still doing it at large anyways.

• Tinting
• Excessive bodykits
• Emblem
• Plates
• Exhaust (but baru strictly enforces)
• Using halfcut body
• Flushed cars
• Engine swaps
• Speeding
etc etc

But its better like this, rather than macam in China.
Everywhere camera, heck you can't even upsize your tyres much  sweat.gif
i do enjoy a good automotive aftermarket scene but follow the rules or find creative ways around the rules (like what F1 constructors always do).
however, the scene we have is pretty low class; cheap parts, lousy spec, blatantly breaking the rules, etc.

i have driven in a few other SEA countries, let me say this about our two neighbours:
singapore = they only follow the rules in their own country and become idiots when cross the border. kiasu mentality.
brunei = they follow the rules coz there isn't much of an aftermarket scene there plus cars and petrol is cheap there so it is perfectly normal for a family to have a sedan, and mpv in their household. they don't buy an mpv then modify it to perform like a sedan (e.g. look at all the Alza club people sweat.gif )
plus in those two countries i never once encountered an oncoming UFO (a car with illegally modified HID lights blinding oncoming traffic, turn signal at mirrors changed to white bulbs and are permanently on, have DRL but also always have fog lights on, etc.) in malaysia it is common.

i saw a satire post in fb about this accident.
the reason = tinted, bodykit, sticker, plate number, etc laugh.gif

EmpireAnt
post Mar 19 2021, 08:50 AM

149 posts

1. Brand : Hyundai, Kia, Proton
2. Budget :Max RM50K
3. New/Used/Unreg : Persone MC2 (New), Elantra2016 1.8 FL/Cerato 2016 2.0 FL (Used)
4. Specs : Full spec
5. Transmission : AT/CVT
6. NA or FI : - NA
7. Type : Sedan
8. Remarks :

Greetings.

A friend of mine is looking for a car to replace his early 2000 Satria.

He has a budget for around RM50K maximum.

He is in dilemma between the 2 or 3 cars mentioned above.

The reason for the used section is due to the decent price for a C-segment korean brand. It is almost similar to the brand new Persona.

I understand that both the korean cars have better specifications and performance, but due to it being a used car, will it be more preferable compared to the upcoming new Persona MC2?

How is the maintenance/spare parts availability for the korean cars ?

As for Persona, I'm using one myself (2019 version) so I have the idea of it.

Please gives another suggestion as well if there is any.

If possible, he will avoid non-national B segment such as Vios, City and Almera.

Thanks for your help car sifus!
ssmui
post Mar 20 2021, 11:29 AM

70 posts

How about Toyota Altis ?
RM50k can get you a used unit around 2014/5
C segment, reliable, stable on highway, reliable & easy maintenance.
EmpireAnt
post Mar 20 2021, 10:54 PM

149 posts

QUOTE(ssmui @ Mar 20 2021, 11:29 AM)
How about Toyota Altis ?
RM50k can get you a used unit around 2014/5
C segment, reliable, stable on highway, reliable  & easy maintenance.
Hi

Is that reply meant for my post?

As for why no 2014 Altis is mentioned is due to the lower spec and safety for the same price of the Korean counter part.

The only altis which pack good safety features and spec are from 2016 and above and it starts around RM60k-ish.

adamletham
post Mar 24 2021, 08:57 PM

29 posts

1. Brand : -
2. Budget : RM60k
3. New/Used/Unreg : New/Used
4. Specs : -
5. Transmission : Automatic
6. NA or FI : -
7. Type : -
8. Remarks : If used, must be at least 2017.

Thinking about Myvi full spec, Ativa base model, or used Mazda 2 sedan. Would prefer a sedan, but not too big of a priority. Car will 95% of the time be used for city driving.

Also, can anyone recommend some reliable & trusted used car dealership in KL/Selangor/Penang?
dogbert_chew
post Mar 24 2021, 11:47 PM

1,126 posts

QUOTE(adamletham @ Mar 24 2021, 08:57 PM)

Thinking about Myvi full spec, Ativa base model, or used Mazda 2 sedan. Would prefer a sedan, but not too big of a priority. Car will 95% of the time be used for city driving.

Also, can anyone recommend some reliable & trusted used car dealership in KL/Selangor/Penang?
There are no reliable used car dealers.

If you have a 60K budget, there must be a reason why you are considering used cars for mostly city drive. Do share the reasons
adamletham
post Mar 25 2021, 01:01 AM

29 posts

QUOTE(dogbert_chew @ Mar 24 2021, 11:47 PM)
There are no reliable used car dealers.

If you have a 60K budget, there must be a reason why you are considering used cars for mostly city drive. Do share the reasons
No hidden reason, I just really like Mazda.
rahtid
post Mar 25 2021, 03:10 AM

195 posts

https://www.carsome.my/buy-car
aska123
post Mar 25 2021, 10:56 AM

329 posts

2. Budget : RM100k +/- or below
5. Transmission : -
8. Remarks : hope to get a newer type of car with aeb and adas system or other similar system for safety purpose. (Not compulsory) XD

Aiming on Sedan or SUV car.
Recently Looking at New Ativa, x50 / x70. Second Hand Honda Civic.
Or any other New or Second hand car recommend ?

This post has been edited by aska123: Mar 25 2021, 11:05 AM
6UE5T
post Mar 25 2021, 11:50 PM

1,704 posts

QUOTE(zenix @ Mar 17 2021, 05:07 PM)
i do enjoy a good automotive aftermarket scene but follow the rules or find creative ways around the rules (like what F1 constructors always do).
however, the scene we have is pretty low class; cheap parts, lousy spec, blatantly breaking the rules, etc.

i have driven in a few other SEA countries, let me say this about our two neighbours:
singapore = they only follow the rules in their own country and become idiots when cross the border. kiasu mentality.
brunei = they follow the rules coz there isn't much of an aftermarket scene there plus cars and petrol is cheap there so it is perfectly normal for a family to have a sedan, and mpv in their household. they don't buy an mpv then modify it to perform like a sedan (e.g. look at all the Alza club people  sweat.gif )
plus in those two countries i never once encountered an oncoming UFO (a car with illegally modified HID lights blinding oncoming traffic, turn signal at mirrors changed to white bulbs and are permanently on, have DRL but also always have fog lights on, etc.) in malaysia it is common.

the reason = tinted, bodykit, sticker, plate number, etc  laugh.gif

Singaporean is like deprived of freedom, like driving in jail or like everywhere got police eyes watching, so once go out, they go wild! 😆 Singapore is a 'fine' country indeed! 😆
hungrygodzilla
post Mar 26 2021, 11:17 AM

456 posts

QUOTE(zenix @ Mar 17 2021, 05:07 PM)

brunei = they follow the rules coz there isn't much of an aftermarket scene there plus cars and petrol is cheap there so it is perfectly normal for a family to have a sedan, and mpv in their household. they don't buy an mpv then modify it to perform like a sedan (e.g. look at all the Alza club people  sweat.gif )

the reason = tinted, bodykit, sticker, plate number, etc  laugh.gif

Tell me about the poorly modified HID lights... every night i drive on malaysia road is a blinding experience, cars blind me from up down left right. it's worst when driving sedan, one reason why i prefer cross over and SUV.
Scissorshand
post Mar 26 2021, 04:10 PM

1,516 posts

QUOTE(hungrygodzilla @ Mar 26 2021, 11:17 AM)
Tell me about the poorly modified HID lights... every night i drive on malaysia road is a blinding experience, cars blind me from up down left right. it's worst when driving sedan, one reason why i prefer cross over and SUV.
In all honesty, modern cars with led is also blinding to me at least but what can we do, it's the thing these days
Captain89
post Mar 26 2021, 04:42 PM

Simple person
3,056 posts

QUOTE(Scissorshand @ Mar 26 2021, 04:10 PM)
In all honesty, modern cars with led is also blinding to me at least but what can we do, it's the thing these days
Led light is brighter and look more luxury
Mr Mercedes
post Mar 26 2021, 04:54 PM

392 posts

QUOTE(aska123 @ Mar 25 2021, 10:56 AM)
2. Budget : RM100k +/- or below
5. Transmission : -
8. Remarks : hope to get a newer type of car with aeb and adas system or other similar system for safety purpose. (Not compulsory) XD

Aiming on Sedan or SUV car.
Recently Looking at New Ativa, x50 / x70. Second Hand Honda Civic.
Or any other New or Second hand car recommend ?
Do consider the 2019 Altis too. Priced similar to the civic.
sepulse
post Mar 26 2021, 08:56 PM

423 posts

Example:
1. Brand : P1, P2
2. Budget : 40-60k
3. New/Used/Unreg : new
4. Specs : Full Spec
5. Transmission : AT
6. NA or FI :
7. Type :
8. Remarks : planning to replace my wife 2009 myvi, so dunno which 1 to choose between new saga or new myvi full spec. She like the saga NVH compared to myvi. Will saga be a better purchase compared to myvi? City usage, kuching no highway

She dunwan iriz/persona btw. Its either saga/myvi
zenix
post Mar 27 2021, 02:05 AM

Pirate Captain
6,149 posts

QUOTE(EmpireAnt @ Mar 19 2021, 08:50 AM)

2013 Mitsu Lancer Sportback 2.4 - if he has been driving a 2000's Satria for so long there is always the lure of getting a Lancer or Evolution, and the gap in performance between a modded Satria (which I am guessing his is modded coz an unmodded Satria is rare especially since it is cheap to do so and there is a big aftermarket scene for it) and Persona/Cerato/Elantra is huge. The Lancer Sportback has an upgraded 2400cc engine lifted from the Outlander it is the most powerful lancer outside of getting an Evo. Maintenance wise parts isn't a big deal there are alot of crossover with other vehicles (even with proton) for it to be cheap, the only thing to watch out for is the engine oil as it demands good fully syn in large quantities.

2016 Subaru XV 2.0 - for that amount of money the newest Japanese car you can get which isn't B-segment would be this model, it is a good car overall and it's brand is picking up slowly but the distributor isn't as aggressive and greedy as Mazda so even though their cars are good and sell well the prices of their used cars ain't jacked up too high. Speaking of too high, probably your friend driving Satria might take some getting used to from driving on the floor to being on an SUV but everyone loves the ride height and sedan like handling of modern SUV's. With the XV selling in good numbers and the Forrester also essentially using the same engine and gearbox with a different tune and slight upgrades, they've become viable in our market of low maintenance vehicles. Although not at Toyota/Honda/Perodua level but certainly better than alot of others even Suzuki. And if I am not mistaken it has a 5 year warranty so you should have until end of the year for any factory warranty claims.

2014 Mazda 3 2.0 - this is the first generation Mazda3 with skyactiv which I think is the best case scenario for your friend as it is a nice comfy sedan, powerful engine, fuel saving engine, luxurious interior which is lightyears ahead of what the satria offers, and comfortable high speed cruising at low RPM with low noise so trips outstation is a breeze. Some would worry about the maintenance cost and reliability of out of warranty Mazda's that is why most would flock to either the Civic or Altis, if you check prices online both of those will either be higher priced or older by 1-2 years. Which doesn't make sense as you're trying to get a car which will lower maintenance cost but buying a car which is older by additional few years means the car done more mileage thus will be nearer to need more parts replaced. So if your friend is a car guy and know where to look then upkeep for this car can be quite cheap. Skyactiv in the end is just another petrol engine with additional complexity as long as that workshop can deal with it then there shouldn't be issues. Part price's for C-segment are all around the same ballpark for Japanese cars with T&H being the exception.

I think better just stick to buying a full spec Myvi, it is proven value for money and good resale value when you sell on later.

2015 Mazda 3 Sedan - it used to be reason why people choose a used Mazda2 was because the Skyactiv Mazda 3's were way more expensive even as used cars and only the non-Skyactiv ones were within that price range. That isn't the case nowadays, of course if you want (iinm) the nicer looking hatch then of course it is going to be much more expensive but the sedan variant is within reach. So you can choose a 2017 Mazda2 or 2015 Mazda3, 2 years difference and if you find one which was taken care of nicely and in good condition that extra 2 years don't matter. Plus the Mazda3 is much bigger and more comfortable to drive especially outstation/balik kg. There is practically no leg room for rear adults in the Mazda2.

QUOTE(aska123 @ Mar 25 2021, 10:56 AM)

Toyota Cross is a new model just launched and selling at 120k, you should check it out.
It is a direct competitor to the HRV.

2016 Toyota Harrier 2.0 - if you ask me just get one of these recon unreg units for the price you'll not be able to get similar size and spec. It is meant to be over RM200k priced vehicle but selling at that price because it is used (overseas), imported as unregistered meaning although the car is low mileage high grade used car since it has never been registered before in Malaysian system it is considered a new car so you get the benefits of buying it with a low interest new car loan and can choose number plate, normally used car you cannot chosse the number plate unless you pay extra for plate change service which could cost anywhere from RM2k to rm10k even for non VIP level number plate. Engine wise iinm it uses an upgraded variant of the Wish's 2000cc engine and drivetrain, and that car is so common here it is not a problem to find parts and service this car.

QUOTE(6UE5T @ Mar 25 2021, 11:50 PM)

J plate all gangster until singapork plate comes along.

QUOTE(hungrygodzilla @ Mar 26 2021, 11:17 AM)

if u drive pajero
put a roof rack
then put lotsa flood lights
alang2 go inside jungle
but when idiots blind you

aska123
post Mar 27 2021, 08:21 PM

329 posts

QUOTE(zenix @ Mar 27 2021, 02:05 AM)

2013 Mitsu Lancer Sportback 2.4 - if he has been driving a 2000's Satria for so long there is always the lure of getting a Lancer or Evolution, and the gap in performance between a modded Satria (which I am guessing his is modded coz an unmodded Satria is rare especially since it is cheap to do so and there is a big aftermarket scene for it) and Persona/Cerato/Elantra is huge. The Lancer Sportback has an upgraded 2400cc engine lifted from the Outlander it is the most powerful lancer outside of getting an Evo. Maintenance wise parts isn't a big deal there are alot of crossover with other vehicles (even with proton) for it to be cheap, the only thing to watch out for is the engine oil as it demands good fully syn in large quantities.

2016 Subaru XV 2.0 - for that amount of money the newest Japanese car you can get which isn't B-segment would be this model, it is a good car overall and it's brand is picking up slowly but the distributor isn't as aggressive and greedy as Mazda so even though their cars are good and sell well the prices of their used cars ain't jacked up too high. Speaking of too high, probably your friend driving Satria might take some getting used to from driving on the floor to being on an SUV but everyone loves the ride height and sedan like handling of modern SUV's. With the XV selling in good numbers and the Forrester also essentially using the same engine and gearbox with a different tune and slight upgrades, they've become viable in our market of low maintenance vehicles. Although not at Toyota/Honda/Perodua level but certainly better than alot of others even Suzuki. And if I am not mistaken it has a 5 year warranty so you should have until end of the year for any factory warranty claims.

2014 Mazda 3 2.0 - this is the first generation Mazda3 with skyactiv which I think is the best case scenario for your friend as it is a nice comfy sedan, powerful engine, fuel saving engine, luxurious interior which is lightyears ahead of what the satria offers, and comfortable high speed cruising at low RPM with low noise so trips outstation is a breeze. Some would worry about the maintenance cost and reliability of out of warranty Mazda's that is why most would flock to either the Civic or Altis, if you check prices online both of those will either be higher priced or older by 1-2 years. Which doesn't make sense as you're trying to get a car which will lower maintenance cost but buying a car which is older by additional few years means the car done more mileage thus will be nearer to need more parts replaced. So if your friend is a car guy and know where to look then upkeep for this car can be quite cheap. Skyactiv in the end is just another petrol engine with additional complexity as long as that workshop can deal with it then there shouldn't be issues. Part price's for C-segment are all around the same ballpark for Japanese cars with T&H being the exception.

[/spoiler]

I think better just stick to buying a full spec Myvi, it is proven value for money and good resale value when you sell on later.

2015 Mazda 3 Sedan - it used to be reason why people choose a used Mazda2 was because the Skyactiv Mazda 3's were way more expensive even as used cars and only the non-Skyactiv ones were within that price range. That isn't the case nowadays, of course if you want (iinm) the nicer looking hatch then of course it is going to be much more expensive but the sedan variant is within reach. So you can choose a 2017 Mazda2 or 2015 Mazda3, 2 years difference and if you find one which was taken care of nicely and in good condition that extra 2 years don't matter. Plus the Mazda3 is much bigger and more comfortable to drive especially outstation/balik kg. There is practically no leg room for rear adults in the Mazda2.

[/spoiler]

Toyota Cross is a new model just launched and selling at 120k, you should check it out.
It is a direct competitor to the HRV.

2016 Toyota Harrier 2.0 - if you ask me just get one of these recon unreg units for the price you'll not be able to get similar size and spec. It is meant to be over RM200k priced vehicle but selling at that price because it is used (overseas), imported as unregistered meaning although the car is low mileage high grade used car since it has never been registered before in Malaysian system it is considered a new car so you get the benefits of buying it with a low interest new car loan and can choose number plate, normally used car you cannot chosse the number plate unless you pay extra for plate change service which could cost anywhere from RM2k to rm10k even for non VIP level number plate. Engine wise iinm it uses an upgraded variant of the Wish's 2000cc engine and drivetrain, and that car is so common here it is not a problem to find parts and service this car.

[/spoiler]

J plate all gangster until singapork plate comes along.

Thanks for the info, will look into the new toyota or the unreg toyota harrier.

How bout if wish to lock the budget at below 100k any recommend ?
zenix
post Mar 28 2021, 10:41 AM

Pirate Captain
6,149 posts

QUOTE(aska123 @ Mar 27 2021, 08:21 PM)
How bout if wish to lock the budget at below 100k any recommend ?
New
D-segment SUV = Haval H2
C-segment SUV = HRV spec kosong, x50 full spec
B-segment SUV = Ativa, Haval H1
A-segment SUV/MPV = Aruz

I've a Haval H2 in my garage, cheap and cheerful vehicle.
It uses a turbocharge variant of the Vios engine.
Paired with a slick 6 speed automatic gearbox.

Value for money coz it cost be about 93k to buy which is OTR price, only addon for me was tinted.
Nice and wide inside, comfy for long highway journey.
It has auto suroof, auto aircon, auto lights, auto wipers, cabin ambient lights, etc.

It does suffer a few niggling issues from what I experience.
The wing mirrors shine the company logo onto the floor, it is good to see if got puddles or anything on the ground before stepping down but after a while it peals and the logo isn't noticable anymore but still works.
Whenever it rains the TPS (tire pressure monitor) acts up.

corad
post Mar 28 2021, 11:58 AM

Hard to see, the dark side is.
2,338 posts

QUOTE(aska123 @ Mar 27 2021, 08:21 PM)
for recond Harrier, why does it have a big price range of RM110k - 180k ? Manufacturing years are 2015 - 2017 and mileage stated all below 40k KM. Interior and specs all look the same to me, unless I am missing something ?

also I recall there was a website which one could pay for reports on Jap import ? Is it useful ?

looking to replace a 2004 Murano
amscouzach57
post Mar 28 2021, 12:07 PM

419 posts

QUOTE(zenix @ Mar 28 2021, 10:41 AM)
New
D-segment SUV = Haval H2
C-segment SUV = HRV spec kosong, x50 full spec
B-segment SUV = Ativa, Haval H1
A-segment SUV/MPV = Aruz

Should be like this, no?